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IDAPA 08 — STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
DOCKET NO. 08-0000-2000F (FEE RULE)
NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING — ADOPTION OF TEMPORARY RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rules being adopted through this omnibus rulemaking is
the adjournment date of the second regular session of the 65th Idaho State Legislature - March 20, 2020.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given this agency has adopted
temporary rules. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 33-118, 33-130, 33-1205, 33-2402 and 2403, Idaho
Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons
for adopting a temporary rule:

This temporary rulemaking adopts the following chapters under IDAPA 08:

IDAPA 08
* 08.01.11, Registration of Postsecondary Educational Institutions and Proprietary Schools:
e Subsection 200.07 Registration Fee, Postsecondary Educational Institutions;
e Subsection 300.06 Registration Fee, Proprietary Schools;
* 08.02.02, Rules Governing Uniformity:
e Subsection 066 Fees, Educator Certification;
e Subsection 075.03, Fingerprinting and Background Investigation Checks;
* 08.02.03, Rules Governing Thoroughness:
e Subsection 128, Curricular Materials Selection and Online Course Approval.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rules is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and
confer a benefit on its citizens. These temporary rules implement the duly enacted laws of the state of Idaho, provide
citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the orderly execution and
enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and processes would undermine
the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the benefit intended by these rules.

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), the Governor has found that the fees or charges being imposed or
increased are justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fees are described herein:

The fees or charges, authorized in Sections 33-118, 33-130, 33-1205, 33-2402 and 2403, Idaho Code, are part of
the agency’s 2021 budget that relies upon the existence of these fees or charges to meet the state’s obligations and
provide necessary state services. Failing to reauthorize these temporary rules would create immediate danger to the
state budget, immediate danger to necessary state functions and services, and immediate danger of a violation of
Idaho’s constitutional requirement that it balance its budget.

The following is a specific description of the fees or charges:

IDAPA 08.01.11 (Collected by the Office of the State Board of Education)
* Subsection 200.07 - Registration Fee, Postsecondary Educational Institutions:
* Subsection 300.06 - Registration Fee, Proprietary Schools:
* Annual registration fee for initial registration or renewal of registration is equal to one-half of one percent
(.5%) of the gross Idaho tuition revenue of the institution during the previous tax reporting year (Jan 1 -
Dec 31), but not less than one hundred dollars ($100) and not to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000).

IDAPA 08.02.02 (Collected by the State Department of Education)
e Section 066 - Fees, Educator Certification:

« Initial Certificate - $75

» Renewal Certificate - $75

* Alternate Route Authorization - $100
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+ Additions or Changes to an Existing Certificate - $25
* Replace an Existing Certificate - $10
* Subsection 075.03 - Fingerprinting and Background Investigation Checks:
* Fingerprinting Processing Fee, All Applicants (excluding volunteers) - $28.25
* Fingerprinting Processing Fee, Volunteers - $26.25

IDAPA 08.02.03 (Collected by the State Department of Education)
* Section 128 - Curricular Materials Selection and Online Course Approval:
+ Curricular Materials Review submission fee $60 or an amount equal to the retail price of each
curricular material.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary
rule, contact Tracie Bent, Chief Planning and Policy Officer, at (208)332-1582 or tracie.bent@osbe.idaho.gov.

DATED this 13th day of February, 2020.

Tracie Bent

Chief Planning and Policy Officer
Office of the State Board of Education
650 W. State Street

P.O. Box 83720

Boise, Idaho 83720-0037

Phone: (208) 332-1582

Fax: (208) 334-2632
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08.01.11 — REGISTRATION OF POSTSECONDARY EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS
AND PROPRIETARY SCHOOLS

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

200. REGISTRATION OF POSTSECONDARY EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS.

01. Delegation. Section 33-2403, Idaho Code, provides that a postsecondary educational institution
must hold a valid certificate of registration issued by the Board. The Board delegates authority to its Executive
Director and the Office of the State Board of Education to administer the registration of postsecondary educational

institution, in accordance with Title 33, Chapter 24, Idaho Code, and this rule. (3-20-20)T
02. Registration Requirement. (3-20-20)T
a. Unless exempted by statute or this rule, as provided herein, a postsecondary educational institution

which maintains a presence within the state of Idaho, or that operates or purports to operate from a location within the
state of Idaho, shall register and hold a valid certificate of registration issued by the Board. An institution shall not
conduct, provide, offer, or sell a course or courses of study, or degree unless registered. (3-20-20)T

b. Registration shall be for the period beginning on the date a certificate of registration is issued and
continue through June 30 of the next succeeding year. A registered postsecondary educational institution must renew
its certificate of registration annually, and renewal of registration is not automatic. (3-20-20)T

c. Renewal of registration shall be for the period beginning on July 1 of any year, and continue
through June 30 of the next succeeding year. (3-20-20)T

d. A new or start-up entity that desires to operate as a postsecondary educational institution in Idaho
but which is not yet accredited by an accreditation organization recognized by the Board must register and operate as
a proprietary school until accreditation is obtained. A new or start-up entity that is accredited and authorized to
operate in another state, and which desires to operate as a postsecondary educational institution in Idaho offering
degrees for which specialized program accreditation is required, may be granted approval to operate subject to the
successful attainment of such program accreditation within the regular program accreditation cycle required by the

accreditor. (3-20-20)T
e. There is no inherent or private right to grant degrees in Idaho. That authority belongs only to
institutions properly authorized to operate in Idaho under these rules. (3-20-20)T
03. Idaho Presence. (3-20-20)T
a. An institution shall be deemed to have a presence in Idaho, or to be operating or purporting to be

operating from a location within the state of Idaho, if it owns, rents, leases, or uses any office or other type of physical
location in Idaho, including a mailing or sh1pp1ng center, or if it represents in any way, such as on an electronic or
Internet website, to have an Idaho street or mailing address, including a post office box in Idaho, for purposes of
conducting, providing, offering or selling a course or courses of study or degrees. (3-20-20)T

b. Idaho presence shall include medical/osteopathic education clinical instruction occurring in the
state of Idaho as part of a course of study leading to a degree pursuant to a formal multi-year arrangement or
agreement between such clinic and an institution providing medical/osteopathic education instruction where eleven

(11) or more students of the institution are physically present simultaneously at a single field site. (3-20-20)T
c. Idaho presence shall not include: (3-20-20)T
i Distance or online education delivered by an institution located outside of the state of Idaho to
students in this state when the institution does not otherwise have physical presence in Idaho, as provided in
Subsection 200.03.a. of this rule; (3-20-20)T
il. Medical education instruction occurring in the state of Idaho by an institution pursuant to a medical
education program funded by the state of Idaho; (3-20-20)T
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iil. Internship or cooperative training programs occurring in the state of Idaho where students are
employed by or provide services to a business or company in this state and receive course credit from an institution
related to such activities; or (3-20-20)T

iv. Activities limited to the recruiting or interviewing of applicants or potential students in the state of
Idaho, whether conducted by a compensated employee, agent, or representative of an institution, or by volunteer
alumnus of an institution, even if such individual is physically located in this state. (3-20-20)T

04. Institutions Exempt from Registration. (3-20-20)T

a. Idaho public postsecondary educational institutions. Section 33-2402(1), Idaho Code, provides that
a public institution supported primarily by taxation from either the state of Idaho or a local source in Idaho shall not
be required to register. (3-20-20)T

b. Certain Idaho private, nonprofit, postsecondary educational institutions. A private, nonprofit,
postsecondary educational institution that is already established and operational as of the date when this rule first
went into effect (Brigham Young University - Idaho, College of Idaho, Northwest Nazarene University, New Saint
Andrews College, Boise Bible College), and located within the state of Idaho, and that is accredited by an
accreditation organization recognized by the Board, as set forth in Section 100 of this rule, shall not be required to
register. A private, nonprofit, institution is located within the state of Idaho only if it has been lawfully organized in
the state of Idaho and its principal place of business is located within the state of Idaho. An institution exempt under
this subsection may voluntarily register by following the procedure for registration provided herein. (3-20-20)T

c. Idaho religious institutions. A religious institution located within the state of Idaho that is owned,
controlled, operated, and maintained by a religious organization lawfully operating as a nonprofit religious
corporation and that grants only religious degrees shall not be required to register. (3-20-20)T

0s. Institutions That Must Register. Unless exempt under Subsection 200.04 of this rule, any entity
that desires to operate as a postsecondary educational institution in Idaho must register as provided herein.
(3-20-20)T

06. Application. A postsecondary educational institution that is required to register under this rule
must submit to the Board office an application for registration (either an application for initial registration or renewal
of registration, as applicable), on the form provided by the Board office. The application must include a list of each
course, course of study, and degree the applicant institution intends to conduct, provide, offer, or sell in Idaho during
the registration year. (3-20-20)T

07. Registration Fees. The Board shall assess an annual registration fee for initial registration or
renewal of registration of a postsecondary educational institution. The registration fee must accompany the
application for registration, and shall be in the amount of one-half of one percent (.5%) of the gross Idaho tuition
revenue of the institution during the previous tax reporting year (Jan 1 - Dec 31), but not less than one hundred dollars
($100) and not to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000). The institution must provide financial documentation to
substantiate the amount of revenue reported. Registration fees are nonrefundable. (3-20-20)T

08. Deadline for Registration. An initial application for registration may be submitted to the Board at
anytime. An institution should expect the Board’s review process for an initial registration to take approximately
three (3) to five (5) months. An application for renewal of registration must be submitted to the Board on or before
the first business day of May that precedes the registration year. The renewal will be processed within thirty (30)
days. Institutions that do not adhere to this schedule and whose renewals are not processed by July 1st must cease all

active operations until approval of registration is received. (3-20-20)T
09. Information Required. (3-20-20)T
a. An application must include all the information requested on the application form, as well as the
following information: (3-20-20)T
1. Copy of most recent accreditation letter showing the period of approval, (3-20-20)T
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State Board of Education Educational Institutions & Proprietary Schools
ii. Current list of chief officers - e.g. president, board chair, chief academic officer, chief fiscal officer;
(3-20-20)T

1il. Enrollment data for current and past two (2) years; (3-20-20)T

iv. Copy of annual audited financial statement, or other financial instrument as established by the
executive director; (3-20-20)T
V. Any additional information that the Board may request. (3-20-20)T

vi. All advertising, pamphlets, and other literature used to solicit students and all contract forms must

accurately represent the purpose of the school, its courses or courses of study, and other relevant information to assist
students in making an informed decision to enroll. Institutions offering courses or courses of study which require
clinical, practicum or internship components must provide students in writing information regarding the number of
clinical, practicum or internship positions available and the location of said positions. Institutions with courses or
courses of study that have not been fully accredited must disclose to prospective students in these courses or courses
of study the accreditation status of the program and anticipated date for full accreditation. (3-20-20)T

b. The Board may, in connection with a renewal of registration, request that an institution only submit
information that documents changes from the previous year, provided that the institution certifies that all information
and/or documentation submitted in a previous registration year remains current. The annual registration fee,
described in Subsection 200.07 of this rule, shall remain applicable. (3-20-20)T

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

300. REGISTRATION OF PROPRIETARY SCHOOLS.

01. Delegation. Section 33-2403, Idaho Code, provides that a proprietary school must hold a valid
certificate of registration issued by the Board. The Board delegates authority to its Executive Director and the Office
of the State Board of Education to administer the registration of proprietary schools, in accordance with Title 33,

Chapter 24, Idaho Code, and this rule. (3-20-20)T
02. Registration Requirement. (3-20-20)T
a. Unless exempted by statute or this rule, as provided herein, a proprietary school which maintains a

presence within the state of Idaho, or which operates or purports to operate from a location within the state of Idaho,
shall register annually and hold a valid certificate of registration issued by the Board. A school shall not conduct,
provide, offer, or sell a course or courses of study unless registered. A school shall not solicit students for or on behalf
of such school, or advertise in this state, unless registered. (3-20-20)T

b. Registration shall be for the period beginning July 1 of any year and continue through June 30 of
the next succeeding year. For a school that has not previously registered with the Board, registration shall be for the
period beginning on the date of issuance of a certificate of registration and continue through June 30 of the next
succeeding year. A registered proprietary school must renew its certificate of registration annually and renewal of
registration is not automatic. (3-20-20)T

c. Renewal of registration shall be for the period beginning on July 1 of any year, and continue
through June 30 of the next succeeding year. (3-20-20)T

03. Idaho Presence. (3-20-20)T

a. A school shall be deemed to have a presence in Idaho, or to be operating or purporting to be
operating from a location within the state of Idaho, or if it owns, rents, 1eases or uses any office or other type of
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physical location in Idaho, including a mailing or shipping center, or if it represents in any way, such as on an
electronic or Internet website, to have an Idaho street or mailing address, including a post office box in Idaho, for

purposes of conducting, providing, offering or selling a course or courses of study or degrees. (3-20-20)T
b. Idaho presence shall not include: (3-20-20)T
. Distance or online education delivered by an institution located outside of the state of Idaho to
students in this state when the institution does not otherwise have physical presence in Idaho, as provided in
Subsection 300.03.a. of this rule; (3-20-20)T
il. Internship or cooperative training programs occurring in the state of Idaho where students are
employed by or provide services to a business or company in this state and receive course credit from an institution
related to such activities; or (3-20-20)T
iil. Activities limited to the recruiting or interviewing of applicants or potential students in the state of
Idaho, whether conducted by a compensated employee, agent, or representative of an institution, or by volunteer
alumnus of an institution, even if such individual is physically located in this state. (3-20-20)T
04. Exemptions from Registration. The following individuals or entities are specifically exempt from
the registration requirements of this rule: (3-20-20)T
a. An individual or entity that offers instruction or training solely avocational or recreational in
nature, as determined by the Board. (3-20-20)T
b. An individual or entity that offers courses recognized by the Board which comply in whole or in
part with the compulsory education law. (3-20-20)T
c. An individual or entity that offers a course or courses of study sponsored by an employer for the
training and preparation of its own employees, and for which no tuition fee is charged to the student. (3-20-20)T
d. An individual or entity which is otherwise regulated, licensed, or registered with another state
agency pursuant to Title 54, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T
e. An individual or entity that offers intensive review courses designed to prepare students for
certified public accountancy tests, public accountancy tests, law school aptitude tests, bar examinations or medical
college admissions tests, or similar instruction for test preparation. (3-20-20)T
f. An individual or entity offering only workshops or seminars lasting no longer than three (3)
calendar days and offered no more than four (4) times per year. (3-20-20)T
g. A parochial or denominational institution providing instruction or training relating solely to
religion and for which degrees are not granted. (3-20-20)T
h. An individual or entity that offers postsecondary credit through a consortium of public and private
colleges and universities under the auspices of the Western Governors University. (3-20-20)T
i An individual or entity that offers flight instruction and that accepts payment for services for such
training on a per-flight basis after the training occurs, or that accepts advance payment or a deposit for such training
in a de minimus amount equal to or less than fifteen (15) percent of the total course or program cost. (3-20-20)T
05. Application. A proprietary school that is required to register under this rule must submit to the

Board office an application for registration (either an application for initial registration, or renewal of registration, as
applicable), on a form provided by the Board office. The application must include a list of each course or courses of
study the applicant school intends to conduct, provide, offer or sell in Idaho during the registration year. (3-20-20)T

06. Registration Fees. The Board shall assess an annual registration fee for initial registration or
renewal of registration. The registration fee must accompany the application for registration, and shall be one-half of
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one percent (.5%) of the gross Idaho tuition revenue of the school during the previous tax reporting year (Jan 1 - Dec

31), but not less than one hundred dollars ($100) and not to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000). The school shall

provide documentation to substantiate the amount of revenue reported. Registration fees are nonrefundable.
(3-20-20)T

07. Deadline for Registration. An initial application for registration may be submitted to the Board at
anytime. A school should expect the Board review process for an initial registration to take approximately three (3) to
five (5) months. An application for renewal of registration must be submitted to the Board on or before the first
business day of May that precedes the registration year. The renewal will be processed within thirty (30) days.
Institutions that do not adhere to this schedule and whose renewals are not processed by July 1st must cease all active
operations until approval of registration is received. (3-20-20)T

08. Information Required. Such application must include all the information requested on the
application form. In addition, a school must attest by signature of the primary official on the application form that it is
in compliance with Standards I through V set forth in Section 301 of this rule and must provide verification of
compliance with Standards I through V set forth in Section 301 of this rule upon request. The Board may, in
connection with a renewal of registration, request that a school only submit information that documents changes from
the previous year, provided that the school certifies that all information and/or documentation submitted in a previous
registration year remains current. The annual registration fee, described in Subsection 300.06 of this rule, shall
remain applicable. (3-20-20)T
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08.02.02 — RULES GOVERNING UNIFORMITY

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

066. FEES.

The state Department of Education shall maintain a record of all certificates issued, showing names, dates of issue
and renewal, and if revoked, the date thereof and the reason therefor. A nonrefundable fee shall accompany each
application for a prekindergarten through grade twelve (12) certificate, alternate certificate, change in certificate or
replacement as follows: (3-20-20)T

01. Initial Certificate. All types, issued for five (5) years -- seventy-five dollars ($75). (3-20-20)T
02. Renewal Certificate. All types, issued for five (5) years -- seventy-five dollars ($75). (3-20-20)T

03. Alternate Route Authorization. All types, issued for one (1) year -- one hundred dollars ($100).

(3-20-20)T
04. Additions or Changes During the Life of an Existing Certificate. Twenty-five dollars ($25).

(3-20-20)T
05. To Replace an Existing Certificate. Ten dollars ($10). (3-20-20)T

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

075.  FINGERPRINTING AND BACKGROUND INVESTIGATION CHECKS (SECTIONS 33-130 AND
33-512, IDAHO CODE).
All individuals who are required by the provisions of Section 33-130, Idaho Code, must undergo a background

investigation check. (3-20-20)T
01. Definitions. (3-20-20)T
a. Applicant. An individual completing a background investigation check as identified in Subsection
075.02 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

b. Background Investigation Check. The submission of a completed applicant fingerprint card or scan
by an authorized entity submitted under an enacted state statute/local ordinance or federal law, approved by the
Attorney General of the United States allowing a search of the state and federal criminal history indices for non-
criminal justice purposes including employment suitability, licensing determinations, immigration and naturalization
matters, and national security clearances. (3-20-20)T

c. Background Investigation Check Result. The response to a state and federal background
investigation check initiated by a fingerprint submission from an authorized entity for non-criminal justice purposes.
Results are returned to the submitting authorized entity by the state criminal history repository (Idaho State Police

Bureau of Criminal Investigation). (3-20-20)T
d. Break-in-Service. A voluntary or involuntary termination in employment, including retirement.

(3-20-20)T

e. Candidate. An individual attending a postsecondary program. (3-20-20)T

f. Contractor. An agency, company/business, or individual that has signed a contract or agreement to

provide services to an LEA and private or parochial school. (3-20-20)T

g. Employee. A person who is hired for a wage, salary, fee, or payment to perform work for an

employer. (3-20-20)T
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h. Fingerprint Card or Scan. The process for obtaining impressions of an individual’s fingerprint
images, both ten (10) individual finger impressions rolled from nail to nail and slap or flat impressions taken
simultaneously without rolling. Fingerprints may be recorded utilizing either an inked standard fingerprint card or
using a livescan device. Standard fingerprint cards may also be scanned for submission to the state repository for

background investigation check purposes. (3-20-20)T
i Rejected Fingerprint Cards or Scans. A fingerprint card or scan that has been returned by the Idaho
State Police Bureau of Criminal Identification or Federal Bureau of Investigation for poor quality prints. (3-20-20)T
je Unsupervised Contact. Direct contact or interaction with students not under the direct supervision
of an LEA employee in a K-12 setting. This includes contact or interaction with students in scheduled school
activities that occur outside of the school or outside of normal school hours. (3-20-20)T
02. Individuals Required to Complete a Background Investigation Check. (3-20-20)T
a. All applicants for certificates; (3-20-20)T
b. Certificated and noncertificated employees; (3-20-20)T
c. Substitute teachers; (3-20-20)T
d. Contractors who have unsupervised contact with students in a public K-12 setting, including
contractors who are providing student services; (3-20-20)T
e. Student teachers or any postsecondary candidates who have unsupervised contact with students in a
public K-12 setting; (3-20-20)T
f. Volunteers who have unsupervised contact with students in a public K-12 setting; (3-20-20)T
g. Any individuals who have unsupervised contact with students in a public K-12 setting. (3-20-20)T
03. Fee. The SDE shall charge a fee for undergoing a background investigation check pursuant to
Section 33-130, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T
04. Rejected Fingerprint Cards or Scans. (3-20-20)T
a. When a fingerprint card has been rejected a new completed fingerprint card is required. (3-20-20)T
b. The rejected fingerprint card will be sent back to the originating LEA, private or parochial school,
contractor, postsecondary program, or individual. (3-20-20)T
c. A new fingerprint card must be completed by a law enforcement agency to ensure legible
fingerprints. Both the rejected fingerprint card and the new fingerprint card must be returned to the SDE within thirty
(30) calendar days. (3-20-20)T
d. If the new fingerprint card and rejected fingerprint card are returned after thirty (30) calendar days,
a fee, pursuant to Subsection 075.03 of these rules, is required to be paid. (3-20-20)T

05. Secured Background Investigation Check Website. The SDE will maintain a background
investigation check website listing the background investigation check results for review by the LEA, private or
parochial school, contractor or postsecondary program. Each LEA, private or parochial school, contractor and
postsecondary program will have access to the background investigation check secure site listing their employees,

statewide substitute teacher list, and student teacher list. (3-20-20)T
06. Background Investigation Checks for Certification. (3-20-20)T
a. The SDE will make the final determination if an applicant is eligible for Idaho certification.
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(3-20-20)T

b. If the SDE makes a determination that the applicant is not eligible for Idaho certification, the SDE
may deny the applicant Idaho certification. Upon receiving the written denial, the applicant may request a hearing
pursuant to Section 33-1209, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

07. Substitute Teachers. Substitute teachers as defined in Section 33-512(15), Idaho Code, must
undergo a background investigation check. The SDE shall maintain a statewide substitute teacher list. To remain on
the list a substitute teacher shall undergo a background investigation check every five (5) years in accordance with
Section 33-512, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

08. Break In Service. (3-20-20)T

a. When an employee returns to any LEA, private or parochial school, or contractor after a break in
service, a new background investigation check must be completed pursuant to Section 33-130, Idaho Code.
(3-20-20)T

b. When an employee changes employment between LEAs a new background investigation check
must be completed pursuant to Section 33-130, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

09. Postsecondary. (3-20-20)T

a. The postsecondary program will submit a completed fingerprint card or scan for all candidates who
are applying for unsupervised contact with students in a public K-12 setting including student teaching, internships,
or other types of candidate training. (3-20-20)T

b. The SDE will make a preliminary determination based on the CHC result if the candidate is eligible
for certification in Idaho. This decision will be forwarded to the postsecondary program concerning the eligibility of
their candidate. (3-20-20)T
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08.02.03 — RULES GOVERNING THOROUGHNESS

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

128. CURRICULAR MATERIALS SELECTION AND ONLINE COURSE APPROVAL (SECTIONS
33-118; 33-118A, IDAHO CODE).

The State Board of Education will appoint a committee to select curriculum materials. Committee appointments will
be for a period of five (5) years. Committee appointments shall consist of not less than ten (10) total members from
the following stakeholder groups: certified Idaho classroom teachers, Idaho public school administrators, Idaho
higher education officials, parents, trustees, local board of education members, members of the Division of Career
Technical Education, and State Department of Education personnel. The Executive Secretary will be an employee of
the State Department of Education and will be a voting member of the committee. The State Department of Education
shall charge publishers submission fees of sixty dollars ($60) or equal to the retail price of each, whichever is greater,
to defray the costs incurred in the curricular material review and adoption process. (3-20-20)T

01. Subject Areas. Curricular materials are adopted by the State Board of Education for a period of six
(6) years in the following subject areas: reading, English, spelling, speech, journalism, languages other than English,
art, drama, social studies, music, mathematics, business education, career education and counseling, vocational/
technical education, science, health, physical education, handwriting, literature, driver education, limited English

proficiency. (3-20-20)T
02. Multiple Adoptions. Multiple adoptions are Made in Each Subject Area. (3-20-20)T
03. Bids. Each publisher must deliver, according to the committee schedule, a sealed bid on all
curricular materials presented for adoption. (3-20-20)T
04. Depository. The State Board will appoint a depository for the state-adopted curricular materials.
Resource materials are a local option. (3-20-20)T
05. Local Policies. School districts will follow their own policies for adoption in subject areas offered
by a school district for which materials are not covered by the state curriculum materials committee. (3-20-20)T
06. Online Course Review and Approval Process. The State Department of Education shall

administer the review and approval of online course providers and courses. Reviewers shall be certified Idaho
classroom teachers. Online course providers are approved for a period of four (4) years. The State Department of
Education shall charge online course providers submission fees based on the number of courses offered, not to exceed
the actual costs incurred in the online course and course provider review and approval process. (3-20-20)T
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