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IDAPA 24 – DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES
24.02.01 – RULES OF THE STATE ATHLETIC COMMISSION

DOCKET NO. 24-0201-2000F (FEE RULE)

NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF TEMPORARY RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule being adopted through this omnibus rulemaking is the 
adjournment date of the second regular session of the 65th Idaho State Legislature - March 20, 2020.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given this agency has adopted a 
temporary rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-406, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons 
for adopting a temporary rule:

This temporary rulemaking adopts the following chapter under IDAPA 24:

IDAPA 24.02
• 24.02.01, Rules of the State Athletic Commission.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the 
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and 
confer a benefit on its citizens. These temporary rules implement the duly enacted laws of the state of Idaho, provide 
citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the orderly execution and 
enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and processes would undermine 
the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the benefit intended by these rules. 
These rules establish and govern the standards and practices of the Idaho Athletic Commission, which oversees 
boxing, mixed martial arts, and wrestling contests. Allowing these rules to expire would deny the Commission the 
ability to sanction permits and admit licensees; and elimination of the standards that protect combatants in sanctioned 
contests would harm the health, safety, and welfare of combatants.

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), the Governor has found that the fees or charges being imposed or 
increased are justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fees are described herein:

The fees or charges, authorized in Sections 54-406, 54-410, and 54-416, Idaho Code, are part of the agency’s 
2021 budget that relies upon the existence of these fees or charges to meet the state’s obligations and provide 
necessary state services. Failing to reauthorize these temporary rules would create immediate danger to the state 
budget, immediate danger to necessary state functions and services, and immediate danger of a violation of Idaho’s 
constitutional requirement that it balance its budget.

The following is a specific description of the fees or charges:

FEE TYPE AMOUNT
(Not to Exceed)

RENEWAL
(Not to Exceed)

Combatant $150 $150

Non-combatant $150 $150

Matchmaker $250 $250

Promoter $1,000 $750

Sanction Permit $200 $250

Ring Official $150 $150
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ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary 
rule, contact Rob McQuade at (208) 334-3233.

DATED this February 21, 2020. 

Kelley Packer
Division Administrator
Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses
700 W. State Street
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720
Phone: (208) 334-3233
Fax: (208) 334-3945
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24.02.01 – RULES OF THE STATE ATHLETIC COMMISSION

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
Rulemaking authority is vested in the Athletic Commission in Title 54, Chapter 4, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.
These rules are to be known and cited at IDAPA 24.02.01, “Rules of the State Athletic Commission.” These rules are 
intended to provide clarification on the methods and restrictions of unarmed combat in Idaho. (3-20-20)T

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS.

01. Champion. A person who has been formally acknowledged supreme in a branch of athletics or 
game of skill and who is ready to contend with any qualified challenger. (3-20-20)T

02. Combatant. Any boxer, kickboxer, martial artist, or wrestler who takes part as a competitor in an 
event. A “combatant” sometimes is referred to as a “contestant” in these rules. (3-20-20)T

03. Event. A program of one (1) or more unarmed combat contests or exhibitions. (3-20-20)T

a. An “amateur event” is an event in which the only combatants are amateur combatants. (3-20-20)T

b. A “professional event” is an event in which the only combatants are professional combatants.
(3-20-20)T

c. A “pro-am” is an event in which combatants include professional combatants and amateur 
combatants. Professional combatants may not compete against amateur combatants in “pro-am” events. (3-20-20)T

04. Main Event. The headline or marquee contest or exhibition scheduled to occur at an event.
(3-20-20)T

05. Mixed Martial Arts (MMA). A full contact sport that allows a wide variety of unarmed combat 
techniques from a mixture of martial arts traditions to be used in competitions. (3-20-20)T

06. Stub. That part of the ticket retained by a person entering the arena in which an event is held after 
the ticket has been collected. (3-20-20)T

07. Ticket. That document issued by the promoter allowing a person’s entrance and attendance at an 
event and may include that part of the ticket retained by the promoter documenting a person’s entrance to an event.

(3-20-20)T

011. -- 099. (RESERVED)

100. LICENSING.

01. Application for License. Applicants will submit a complete, Commission-approved, application 
verified under oath, including the fee and any necessary supporting documentation to the Division for each of the 
following licenses: (3-20-20)T

a. Combatant; (3-20-20)T

b. Promoter; (3-20-20)T

c. Matchmaker; (3-20-20)T

d. Manager; (3-20-20)T

e. Second, including a trainer; (3-20-20)T

f. Ring Official; or (3-20-20)T

g. Sanctioning permit for an event. (3-20-20)T
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101. AGE AND PHYSICAL CONDITION.

01. Age of Combatant. The Commission will review all complete applications for a combatant license 
so that the applicant’s experience and fitness may be considered before a license is issued, if the applicant has:

(3-20-20)T

a. Not reached eighteen (18) years of age; or (3-20-20)T

b. Reached thirty-six (36) years of age. (3-20-20)T

02. Poor Vision. The Commission will not issue a license to engage in unarmed combat to any 
applicant who is found to be blind in one (1) eye or whose vision in one (1) eye is so poor that a physician 
recommends that no license be granted. Exceptions will not be made due to exemplary vision in the good eye.

(3-20-20)T

03. Cerebral Hemorrhage. The Commission will not issue a license to engage in unarmed combat to 
any person who has suffered a cerebral hemorrhage. (3-20-20)T

04. Serious Head Injuries. The Commission will review the application of any person who has 
suffered a serious head injury before a license is issued to that person. (3-20-20)T

102. ABILITY OF COMBATANT.

01. Satisfy Commission. Before a combatant license is issued by the Commission to any person, the 
Commission must be satisfied of the person’s ability to compete. (3-20-20)T

02. Questioned Ability. If a combatant’s ability to perform is questioned for any reason, the 
Commission may hold a hearing to determine: (3-20-20)T

a. Whether the person’s license should be revoked; or (3-20-20)T

b. Whether he should be granted a license. (3-20-20)T

103. PHYSICAL EXAMINATION OF COMBATANT.

01. Examination by Physician. Any combatant who has applied for a license or a renewal of his 
license must be examined by a physician. The physician will establish the combatant’s physical and mental fitness for 
competition. (3-20-20)T

02. Additional Examination. Any combatant licensed by the Commission who participates in a 
contest outside of the state of Idaho may need to take this examination again before being allowed to compete in 
Idaho. (3-20-20)T

03. Drug Abuse. The Commission will not issue a license to an athlete who has a recent history of 
drug abuse, without proof of participation in a recognized drug rehabilitation program and/or submission to 
urinalysis. (3-20-20)T

04. Blood Testing. The Commission will not issue a license to an athlete, or allow an athlete to 
compete in an event, if the athlete, within the six (6) months immediately preceding the application for licensure or 
the event at which the licensee wishes to compete, has tested positive for the HIV virus, Hepatitis B Surface Antigen 
and Hepatitis C Antibody, or illegal drugs or other substances. Accordingly, upon application for a license, the athlete 
will submit with the application a blood test report from a blood test conducted within the six (6) months preceding 
the application date. The blood test must have tested the athlete for HIV virus, Hepatitis B Surface Antigent, Hepatitis 
C Antibody, and illegal drugs and substances. Additionally, each combatant who is to compete in an event will, at the 
start of the event, provide the Commission with a blood test report from a blood test conducted within the six (6) 
months immediately preceding the event. Additional blood tests may be requested by the Commission in its 
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discretion. (3-20-20)T

104. FEES.

(3-20-20)T

105. HONORING ACTIONS OF REGULATORY AGENCIES IN OTHER JURISDICTIONS.
The Commission may honor the following actions of agencies in other jurisdictions which regulate boxing, wrestling, 
martial arts, or combination thereof: (3-20-20)T

01. Suspension. A suspension of a combatant ordered for: (3-20-20)T

a. Medical safety; (3-20-20)T

b. A violation of a law or rule governing boxing, wrestling, martial arts, or combination thereof which 
also exists in this state; or (3-20-20)T

c. Any other conduct which discredits boxing, wrestling, martial arts, or combination thereof as 
determined by the Commission. (3-20-20)T

106. TIME BETWEEN CONTESTS.
In no case may a combatant (excluding wrestlers) participate in more than one (1) contest or exhibition in any twenty-
four (24) hour period. Without the special permission of the Commission, a combatant may not compete in this state 
unless: (3-20-20)T

01. Four Days. Four (4) days have elapsed since the combatant’s last contest if the contest lasted not 
more than four (4) rounds. (3-20-20)T

02. Seven Days. Seven (7) days have elapsed since the combatant’s last contest if the contest lasted 
five (5) or six (6) rounds. (3-20-20)T

03. Fourteen Days. Fourteen (14) days have elapsed since the combatant’s last contest if the contest 
lasted seven (7) or eight (8) rounds. (3-20-20)T

04. Twenty-One Days. Twenty-one (21) days have elapsed since the combatant’s last contest if the 
contest lasted nine (9) or ten (10) rounds. (3-20-20)T

05. Forty-Five Days. Forty-five (45) days have elapsed since the combatant’s last contest if the contest 
lasted eleven (11) or twelve (12) rounds. (3-20-20)T

107. FEMALE COMBATANTS.

01. Qualifications. Only female combatants qualified to perform as a combatant may enter a contest.
(3-20-20)T

FEE TYPE AMOUNT
(Not to Exceed)

RENEWAL
(Not to Exceed)

Combatant $150.00 $150.00
Non-combatant $150.00 $150.00

Matchmaker $250.00 $250.00
Promoter $1,000.00 $750.00

Sanction permit $200.00 $250.00
Ring official $150.00 $150.00
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02. Limitation. A female combatant will not engage in a contest with a male combatant. (3-20-20)T

03. General Requirements. In addition to meeting such requirements of this chapter as are applicable 
to combatants generally, a female applicant will: (3-20-20)T

a. Submit to pregnancy test within fourteen (14) days of the contest. (3-20-20)T

b. Use a mouthpiece specially designed for her mouth; (3-20-20)T

c. Wear ten (10) ounce gloves in a boxing contest; and (3-20-20)T

d. Have her hair secured in a manner that does not interfere with the vision or safety of either 
combatant; (3-20-20)T

04. Addendum Requirement. A female combatant will, in addition to signing the contract, sign an 
addendum certifying that the combatant is not pregnant and that the contest will not take place during a menstrual 
period. (3-20-20)T

05. Limitation on Contest. A contest between female combatants is limited to ten (10) rounds of two 
(2) minutes duration. (3-20-20)T

06. Separate Dressing Rooms. The promoters of a contest between female combatants will provide 
them with adequate separate dressing rooms. (3-20-20)T

108. REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE AS A PROMOTER.

01. Requirements. Any person applying for a license as a promoter may need to appear before the 
Commission and be prepared to prove his: (3-20-20)T

a. Integrity; (3-20-20)T

b. Financial stability; and (3-20-20)T

c. Knowledge of the responsibilities involved in the promotion of relevant combative programs.
(3-20-20)T

02. Provide Waivers. The applicant, or Commission approved designee, will provide all waivers 
necessary to the conduct of the Commission’s investigation of the applicant’s suitability. (3-20-20)T

109. AMATEUR ATHLETIC SANCTIONING ORGANIZATIONS.
The Commission may approve an entity as an officially recognized amateur athletic sanctioning organization that 
may sanction amateur events. The Commission is the final authority on whether an entity may be an amateur athletic 
sanctioning organization. (3-20-20)T

01. Application for Approval. In order to be considered for approval as an officially recognized, 
amateur athletic sanctioning organization under Section 54-406(3)(b)(iii), Idaho Code, an entity will: (3-20-20)T

a. Meet the Criteria for Eligibility set forth in Subsection 109.02 of these rules; (3-20-20)T

b. Submit to the Division a completed application form, supplied by the Commission, on which the 
person signing the application verifies under oath that he is an officer or other person authorized to sign on behalf of 
the entity, that the information on the application and submitted with the application is true and correct, and that the 
entity meets the Criteria for Eligibility set forth in Subsection 109.02 of these rules; (3-20-20)T

c. Pay the appropriate fees, which are: (3-20-20)T

i. Initial application processing fee: Two hundred fifty dollars ($250); and (3-20-20)T
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ii. Initial approval fee: Five hundred dollars ($500). (3-20-20)T

d. Provide the Division with such documentation as the Division may request in the course of 
reviewing the application, and including, without limitation, a list of the entity’s officers and persons claiming an 
ownership interest in the entity, any requested bylaws, constitution, medical forms, contracts, rules, policies, and 
procedures used by the entity; and (3-20-20)T

e. If requested, appear before the Commission to answer, to the Commission’s satisfaction, any 
questions the Commission may have about the entity or the application, including, without limitation, any questions 
regarding whether the entity meets the Criteria for Eligibility set forth in Subsection 109.02 of these rules;

(3-20-20)T

02. Criteria for Eligibility. An entity is eligible for approval as an amateur athletic sanctioning 
organization if it demonstrates, to the Commission’s satisfaction, that it meets the Commission's eligibility criteria. 
An approved entity’s failure to consistently meet these criteria may result in Commission action to suspend or revoke 
the entity’s approved status. The eligibility criteria to be met are: (3-20-20)T

a. The entity is incorporated or otherwise legally recognized under the law of its domicile;(3-20-20)T

b. The entity, if not incorporated or otherwise domiciled in Idaho, is authorized to transact business in 
Idaho; (3-20-20)T

c. The entity and its predecessor entity, if any, have never had an application for approval as an 
amateur sanctioning authority, organization, or similar body denied or disapproved, or an approval as an amateur 
sanctioning authority, organization, or similar body suspended, revoked, or restricted in any way, by any state, 
territory, country, or subdivision thereof. (3-20-20)T

d. No officer or person having an ownership interest in the entity has had a license, of the types issued 
by the Commission, suspended, revoked, or disciplined in any way by any state, territory, country, or subdivision 
thereof. (3-20-20)T

e. All sanctioned events will be conducted in accordance with the sanctioning bodies’ rules as 
approved by the Commission. The entity must adopt and consistently enforce rules that: (3-20-20)T

i. Ensure that contests and exhibitions do not unreasonably endanger the health of combatants or 
other participants; (3-20-20)T

ii. Provide for the medical safety and care of participants in events; (3-20-20)T

iii. Exclude the medically unfit from the contests and exhibitions; (3-20-20)T

iv. Require the presence of an ambulance and EMT’s on site at all times, and the attendance of an 
Idaho-licensed medical doctor or osteopathic physician at ringside. (3-20-20)T

v. Require the event promoter to obtain health insurance sufficient to cover the medical, surgical, and 
hospital care of all event participants, other than the promoter, for injuries sustained while participating in the event. 
The insurance obtained must meet the requirements specified in Section 299 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

vi. Require drug testing and blood testing consistent with the Commission’s rules for events regulated 
by the Commission. The entity will submit the results of such testing to the Commission within forty-eight (48) hours 
after the event sanctioned by the entity ends. (3-20-20)T

vii. Restrict the types of blows that can be delivered; (3-20-20)T

viii. Exclude professional combatants from its contests and exhibitions, and not allow combatants to 
receive any type of purse payment or compensation except as approved by the Commission; (3-20-20)T
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ix. Limit the time and frequency of contests and exhibitions, including, without limitation, the times 
specified in Section 54-407, Idaho Code; (3-20-20)T

x. Require that the entity oversee weigh-ins, the hand wrapping, the glove placement after inspecting 
the gloves as required by the entity’s rules as approved by the Commission; (3-20-20)T

xi. Require that the entity inspect and approve the contest area before the contest starts; (3-20-20)T

xii. Require prompt investigation and resolution of complaints for participants, interested persons, and 
the Commission; (3-20-20)T

xiii. Have a system of review to ensure the entity fairly applies its rules, policies, and procedures;
(3-20-20)T

xiv. Require the identification of the entity on all advertisements, programs, or handbills issued, used, 
or distributed in Idaho; (3-20-20)T

xv. Require cooperation with the Commission, including without limitation, at least thirty (30) days 
advance notification to the Commission of sanctioned events to occur in Idaho, and admission of Commission 
representatives and agents without charge to any sanctioned event, and to any portion of the event. (3-20-20)T

xvi. Require that event participants, and the entity, report to the Commission any violations of the 
entity’s rules arising out of a sanctioned event; (3-20-20)T

xvii. Require all participants, officials, and the entity to appear at reasonable times before the 
Commission and truthfully answer any lawful inquiry of the Commission; (3-20-20)T

xviii. Ensure that all ring officials, including, without limitation, all timekeepers, judges, referees, and 
glovers, and all promoters who ask an entity to sanction an event, are licensed by the Commission; (3-20-20)T

xix. Set an appropriate fee schedule for ring officials. (3-20-20)T

xx. Require the event promoter to obtain a bond or other form of financial security, payable to the State 
of Idaho, and otherwise consistent with Section 300 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

xxi. Require the event promoter to obtain liability insurance for the event, which insurance must 
adequately cover the promoter, venue, entity, and the Commission. (3-20-20)T

xxii. Otherwise require sufficient health and safety standards before, during and after contests and 
exhibitions to ensure the health, safety, and well-being of any participating amateur combatants. The entity’s health 
and safety standards must be no less stringent than the Commission’s health and safety standards for contests and 
exhibitions for which the Commission may issue a sanctioning permit under Title 54, Chapter 4, Idaho Code. 
Sections 731 through 799 of these rules establish the minimum safety requirements for MMA events in Idaho. The 
entity’s health and safety standards for sanctioned MMA events must, at a minimum, comport with the Section 731 
through 799 requirements. (3-20-20)T

f. For each event to be sanctioned by the entity, the entity will ensure that true and correct copies of 
the following documents are presented to the Division at least thirty (30) days before the event: (3-20-20)T

i. The event promoter’s bond or other form of financial security as referenced in Subparagraph 
109.02.e.xx. of these rules. (3-20-20)T

ii. The health insurance certificate for health insurance obtained by the promoter as referenced in 
Subparagraph 109.02.e.v. The deductible amount, claims submission instructions, and insurer contact information 
must also be provided. (3-20-20)T



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 24.02.01
Div. of Occupational and Professional Licenses Rules of the State Athletic Commission

Section 110 Page 1472  

iii. The liability insurance certificate for liability insurance obtained by the promoter as referenced in 
Subparagraph 109.02.e.xxii. of these rules. (3-20-20)T

g. The entity does not sanction events where: (3-20-20)T

i. Financial ties exist between the promoter and the entity, including, without limitation, when anyone 
serves as an officer, principal, or manager in both the entity and promotion company, or have an ownership interest in 
both the entity and the promotion company: (3-20-20)T

ii. Any ring official, employee, or agent that works for both the promoter and the entity. (3-20-20)T

iii. The entity or any of its officers, principals, managers, owners, or employees manages or trains any 
of the combatants. (3-20-20)T

03. Violations. The Commission may suspend or revoke its approval of an amateur athletic sanctioning 
organization if the approved entity or its officers, owners, or agents engage in any conduct that violates or is 
inconsistent with any of the requirements of this Section or reflects serious discredit on the sport of boxing, or uses 
dishonest methods to affect the outcome of any contest. (3-20-20)T

04. Annual Review of Approval. An entity’s approval to be an amateur athletic sanctioning 
organization automatically expires one (1) year after issuance. If the entity wishes to remain as an approved amateur 
sanctioning organization, the entity will submit a timely and complete review application on forms approved by the 
Commission, along with the appropriate fees. To be timely, a review application and any supporting documentation 
must be received by the at least thirty (30) days before the automatic expiration date. After receiving a timely review 
application, the Commission will evaluate the application using the process and criteria set forth in Subsections 
109.01 and 109.02. If the Commission is satisfied that the applicant has satisfied all requirements, then the 
Commission will renew the applicant’s approval for another year term. The fees to be paid are: (3-20-20)T

a. Annual application processing fee: Two hundred fifty dollars ($250); and (3-20-20)T

b. Annual approval fee: Five hundred dollars ($500). (3-20-20)T

110. MANAGER ACTING AS SECOND.
A manager licensed by the Commission may act as a second without having a second’s license. (3-20-20)T

111. REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE AS RING OFFICIAL.

01. Qualifications. To qualify for a license as a ring official of contests, an applicant will: (3-20-20)T

a. Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age. The Commission may, for good cause shown, lower the 
minimum age limit for a particular applicant to eighteen (18) years of age; (3-20-20)T

b. Have no record of conviction of a felony or other crime involving moral turpitude unless approved 
by the commission; (3-20-20)T

c. Have had at least one (1) year experience in either amateur or professional contest as a ring official;
(3-20-20)T

d. Submit verifications from three (3) persons of his proficiency as a ring official; and (3-20-20)T

e. Provide proof that the applicant meets the other requirements of the commission law and rules.
(3-20-20)T

02. Equivalent Qualifications. In lieu of the above qualifications, the Commission may accept 
satisfactory evidence of equivalent qualifications possessed by an applicant who: (3-20-20)T

a. Is currently licensed in another state or country; or (3-20-20)T
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b. Formerly held an Idaho license which lapsed in good standing. (3-20-20)T

03. Other Functions. A person holding a current Idaho license or who formerly held an Idaho license 
which lapsed in good standing may be licensed by the Commission without examination or internship to perform an 
officiating function other than that for which he is or was licensed if the Commission determines that he is qualified 
to perform that function. (3-20-20)T

04. Ring Officials Determination. The Commission will determine when additional ring officials are 
needed and when licensing examinations for ring officials will be conducted. (3-20-20)T

05. Validity of Licenses. Each license issued by the commission is annually renewable in accordance 
with Section 67-2614, Idaho Code. The renewal of a license is not automatic. The applicant’s past performance and 
abilities may be considered in evaluating an application for renewal. (3-20-20)T

112. (RESERVED)

113. APPLICANTS, LICENSEES, AND OFFICIALS.
The Commission may direct any ring official, any person licensed by the Commission and any applicant for a license 
to submit to the Commission any forms, records, and statements at the times and manner as directed. (3-20-20)T

114. GROUNDS FOR DENIAL OR REVOCATION OF LICENSE.
The Commission may deny an application or suspend or revoke a license or take such other disciplinary action 
deemed appropriate if it finds that the applicant or licensee or any partner, officer, director, stockholder, or employee 
of the applicant or licensee has: (3-20-20)T

01. Subject to Discipline. Performed any act which constitutes a violation of the laws or rules of the 
commission. (3-20-20)T

02. Specific Conduct. (3-20-20)T

a. Has been convicted of a felony; (3-20-20)T

b. Engages in illegal bookmaking; (3-20-20)T

c. Engages in any illegal gambling activity; (3-20-20)T

d. Engages in any fraud or misrepresentation in the application process; (3-20-20)T

e. Has a recent history of drug abuse or fails a drug test or refuses to submit to a drug test; (3-20-20)T

f. Is under suspension from any other commission; or (3-20-20)T

g. Is engaged in any activity or practice which is detrimental to the best interests of a contest regulated 
by the commission. (3-20-20)T

115. -- 199. (RESERVED)

200. CONTRACT BETWEEN MANAGER AND COMBATANT.

01. Contractual Obligations. The Commission may refuse to honor a contract between a manager and 
combatant unless it complies with the requirements Section 200 of this rule. A contract between a manager and a 
combatant will be for a term of not more than four (4) years. Such a contract may contain an option which permits the 
manager, at the expiration of the initial term, to renew the contract for an additional period of not more than two (2) 
years. (3-20-20)T

02. After Contract Services. A manager may not contract to receive the services of a combatant under 
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his management for a match which is scheduled to take place after the expiration of the contract. (3-20-20)T

03. Options. A contract between a combatant and a manager may provide for voluntary binding 
arbitration of disputes by the Commission. If so agreed, the arbitration will be conducted by a member of the 
Commission mutually agreed upon by the two (2) parties or, if there is no agreement, by a member of the 
Commission appointed by the chairman. The arbitration will be conducted pursuant to generally accepted arbitration 
standards. (3-20-20)T

04. Contract Approval. The Commission may approve a contract entered into in another jurisdiction 
by a person who is not a resident of Idaho if the terms of the contract comply with the requirements of this section. If 
the terms of the contract exceed the limitations contained in this section, the Commission may honor the contract to 
the extent of those limitations. (3-20-20)T

05. Manager Limitations. A manager may not negotiate or sign for matches for a combatant who is 
not under contract to him. Any combatant who does not have a contract with a licensed manager must sign for his 
own contest and sign the receipt for his own purse. A manager or managers may not participate separately or 
collectively in more than thirty-three and one-third percent (33 1/3%) of the combatant’s earnings in the ring.

(3-20-20)T

06. Manager Responsibilities. If a manager signs only for a combatant’s appearance at a contest, a 
copy of the manager’s authorization to negotiate and sign for the combatant must accompany the contract which he 
concluded with the promoter. If the manager does not send a copy of his authorization, the Commission may deny any 
application received from the combatant or manager pending a hearing before the Commission. (3-20-20)T

201. MANAGER'S ADVANCES -- ACCOUNTING.
Any manager who advances or lends any money to any combatant or incurs indebtedness on behalf of a combatant 
will furnish an accounting in writing to the combatant every ninety (90) days. The accounting will be verified by the 
manager and set forth each item of indebtedness owed by the combatant, the date that the indebtedness occurred, the 
purpose of the indebtedness, and the name of the person to whom the debt is owed. (3-20-20)T

202. CONTRACT BETWEEN PROMOTER AND COMBATANT.

01. Gate Receipts. A promoter may not deduct any amount from the gate receipts, other than for any 
federal taxes and the fees prescribed herein until all combatants who are to be paid a percentage of the receipts have 
been paid, unless the amount to be paid to the combatant is specified in the contract. (3-20-20)T

02. Contract Prohibitions. (3-20-20)T

a. A contract which provides that a combatant fight exclusively for or at the option of one (1) 
promoter is prohibited. (3-20-20)T

b. A contract which provides that a combatant is to pay for the services of an opponent is prohibited.
(3-20-20)T

203. FILING CERTAIN CONTRACTS WITH COMMISSION.

01. Main and Semi-Main Events. A contract between a promoter and a combatant for the main and 
semi-main events of a program will be filed with the Commission at least seven (7) working days before the event 
unless the Commission gives special approval for filing the contract closer to the time of weighing in. (3-20-20)T

02. Other Combatants. Contracts for all combatants who will be contending in the program will be 
filed before the scheduled time for weighing in. (3-20-20)T

03. Disciplinary Action. A promoter or matchmaker who fails to file a contract for any participant 
whose name is released to the news media is subject to disciplinary action. (3-20-20)T

04. Media Contracts. Any contract by the promoter for the sale, lease or other use of rights to 
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broadcast, televise including a right to make a closed-circuit telecast, or take motion pictures of a contest will be filed 
with the Commission at least five (5) working days before the event unless the promoter obtains special approval 
from the Commission for filing the contract at a time closer to the event. (3-20-20)T

204. PERCENTAGE OF GATE RECEIPTS TO COMBATANT.
Each combatant working on a percentage basis, will be paid on the basis of the net receipts of each exhibition after 
state and federal taxes, ring expenses and the price of complimentary tickets upon which a price is specified, have 
been deducted. (3-20-20)T

205. PROMOTER'S ADVANCES TO COMBATANT OR MANAGER OR OCCURRENCE OF DEBT 
ON HIS BEHALF.

01. Restrictions. A promoter licensed by the Commission will not directly or indirectly make any loan 
or advance to any combatant or manager except as provided in this rule. (3-20-20)T

02. Any Indebtedness Restricted. A promoter will not, directly or indirectly, create any indebtedness 
which becomes the obligation of a combatant or manager unless the promoter has the express written permission of 
the Commission for that action. (3-20-20)T

206. FAILURE OF COMBATANT TO APPEAR.
Any combatant who fails to appear in an event in which the combatant signed a contract to appear, without a written 
excuse determined to be valid by the Commission or a certificate from a physician designated by the Commission in 
advance in case of physical disability is subject to disciplinary action. Any combatant who files a certificate from a 
physician designated by the Commission stating that he is unable to fulfill a contract because of physical disability 
shall, on being restored to the eligible list, fulfill his contract with the same opponent or a suitable substitute specified 
in the contract within a reasonable time, that period to be set by the Commission, unless the combatant is released 
from the contract by mutual agreement. (3-20-20)T

207. PAYMENT OF COMBATANT.

01. Payment in Full. Every combatant will be paid in full according to the combatant’s contract, and 
no part of the combatant’s remuneration may be withheld except by order of the Commission, nor may any part of the 
combatant’s remuneration be returned through arrangement with the combatant’s manager to any matchmaker or 
promoter, except as otherwise provided in this section. (3-20-20)T

02. Prior Written Commitments. With the prior written permission of a member of the Commission, 
a promoter may withhold from the purse of a combatant money advanced to the combatant for transportation and 
maintenance in preparation for a contest, if their agreement so provides. (3-20-20)T

03. Manager's Share. A manager’s share of the purse may be deducted and paid directly to the 
manager if the contract so specifies. (3-20-20)T

04. Pending Action. If arbitration of a contract entered into by a manager and combatant is pending 
before the Commission or if the contract is in litigation in a court of competent jurisdiction, the Commission may:

(3-20-20)T

a. Withhold the amount in dispute in the Commission’s trust fund until resolution of the dispute; or
(3-20-20)T

b. Pay the disputed amount to the clerk of the court in which the litigation is pending. (3-20-20)T

05. Prior Approval of Commission. Neither a combatant nor his manager may assign his share of the 
purse, or any portion thereof, without the approval of the Commission. If a combatant or manager wants to assign his 
share of the purse, he must file a written request with the Commission at least seven (7) working days before the 
contest. (3-20-20)T

208. PAYMENT OF PURSE.
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01. Payment Made. All payment of purses will be made: (3-20-20)T

a. Immediately after the contest or exhibition; or (3-20-20)T

b. If the combatant is to receive a percentage of the net receipts, immediately after that percentage is 
determined by a person designated by the Commission, unless otherwise ordered by the Commission. (3-20-20)T

02. Signatures. Immediately after the contest or exhibition, the person designated by the Commission 
will release the checks or cash to the entitled persons and will obtain their signatures on a list in which they 
acknowledge the payment. (3-20-20)T

03. Reconciliation. The promoter may withhold an amount of not more than ten percent (10%) of the 
purse for payment of expenses incurred by the combatant. A reconciliation of those expenses and payment of the 
undistributed portion of the purse will be made to the Commission on the Commission’s form within seven (7) 
working days after the contest. The reconciliation must bear written approval of the combatant before it is submitted. 
If good cause is shown, the chairman of the Commission may grant an extension of the date for reconciliation for a 
period not to exceed thirty (30) days after the contest. (3-20-20)T

04. Alternative Payment. The Commission may permit a form of payment other than those specified 
in this section. A promoter who wishes to pay the purse by an alternative method of payment will: (3-20-20)T

a. Submit a written request to the Commission at least thirty (30) days before the contest. (3-20-20)T

b. Describe in detail the alternative method of payment contemplated. (3-20-20)T

c. Show good cause for a waiver of the provisions as outlined in Section 208 of this rule. (3-20-20)T

d. Comply with all requirements of the Commission regarding the production of relevant information.
(3-20-20)T

e. Follow precisely the procedural directives of the Commission if the request is granted. (3-20-20)T

05. Non-Payment of Amateurs. Consistent with Section 54-402, Idaho Code, a promoter may not 
compensate any amateur for participating in or being associated in any way with the promoter’s event. This ban 
absolutely bars a promoter from paying an amateur to sell tickets or merchandise or provide services related to an 
event. (3-20-20)T

209. RETAINING PORTION OF PURSE PENDING DETERMINATION OF WHETHER PENALTY 
WILL BE CHARGED.
At any time before the award of a purse to a contestant, a Commissioner may specify any amount not to exceed 
twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) to be retained from the contestant’s purse and transferred from the promoter 
to the Commission. The money will not be given to the contestant until the Commission determines that no penalty in 
lieu of revoking the contestant’s license will be charged for any action or condition of the contestant. Any amount so 
specified is not a limitation upon the amount of a penalty which may be charged. (3-20-20)T

210. -- 298. (RESERVED)

299. HEALTH INSURANCE.
An event promoter will obtain health insurance sufficient to cover the medical, surgical, and hospital care of all event 
participants, other than the promoter, for injuries sustained while participating in the event. The insurance shall 
provide primary coverage for each such participant, and the minimum amount coverage per participant will be ten 
thousand dollars ($10,000). The participant may not be required to pay a deductible associated with care provided 
under this insurance. If a participant pays for the medical, surgical or hospital care, the insurance proceeds must be 
paid to the participant or the participant’s beneficiaries for reimbursement for the payment. (3-20-20)T

300. SURETY BOND OR OTHER SECURITY.
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01. Requirement. Every promoter who applies for a sanctioning permit shall furnish a surety bond or 
other form of financial security to the Commission consistent with Section 54-408, Idaho Code. The bond or other 
form of financial security will be in an amount deemed by the Commission to be adequate to guarantee payment of all 
taxes, fees, fines, and other moneys due and payable under Title 54, Chapter 4, Idaho Code and the Commission’s 
rules, including reimbursement to the purchasers of tickets for the event. (3-20-20)T

02. Various Locations. The promoter may apply one (1) bond or other form of financial security to 
multiple locations if only one (1) of the covered locations is scheduled for an event on any given calendar date.

(3-20-20)T

03. Total Sum. Each bond or other form of financial security must be conditioned for the payment to 
the Commission of a sum equivalent to the total sale of tickets: (3-20-20)T

a. If the main event is not held on the date advertised, unless the event is subsequently held on a date 
fixed by the Commission; and (3-20-20)T

b. If the main event is neither held on the original date advertised nor on a subsequent date fixed by 
the Commission. (3-20-20)T

04. Sum Due. The sum is due within fifteen (15) days after default, to ensure reimbursement to the 
purchasers of tickets for the event, if the reimbursement of ticket holders is ordered by the Commission. (3-20-20)T

301. APPROVAL OF EVENTS.

01. Prior Approval. No contest will be held without the prior approval of the Commission. A 
promoter will submit a completed application on a form provided by the Division for a sanctioning permit to hold an 
event on a specific date, and a permit be issued by the commission before the event may be announced or advertised.

(3-20-20)T

02. Deadline. A complete application for a sanctioning permit together with application fees, 
applicable bond amount, proof of insurance, and information regarding the combatants named in the main and semi-
main contest must be received by the commission no less than thirty (30) days prior to the date requested for the event 
named in the application. Combatants named in contests may be changed at the discretion of the commission.

(3-20-20)T

03. Cancellation. The failure of the promoter to notify the Commission of a cancellation at least seven 
(7) calendar days before the date for the program will result in the forfeiture of all fees and will be grounds for 
disciplinary action. (3-20-20)T

302. (RESERVED)

303. PROGRAM FOR CHARITY.

01. Application. A person who wishes to present a program or event under the jurisdiction of the 
commission for charitable purposes will submit to the Commission a sanction application to present the program. The 
application will contain the name of the charity, charitable fund or organization which is to benefit from the program 
and the amount or percentage of the receipts of the program which is to be paid to the charity. (3-20-20)T

02. Certified, Itemized Statement. Within seventy-two (72) hours after such a program is held, the 
promoter will furnish to the Commission a certified itemized statement of the receipts and expenditures in connection 
with the program and the net amount paid to the charitable fund or organization. If the promoter fails to file the 
statement within the prescribed time, the Commission: (3-20-20)T

a. May suspend or revoke the promoter’s license. (3-20-20)T

b. Shall not thereafter issue a permit to the promoter for the holding of any program for charitable 
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purposes. (3-20-20)T

304. ARRANGEMENT OF CONTEST FOR PROMOTER.
A contest may not be arranged on behalf of any promoter except by a licensed matchmaker. (3-20-20)T

305. – 306. (RESERVED)

307. CERTAIN PERSONS RETAINED MUST HAVE LICENSES.
No person will be retained for any of the following positions unless currently licensed by the Commission:

(3-20-20)T

01. Second. (3-20-20)T

02. Combatant. (3-20-20)T

03. Matchmaker. (3-20-20)T

04. Ring Official. (3-20-20)T

308. OFFICIALS OF EVENTS.

01. Officials Described. The officials of events are the referee, judges, timekeeper, physician, and the 
Commission’s agents. (3-20-20)T

02. Commission Involvement. The Commission will approve and assign all the officials. The 
promoter may select the announcer, subject to the Commission’s approval. (3-20-20)T

309. REFEREES.

01. Selection. The Commission will select the referee for the main event in championship events and 
for events that the Commission considers to be special events. The Commission will set the fee and reasonable 
expenses that the referee is entitled to receive for an event. (3-20-20)T

02. Protests. If any licensee of the Commission protests the assignment of a referee, the protesting 
licensee will be given a hearing by the Commission if time permits. If time does not permit, the matter will be heard 
by two (2) Commissioners in order to make such disposition of the protest as the facts may justify. Protests not made 
in a timely manner may be summarily rejected. (3-20-20)T

03. Physical Examination. Each referee licensed by the Commission will annually undergo a 
complete physical examination, including an eye examination conducted by an optometrist or ophthalmologist. At the 
request of the Commission, the licensee will produce all records of the examination. (3-20-20)T

310. JUDGES.

01. Selection. The Commission will select the judges for the main event in championship events and 
for any other events which the Commission considers to be special events. (3-20-20)T

02. Protests. If any licensee of the Commission protests the assignment of a judge, the protesting 
license will be given a hearing by the Commission if time permits. If time does not permit, the matter will be heard by 
two (2) Commissioners in order to make such disposition of the protest as the facts may justify. Protests not made in 
a timely manner may be summarily rejected. (3-20-20)T

03. Fees. The Commission will set the fee and reasonable expenses which the judges are entitled to 
receive for an event. (3-20-20)T

04. Station of Judges. Judges will be stationed ringside at places designated by the Commission.
(3-20-20)T
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05. Physical Examination. Each judge licensed by the Commission may be required to submit to or 
provide proof of a complete physical examination, including an eye examination. (3-20-20)T

311. ADMISSION OF LICENSEES AND AGENTS TO EVENTS.
The promoter of any event under the jurisdiction of the commission will admit the following to said event without a 
ticket: (3-20-20)T

01. Participants. Any individual who is licensed by the Commission and who has been authorized by 
the commission to participate in said event upon such individual’s presentation of a current and valid license issued 
by the commission. (3-20-20)T

02. Commissioner or Agent. The Athletic Commissioner, any Deputy Commissioner, and any agent 
of the Division upon presentation of valid identification that identifies the holder as a member of the commission or 
an agent of the Division. (3-20-20)T

312. PAYMENT OF FEE TO OFFICIAL DESIGNATED BY COMMISSION.
A promoter will pay the fee and reasonable expenses set by the Commission to any person whom the Commission 
directs to officiate in an event promoted by that promoter. (3-20-20)T

313. POSTPONEMENT OF PROGRAM.

01. Prior Approval. A promoter may not postpone a sanctioned event unless the postponement is 
approved by the Commission. (3-20-20)T

02. No Fault Postponement. If a postponement of a sanctioned event becomes necessary through no 
fault of the promoter, the Commission will grant an extension of the contracts and set a new date. (3-20-20)T

03. Limitations on Postponement. A small advance sale is not a legitimate reason for postponement. 
Indoor boxing and wrestling programs may not be called off or canceled on account of storms or for any other reason 
not expressed in this chapter except as approved by the Commission. (3-20-20)T

04. Advance Notice. A promoter may not call off a sanctioned event without one (1) week prior 
written approval of the Commission. (3-20-20)T

314. MAIN AND SEMI-MAIN EVENTS.
This section applies to the main and semi-main events. (3-20-20)T

01. Notice. The promoter must request Commission approval of any change in an announced or 
advertised program for the main and semi-main events at least one (1) week before the event. Notice of any change or 
substitution must also be conspicuously posted at the box office of the premises where the program is to be held and 
announced from the ring before the opening contest. (3-20-20)T

02. Refunds. If such change occurs and any patron desires a refund of the ticket price, the promoter 
will provide a refund upon presentation of the ticket or the ticket stub at the box office before the event is scheduled 
to begin. The box office must remain open a reasonable length of time to redeem such tickets. (3-20-20)T

03. Substitutions. A combatant may not substitute for another combatant in a contest which is the 
main and semi-main events unless the Commission approves the substitution. (3-20-20)T

315. CONTAINERS.
All drinks at an event will be dispensed in paper or plastic cups. (3-20-20)T

316. -- 399. (RESERVED)

400. ADMISSION FEE AT QUARTERS WHERE COMBATANT TRAINS.
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01. Fee. An admission fee may not be charged to enter the quarters where a combatant is training 
unless the Commission has authorized the charging of admission. Where such an admission fee is charged, the 
Commission will consider the charge to be for the privilege of seeing an exhibition. (3-20-20)T

02. State Fee. The state fee on those gross receipts, exclusive of any federal taxes paid thereon, will be 
sent to the Commission with the report. (3-20-20)T

401. APPROVAL OF FACILITIES BY COMMISSION BEFORE TICKETS MAY BE SOLD.
The sale of tickets for any proposed contest or exhibition is prohibited until: (3-20-20)T

01. Approval. Plans and statements showing the seating arrangements, the location of tickets of each 
price, and other aspects of the physical layout of the ring and apron have been approved by the Commission; and

(3-20-20)T

02. Other Considerations. The aisle spacing, exit facilities, and the location of appliances to 
extinguish fires have been approved by the appropriate county or municipal authority. (3-20-20)T

402. TICKETS LIMITED TO SEATING CAPACITY OF ARENA.
The sale of tickets for an event may not exceed the seating capacity of an indoor arena and no ticket may be issued for 
standing room. A person may not be sold the right of admission without a ticket. (3-20-20)T

403. TICKETS.

01. Inventory. The ticket outlet shall report to the Commission an inventory, which he affirms under 
oath to be correct, of all the tickets issued. (3-20-20)T

02. Notification. The promoter will notify the ticket outlet of the requirements of this section.
(3-20-20)T

404. CONTENTS OF TICKETS.

01. General. Every ticket will have the price, name of the promoter, and date of the program plainly on 
it. (3-20-20)T

02. Changes. Requests for changes in ticket prices or dates of programs will be made in writing to the 
Commission for approval. (3-20-20)T

03. License to Sell. Tickets may not be sold by any person except through an agency holding a license 
to sell the tickets unless the sale is first approved by the Commission. (3-20-20)T

405. COMPLIMENTARY TICKETS.

01. Limitation. A promoter may not issue complimentary tickets for more than two percent (2%) of 
the seats in the house without the Commission’s written authorization. The Commission does not consider 
complementary tickets which it authorizes under this section to constitute part of the total gross receipts from 
admission fees for the purposes of calculating the Commission taxes. (3-20-20)T

02. More Than Two Percent Issued. If complimentary tickets are issued for more than two percent 
(2%) of the tickets sold: (3-20-20)T

a. Each combatant who is working on a percentage will be paid his percentage of the normal price of 
all complimentary tickets in excess of two percent (2%) of the tickets sold unless the contract between him and the 
promoter provides otherwise and stipulates the number of complimentary tickets which will be issued; and

(3-20-20)T

b. If a service charge is made for complimentary tickets, the combatant is entitled to be paid his 
percentage of that service charge, less any deduction for federal taxes and fees. (3-20-20)T
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406. PROVISIONS OF TICKETS WITHOUT CHARGE OR AT REDUCED RATES.

01. Without Charge. Each promoter will provide tickets without charge to holders of lifetime passes 
issued by the Commission. (3-20-20)T

02. No Fees. Persons who receive tickets pursuant to this section are not liable for the payment of any 
fees for those tickets. (3-20-20)T

03. Optional Charges. Each promoter may provide tickets without charge or at a reduced rate to:
(3-20-20)T

a. Any of his employees, and if the promoter is a corporation, to a director or officer, who is regularly 
employed or engaged in promoting such programs, whether or not his duties require him to be admitted to the 
particular program and whether or not he is on duty at the time of that program; (3-20-20)T

b. A journalist who is performing his duties as such; and (3-20-20)T

c. A fireman or police officer who is performing his duties as such. (3-20-20)T

04. Duties Required. Each promoter will perform the following duties in relation to the issuance of 
complimentary tickets issued: (3-20-20)T

a. Each ticket issued to a journalist will be clearly marked “PRESS.” No more tickets may be issued 
to journalists than will permit comfortable seating in the press area. (3-20-20)T

b. The promoter may allocate seats for the media, subject to the commission’s final approval of the 
allocation. Seating at the press tables or in the press area will be limited to journalists who are actually covering the 
contest and to other persons designated by the Commission. (3-20-20)T

c. A list of passes issued to journalists must be submitted to the Commission. (3-20-20)T

d. Only one (1) complimentary ticket may be issued to any one (1) manager, second, combatant, or 
other person licensed by the Commission. (3-20-20)T

e. The Commission will approve in advance any credential issued by the promoter which allows an 
admission to the event without a ticket. Requests for the issuance of such credentials must be made at least five (5) 
hours before the first contest on the program. (3-20-20)T

05. Admission Criteria. Admission of any person who does not hold a ticket or who is not specifically 
exempted pursuant to this section is grounds for suspension or revocation of the promoter’s license or the assessment 
of a penalty. (3-20-20)T

06. Fees. The Commission will collect all fees and taxes due on any ticket which is not specifically 
exempt pursuant to this section, and for any person who is admitted without a ticket in violation of this section.

(3-20-20)T

407. SPECULATION IN TICKETS PROHIBITED.

01. Prevent Speculation. A promoter who holds programs or events under the jurisdiction of the 
commission shall exercise extraordinary caution to prevent speculation in tickets. (3-20-20)T

02. No Other Price. The promoter may not sell any tickets for a price other than the price printed 
thereon. (3-20-20)T

a. The promoter may not, without the Commission’s written permission, change the price of tickets at 
any time after they have been placed on sale or sell them at any time during the program for a different price than 
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tickets for the same seats were offered or sold before the program commenced. (3-20-20)T

b. Any ticket sold for other than the price printed on the ticket will be over stamped with the actual 
price charged. The over stamp must be placed on the printed face of the ticket as well as the stub retained by the 
holder of the ticket. (3-20-20)T

03. Exchange. A person may only exchange tickets at the box office. A ticket may not be redeemed 
after the show has taken place. Tickets that have not sold will be returned to the box office not later than one (1) hour 
before the show is scheduled to begin. (3-20-20)T

04. Removal and Possession of Stub. A holder of a ticket for a program or event will not be allowed:
(3-20-20)T

a. To pass through the gate of the premises where the program is being held unless his ticket is 
separated from the stub; or (3-20-20)T

b. To occupy a seat unless in possession of the stub. (3-20-20)T

05. Tickets for Readmission. A promoter may not issue a ticket to any person for the purpose of 
readmission due to leaving the arena and later reentering the arena, useless the promoter has obtained the 
commission’s written permission for such an issuance. (3-20-20)T

408. – 414. (RESERVED)

415. TICKETS: REMOVAL AND RETENTION AFTER MATCH; DESTRUCTION.

01. Removal. All tickets and stubs sold or unsold, other than unsold reel tickets, used for any program 
or event may be removed to the office of the Division by the Commission after the Commission has completed the 
computation of gate receipts and tax due thereon. (3-20-20)T

02. Destruction. After the tickets and stubs have been held for at least fifteen (15) days by the 
Commission, the Commission will destroy them. If the tickets are not taken by the Commission, they must be 
retained by the promoters for at least six (6) months. Those tickets may be destroyed after they have been held for at 
least thirty (30) days and written permission has been granted by the Commission for the destruction of such tickets. 
Tickets need to be kept in separate packages for each show so that an audit can be made at any time by the 
Commission. (3-20-20)T

416. -- 499. (RESERVED)

500. SANITATION.

01. Sanitary Conditions. Each promoter is responsible for and must correct any violation of the 
regulations of the Commission or the public health district regarding the sanitary condition of dressing rooms, 
showers, water bottles, towels or other equipment. (3-20-20)T

02. Reporting. Physicians and the Commission or its agents will make a particular examination before 
or during each program or event to discover any violation of such regulations, and any such violation will be reported 
to the Commission immediately. (3-20-20)T

501. REQUIRED NUMBER OF AMBULANCES; NOTICE TO AMBULANCE SERVICE AND 
HOSPITAL.

01. Required Number of Ambulances. The following number of ambulances must be present at the 
site of any program or event under the jurisdiction of the commission: (3-20-20)T

a. Where the anticipated attendance is four thousand (4,000) persons or more but less than eight 
thousand (8,000) persons, one (1) ambulance. (3-20-20)T
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b. Where the anticipated attendance is eight thousand (8,000) persons or more, two (2) ambulances.
(3-20-20)T

02. Promoter Requirements. Each promoter of a program or event will, without regard to the size of 
the anticipated attendance: (3-20-20)T

a. Give notice of the time, date and site of the program to the ambulance service or emergency 
medical service which is located nearest to the site of the program and ascertain from the service the length of time 
for one (1) of its ambulances to reach the site. (3-20-20)T

b. Give such a notice to the nearest hospital and the persons in charge of its emergency room.
(3-20-20)T

c. Before the start of the program or event, certify to a member of the Commission that the 
requirements of this section have been met. (3-20-20)T

502. DRESSING ROOMS -- ONLY AUTHORIZED PERSONS ARE ALLOWED TO ENTER.

01. Authorized Persons to Enter. On the day of a contest only the following people are allowed in the 
dressing room of a combatant; (3-20-20)T

a. The combatant’s manager; (3-20-20)T

b. The combatant’s seconds; (3-20-20)T

c. Any authorized agent of the promoter; and (3-20-20)T

d. Members of the Commission or its agent. (3-20-20)T

02. Other Persons. The promoter will furnish a doorman or doormen at the entrance to the dressing 
rooms to enforce this section. (3-20-20)T

503. BOXING GLOVES.
The gloves used in a boxing contest must meet the following requirements: (3-20-20)T

01. General. The gloves will be examined by the Commission and the referee. If padding in any of the 
gloves is found to be misplaced or lumpy or if any of the gloves are found to be imperfect, they must be changed 
before the contest starts. No breaking, roughing or twisting of gloves is permitted. (3-20-20)T

02. Glove Specifications. The gloves for every main event will be new, of the same brand for both 
combatants, furnished by the promoter, and of the size specified by the Commission. (3-20-20)T

03. Sanitary. If gloves to be used in preliminary contests have been used before, they will be whole, 
clean and in sanitary condition. The gloves are subject to inspection by the referee or the Commission. If found to be 
unfit, they will be immediately discarded and replaced with gloves meeting the requirements of this section.

(3-20-20)T

04. Extra Set. Each promoter will have an extra set of gloves of the appropriate weight available at the 
glove table to be used in case gloves are broken or otherwise damaged during the course of a contest. (3-20-20)T

05. Weight of Gloves. Each combatant will wear gloves that are not less than eight (8) ounces and not 
more than ten (10) ounces in weight except that the Commission will set the weight of gloves to be used in a 
championship fight. Eight (8) ounce gloves will be used for all weight classes through welterweight (one hundred 
forty-seven (147) lbs). Super welterweight (above one hundred forty-seven (147) lbs) and above must use ten (10) 
ounce gloves. (3-20-20)T
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06. Distal Portion. All gloves will have the distal portion of the thumb attached to the body of the 
glove so as to minimize the possibility of injury to an opponent’s eye. (3-20-20)T

504. BANDAGING OF COMBATANT'S HANDS.

01. General. Bandages may not exceed one (1) winding of surgeon’s adhesive tape, not over one and 
one-half (1 1/2) inches wide, placed directly on the hand to protect the part of the hand near the wrists. The tape may 
cross the back of the hand twice but may not extend within three-fourths (3/4) inch of the knuckles when the hand is 
clenched to make a fist. (3-20-20)T

02. Additional Requirements. Each combatant will use soft surgical bandage not over two (2) inches 
wide, held in place by not more than six (6) feet of surgeon’s adhesive tape for each hand. Up to one (1) fifteen (15) 
yard roll of bandage may be used to complete the wrappings for each hand. Strips of tape may be used between the 
fingers to hold down the bandages. (3-20-20)T

03. Witnesses. Bandages must be adjusted in the dressing room in the presence of the Commission and 
both combatants. Either combatant may waive his privilege of witnessing the bandaging of the opponent’s hands.

(3-20-20)T

505. EQUIPMENT OF THE CHIEF SECOND.

01. Equipment. The chief second will equip himself with: (3-20-20)T

a. A clear plastic water bottle; (3-20-20)T

b. A bucket containing ice; (3-20-20)T

c. A solution of a kind approved by the Commission for stopping hemorrhaging; (3-20-20)T

d. Adhesive tape; (3-20-20)T

e. Gauze; (3-20-20)T

f. Scissors; and (3-20-20)T

g. One (1) extra mouthpiece. (3-20-20)T

02. Ammonia. No ammonia may be used in the ring. (3-20-20)T

03. Ring Physician. The ring physician or the Commission may at any time inspect the contents of the 
chief second’s first-aid kit. (3-20-20)T

506. BOXING RING.
A boxing ring will meet the following requirements: (3-20-20)T

01. Ring Dimensions. The ring will be not less than sixteen (16) feet square not more than twenty-four 
(24) feet square within the ropes. The ring floor will extend at least eighteen (18) inches beyond the ropes. The ring 
floor will be padded with ensolite or another similar closed-cell foam. Padding will extend beyond the ring ropes and 
over the edge of the platform, with a top covering of canvas, duck or similar material tightly stretched and laced to the 
ring platform. Material that tends to gather in lumps or ridges must not be used. (3-20-20)T

02. Ring Platform. The ring platform will not be more than four (4) feet above the floor of the 
building, and will be provided with suitable steps for use of contestants. Ring posts will be of metal, not more than 
three (3) inches in diameter, extending from the floor of the building to a height of fifty-eight (58) inches above the 
ring floor. Rings posts will be at least eighteen (18) inches away from the ropes. (3-20-20)T

03. Ropes. There will be four (4) padded ring ropes, not less than one (1) inch in diameter and wrapped 
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in soft material. The lower rope will be eighteen (18) inches above the ring floor and offset four (4) inches to the 
outside of the ring from the ropes above. (3-20-20)T

507. BELL OR GONG.
There will be a bell or gong at the ring no higher than the floor level of the ring. The bell or gong will produce a clear 
tone easily heard by the contestants. (3-20-20)T

508. EQUIPMENT OF A TIMEKEEPER.
Every timekeeper will have the equipment prescribed by the Commission and will carry out the duties directed by the 
Commission. (3-20-20)T

509. -- 599. (RESERVED)

600. WEIGHTS AND CLASSES OF COMBATANTS.

01. Classes and Weights. The classes and weights for each class are shown in the following schedule:
(3-20-20)T

a. Strawweight -- up to one hundred five (105) pounds. (3-20-20)T

b. Light-Flyweight -- over one hundred five (105) to one hundred eight (108) pounds. (3-20-20)T

c. Flyweight -- over one hundred eight (108) to one hundred twelve (112) pounds. (3-20-20)T

d. Super Flyweight -- over one hundred twelve (112) to one hundred fifteen (115) pounds. (3-20-20)T

e. Bantamweight -- over one hundred fifteen (115) to one hundred eighteen (118) pounds. (3-20-20)T

f. Super Bantamweight -- over one hundred eighteen (118) to one hundred twenty-two (122) pounds.
(3-20-20)T

g. Featherweight -- over one hundred twenty-two (122) to one hundred twenty-six (126) pounds.
(3-20-20)T

h. Super Featherweight -- over one hundred twenty-six (126) to one hundred thirty (130) pounds.
(3-20-20)T

i. Lightweight -- over one hundred thirty (130) to one hundred thirty-five (135) pounds. (3-20-20)T

j. Super Lightweight -- over one hundred thirty-five (135) to one hundred forty (140) pounds.
(3-20-20)T

k. Welterweight -- over one hundred forty (140) to one hundred forty-seven (147) pounds. (3-20-20)T

l. Super Welterweight -- over one hundred forty-seven (147) to one hundred fifty-four (154) pounds.
(3-20-20)T

m. Middleweight -- over one hundred fifty-four (154) to one hundred sixty (160) pounds. (3-20-20)T

n. Super Middleweight -- over one hundred sixty (160) to one hundred sixty-eight (168) pounds.
(3-20-20)T

o. Light-Heavyweight -- over one hundred sixty-eight (168) to one hundred seventy-five (175) 
pounds. (3-20-20)T

p. Cruiserweight -- over one hundred seventy-five (175) to one hundred ninety-five (195) pounds.
(3-20-20)T
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q. Heavyweight -- all over one hundred ninety-five (195) pounds. (3-20-20)T

02. Exceeding Weight Allowances. No contest may be scheduled and no combatant may engage in a 
boxing contest without the approval of the Commission if the difference in weight between combatants exceeds the 
allowance shown in the following schedule: (3-20-20)T

a. Up to one hundred eighteen (118) pounds -- not more than three (3) pounds. (3-20-20)T

b. One hundred eighteen (118) to one hundred twenty-six (126) pounds -- not more than five (5) 
pounds. (3-20-20)T

c. One hundred twenty-six (126) to one hundred thirty-five (135) pounds -- not more than seven (7) 
pounds. (3-20-20)T

d. One hundred thirty-five (135) to one hundred forty-seven (147) pounds -- not more than nine (9) 
pounds. (3-20-20)T

e. One hundred forty-seven (147) to one hundred sixty (160) pounds -- not more than eleven (11) 
pounds. (3-20-20)T

f. One hundred sixty (160) to one hundred seventy-five (175) -- not more than twelve (12) pounds.
(3-20-20)T

g. One hundred seventy-five (175) to one hundred ninety-five (195) pounds -- not more than twenty 
(20) pounds.  (3-20-20)T

h. One hundred ninety-five (195) pounds and over -- no limit. (3-20-20)T

03. Weigh-Ins on Day of Contest. If a weigh-in is scheduled on the day of the contest, weight loss in 
excess of two (2) pounds after the time of the weigh-in is not permitted. (3-20-20)T

601. CHAMPIONS.

01. General. This section applies to a boxer who has been declared the champion of his class.
(3-20-20)T

02. Title Not at Stake. A champion may engage in a contest in which his title is not at stake if the 
Commission consents to the contest. (3-20-20)T

03. Title at Stake. The title of a champion is at stake if at the official weigh-in his opponent shows and 
is determined to be within the maximum weight limit of the class. Contests for the championship of the state will be 
held at twelve (12) rounds. If a champion in a match which has been approved by the Commission for the 
championship of the state has, within two (2) hours after the scheduled time for the weigh-in, failed to make the 
specified weight, his title must be declared vacant. (3-20-20)T

04. Fighting a Boxer from Heavier Class. The Commission may permit a champion to fight a boxer 
belonging to a heavier class, but no restriction of minimum weight may be placed on the opponent to prevent his 
weighing in as a contender for the title. The difference in weight between the combatants may not exceed twenty (20) 
pounds unless both weigh over one hundred ninety-five (195) pounds. (3-20-20)T

05. Commission Names Champions. The Commission may name professional boxing champions of 
the state each year in each weight class. A championship may be lost by default, forfeit or inability to make the 
weight, but a championship may only be won in a contest. (3-20-20)T

06. Defending a Title. The titles of champions of the state will be defended at least once every six (6) 
months. If a boxer does not defend his title within this period, his title is automatically vacated. (3-20-20)T
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07. Presentation of Championship Belt to Commission Before Title Contest. Every boxer who 
holds a belt for winning the championship of the state will present the belt to the Commission when the title is being 
defended. Any donor of a championship belt will be approved by the Commission. (3-20-20)T

602. WEIGH-IN, EXAMINATION OF COMBATANT MAY BE ORDERED BY THE COMMISSION.
Any combatant who has signed a contract to box on a promoter’s program is subject to an order by the Commission 
to appear at any time to be weighed or examined by any physician designated by the Commission. (3-20-20)T

603. ADVANCE APPEARANCE OF COMBATANT SCHEDULED TO FIGHT IN MAIN EVENT.

01. When to Appear. Each combatant who is scheduled to fight in a main event, except a combatant in 
a regularly scheduled weekly contest, must be present in any place specified by the promoter at least three (3) days 
before the scheduled day of the contest for the purpose of training, publicity, and whatever other purpose the 
promoter may desire, unless the combatant has the Commission’s express written approval to be absent. (3-20-20)T

02. Expenses. Unless otherwise provided for in the contract, the combatant’s expenses for this purpose 
will be borne by the promoter. If a boxer fails to comply with this requirement, the promoter, subject to approval of 
the Commission, may deduct ten percent (10%) of the offending combatant’s purse. (3-20-20)T

604. WEIGHING IN OF COMBATANTS.

01. Attendees and Scales Used at Weigh-In. Each combatant will be weighed in the presence of the 
public, the other combatant, the Commission and an official representing the promoter, on scales approved by the 
Commission at any place designated by the Commission. (3-20-20)T

02. Attire. The combatant will have all weights stripped from his body before he is weighed in, but he 
may wear shorts. (3-20-20)T

03. Attendance by Media. Representatives of newspapers and the electronic news media who provide 
official identification as such will be admitted to each official weighing in of a combatant. (3-20-20)T

04. Security. The owner or operator of the premises in which the weighing in is held will provide 
adequate security for the combatant and other persons who are present. (3-20-20)T

605. FORFEITURE FOR FAILURE TO MAKE WEIGHT.

01. Failure to Make Weight. Any combatant who fails to make the weight agreed upon in his contract 
forfeits: (3-20-20)T

a. Ten percent (10%) of his purse if no lesser amount is set by the Commission; or (3-20-20)T

b. A lesser amount set by the Commission, unless the weight difference is one (1) pound or less.
(3-20-20)T

02. Dividing Forfeit. A forfeit will be divided equally between the other combatant and the 
Commission. (3-20-20)T

03. Exception. Except as otherwise provided, if, during the two (2) hours following the time of the 
weigh-in, a combatant is able to make the weight or weighs less than one (1) pound outside the agreed limits, no 
forfeit may be imposed or fine assessed upon him. (3-20-20)T

606. PHYSICAL AND EYE EXAMINATION OF COMBATANTS.
A physician designated by the Commission must give each combatant a thorough physical and eye examination 
within thirty-six (36) hours, but not less than two (2) hours, before the contest or exhibition in which the combatant 
will participate. (3-20-20)T
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607. PHYSICIAN -- SUITABLE PLACE TO EXAMINE CONTESTANT; FEE; EMERGENCY 
TREATMENT.

01. Suitable Examination Place. The promoter will provide the physician designated by the 
Commission a suitable place to examine each contestant. (3-20-20)T

02. Fees. The physician is entitled to receive a fee for his services at a bout. (3-20-20)T

03. Emergency Treatment. The physician will give any injured contestant temporary or emergency 
treatment in the arena or dressing room and no additional fee may be charged. (3-20-20)T

608. PHYSICIAN'S DETERMINATION OF FITNESS OF COMBATANTS AND REFEREE; 
CERTIFICATION; REPORT.

01. Determination of Physician. The physician who examines any combatant or referee who has 
contracted to participate in an event will determine that a combatant or referee will not participate in the event and 
must immediately report such finding to the promoter and the Commission if: (3-20-20)T

a. The combatant is unfit for competition; or (3-20-20)T

b. The referee is unfit for officiating. (3-20-20)T

02. Written Certification. If the examining physician finds that the combatants and referees are in 
good physical condition, the physician will, one (1) hour before the start of the event, give written certification of 
those findings to the Commission. (3-20-20)T

03. Physician's Written Report. Within twenty-four (24) hours after the event ends, the physician 
will mail or deliver to the Commission his written report on every licensee he examined. The report will be on a form 
furnished by the Commission. (3-20-20)T

609. COMBATANT’S REPORT OF OWN ILLNESS OR INJURY; EXAMINATION; FEE.

01. Combatant’s Report of Non-Participation to Commission. When a licensed combatant is unable 
to take part in a contest for which he is under contract because of injury or illness, he will immediately report the fact 
to the Commission and submit to an examination by a physician designated by the Commission. (3-20-20)T

02. Payment of Fees to Physician. The fee for the physician’s examination will be paid by the 
promoter if he has requested the examination, otherwise the fee will be paid by the combatant. (3-20-20)T

610. SUSPENSION OF LICENSEE FOR MEDICAL REASON.

01. Not Fit for Competition or Officiating. Any licensee who is determined to be unfit to compete or 
officiate will be suspended until it is shown that he is fit for further competition or officiating. (3-20-20)T

02. Medical Suspension -- Thirty Days. Any boxer suspended for thirty (30) days for his medical 
protection will take the same examination upon the expiration of his suspension as is required annually, unless the 
Commission directs him to submit to further tests of his physical condition. The physician may require any other 
procedures during the examination, including an electroencephalogram if indicated. (3-20-20)T

611. -- 699. (RESERVED)

700. COMBATANTS MUST REPORT.
Each combatant will report to the Commission in the dressing rooms at least one (1) hour before his scheduled time 
of the first match. (3-20-20)T

701. BOXER'S COSTUME AND EQUIPMENT.
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01. Costume. Each combatant on a program will provide himself with the ring costume selected and 
approved by the Commission. (3-20-20)T

02. Fit. The trunks must be loose fitting and made of a lightweight cloth similar to an athlete’s 
“running pants.” The belt of the trunks must not extend above the waist line. (3-20-20)T

03. Other Equipment. Each combatant will wear: (3-20-20)T

a. A mouthpiece which has been individually fitted; and (3-20-20)T

b. An abdominal cup which will protect him against injury from a foul blow. (3-20-20)T

702. COMBATANT'S PHYSICAL APPEARANCE.

01. Grease or Foreign Substances. The excessive use of grease or any other foreign substance may 
not be used on the face of a combatant. The referees or the Commission will cause any excessive grease or foreign 
substance to be removed. (3-20-20)T

02. Hair. The Commission will determine whether head or facial hair presents any hazard to the safety 
of the combatant or his opponent or will interfere with the supervision and conduct of the contest. (3-20-20)T

703. PROCEDURE FOR USE OF SCORECARDS.

01. Scorecards. The Commission will, before the start of the contest, give scorecards to each judge.
(3-20-20)T

02. Scoring by Judges. The judges will score each round of the contest on an individual scorecard and 
sign it. The referee will pick up the scorecard from each judge and turn in the scorecards at the Commission’s desk 
before the start of each round. (3-20-20)T

03. Presentation of Scorecards to Press After Contest. The Commission may show the scorecards to 
accredited representatives of the press after the completion of the contest. (3-20-20)T

04. Delivery of Scorecards to Commission. The Commission will mail or deliver the scorecards 
together with required reports regarding the contest to the Division. (3-20-20)T

05. Report of Each Contest. Reports of each contest will be kept on file in the office of the Division.
(3-20-20)T

704. METHOD OF JUDGING.

01. Scoring by Judges. Each judge will score every contest and determine the winner through the use 
of the following system: (3-20-20)T

a. The better combatant of a round receives ten (10) points and his opponent proportionately less.
(3-20-20)T

b. If the round is even, each combatant receives ten (10) points. (3-20-20)T

c. No fraction of points may be given. (3-20-20)T

d. Points for each round will be awarded immediately after the end of the round. (3-20-20)T

02. Majority Opinion. After the end of the contest the announcer will pick up the scores of the judges 
from the Commission’s desk. The majority opinion in conclusive and if there is no majority the decision is a draw.

(3-20-20)T
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03. Announcing a Winner. When the Commission has checked the scores, the announcer will be 
informed of the decision, and the announcer will inform the audience of the decision over the available public address 
system. (3-20-20)T

705. INTRODUCTION FROM RING.
Only a combatant or person officially identified with the contest may be introduced from the ring at an event, except 
with specific authority to do so from the Commission. (3-20-20)T

706. REFEREE'S INSTRUCTIONS TO COMBATANTS.
The referee will, before starting a contest, ascertain from each combatant the name of his chief second, who will be 
responsible for the conduct of the assistant seconds during the progress of the contest. The referee will call 
combatants together before each contest for final instructions, at which time each combatant will be accompanied by 
his chief second only. (3-20-20)T

707. LIMITATIONS ON SECONDS.

01. Number of Seconds. No contestant will have more than three (3) seconds except that in a contest 
for a world title the Commission may authorize four (4) seconds. (3-20-20)T

02. Excessive Use of Water. Any excessive or undue spraying or throwing of water on any boxer by a 
second between rounds is prohibited. (3-20-20)T

708. CONTINUOUS PRESENCE OF PHYSICIAN AT RINGSIDE.

01. Presence of Physician at Ringside. The physician designated by the Commission will sit at the 
immediate ringside at every event. A contest may not proceed unless the physician is in his seat at ringside. The 
physician must not leave until released by the Commission. He will be prepared to assist if any serious emergency 
arises and will render temporary or emergency treatments for cuts and minor injuries sustained by the combatants.

(3-20-20)T

02. Injury to Boxer During Round. When a combatant appears to have been injured during the course 
of a round, his manager or second cannot attempt to render aid to him before the physician has had an opportunity to 
examine him. (3-20-20)T

709. WARNING BEFORE START OF ROUND.
Ten (10) seconds before the beginning of each round the timekeeper will give warning to the seconds of the 
combatants by blowing a whistle. (3-20-20)T

710. DURATION OF ROUND.
A round of boxing is three (3) minutes in duration. (3-20-20)T

711. PERSONS ALLOWED IN RING.
No persons other than the contestants and the referee may be in the ring during the progress of a round. (3-20-20)T

712. FAIR BLOWS AND FOULS.

01. Fair Blow. A fair blow is one delivered with the padded knuckle part of the glove on the front or 
side of the head or the front or side of the body above the belt. (3-20-20)T

02. Fouls. The following acts constitute fouls in boxing: (3-20-20)T

a. Hitting below the belt. (3-20-20)T

b. Hitting an opponent who is down or is getting up after being down. (3-20-20)T

c. Holding an opponent with one hand and hitting with the other. (3-20-20)T
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d. Holding or deliberately maintaining a clinch. (3-20-20)T

e. Wrestling or kicking. (3-20-20)T

f. Butting with the head or shoulder or using the knee. (3-20-20)T

g. Hitting with the open glove, the butt of the hand, the wrist or the elbow, and all backhand blows.
(3-20-20)T

h. Purposely going down without being hit. (3-20-20)T

i. Striking deliberately at that part of the body over the kidneys. (3-20-20)T

j. Deliberately using the rabbit punch. (3-20-20)T

k. Jabbing the opponent’s eyes with the thumb of the glove. (3-20-20)T

l. Using abusive language in the ring. (3-20-20)T

m. Engaging in any unsportsman like trick or action which causes injury to an opponent. (3-20-20)T
 

n. Hitting on the break. (3-20-20)T

o. Hitting after the bell has sounded the end of the round. (3-20-20)T

p. Hitting an opponent whose head is between and outside of the ropes. (3-20-20)T

q. Pushing an opponent about the ring or into the ropes. (3-20-20)T

713. UNFAIR PRACTICES; DUTIES OF REFEREES.

01. Enforcing the Rules. A referee is responsible for enforcing the rules of the contest. He cannot 
permit unfair practices that may cause injury to a combatant. (3-20-20)T

02. Warnings. The referees will warn the combatants whenever they are committing fouls. (3-20-20)T

03. Deducting Points. If a combatant persists in committing fouls after he has been warned, the referee 
will deduct points from him or disqualify him. (3-20-20)T

714. FOULS: DEDUCTION FOR POINTS; EFFECT OF CLAIMING LOW BLOW BY OPPONENT.

01. Deducting Points Because of Fouls. If a contestant repeatedly fouls his opponent during a contest 
or commits any other infraction, the referee may penalize him by deducting a point from his score, whether or not the 
foul or infraction was intentional. (3-20-20)T

02. Notification of Point Deduction. When the referee determines that it is necessary to deduct a point 
because of a foul or infraction, he will inform the offender, the scoring table and the judges of the penalty to be 
assessed. (3-20-20)T

03. Deduction of Points in Round Foul Occurs. Any point or points to be deducted for any foul or 
infraction are deducted in the round in which the foul or infraction occurred, and may not be deducted from the score 
of any subsequent round. (3-20-20)T

04. Contestant Claiming Low Blow. A contestant may not be declared the winner of a contest on the 
basis of his claim that his opponent committed a foul by hitting him below the belt. If a contestant falls to the floor of 
the ring or otherwise indicates that he is unwilling to continue because of a claim of a blow to be a technical knockout 
in favor of the contestant who is willing to continue. (3-20-20)T
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715. FOULS: DISQUALIFICATION OF COMBATANT AND WITHHOLDING OF PURSE.
Any combatant guilty of a foul in a contest may be disqualified by the referee and the participant’s purse ordered 
withheld by the Commission. Disposition of the purse and the penalty to be imposed upon the combatant will be 
determined by the Commission. (3-20-20)T

716. ACCIDENTAL FOULING.

01. Accidental Foul. If a contest is stopped because of an accidental foul, the referee will determine 
whether the combatant who has been fouled can continue or not. If the combatant’s chance of winning has not been 
seriously jeopardized as a result of a foul, the referee may order the contest continued after a reasonable interval. 
Before the contest begins again, the referee must inform the Commission of his determination that the foul was 
accidental. (3-20-20)T

02. Contest Stopped Due to Accidental Foul. If the referee determines that the contest may not 
continue because of an injury suffered as the result of an accidental foul, the bout will be declared a draw if the foul 
occurs during one-half (1/2) of the total scheduled rounds. (3-20-20)T

03. Contest Stopped by Referee. If an injury inflicted by an accidental foul later becomes aggravated 
by fair blows and the referee orders the contest stopped because of the injury, the outcome is determined by scoring 
the completed rounds and the round during which the referee stops the contest. (3-20-20)T

717. STOPPING OF CONTEST: INJURY TO COMBATANT.
The referee, in consultation with the ring physician designated by the Commission, will determine whether a contest 
should be stopped because of an injury to a combatant. (3-20-20)T

718. STOPPING OF CONTEST: ONE-SIDED CONTEST; RISK OF INJURY; EXAMINATION BY 
PHYSICIAN.

01. One-Sided Contested. The referee may stop a contest at any stage if he considers it too one-sided 
or if either combatant is in such a condition that to continue might subject him to serious injury. (3-20-20)T

02. Risk of Injury and Examination by Physician. If a combatant sustains any injury which the 
referee believes may incapacitate him, the referee will call the physician into the ring to examine the combatant. The 
physician will give his opinion to the referee before the referee renders his decision in the matter. (3-20-20)T

719. STOPPING THE CONTEST: COMBATANT NOT HONESTLY COMPETING.
If the referee decides that a combatant is not honestly competing, he may stop the contest before its scheduled 
completion, disqualify the combatant and recommend the purse of that combatant be held pending investigation by 
the Commission. The announcer will then inform the audience that no decision has been rendered. (3-20-20)T

720. FAILURE OF COMBATANT TO RESUME.
A combatant may not leave the ring during any one (1) minute rest period between rounds. If any combatant fails or 
refuses to resume the contest when the bell sounds signaling the commencement of the next round, the referee will 
award a decision of technical knockout to his opponent as of the round which has last been finished, unless the 
circumstances indicate to the referee the need for investigation or punitive action, in which event the referee will not 
give a decision and will recommend the purse or purses of either or both combatants to be withheld. (3-20-20)T

721. GLOVES TO BE WIPED BY REFEREE AFTER BOXER FALLS.
Before a boxer may resume boxing after having been knocked or having fallen or slipped to the floor of the ring, the 
referee shall wipe any accumulated resin from the boxer’s gloves with a damp towel or the referee’s shirt.(3-20-20)T

722. KNOCKDOWN OF COMBATANT; PROCEDURE FOR COUNTING.

01. Knockdown. When a combatant is knocked down, the referee will order the opponent to retire to 
the farthest neutral corner of the ring, pointing to the corner, and immediately begin the count over the combatant 
who is down. The referee will audibly announce the passing of the seconds, accompanying the count with motions of 



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 24.02.01
Div. of Occupational and Professional Licenses Rules of the State Athletic Commission

Section 723 Page 1493  

his arm, the downward motion indication the end of each second. (3-20-20)T

02. Timekeeper. The timekeeper, by effective signaling, will give the referee the correct one (1) 
second interval for his count. The referee’s count is the official count. Once the referee picks up the count from the 
timekeeper, the timekeeper will cease counting. No combatant who is knocked down may be allowed to resume 
boxing until the referee has finished counting to eight (8). The combatant may take the count either on the floor or 
standing. (3-20-20)T

03. Failure of Opponent to Stay in Farthest Neutral Corner. If the opponent fails to stay in the 
farthest neutral corner, the referee will cease counting until he has returned to his corner and will then go on with the 
count form the point at which it was interrupted. If the combatant who is down arises during the count, the referee 
may step between the combatants long enough to assure himself that the combatant just arisen is in condition to 
continue. If so assured, he will, without loss of time, order both combatants to go on with the contest. During the 
intervention by the referee the striking of a blow by either combatant may be ruled a foul. (3-20-20)T

04. Knock-Out. When a combatant is knocked out, the referee will perform a full ten (10) second 
count unless, in the judgment of the referee, the safety for the combatant would be jeopardized by such a count. If the 
combatant who is knocked down is still down when the referee calls the count of ten (10), the referee will wave both 
arms to indicate that he had been knocked out and will raise the hand of the opponent as the winner. (3-20-20)T

05. Both Combatants Down. If both combatants go down at the same time, the count will be 
continued as long as one (1) is still down. If both combatants remain down until the count of ten (10), the contest is 
stopped and the decision is a technical draw. (3-20-20)T

06. Combatants Down -- Referee Counting. If a combatant is down as a result of a legal blow at or 
near the end of a round, the ring official will continue the count. The combatant cannot be saved by the bell.

(3-20-20)T

07. Knockdown After Bell Has Sounded. If a legal blow struck in the final seconds of a round causes 
a combatant to go down after the bell has sounded, that knockdown will be regarded as having occurred during the 
round just ended and the appropriate count will continue into the rest period following the bell. (3-20-20)T

08. Three Knockdowns in Same Round. There is no three (3) knockdown limit. (3-20-20)T

723. RESUMING COUNT ON BOXER.
If a knockdown occurs before the normal termination of a round and the boxer who is down stands up before the 
count of ten (10) is reached and then falls down immediately without being struck, the referee will resume the count 
where it was left off. (3-20-20)T

724. ADJUDICATION OF TECHNICAL KNOCKOUT.

01. Contest Termination. It must be adjudged a technical knockout to the credit of the winner if a 
contest is terminated because a combatant is: (3-20-20)T

a. Unable to continue; (3-20-20)T

b. Not honestly competing; (3-20-20)T

c. Injured; or (3-20-20)T

d. Disqualified. (3-20-20)T

02. Win by Other Than Full Count. A contest which is won by other than a full count of ten (10) or 
the scoring of the judges will be adjudged a technical knockout to the credit of the winner. (3-20-20)T

725. PROCEDURE WHEN COMBATANT IS KNOCKED OUT; PERIOD BEFORE HIS NEXT 
CONTEST; EXAMINATION IN CASE OF HEAD INJURY.
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01. Combatant Who Has Been Knocked Out. A combatant who has been knocked out will be kept in 
a prone position until he has recovered. Except for the referee or chief second who may remove his mouthpiece, no 
one may touch him until the ring physician enters the ring, attends him and issues any instructions to his handlers.

(3-20-20)T

02. Decision of Technical Knockout Rendered by Referee. If the referee has rendered a decision of 
technical knockout against a combatant, the participant will be placed on the ill and unavailable list for a period 
designated by the Commission after consulting the Commission’s physician, but that period will not be less than 
fifteen (15) days. The combatant may not engage in any contact boxing during this period without the approval of the 
Commission. (3-20-20)T

03. Knockout from Blow to Head. If a combatant has been knocked out by a blow to the head, he will 
be placed on the ill and unavailable list for at least thirty (30) days. Before he is reinstated, he must satisfactorily pass 
an examination performed with a computerized tomographic scanning device or an electroencephalogram, or both, if 
the Commission or its physician finds that such an examination is necessary to determine his condition. (3-20-20)T

04. Head Injury. Whenever it appears that a combatant may have suffered a head injury, he will 
undergo such an examination if directed to do so by the Commission or its physician. (3-20-20)T

726. WHEN COMBATANT FALLS FROM RING DURING ROUND.

01. Combatant Knocked or Falls from Ring Platform. A combatant who has been knocked or has 
fallen through the ropes and over the edge of the ring platform during the contest may be helped back by anyone 
except his seconds or manager, and the referee may allow a reasonable amount of time for the combatant to return to 
the ring. If the combatant is on the ring platform outside the ropes, he must enter the ring immediately where he may 
resume the contest or take a count. The referee will start the count as soon as the combatant who had fallen is back in 
the ring. (3-20-20)T

02. Stalling Outside Ropes. If the combatant stalls for time outside the ropes, the referee will start the 
count without waiting for him to reenter the ring. (3-20-20)T

03. Combatant to Neutral Corner. When one (1) combatant has fallen through the ropes, the other 
combatant will retire to the farthest corner and stay there until ordered to continue the contest by the referee.

(3-20-20)T

04. Penalty. A combatant who deliberately wrestles or throws an opponent from the ring, or who hits 
when he is partly out of the ring and is prevented by the ropes from assuming a position of defense, may be penalized.

(3-20-20)T

727. WHEN A BOXER SHALL BE DEEMED DOWN.

01. Feet Off Floor. A boxer is deemed to be down when any part of his body other than his feet is on 
the floor. (3-20-20)T

02. Hanging over Ropes. A boxer is deemed to be down when he is hanging over the ropes without 
the ability to protect himself and he cannot fall to the floor. A referee may count a contestant out if he is on the floor 
or is being held up by the ropes. (3-20-20)T

728. ANNOUNCEMENT OF WINNER OF BOUT.
At the termination of each boxing bout the announcer will announce the winner and the referee will raise the winner’s 
hand. (3-20-20)T

729. CHANGE OF DECISION IN CONTEST.
The Commission will not change a decision rendered at the end of any contest unless: (3-20-20)T

01. Collusion. The Commission determines that there was collusion affecting the result of the contest;
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(3-20-20)T

02. Error in Scoring. The compilation of scorecards of the judges discloses an error which shows that 
the decision was given to the wrong combatant; or (3-20-20)T

03. Error in Interpretation of Rules. As a result of an error in interpreting a provision of this chapter, 
the referee has rendered an incorrect decision. (3-20-20)T

04. Failure of Drug Test. The Commission determines that there was a violation of Section 900.
(3-20-20)T

730. PHYSICIAN'S REPORT TO COMMISSION AFTER CONTEST.
On the report which the physician designated by the Commission files after a contest, he shall list each case in which 
the boxer or wrestler: (3-20-20)T

01. Injury. Was injured during the contest; or (3-20-20)T

02. Applies for Medical Aid. Has applied for medical aid after the contest. (3-20-20)T

731. MARTIAL ARTS AND MIXED MARTIAL ARTS (MMA).

01. Regulation of Marital Arts and MMA. Except to the extent set forth under Rules 731-799, all 
requirements and the limitations relating to combatants and licenses (as set forth within Title 54, Chapter 4, Idaho 
Code, and in the remaining rules of the Commission) will apply to all martial arts and MMA contests and exhibitions. 
Notwithstanding the foregoing, at its sole discretion, the Commission may (by specific reference in the sanctioning 
permit) allow the use of other requirements and limitations during a particular martial arts contest or exhibition.

(3-20-20)T

02. Practices, Belt Promotions, and Non-Contact Demonstrations. Martial arts practices, belt 
promotion testing and demonstrations (as used herein the term demonstrations means displays that do not involve 
combative contact between combatants or between participants) conducted by martial arts schools are not considered 
to be boxing. Such practices, testing, and demonstrations are exempt from the licensing requirements of Title 54, 
Chapter 4, Idaho Code, and persons do not need a license to participate in such practices, testing, and demonstrations.

(3-20-20)T

03. Licensing Exemption. Martial arts schools that meet the conditions set forth within Section 54-
406(3)(b), Idaho Code, may apply to the Commission for exemption from licensing and sanctioning permit 
requirements relating to exhibitions and contests. (3-20-20)T

04. Use of Official Rules for Art. Martial arts contests and exhibitions will be conducted pursuant to 
the official rules of the particular art. The sponsoring organization or promoter must file a copy of the official rules 
with the Commission before the Commission will issue a sanctioning permit for the contest or exhibition. (3-20-20)T

05. Boxing Gloves. The requirement set forth in Section 54-414, Idaho Code, of wearing boxing 
gloves applies to kickboxing but will not apply to any other form of martial art unless the use of boxing gloves is 
required by the official rules of that particular art. Any gloves utilized must be in good condition as approved by the 
commission. For the main and semi main events, gloves will be in new condition and of the same brand for 
combatants. (3-20-20)T

732. MMA EQUIPMENT.
The Commission is the final authority in all equipment matters. The following is a list of required equipment for 
MMA contests: (3-20-20)T

01. Commission Approved Mouthpiece. All combatants will wear a mouthpiece during the contest. It 
is strongly recommended that all combatants have two (2) form fitted mouthpieces available for use in each contest.

(3-20-20)T
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a. To Begin the Round. The round cannot begin if the mouthpiece is not inside the combatant’s mouth 
and set in place. (3-20-20)T

b. During the Contest. The mouthpiece will be inside the combatant’s mouth and properly set at all 
times during the contest. (3-20-20)T

c. Dislodged Mouthpiece. If the mouthpiece is dislodged during the contest, the referee will wait until 
the first opportune moment, without interfering with the action, call time out, and have the mouthpiece replaced.

(3-20-20)T

d. Violations. At the discretion of the referee, points may be deducted or a disqualification rendered in 
the following situations: (3-20-20)T

i. When the mouthpiece is not being properly kept inside of the combatant’s mouth; (3-20-20)T

ii. When the mouthpiece is purposely spit out; or (3-20-20)T

iii. When the corner fails to have the combatant resume competition with the mouthpiece in place or 
delays in replacing the mouthpiece after it becomes dislodged. (3-20-20)T

02. Commission Approved MMA Gloves. (3-20-20)T

a. General. The gloves will be examined by the Commission and the referee. If padding in the gloves 
is found to be misplaced or lumpy, or if any gloves are found to be imperfect, they must be changed before the contest 
starts. No breaking, roughing or twisting of gloves is permitted. (3-20-20)T

b. Weight: Each combatant will wear gloves that are not less than four (4) ounces in weight;
(3-20-20)T

c. Specifications. Each combatant will wear open finger gloves that have no padding in the palm or 
fingertip area and that are appropriate in weight for the combatant’s hand size. Under no circumstances will a 
combatant be allowed to wear bag gloves or any other gloves with metal or plastic inserts. (3-20-20)T

03. Commission Approved Attire. (3-20-20)T

a. Each combatant will wear a foul-proof groin protector. (3-20-20)T

b. Each female combatant will wear Commission-approved form fitting breast support protection. 
Supports may not have brace, metal or hard material of any kind. (3-20-20)T

c. For male combatants, no body shirts or pants are allowed. Female combatants will wear fighting 
shorts and rash guard. (3-20-20)T

d. Combatant may only use soft materials to tie hair. (3-20-20)T

04. Prohibited Equipment and Attire. (3-20-20)T

a. The following equipment and attire are prohibited: (3-20-20)T

i. Shoes; (3-20-20)T

ii. Facial hair, if determined by the Commission to pose a health, safety or sanitary issue; (3-20-20)T

iii. Tar material on any part of the body; (3-20-20)T

iv. Henna-type tattoos; (3-20-20)T
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v. Piercing accessories; and (3-20-20)T

vi. Makeup of any kind. (3-20-20)T

b. Masks, costumes, and props must be approved by the Commission prior to usage. (3-20-20)T

c. Fingernails and toenails must be cut and trimmed prior to a contest. (3-20-20)T

733. FAIR TECHNIQUES AND FOULS IN MMA EVENTS.

01. Fair Techniques. Fair MMA techniques include the use of striking and grappling techniques, 
either while standing or on the ground, subject to techniques designated by the rules as fouls. (3-20-20)T

02. Fouls. The following actions will constitute fouls during any MMA event: (3-20-20)T

a. Head-butting or striking with the head in any manner. Any use of the head as a striking instrument 
whether head to head, head to body or otherwise is illegal. (3-20-20)T

b. Eye-gouging by means of fingers, chin, or elbow. Legal strikes or punches that contact the 
combatant’s eye socket are not eye gouging and will be considered legal attacks. (3-20-20)T

c. A combatant must recognize that a referee may not be able to physically observe some actions and 
must make the referee aware if they are being bitten during an exhibition of unarmed combat. (3-20-20)T

d. Hair Pulling. A combatant may not grab hold of an opponent’s hair in order to control the opponent 
in any way. (3-20-20)T

e. Fishhooking, meaning using the fingers to attack an opponent’s mouth, nose, or ears, or stretching 
the skin to that area. Fishhooking generally is the placing of fingers into the mouth of an opponent and pulling the 
hands in opposite directions while holding onto the skin of the opponent. (3-20-20)T

f. Groin attacks, including striking, grabbing, pinching or twisting the groin area. (3-20-20)T

g. Smothering an opponent by cupping a hand over an opponent’s mouth and nose. (3-20-20)T

h. Elbows thrown from a vertical angle. Elbows thrown from any other angle are legal, except that 
strikes with the elbow point from any angle are illegal during a contest or exhibition in which an amateur combatant 
participates. (3-20-20)T

i. Knee strikes of any kind to an amateur combatant’s head. Further, when any combatant goes to the 
ground, only knees to the body are allowed. (3-20-20)T

j. Strikes to the back of the head. The back of the head is considered from the crown of the head down 
the centerline of the skull into the spine, with a one (1) inch variance to each side, similar to a mohawk haircut. 
Strikes that are thrown to areas behind the ears but not within the mohawk limitation are legal strikes. (3-20-20)T

k. Hand Chokes. A combatant may not attack an opponent with a choke utilizing only his hand or 
hands in an attempt to submit an opponent. A common phrase for this type of choke is the “C clamp” choke wherein 
the thumb is placed on one side of an opponent’s neck with the fingers on the opposite side. (3-20-20)T

l. Placing one’s fingers into an open laceration on an opponent in an attempt to enlarge the cut. A 
combatant may not place his fingers into an opponent’s nose, ears, mouth, or any body cavity. (3-20-20)T

m. Small Joint Manipulation. Fingers and toes are small joints. Wrists, ankles, knees, shoulders and 
elbows are all large joints. (3-20-20)T

n. Spine Attacks. Illegal spine attacks include, without limitation, locks, such as the “Twister,” and 
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strikes to the spine. (3-20-20)T

o. Throat strikes of any kind including, without limitation, grabbing the trachea. (3-20-20)T

i. No directed throat strikes are allowed. A directed attack would include a combatant pulling an 
opponent’s head in a way to open the neck area for a striking attack. Directed throat attacks are not punches that 
connect during an exchange from the standing position while combatants are engaged in combat. (3-20-20)T

ii. A combatant may not gouge his fingers or thumb into an opponent’s neck or trachea in an attempt 
to submit the opponent. (3-20-20)T

iii. All arm chokes such as the “rear naked,” “guillotine” and “bar arm” are legal. (3-20-20)T

p. Skin Clawing. Any attack that targets the combatant’s skin by clawing at the skin or attempting to 
pull or twist the skin to apply pain. (3-20-20)T

q. Kicking the head or groin of a grounded opponent. A grounded opponent is any combatant who has 
more than just the soles of the feet on the ground. If the referee determines that a combatant would be a grounded 
combatant, but not solely because the ring ropes or cage fence has held the combatant up from the ground, the referee 
can instruct the combatants that the combatant held up solely by the cage or ropes is being treated as a grounded 
combatant. A combatant can be kicked to the body when he is on the ground with any type of legal kick, but may not 
be kicked in the head or groin. (3-20-20)T

r. Stomping, meaning any type of striking action with the feet wherein the combatant lifts his leg, 
bending it at the knee, and initiates a striking action with the bottom of the foot or heal. This includes stomping the 
feet while both combatants are standing. Axe kicks are not stomps. (3-20-20)T

s. Pile-driving an opponent into the mat. (3-20-20)T

i. A pile driver is considered to be any throw wherein a combatant controls an opponent’s body by 
placing the opponent’s feet straight up in the air and the head straight down and then forcibly driving the opponent’s 
head into the canvas or flooring material. (3-20-20)T

ii. It should be noted that if a combatant is placed into a submission hold by his opponent and the 
combatant is capable of elevating his opponent, the combatant may bring his opponent down in any manner because 
he is not in control of his opponent’s body. The combatant who is attempting the submission can either adjust his 
position or let go of the hold before being slammed to the canvas. It is crucial that referees are properly advised and 
trained on this and that the combatants fully understand this at the rules meeting. (3-20-20)T

t. Purposely throwing an opponent out of the ring or caged area. A combatant will not intentionally or 
purposely throw an opponent out of the ring or cage. (3-20-20)T

u. Holding the shorts or gloves of an opponent. A combatant may not control an opponent’s 
movement by holding onto the opponent’s shorts or gloves. A combatant may hold onto or grab an opponent’s hand 
as long as the combatant is not controlling the opponent’s hand by using only the material of the glove but is actually 
gripping the hand. It is legal for a combatant to hold onto his own gloves or shorts. (3-20-20)T

v. Engaging in any unsportsmanlike conduct is not allowed. Any type of behavior or conduct 
observed or heard by the referee that can be considered detrimental or disrespectful towards an opponent or the sport 
of MMA. This includes, but is not limited to, spitting at an opponent, using abusive language or abusive gestures, etc.

(3-20-20)T

w. Holding the ropes or the fence. (3-20-20)T

i. A combatant may put his hands on the fence and push off at any time. A combatant may place his 
feet onto the cage and have his toes go through the fencing material at any time. If a combatant’s fingers go through 
the cage and he grabs hold of the fence and starts to control either his body position or his opponent’s body position, 
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it is an illegal action. A combatant may not grab the ropes or wrap his arms over the ring ropes at any time.
(3-20-20)T

ii. If a combatant is caught holding the fence, cage or ring rope material the referee will issue a one-
point (1) deduction from the offending combatant’s scorecard. (3-20-20)T

iii. If a point deduction for holding the fence occurs, and the fouling combatant ends up in a superior 
position due to the foul, the combatants will be re-started, standing in a neutral position. (3-20-20)T

x. Attacking an opponent on or during the break. A combatant will not engage an opponent in any 
manner during a time-out or break of action in competition. (3-20-20)T

y. Engaging an opponent in any manner while the opponent is under the referee’s care or handling.
(3-20-20)T

z. Failing to follow the referee’s instructions. Any deviation or non-compliance may result in the 
combatant’s disqualification. (3-20-20)T

aa. Timidity, meaning any action by a combatant that is used to avoid contact with his opponent or to 
run away from the action of the fight. Timidity, includes, without limitation, intentionally avoiding contact with an 
opponent or consistently dropping the mouthpiece or faking an injury. The referee may also call timidity on a 
combatant for attempting to receive time by falsely claiming a foul or injury, for purposely dropping or spitting out 
his mouthpiece, or for committing any other action designed to stall the contest. (3-20-20)T

bb. Interference by the corner, meaning any action or activity by a corner aimed at disrupting the 
contest or causing an unfair advantage to a combatant. Corners are not allowed to distract the referee or influence the 
actions of the referee in any manner. (3-20-20)T

03. Time Considerations for Fouls. (3-20-20)T

a. A combatant who has been struck with a low blow is allowed up to five (5) minutes to recover from 
the foul and can continue on in the contest if allowed to by the ringside physician. (3-20-20)T

i. If the combatant states that they can continue on before the five (5) minute time allotment has 
expired, then as soon as is practical the referee will restart the contest. (3-20-20)T

ii. If the combatant goes over the five (5) minute time allotment, the contest cannot be restarted and is 
stopped. The outcome is determined by the round and time in which the contest was stopped. (3-20-20)T

b. If a combatant is fouled by a blow that the referee deems illegal, the referee will stop the action and 
call for time. The referee will take the injured combatant to the ringside physician and have the ringside physician 
examine the combatant to determine the combatant’s ability to continue on in the contest. The ringside physician has 
up to five (5) minutes to make his determination. If the ringside physician determines that the combatant can continue 
on in the contest, then as soon as is practical the referee will restart the contest. Unlike the low blow foul, the 
combatant does not have the five (5) minute time allotment to use at his discretion. (3-20-20)T

c. If the referee stops the contest and employs the use of the ringside physician, the ringside 
physician’s examination cannot exceed five (5) minutes. If five (5) minutes is exceeded, the contest cannot be re-
started and is stopped. (3-20-20)T

d. If the ringside physician deems a combatant unfit to continue, the referee must immediately stop 
the contest. If the combatant is deemed unfit to continue by the ringside physician and part of the five (5) minute foul 
time is remaining, the combatant cannot use the remaining time. This will be enforced for all listed fouls, with the 
exception of a low blow foul. (3-20-20)T

04. Intentional Fouling. (3-20-20)T
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a. When a contest is interrupted due to an injury caused by an intentional foul, the referee, in 
consultation with the ringside physician, will determine whether the intentionally fouled combatant can continue or 
not. If it is determined that the intentionally fouled combatant’s chance of winning has not been seriously jeopardized 
as a result of the foul, the referee may order the contest continued after a reasonable interval. A combatant who is 
fouled with a low blow has up to five (5) minutes to recover. (3-20-20)T

b. If the referee, in consultation with the ringside physician, determines at any time during the contest 
that the intentionally fouled combatant’s chance of winning has been seriously jeopardized or the combatant is unable 
to continue the contest as a result of the foul, or by any aggravation to an injury caused by the foul, the intentionally 
fouled combatant wins by “technical decision.” (3-20-20)T

05. Accidental Fouling. (3-20-20)T

a. When a contest is interrupted due to an injury caused by an accidental foul, the referee, in 
consultation with the ringside physician, will determine whether the combatant who has been fouled can continue or 
not. If it is determined that a combatant has been accidentally fouled and the combatant’s chance of winning has not 
been seriously jeopardized as a result of a foul, the referee may order the contest continued after a reasonable interval. 
A combatant who is fouled with a low blow has up to five (5) minutes to recover. (3-20-20)T

b. If the referee or the ringside physician, or both, determine that the contest may not continue 
because of an injury suffered as the result of an accidental foul or because of an injury inflicted by an accidental foul 
which later becomes aggravated by fair blows, and if less than two (2) rounds have been completed in the contest, 
then a “no contest” will be entered. If two (2) or more rounds have been completed in the contest, then the combatant 
who is ahead on the scorecards wins by “Technical Decision.” (3-20-20)T

06. Fouls or Unsportsmanlike Conduct During the One Minute Rest Period in MMA Contest.
(3-20-20)T

a. If a combatant fouls or acts in an unsportsmanlike manner during the one (1) minute rest period, the 
referee will deduct points from the offending combatant based on the severity of the offense. (3-20-20)T

b. The Chief Second is responsible for all corner activities. Any illegal activity may cause the Chief 
Second to be immediately removed from the corner from the entire contest. (3-20-20)T

07. Concussive Head Impact Fouls in MMA Contest. Before allowing a contest to continue, the 
referee should consult with the ringside physician in all cases involving concussive head fouls. The referee, in 
conjunction with the ringside physician, will determine the length of time needed to evaluate the affected combatant’s 
suitability to continue. (3-20-20)T

a. If the referee determines that a foul to the head was intentional, he must follow the Intentional Foul 
rule. The referee will consider that allowing the contest to continue may subject the combatant to a severe injury.

(3-20-20)T

i. If the affected combatant is not badly injured and his chance of winning has not been seriously 
jeopardized because of the foul, the contest may be allowed to continue. If the contest is allowed to continue, the 
offending combatant will be issued an official warning and have one (1) point deducted from his score in the round.

(3-20-20)T

ii. If the referee determines that the affected combatant cannot continue, the offending combatant will 
lose by “Disqualification.” (3-20-20)T

b. If the referee determines that a foul to the head was accidental, he will follow the Accidental Foul 
rule. The referee must consider that allowing the contest to continue may subject a combatant to a severe injury.

(3-20-20)T

i. If the affected combatant is not badly injured and his chance of winning has not been seriously 
jeopardized because of the foul, the contest may be allowed to continue. (3-20-20)T
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ii. If the contest cannot continue the Technical Decision rule will be applied. (3-20-20)T

08. Low Blow in MMA Contest. (3-20-20)T

a. If the referee determines that the low blow foul was intentional, he will follow the Intentional Foul 
rule. (3-20-20)T

i. If the offended combatant is not badly injured and their chance of winning has not been seriously 
jeopardized because of the foul, the Five (5) Minute rule may be applied. (3-20-20)T

ii. If the referee determines that the athlete cannot continue, the offending combatant will lose by 
“Disqualification.” (3-20-20)T

b. When a combatant is hit with an accidental low blow and claims injury, the referee, at his 
discretion, may apply the Five (5) Minute rule. If the injured combatant cannot resume fighting before the recovery 
period ends, the injured combatant will lose the contest by “No Contest.” (3-20-20)T

c. The Five (5) Minute Rule is only applicable to low blow fouls. (3-20-20)T

09. Disqualification. A combatant will lose by “Disqualification” when he: (3-20-20)T

a. Intentionally fouls and causes harm to his opponent; (3-20-20)T

b. Continually refuses to follow the rules; or (3-20-20)T

c. Continually disobeys the referee. (3-20-20)T

10. Referee Action on Fouls in MMA Contest. (3-20-20)T

a. The referee will inform the Commission Representative as soon as possible of the following:
(3-20-20)T

i. The type of foul; (3-20-20)T

ii. If the foul was accidental or intentional; (3-20-20)T

iii. If points will be deducted from the offending combatant; (3-20-20)T

iv. If the offending combatant will be disqualified; (3-20-20)T

v. If the Five (5) Minute rule will or will not be applied; (3-20-20)T

vi. If the contest will be delayed to evaluate a combatant; or (3-20-20)T

vii. If the contest will or will not continue. (3-20-20)T

b. The referee will declare whether a blow is legal or a foul. If declared a foul, he will declare if it was 
Accidental or Intentional. Point deductions for fouls will be done at the time of the infraction. If an intentional foul 
causes injury and the injury is severe enough to immediately terminate the bout, the combatant causing the injury 
loses by “Disqualification.” (3-20-20)T

c. Point deductions for an intentional foul is mandatory. If an intentional foul causes an injury and the 
fouled combatant can continue, the referee at his discretion will deduct points from the offending combatant.

(3-20-20)T

734. SUSPENSION OF MMA CONTEST FOR UNFORESEEN REASONS.
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01. Unforeseen Reasons. If a contest has to be suspended for any reason other than the actions of the 
combatants, the referee will have the clock stopped and attend to the issue. The referee, Commission or 
Commission’s representative will decide the length of time allotted to address the issue. All reasonable efforts are 
made to resume the contest as soon as possible. It is expected that the responsible party or parties make a true effort to 
resolve the issue. (3-20-20)T

02. Suspicious Circumstances. If the contest is unexpectedly stopped under suspicious circumstances, 
all or part of the following actions may take place: (3-20-20)T

a. If a combatant or his corner is involved, the offending combatant may be disqualified. (3-20-20)T

b. The combatant may be subject to investigation and discipline in the event of a violation of these 
rules. (3-20-20)T

c. In certain circumstances the matter may be referred to the appropriate law enforcement agency or 
the courts, or both. (3-20-20)T

735. STANDING EIGHT COUNT IN MMA CONTEST.
No standing eight (8) count is permitted under any circumstances. Referee’s are responsible for combatant safety and 
will stop a contest when a combatant is unable to intelligently defend himself, or is unresponsive, timid, or 
mismatched in competition, or when the referee feels the combatant’s safety is jeopardized. (3-20-20)T

736. WEIGHT CATEGORIES - MIXED MARTIAL ARTS.
Commissions may use their discretion to approve certain matches out-of-weight class contests. The following 
comprises the full list of usable weight categories in any MMA contest.

MEN’S DIVISIONS:

Featherweight Up to 135 lbs.
Lightweight 135.1 to 155 lbs.

Welterweight 155.1 to 170 lbs.
Middleweight 170.1 to 185 lbs.

Light Heavyweight 185.1 to 205 lbs.
Heavyweight 205.1 to 265 lbs.

Super Heavyweight 265.1 lbs. and above

WOMEN’S DIVISONS:

Flyweight 95 lbs. and below
Featherweight 95.1 to 115 lbs.

Lightweight 115.1 to 125 lbs.
Welterweight 125.1 to 135 lbs.
Middleweight 135.1 to 145 lbs.

Light Heavyweight 145.1 to 155 lbs.
Cruiserweight 155.1 to 165 lbs.
Heavyweight 165.1 to 185 lbs.

Super Heavyweight 185.1 and above
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(3-20-20)T

737. MMA EVENT ROUNDS.

01. Length of Rounds. Rounds for contests or exhibitions in which amateur combatants participate are 
three (3) minutes long. Rounds for contests or exhibitions in which professional combatants participate are five (5) 
minutes long. (3-20-20)T

02. Number of Rounds. Non-title contests consists of three (3) rounds. Title contests consist of five 
(5) rounds. (3-20-20)T

738. METHODS OF WINNING MMA CONTEST.

01. Knockout (KO). A knockout is declared when a combatant is unable to intelligently defend 
himself following a strike. (3-20-20)T

02. Technical Knockout (TKO). A technical knockout is declared when the licensed ringside 
physician or referee decides the combatant cannot continue due to a cut or other injury. (3-20-20)T

03. Submission. When a combatant submits by tapping out on the opponent or the mat as a result from 
a choke, lock, or any other legal technique or strike. A combatant may call out defeat when unable to tap out.

(3-20-20)T

04. Referee Stoppage. The referee may stop the contest if a combatant can no longer defend himself or 
cannot or will not tap out, or for any other reason to preserve the health and safety of the combatants. (3-20-20)T

05. Decision. When the contest ends after the specified time period and there is no winner, or ends due 
to a foul or fouls that cause injury, or ends due to unforeseen circumstance, it will be scored by the three (3) judges.

(3-20-20)T

a. Decisions made via a scorecard in MMA contest will be: (3-20-20)T

i. A “Unanimous Decision” in which all three (3) judges agree on winner. (3-20-20)T

ii. A “Split Decision” in which two (2) judges agree on one (1) combatant and one (1) judge scores for 
the other combatant. (3-20-20)T

iii. A “Majority Decision” in which two (2) judges agree on one (1) combatant and one (1) judge 
scores a draw. (3-20-20)T

b. A “Draw” may be: (3-20-20)T

i. A “Unanimous” decision in which all three (3) judges score the contest a draw; (3-20-20)T

ii. A “Majority” decision in which two (2) judges score the contest a draw and one (1) judge scores for 
a combatant; or (3-20-20)T

iii. A “Split” decision in which one (1) judge scores for a combatant, one (1) judge scores for the other 
combatant and one (1) judge scores the contest a draw. (3-20-20)T

c. Other scorecard decisions are: (3-20-20)T

i. Technical Decision; (3-20-20)T

ii. Technical Draw; or (3-20-20)T

iii. No Contest. (3-20-20)T
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d. A “Disqualification” can result from fouling or unsportsmanlike conduct as determined by the 
referee. (3-20-20)T

06. Inability of Opponent to Continue or Throws in Towel. If the opponent is unable or unwilling to 
continue the contest or the combatant’s corner decides that the combatant is unable to continue and indicates this by 
throwing the towel into the ring or cage, a TKO will result against this combatant. (3-20-20)T

739. MMA CONTEST SCORING.

01. 10 Point Must System. All contests will be evaluated and scored by three (3) judges. In exigent 
circumstances, or at the discretion of the Commission, a referee may be allowed to judge a contest. The 10 Point Must 
System will be the standard system of scoring a contest. In the event that a contest ends by technical decision, the 
judges will score the partial round. (3-20-20)T

02. Method of Judging. (3-20-20)T

a. Scoring by Judges. Each judge will score every contest and will determine the winner using the 
following scoring system: (3-20-20)T

i. The better combatant of a round receives ten (10) points and his opponent proportionately fewer 
points. (3-20-20)T

ii. If the round is even, each combatant receives ten (10) points. (3-20-20)T

iii. No point fractions may be given. (3-20-20)T

iv. Points for each round are awarded immediately after the end of the round. (3-20-20)T

b. Majority Opinion. After the end of the contest the announcer will pick up the scores of the judges 
from the Commission’s desk. The majority opinion is conclusive. If there is no majority decision, the contest is 
declared a technical draw. (3-20-20)T

c. Announcing a Winner. When the Commission has checked the scores, the announcer will be 
informed of the decision, and the announcer will inform the audience of the decision over the available public address 
system. (3-20-20)T

03. Primary Scoring Considerations. The following are primary scoring considerations for scoring 
an amateur MMA competition: (3-20-20)T

a. Legal striking. Clean, effective strikes in the legal scoring zone - number and quality of legal 
scoring blows; (3-20-20)T

b. Legal takedowns, throws or knockdowns; (3-20-20)T

c. Near completed submission; (3-20-20)T

d. Overall control and dominance; and (3-20-20)T

e. Damage. (3-20-20)T

740. COMBATANT DOWN AFTER THE SOUND OF THE BELL.

01. End of Round. The round ends when the bell sounds to end the round. (3-20-20)T

02. Combatant Down After Round Has Ended. If during the round legal blows negatively affect a 
combatant and the combatant goes down after the bell has sounded ending the round, the referee will consider the 
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round ended and the one-minute rest period started. The referee may then allow the combatant’s corner to assist the 
downed combatant or he may summon the ringside physician to evaluate the combatant, or both. (3-20-20)T

741. BLOWS AT OR AFTER THE BELL IN MMA CONTEST.

01. Legal Blow. A blow that strikes a combatant concurrent with the sounding of the bell is deemed to 
be a legal blow. (3-20-20)T

02. Illegal Blow. A blow that strikes a combatant after the sounding of the bell is deemed to be a foul. 
The referee will determine if it was accidental or intentional foul. (3-20-20)T

742. TERMINATION OF A CONTEST DUE TO A FAIR BLOW IN MMA CONTEST.
If an athlete sustains an injury from a fair blow and the injury is severe enough to immediately terminate the contest, 
the injured combatant will lose by “Technical Knockout (TKO)”. (3-20-20)T

743. COMBAT PLATFORMS (RING/CAGE).
All MMA contests will take place in either a cage or a ring that has been approved by the Commission. The cage or 
ring will be subject to inspection prior to each contest by the Commission, a Commission representative, or a referee.

(3-20-20)T

744. -- 799. (RESERVED)

800. WRESTLING: SPECIAL LICENSE IS REQUIRED FOR A CONTEST.
Unless a special license has been obtained, all professional wrestling programs under the supervision and authority of 
the Commission are only exhibitions and not contests, and those exhibitions cannot be advertised or announced as 
contests. (3-20-20)T

801. WRESTLING: DISQUALIFICATION FOR DANGEROUS TACTICS.

01. Restrictions. The referee will not permit physically dangerous conduct or tactics by any wrestler. 
Any wrestler who fails to discontinue those tactics, after being warned by the referee, will be disqualified and have 
his purse held up and paid to the Commission. (3-20-20)T

02. Professionalism. A referee cannot participate in an exhibition to the extent that the Commission or 
the referee is made to look ridiculous. (3-20-20)T

802. LICENSEE'S DUTIES AT WRESTLING EXHIBITION.

01. Conduct. The referee, promoter and his agents, attaches and employees, and participants in any 
wrestling exhibition will maintain peace, order and decency in the conduct of the exhibition. (3-20-20)T

02. No Abusive Behavior. A person who is involved in such exhibition will not abuse the referee or an 
official of the Commission. (3-20-20)T

03. Decision and Appeal. The Commission will hear any complaint about a referee or an official.
(3-20-20)T

803. WRESTLERS -- PHYSICAL EXAMINATION.
Any person applying for or renewing a license as a wrestler will first be examined by a physician approved by the 
Commission to establish physical and mental fitness. A wrestler will be furnished a list of approved examining 
physicians by the Commission. The Commission may order the examination of any wrestler for the purpose of 
determining whether the wrestler is fit and qualified to engage in further exhibitions. (3-20-20)T

804. -- 899. (RESERVED)

900. ADMINISTRATION OR USE OF ALCOHOL, DRUGS, STIMULANTS.
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01. Prohibitions. The administration of or use of any of the following, in any part of the body either 
before or during an event, to or by any combatant is prohibited: (3-20-20)T

a. Alcohol; (3-20-20)T

b. Drugs; (3-20-20)T

c. Injection; or (3-20-20)T

d. Stimulant. (3-20-20)T

02. Urinalysis. A combatant will submit to a urinalysis of chemical test before or after a contest if the 
Commission directs him to do so. (3-20-20)T

03. Suspension. No combatant will be allowed to box if his urinalysis testing reveals the presence of 
illegal substance(s). (3-20-20)T

04. Procedure for Testing for Illegal Substance(s). (3-20-20)T

a. The Commission reserves the right to conduct random drug testing. A combatant with a recent 
history of drug abuse may be specifically required to test. Both combatants in the title contest will be tested by urine 
specimen or blood test at the discretion of the commission. (3-20-20)T

b. The combatant to be tested shall go directly to the dressing room after the end of the fight. Only 
water may be consumed until the test sample has been taken. The Commission’s approved physician or agent will 
give each combatant the specimen container and observe the combatant give the specimen into the container. The 
container will be sealed and labeled by the physician or agent. The Chain of Custody Form is signed by the 
combatant, or manager, and the physician or agent will also sign and date the form. The physician or agent will 
transport the sample to the testing laboratory as selected by the Commission. Any other person taking custody of the 
sample will sign and date The Chain of Custody Form. After completion of the test, the Chain of Custody Form will 
be returned to the Commission with the test results. (3-20-20)T

05. Subject to Disciplinary Action. A licensee who violates any provision of this Section is subject to 
disciplinary action by the Commission. (3-20-20)T

901. PREPARATIONS TO STOP HEMORRHAGING.
The Commission will periodically review the preparations available to stop hemorrhaging. Only the preparations 
which are approved by the Commission may be used to stop hemorrhaging on the ring. Avetine and Thrombin are the 
only Commission approved preparations to stop hemorrhaging. (3-20-20)T

902. COMBATANT NOT TO HAVE PROMOTER OR CERTAIN OTHERS ACT AS MANAGER OR 
HOLD FINANCIAL INTEREST.
A combatant may not have a promoter or any of its members, stockholders, officials, matchmakers or assistant 
matchmakers: (3-20-20)T

01. Manager. Act directly or indirectly as manager; or (3-20-20)T

02. Financial Interest. Hold any financial interest in the management of the combatant’s earnings.
(3-20-20)T

903. REPORT TO COMMISSION OF SOLICITATION TO CONDUCT CONTEST FRAUDULENTLY.
When any person who is licensed by the Commission is approached with a request or suggestion that a contest not be 
conducted honestly, that person must immediately report that matter to the Commission. Failure to do so is a ground 
for disciplinary action. (3-20-20)T

904. SUSPENSION OF A LICENSE -- DEBTS IN CONNECTION WITH TRAINING.
Any boxer, wrestler or manager may have his license suspended by the Commission if he fails to pay any legitimate 



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 24.02.01
Div. of Occupational and Professional Licenses Rules of the State Athletic Commission

Section 905 Page 1507  

debt which he contracted in connection with training and use of a gymnasium. (3-20-20)T

905. GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINARY ACTION.
Any person who is licensed by the Commission may have his license suspended or revoked, or be fined or otherwise 
disciplined by the Commission for any of the following: (3-20-20)T

01. Violation of Laws. Having violated the laws of Idaho, except for minor traffic violations.
(3-20-20)T

02. Violation of Rules. Having violated any provisions of this chapter. (3-20-20)T

03. Valid Orders of Commission. Failed or refused to comply with a valid order of the Commission.
(3-20-20)T

04. Good Conduct. Conduct at any time or place in a manner which is deemed by the Commission to 
reflect discredit to boxing or wrestling. (3-20-20)T

906. (RESERVED)

907. LICENSEES PROHIBITED FROM DEALING WITH PERSONS WHOSE LICENSES ARE 
SUSPENDED OR REVOKED.
A person who is licensed by the Commission will not have any dealings related to boxing or wrestling with any 
person whose license had been suspended or revoked by the Commission. (3-20-20)T

908. SUSPENSION AND REVOCATION OF LICENSES.

01. Comply with Suspensions. Every promoter and matchmaker will take notice of the bulletins of 
suspension sent out by the Commission and will not permit any person under suspension to take any part as a 
participant or in arranging or conducting matches or exhibitions during the period of suspension. (3-20-20)T

02. Additional. Every person whose license has been suspended or revoked by the Commission will 
refrain from participating in or matchmaking or holding contests during the period of suspension or after the 
revocation. (3-20-20)T

03. Specific Actions. Any person whose license has been suspended or revoked is barred from:
(3-20-20)T

a. The dressing rooms at the premises where any program of boxing is being held; (3-20-20)T

b. Occupying any seat within six (6) rows of the ring platform; (3-20-20)T

c. Approaching within six (6) rows of seats from the ring platform; and (3-20-20)T

d. Communicating in the arena or near the dressing rooms with any of the principals in the contests, 
their managers, their seconds, of the referee, whether directly or by a messenger, during any program. (3-20-20)T

e. Any person who violates a provision of Subsection 908.03 of this rule may be ejected from the 
arena or building where the program is being held, and the price paid for admission refunded upon presentation of the 
ticket stub at the box office. Thereafter, he is barred entirely from all premises used for contests or exhibitions while 
the programs are being held. (3-20-20)T

04. Dishonest Methods. If a license issued by the Commission has been suspended because the holder 
used dishonest methods to affect the outcome of any contest or because of any conduct reflecting serious discredit 
upon the sport of boxing, the Commission will not reinstate the license for six (6) months in the case of first offense. 
In the case of a second offense, the holder’s license will be revoked. (3-20-20)T

05. Temporary Suspension. Any manager who is under temporary suspension is considered to have 
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forfeited all rights in this state under the terms of any contract with a combatant licensed by the Commission. Any 
attempt by a suspended manager to exercise those contract rights will result in a permanent suspension of his license. 
The license of any combatant, matchmaker, or promoter who continues to engage in any contractual relations with a 
manager whose license has been suspended by the Commission may be indefinitely suspended. (3-20-20)T

06. Continuation. A combatant whose manager has been suspended may continue to compete 
independently during the term of that suspension, signing contracts for matches. Payment of a combatant’s earnings 
may not be made by any promoter to a manager who is under suspension, or to a suspended manager’s agent, but will 
be paid in full to the combatant. (3-20-20)T

07. Cancellation of Contract Rights. Revocation of a manager’s license automatically cancels all 
contract rights in this state under any contracts with combatants made under the authority of the Commission. If such 
a revocation occurs, a combatant may operate independently and make contracts for matches or enter into contracts 
with other managers licensed by the Commission. (3-20-20)T

909. PENALTIES FOR CERTAIN VIOLATIONS; REVIEW BY COMMISSION.

01. Penalties General. Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, the Commission may charge a 
penalty not to exceed twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) for: (3-20-20)T

a. Any violation of the provisions of these rules (IDAPA 24.02.01, “Rules of the Athletic 
Commission”); or (3-20-20)T

b. Being late or failing to appear for a weigh-in or contest. (3-20-20)T

02. Later Review. Any disciplinary action taken pursuant to Subsection 909.01 of these rules will be 
reviewed at a later date by the Commission. (3-20-20)T

910. -- 999. (RESERVED)


