
Dear Senators GUTHRIE, Den Hartog, Jordan, and
Representatives BOYLE, Troy, Erpelding:

The Legislative Services Office, Research and Legislation, has received the enclosed rules of the

Board of Veterinary Medicine:

IDAPA 46.01.01 - Rules of the State of Idaho Board of Veterinary Medicine (Fee Rule) - Proposed
Rule (Docket No. 46-0101-1902).

Pursuant to Section 67-454, Idaho Code, a meeting on the enclosed rules may be called by the

cochairmen or by two (2) or more members of the subcommittee giving oral or written notice to Research

and Legislation no later than fourteen (14) days after receipt of the rules' analysis from Legislative

Services. The final date to call a meeting on the enclosed rules is no later than 10/29/2019. If a meeting is

called, the subcommittee must hold the meeting within forty-two (42) days of receipt of the rules' analysis

from Legislative Services. The final date to hold a meeting on the enclosed rules is 11/27/2019.

The germane joint subcommittee may request a statement of economic impact with respect to a

proposed rule by notifying Research and Legislation. There is no time limit on requesting this statement,

and it may be requested whether or not a meeting on the proposed rule is called or after a meeting has

been held.

To notify Research and Legislation, call 334-4854, or send a written request to the address on the

memorandum attached below.
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MEMORANDUM

TO: Rules Review Subcommittee of the Senate Agricultural Affairs Committee and the House
Agricultural Affairs Committee

FROM: Deputy Division Manager - Katharine Gerrity

DATE: October 08, 2019

SUBJECT: Board of Veterinary Medicine

IDAPA 46.01.01 - Rules of the State of Idaho Board of Veterinary Medicine (Fee Rule) - Proposed Rule
(Docket No. 46-0101-1902)

Summary and Stated Reasons for the Rule
The Board of Veterinary Medicine submits notice of proposed rule at IDAPA 46.01.01 - Rules of the State

of Idaho Board of Veterinary Medicine. This is a fee rule. According to the board, the rulemaking preserves
a cash positive position in order to maintain the operational budget of the board. The board notes that the im-
petus for the rulemaking is the incremental increase of business expenses in the way of legal fees, employee
salaries/benefits, rent, risk insurance, etc. The board states that the fee increases also go along with proposed
statutory changes that allow for endorsement nationwide as well as less restrictive licensing requirements. The
board adds that specific fee increases are $65 for veterinary license renewals, $33 for veterinary original li-
censes, and $10 for veterinary technician certification renewals. The board states that the rule also eliminates
veterinary license verification fees of $20. The board indicates that the fee increases go along with proposed
statutory changes that allow for endorsement nationwide as well as less restrictive licensing requirements, and
rule changes that diminish the need for temporary licenses.

Negotiated Rulemaking / Fiscal Impact
According to the board, negotiated rulemaking was conducted.

Statutory Authority
The rulemaking appears to be authorized pursuant to Section 54-2105, Idaho Code.

cc: Board of Veterinary Medicine
Jeremy Brown

*** PLEASE NOTE ***
Per the Idaho Constitution, all administrative rules may be reviewed by the Legislature during the next legisla-
tive session. The Legislature has 3 options with this rulemaking docket: 1) Approve the docket in its entirety;
2) Reject the docket in its entirety; or 3) Reject the docket in part.

Kristin Ford, Manager
Research & Legislation

Paul Headlee, Manager
Budget & Policy Analysis

April Renfro, Manager
Legislative Audits

Glenn Harris, Manager
Information Technology

Statehouse, P.O. Box 83720
Boise, Idaho 83720–0054

Tel: 208–334–2475
www.legislature.idaho.gov
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IDAPA 46 – BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE
46.01.01 – RULES OF THE STATE OF IDAHO BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE

DOCKET NO. 46-0101-1902 (FEE RULE)

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING – PROPOSED RULE

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-2105, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 16, 2019.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

This proposed rulemaking preserves a cash positive position in order to maintain the operational budget of the 
Board. The impetus for this rulemaking is the incremental increase of business expenses (legal fees, employee 
salaries/benefits, rent, risk insurance, etc.) These fee increases also go along with proposed statutory changes that 
allow for endorsement nationwide as well as less restrictive licensing requirements.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased:

Pursuant to the authority provided in Section 54-2105, Idaho Code, the Board’s proposed rulemaking provides 
for fee increases of $65 for veterinary license renewals, $33 for veterinary original licenses, and $10 for veterinary 
technician certification renewals. It also eliminates veterinary license verification fees of $20. These fee increases go 
along with proposed statutory changes that allow for endorsement nationwide as well as less restrictive licensing 
requirements, and rule changes that diminish the need for temporary license.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(1), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was 
conducted. The Notice of Intent to Promulgate Rules - Negotiated Rulemaking was published in the June 5, 2019 
Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 19-6, pages 101 through 102.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Jeremy Brown, Executive Director, at (208) 332-8588 or 
at jeremy.brown@agri.idaho.gov.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 23, 2019.

Dated this 13th day of September, 2019.

Jeremy Brown, Executive Director
Board of Veterinary Medicine
2230 Old Penitentiary Road
P. O. Box 7249
Boise, ID 83707
Phone: (208) 332-8588 / Fax: (208) 332-8645
Email: jeremy.brown@agri.idaho.gov

https://adminrules.idaho.gov/bulletin/2019/06.pdf#page=101
mailto:jeremy.brown@agri.idaho.gov
mailto:jeremy.brown@agri.idaho.gov
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THE FOLLOWING IS THE PROPOSED TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 46-0101-1902
(Only Those Sections With Amendments Are Shown.)

014. FEES.
Fees for licensure and certification are established, as authorized under Title 54, Chapter 21, Idaho Code, by action of 
the Board, as follows: (7-1-97)(        )

01. VeterinarianLicense and Certification:

(3-18-99)(        )

a. Application and Original License Fee -- Two hundred seventy-five dollars ($275). (2-15-17)

b. Annual Renewal Fee. (2-15-17)

i. Active License -- One hundred seventy-five dollars ($175); (3-21-12)

ii. Inactive License -- Fifty dollars ($50). (3-18-99)

c. License Without Clinical Competency Test Fee: (2-15-17)

i. Application and Original License Fee -- Two hundred seventy-five dollars ($275); (3-21-12)

ii. Annual Renewal Fee: (3-30-01)

(1) Active License -- One hundred seventy-five dollars ($175); (3-21-12)

(2) Inactive License -- Fifty dollars ($50). (3-30-01)

d. Reinstatement/Late Fee -- Two hundred dollars ($200). (2-15-17)

e. Reactivation Fee (restore inactive license to active status) -- One hundred fifty dollars ($150);
(3-21-12)

f. Temporary Permit Fee -- One hundred fifty dollars ($150). (2-15-17)

g. License Verifications -- Twenty dollars ($20). (2-15-17)

02. Veterinary Technician Certification Fee. (2-15-17)

New
New and

Temporary
Permit

Active
Renewal

Inactive 
Renewal

Late/
Reinstatement

Inactive to
Active Fee

Veterinary License $350 $500 $240 $50 $200 $150

Certified Veterinary 
Technician $125 $217 $85 $25 $50 $50

Certified Euthanasia 
Agency $100 - $200 - $50 -

Certified Euthanasia 
Technician $100 - $100 - $50 -
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a. Application and Original Certification Fee -- One hundred twenty-five dollars ($125). (3-21-12)

b. Annual Renewal Fee. (2-15-17)

i. Active Certificate -- Seventy-five dollars ($75); (2-15-17)

ii. Inactive Certificate -- Twenty-five dollars ($25). (2-15-17)

c. Reinstatement/Late Fee -- Fifty dollars ($50). (3-21-12)

d. Reactivation Fee (restore inactive certificate to active status) -- Fifty dollars ($50). (2-15-17)

e. Temporary Permit Fee -- Fifty dollars ($50). (3-18-99)

03. Certified Euthanasia Agency Certification Fee. (2-15-17)

a. Application and Original Certification Fee -- One hundred dollars ($100). (3-30-01)

b. Annual Renewal Fee -- Two hundred dollars ($200). (3-21-12)

c. Reinstatement/Late Fee -- Fifty dollars ($50). (3-21-12)

04. Certified Euthanasia Technician Certification Fee. (2-15-17)

a. Training and Certification Fee -- One hundred dollars ($100). (3-30-01)

b. Annual Renewal Fee -- One hundred dollars ($100). (3-21-12)

c. Reinstatement/Late Fee -- Fifty dollars ($50). (3-21-12)

052. Duplicate License and Certificate Fee -- Twenty-Five Dollars ($25)Administrative Fees. When a 
new license, wall certificate or certification is issued for the purpose of changing the license or certificate holder’s 
name, the request for name change must be accompanied by a copy of the court order or marriage license 
authorizing the name change and the current license, certification or original wall certificate shall be returned to the 
Board office. 

(3-30-01) (        )

Duplicate Wall License/Certificate $25



PROPOSED RULE COST/BENEFIT ANALYSIS 
 

 
Section 67-5223(3), Idaho Code, requires the preparation of an economic impact statement for all proposed rules 
imposing or increasing fees or charges. This cost/benefit analysis, which must be filed with the proposed rule, must 
include the reasonably estimated costs to the agency to implement the rule and the reasonably estimated costs to be 
borne by citizens, or the private sector, or both. 
 
Department or Agency: Board of Veterinary Medicine   
 
Agency Contact: Jeremy Brown, Executive Director Phone: 208-332-8588 
 
Date: August 7, 2019 
 
IDAPA, Chapter and Title Number and Chapter Name:  IDAPA 46.01.01 – Rules of the State of Idaho 
Board of Veterinary Medicine 
 
Fee Rule Status: _X__ Proposed  ___ Temporary 
 
Rulemaking Docket Number: 46-0101-1902    
 
STATEMENT OF ECONOMIC IMPACT: 
 
These fee changes are needed to preserve a cash positive position in order to maintain the operational budget of 
the Board. The impetus for these fee changes is the incremental increase of business (legal fees, employee 
benefits, rent, risk insurance, etc.) 
 
Pursuant to the authority provided in Section 54-2105, Idaho Code, the Board of Veterinary Medicine is proposing 
fee increases of $65 to veterinary license renewals, $75 veterinary original licenses, and $10 veterinary technician 
certification renewals. Veterinary license verification fees of $20 will be eliminated. The Board is also proposing 
to eliminate license fees and renewal fees for active or returning from active duty military personnel. The fee 
increases go along with proposed statutory changes that will allow for endorsement nationwide as well as less 
restrictive licensing requirements. 
 
The Board estimates generating about $65,000 per year ($58,500 veterinary license renewal, $3,300 veterinary 
original license, $2,500 veterinary technician certification renewal) and losing roughly $500 from elimination of 
license verification fees.  
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