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IDAPA 24 — DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES
24.11.01 — RULES OF THE STATE BOARD OF PODIATRY
DOCKET NO. 24-1101-2000F (FEE RULE)
NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING — ADOPTION OF TEMPORARY RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rules being adopted through this omnibus rulemaking is
the adjournment date of the second regular session of the 65th Idaho State Legislature - March 20, 2020.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given this agency has adopted a
temporary rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-605, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons
for adopting a temporary rule:

This temporary rulemaking adopts the following chapter under IDAPA 24.11.01:

IDAPA 24.11
o 24.11.01, Rules of the State Board of Podiatry.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and
confer a benefit on its citizens. These temporary rules implement the duly enacted laws of the state of Idaho, provide
citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the orderly execution and
enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and processes would undermine
the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the benefit intended by these rules.
These rules govern the qualifications for the practice of podiatry and define the ethical standards of the profession in
Idaho. Allowing these rules, including the ethical standards, to expire would harm the public health, safety, and
welfare, harm licensees, and harm prospective licensees.

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), the Governor has found that the fees or charges being imposed or
increased are justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fees are described herein:

The fees or charges, authorized in Sections 54-605, and 54-606, Idaho Code, are part of the agency’s 2021
budget that relies upon the existence of these fees or charges to meet the state’s obligations and provide necessary
state services. Failing to reauthorize these temporary rules would create immediate danger to the state budget,
immediate danger to necessary state functions and services, and immediate danger of a violation of Idaho’s
constitutional requirement that it balance its budget.

The following is a specific description of the fees or charges:

Application $200
Original License $400

Written Examination Set by National Examining Entity
Annual Renewal $500
Inactive License Annual Renewal $250
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ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary
rule, contact Rob McQuade at (208) 334-3233.

DATED this February 21, 2020.

Kelley Packer

Division Administrator

Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses
700 W. State Street

P.O. Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720

Phone: (208) 334-3233

Fax: (208) 334-3945
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24.11.01 — RULES OF THE STATE BOARD OF PODIATRY

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
These rules are hereby prescribed and established pursuant to the authority vested in the State Board of Podiatry, by
the provisions of Section 54-605, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.
These rules are titled IDAPA 24.11.01, “Rules of the State Board of Podiatry.” (3-20-20)T

002. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.

The document titled American Podiatric Medical Association’s Code of Ethics as published by the American
Podiatric Medical Association, dated March 2013 and referenced in Section 500, is herein incorporated by reference
and is available for review at the Board’s office and on the Board’s web site at http://www.ibol.idaho.gov.(3-20-20)T

003. -- 009. (RESERVED)
010. DEFINITIONS AND STANDARDS.
01. Licensure. Licensure means a license to practice podiatry in Idaho. (3-20-20)T
02. Reputable School. A “reputable school” of podiatry is defined as an approved podiatry school
located within the United States or Canada and designated as such by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education and
the American Podiatric Medical Association. (3-20-20)T
011. -- 149. (RESERVED)
150. PRE-PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION.
All applicants must provide official documentation of credits granted for at least two (2) full years of general college
study in a college or university of recognized standing. (3-20-20)T
151. PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION.
All applicants must possess evidence of graduation from four (4) full years of study in a reputable school of podiatry,
as defined in Subsection 010.04 of these rules. (3-20-20)T
152. PODIATRIC RESIDENCY.

01. Residency Required for Licensure. A candidate may not apply for licensure until completion of
an accredited podiatric residency as approved by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education of no less than twenty-
four (24) months, a minimum of twelve (12) months of which must be surgical. (3-20-20)T

02. Submission of Verification of Residency Curriculum. Notwithstanding the provisions of
Subsection 152.01, a candidate must provide directly from the residency program such official documentation of
completion of the entire curriculum as the board may require. Any deviation of this requirement must be approved by
the Board. (3-20-20)T
153. -- 199. (RESERVED)

200. CREDENTIALS TO BE FILED BY ALL APPLICANTS.

01. Certified Copy of National Board Results. A copy of the applicable National Board results that
has been certified as true and correct by the examining entity. (3-20-20)T

02. Educational Certificate Requirement. Each applicant must provide official documentation of a
collegiate education of not less than two (2) years in an accredited college or university giving instruction in letters
and sciences. (3-20-20)T

03. Diploma. Certified photostatic copy of diploma granted by any college of podiatry and official
certified transcripts indicating graduation from the program. (3-20-20)T

04. Residency Certification Requirement. All applications must include certification of completion
of a residency as defined in Rule 152. (3-20-20)T

201. -- 299. (RESERVED)
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300. FEES.
All fees are non-refundable; if a license is not issued, the license fee will be refunded.
AMOUNT
FEE TYPE (Not to Exceed)
Application $200
Original License $400
Written Examination Set by National Examining Entity
Annual Renewal $500
Inactive License Annual Renewal $250
(3-20-20)T
301. -- 399. (RESERVED)
400. LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION.

01. Examination of Applicants. All applicants must successfully pass all parts of the American
Podiatric Medical Licensing Examination developed and administered by the National Board of Podiatric Medical
Examiners. (3-20-20)T

02. Passing Grade. A passing grade in all subjects examined is the grade established by the
examination provider. (3-20-20)T

401. LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT.
Under Section 54-613, Idaho Code, applicants for licensure by endorsement may be granted a license upon the
approval of the Board. Each applicant for licensure by endorsement must provide documentation for each of the

following before licensure will be considered: (3-20-20)T
01. Certification of License. Certification of having maintained a current license or other authority to
practice issued by a regulatory board of Podiatry in any state or territory. (3-20-20)T
02. Credentials. Credentials as required in Subsections 200.02 through 200.05. (3-20-20)T
03. Examination. Successful passage of a written licensure examination covering all those subjects
noted in Section 54-606, Idaho Code. Official certification of examination must be received by the board directly
from: (3-20-20)T
a. The applicant’s state or territory of licensure; or (3-20-20)T
b. The national board of podiatric medical examiners. (3-20-20)T
04. Residency. Proof of completion of the residency requirement as set forth in Subsection 200.06 of
this rule. However, if the applicant graduated from a college of podiatry prior to 1993, this requirement will be
waived. (3-20-20)T
05. Practical Experience. Having practiced podiatry under licensure for three (3) of the last five (5)
years immediately prior to the date of application. (3-20-20)T
06. Continuing Education. Having completed at least fifteen (15) hours of continuing education
germane to the practice of podiatry during the twelve (12) months prior to the date of application. (3-20-20)T
07. Disciplinary Action. Has not been the subject of any disciplinary action including pending or
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unresolved licensure actions within the last five (5) years immediately prior to application and has never had a license
to practice podiatry revoked or suspended either voluntarily or involuntarily in any jurisdiction. (3-20-20)T

402. TEMPORARY LICENSES.
No temporary licenses will be granted for the practice of podiatry in Idaho. (3-20-20)T

403. -- 409. (RESERVED)

410. ORIGINAL APPLICATION.
The original application will be considered null and void after a period of two (2) years from date of original
application if no license has been issued. (3-20-20)T

411. -- 424. (RESERVED)
425. INACTIVE STATUS.

01. Request for Inactive Status. Each person requesting an inactive status during the renewal of their
active license must submit a written request and pay the inactive license fee. (3-20-20)T

02. Inactive License Status. (3-20-20)T

a. All continuing education requirements will be waived during the time that a licensee maintains an
inactive license in Idaho. (3-20-20)T

b. When the licensee desires active status, the licensee must show acceptable fulfillment of continuing
education requirements for the previous twelve (12) months and submit a fee equivalent to the difference between the
inactive and active renewal fee. (3-20-20)T

426. -- 449. (RESERVED)
450. SCOPE OF PRACTICE.

01. Competence. Upon being granted a license to practice podiatry, a practitioner is authorized to
provide only those services and treatments for which that practitioner has been trained and prepared to provide.
Information contained within the application file and supplemental certified information of additional training and
experience included in the credential file maintained by the practitioner is prima facie evidence of the practitioner’s
education and experience. It is the responsibility of the individual practitioner to ensure that the information in his
credential file is accurate, complete and supplemented to support all procedures, applications and treatments
employed by the practitioner. Practice beyond a practitioner’s documented education and experience may violate the
adopted code of ethics and be grounds for discipline by the board. (3-20-20)T

02. Advanced Surgical Procedures. Advanced surgical procedures must be performed in a licensed
hospital or certified ambulatory surgical center accredited by the joint commission on accreditation of healthcare
organizations or the accreditation association for ambulatory health care where a peer review system is in place.

Advanced surgical procedures are defined as: (3-20-20)T
a. Ankle fractures - Open Reduction and Internal Fixation. (3-20-20)T
b. Ankle and rearfoot arthrodesis. (3-20-20)T
c. Nerve surgery of the leg. (3-20-20)T
d. Major tendon repair or transfer surgery - proximal to ankle. (3-20-20)T
e. Autogenous bone grafting. (3-20-20)T
f. External fixation of the rearfoot, ankle and leg. (3-20-20)T
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451. -- 499. (RESERVED)

500. STANDARDS OF THE ETHICAL PRACTICE OF PODIATRY.

The standards for the ethical practice of podiatry is the American Podiatric Medical Association’s Code of Ethics as
referenced in Section 004 of these rules and are hereby adopted and apply to all practitioners of podiatry. (3-20-20)T
501. -- 549. (RESERVED)

550. DISCIPLINE.

01. Civil Fine. The Board may impose a civil fine not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) upon a
licensed podiatrist for each violation of Sections 54-608 and 54-609, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

02. Costs and Fees. The Board may order a licensed podiatrist to pay the costs and fees incurred by the
Board in the investigation or prosecution of the licensee for violation of Sections 54-608 and 54-609, Idaho Code.
(3-20-20)T

551. -- 699. (RESERVED)
700. CONTINUING EDUCATION.

01. Education Requirement for License Renewal. Each podiatrist licensed by the state of Idaho must
complete in each twelve-month period preceding the renewal of a license to practice podiatry in Idaho, a minimum of

fifteen (15) full hours of podiatry continuing education. Continuing education includes lectures, conferences,
seminars, moderator-guided panel discussions, clinical and practical workshops, internet based learning and home

study. Education must be germane to the practice of podiatry; and (3-20-20)T
a. Approved by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education; or (3-20-20)T
b. Otherwise approved by the Board. (3-20-20)T
02. Submission of License Renewal Application Form. Each licensed Idaho podiatrist will be

furnished a license renewal application form by the Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses on which

each podiatrist will be required to certify by signed affidavit that compliance with the continuing education

requirements has been met and must submit the renewal application together with the required fees to the Division.
(3-20-20)T

03. Verification of Completion. A licensee must maintain verification of completion by securing
authorized signatures or other documentation from the course instructors or sponsoring institution substantiating any
and all hours completed by the licensee. This verification must be maintained by the licensee and provided to the
Board upon the request of the Board or its agent. The Board will conduct random audits to monitor compliance.
Failure to provide proof of meeting the continuing education upon request of the Board will be grounds for
disciplinary action. (3-20-20)T

04. Carryover of Continuing Education Hours. Continuing education not claimed for credit in the
current renewal year may be credited for the next renewal year. A maximum of fifteen (15) hours may be carried
forward from the immediately preceding year. (3-20-20)T

0s. Special Exemption. The Board has authority to make exceptions for reasons of individual
hardship, including health, when certified by a medical doctor, or for other good cause. The licensee must provide
any information requested by the Board to assist in substantiating hardship cases. This exemption is granted at the
sole discretion of the Board. (3-20-20)T

701. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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