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IDAPA 24 – DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES
24.25.01 – RULES OF THE IDAHO DRIVING BUSINESSES LICENSURE BOARD

DOCKET NO. 24-2501-2000F (FEE RULE)

NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF TEMPORARY RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rules being adopted through this omnibus rulemaking is 
the adjournment date of the second regular session of the 65th Idaho State Legislature - March 20, 2020.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given this agency has adopted a 
temporary rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-5403, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons 
for adopting a temporary rule:

This temporary rulemaking adopts the following chapter under IDAPA 24.25.01:

IDAPA 24.25
24.25.01, Rules of the Idaho Driving Businesses Licensure Board.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the 
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and 
confer a benefit on its citizens. These temporary rules implement the duly enacted laws of the state of Idaho, provide 
citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the orderly execution and 
enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and processes would undermine 
the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the benefit intended by these rules. 
These rules govern the credentials required to instruct Idaho’s student drivers and protect the public sharing the 
roadways with student drivers. Allowing these rules to expire would mean the dissolution of the curriculum standards 
for students in private driving schools, suspension of the standards driving instructors and driving businesses are 
required to maintain, and removal of an alternative form of driver’s education for Idaho students and their families.

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), the Governor has found that the fees or charges being imposed or 
increased are justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fees are described herein:

The fees or charges, authorized in Section 54-5404, Idaho Code, are part of the agency’s 2021 budget that relies 
upon the existence of these fees or charges to meet the state’s obligations and provide necessary state services. Failing 
to reauthorize these temporary rules would create immediate danger to the state budget, immediate danger to 
necessary state functions and services, and immediate danger of a violation of Idaho’s constitutional requirement that 
it balance its budget.

The following is a specific description of the fees or charges: 

FEE TYPE AMOUNT
(Not to Exceed)

Application $25

Original Instructor License and Annual Renewal $25

Instructor Apprentice Permit $25

Original Business License and Annual Renewal $125

Reinstatement As provided in Section 67-2614, 
Idaho Code
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ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary 
rule, contact Rob McQuade at (208) 334-3233.

DATED this February 21, 2020.

Kelley Packer
Division Administrator
Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses 
700 W. State Street
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720
Phone: (208) 334-3233
Fax: (208) 334-3945
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24.25.01 – RULES OF THE IDAHO DRIVING BUSINESSES LICENSURE BOARD

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
In accordance with Section 54-5403, Idaho Code, the Idaho Driving Businesses Licensure Board hereby promulgates 
rules that implement the provisions of Chapter 54, Title 54, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.
These rules are cited as IDAPA 24.25.01, “Rules of the Idaho Driving Businesses Licensure Board.” (3-20-20)T

002. CHANGES IN LICENSEE INFORMATION.

01. Information Update. Each licensee must keep the Division current on the information that the 
licensee has placed on record with the Division. If a change occurs to the information that a licensee provided to the 
Division under Rules 150, 225, or 250, the licensee must notify the Division in writing of the change within twenty 
(20) calendar days after the change occurs. The licensee must provide the Division, upon request, with appropriate 
documentation reflecting the change. (3-20-20)T

02. Address for Notification Purposes. The most recent mailing address on file with the Division will 
be used for purposes of all written communication with a licensee including, but not limited to, notification of 
renewal and notices related to disciplinary actions. Each licensee must keep the Division informed of the licensee’s 
current mailing address. (3-20-20)T

003. -- 099. (RESERVED)

100. ORGANIZATION.

01. Meetings. The Board meets at least annually at such times and places as designated by the 
Chairman, or upon the written request of two (2) members of the Board. (3-20-20)T

a. All meetings are held in accordance with the Idaho Open Meeting Law, Chapter 23, Title 67, Idaho 
Code. (3-20-20)T

b. A minimum of three (3) Board members constitutes a quorum and may exercise all powers and 
authority conferred on the Board in order to hold a meeting of the Board. A majority vote of the Board members 
present at a meeting is considered the action of the Board as a whole. (3-20-20)T

02. Organization of the Board. At the first meeting of each fiscal year, the Board elects from its 
members a Chairman, who assumes the duty of the office immediately upon such selection. (3-20-20)T

101. -- 149. (RESERVED)

150. APPLICATION.
Each applicant for a license, permit, or other authority from the Board must submit a complete application on Board-
approved application forms. The application must be accompanied by required fee(s). Applications received less than 
seven (7) days prior to a Board meeting may be held over to the next meeting. The Board also will not review 
incomplete applications, including applications submitted without the required fee(s). Further, an applicant must 
provide, or facilitate the provision of, any supplemental information or documents requested by the Board. Any 
application on file with the Board where an applicant has failed to respond to a Board request or where the application 
has lacked activity for twelve (12) consecutive months will be deemed denied and will be terminated upon thirty (30) 
days written notice to the applicant unless good cause is established to the Board. (3-20-20)T

151. -- 174. (RESERVED)

175. FEES.
All fees are non-refundable.

FEE TYPE AMOUNT
(Not to Exceed)

Application $25
Original Instructor License and Annual Renewal $25
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(3-20-20)T

176. -- 199. (RESERVED)

200. RENEWAL OF LICENSE.

01. Application for Renewal. In order to renew a license, a licensee must annually submit a timely, 
completed, Board-approved renewal application form and pay the required renewal fees. All renewals are subject to 
audit. When applying for renewal, the licensee must meet the following requirements: (3-20-20)T

a. The licensee must certify that the licensee continues to satisfy all requirements for the licensee’s 
type of licensure, as set forth in Rules 225 and 250, and that the licensee is, and has been, in full compliance with 
Rule 007. The licensee must further certify that the licensee is in compliance with the Board’s continuing education 
requirements. (3-20-20)T

b. An instructor licensee also must certify that the licensee does not suffer from any physical or 
mental condition or disease that would impair the licensee’s ability to safely instruct drivers. (3-20-20)T

c. Every two (2) years, a driving instructor licensee must obtain a new medical certificate of the kind 
described in Subsection 250.05. The instructor licensee must annually certify that the licensee is in compliance with 
the requirements. (3-20-20)T

d. A business licensee that offers a Board-approved instructor apprentice training program must 
certify that the licensee’s program has maintained compliance with the Board’s program approval criteria as specified 
in Rule 275. (3-20-20)T

02. Reinstatement. Any license cancelled for failure to renew may be reinstated in accordance with 
Section 67-2614, Idaho Code, and subject to Subsection 201.01.c., below. (3-20-20)T

201. CONTINUING EDUCATION.
In order to protect the public health and safety and promote the public welfare, the Board has adopted the following 
rules for continuing education. (3-20-20)T

01. Continuing Education (CE) Requirement. Each Idaho licensed driving instructor must annually 
complete a minimum of eight (8) hours of continuing education. (3-20-20)T

a. The licensee must certify on the licensee’s renewal application that the licensee has complied with 
the annual CE requirements for the preceding twelve (12) months. The Board may conduct such continuing education 
audits and require verification of attendance as deemed necessary to ensure compliance with the CE requirements.

(3-20-20)T

b. A licensee is considered to have satisfied the CE requirements for the first renewal of the initial 
license. (3-20-20)T

c. Prior to reinstatement of a license lapsed, canceled, or otherwise non-renewed for less than five (5) 
years, the applicant must provide proof of attendance of eight (8) hours of continuing education for the previous 
twelve (12) months. A license that has lapsed, been canceled, or otherwise not renewed for more than five (5) years 
may be reinstated in accordance with Section 67-2614, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

Instructor Apprentice Permit $25
Original Business License and Annual Renewal $125

Reinstatement As provided in Section 67-2614, 
Idaho Code

FEE TYPE AMOUNT
(Not to Exceed)
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02. Hours. Credit for continuing education hours will only be given for actual time in attendance or for 
the time spent participating in the educational activity. One (1) hour of continuing education is equal to sixty (60) 
minutes. Courses taken by correspondence or on-line may be approved for continuing education if the courses require 
an exam or other proof of successful completion. Only four (4) hours of the required continuing education may be 
from correspondence, on-line, or self-study in each renewal period. The remaining hours must be in an interactive 
setting that allows participants to communicate directly with the instructor. Each licensee must maintain proof of 
attendance or successful completion documentation of all continuing education courses for a period of three (3) years.

(3-20-20)T

03. Providers/Sponsors/Subjects of Continuing Education. The continuing education must be 
provided by a nationally or regionally accredited college or university, a national or state driver education and traffic 
safety association such as the Idaho Association of Professional Driving Businesses, Driving School Association of 
the Americas, the American Driver Traffic Safety Education Association, and the American Automobile Association, 
transportation and law enforcement agencies, or other person or entity approved by the Board and must be germane to 
driver education. (3-20-20)T

04. Verification of Attendance. Each licensee must maintain verification of attendance by securing 
authorized signatures or other documentation from the course instructors or sponsoring institution substantiating any 
and all hours attended by the licensee. (3-20-20)T

05. Failure to Fulfill the Continuing Education Requirements. The license will not be renewed for a 
licensee who fails to certify compliance with CE requirements. A licensee who makes a false attestation regarding 
compliance with the CE requirements is subject to disciplinary action by the Board. (3-20-20)T

06. Special Exemption. The Board has authority to make exceptions for reasons of individual 
hardship, including health, when certified by a medical doctor, or other good cause. Each licensee must provide any 
information requested by the Board to assist in substantiating hardship cases. This exemption is granted at the sole 
discretion of the Board. (3-20-20)T

07. Carryover of Continuing Education Hours. Continuing education hours not claimed in the 
current renewal year may be claimed in the next renewal year. A maximum of eight (8) hours may be carried forward 
from the immediately preceding year, and may not be carried forward more than one (1) renewal year. (3-20-20)T

202 -- 224. (RESERVED)

225. DRIVING BUSINESS LICENSE.
A driving business license enables a licensee to operate a driver education business at one (1), principal classroom 
location as designated in the application. The licensee may also utilize secondary locations for classroom instruction, 
so long as the business does not conduct driver education at any given secondary location for more than sixty (60) 
days in a one-year period. A driving business license is not transferable. The business licensee must conspicuously 
display the license at the business’s principal classroom location. Each applicant must apply as required by Rule 150.

(3-20-20)T

01. Applicant Identity. The applicant must provide such identifying information as may be requested 
by the Board including, without limitation, the following: (3-20-20)T

a. The applicant’s legal name (i.e., the name of the natural person or business entity to be issued the 
license) and assumed business name(s), if any. (3-20-20)T

b. The applicant’s social security number, if the applicant has no employees and is a natural person 
(including a sole proprietor acting under an assumed business name). If the applicant has employees or is not a 
natural person (e.g., is a general or limited partnership, corporation, limited liability partnership, or limited liability 
company), then the applicant must provide its employer identification number. (3-20-20)T

c. The names and addresses of the applicant’s officers and shareholders having a twenty-five percent 
(25%) or greater ownership interest (if a corporation), members and managers (if a limited liability company), and 
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partners (if a partnership). (3-20-20)T

d. The applicant’s contact information, including its mailing address, physical address, and telephone 
number. (3-20-20)T

02. Criminal History Background Check. The applicant, if a natural person, and all persons listed 
under Paragraph 225.01.c. and Subsection 225.05 of these rules, must submit to a current, fingerprint-based criminal 
history check conducted by an organization approved by the Board. Each applicant must ensure that such persons 
submit a full set of their fingerprints, and any relevant fees, to the Division which will forward the fingerprints and 
fees to the organization that conducts the fingerprint based criminal history background check. The application will 
not be processed until the Division has received the completed fingerprint-based criminal history background checks.

(3-20-20)T

03. Classroom Locations and Certificates of Occupancy. Each applicant must list all principal and 
secondary classroom locations to be utilized by the business. The applicant must provide a certificate of occupancy 
issued to the building/room by the local fire marshal or the fire marshal’s designated agent, for each classroom 
location other than a location in a public or private school building, government building, church, or synagogue.

(3-20-20)T

04. Certificate of Vehicle Insurance. The certificate of vehicle insurance for each vehicle utilized by 
the driving business for driver education must accompany the application. The minimum coverage will include:

(3-20-20)T

a. Medical Payment for each person - five thousand dollars ($5,000); and either (3-20-20)T

b. Limit of liability (Combined single limit) - five hundred thousand ($500,000) to apply to bodily 
injury and/or property damage; or (3-20-20)T

c. Limit of liability (Split limit). Bodily injury - two hundred-fifty thousand ($250,000) per person/ 
five hundred thousand ($500,000) each accident; Property damage - two hundred-fifty thousand ($250,000) each 
accident. (3-20-20)T

05. Licensed Instructors. Before beginning to offer driver education, and at all times while offering 
driver education, a driving business must employ or have contracted with one (1) or more licensed driving instructors 
to teach the classroom instruction phase and behind-the-wheel training phase of the driver education to be provided 
by the business. A driving business must submit to the Division a current list of such licensed instructors with 
applications for original licensure and reinstatement. A driving business must keep such list current and available for 
inspection upon request by the board or its authorized agent. The list must be kept at its primary place of business and 
retained for five (5) years. (3-20-20)T

06. Vehicles. An applicant for a driving business license must submit to the Division a list of the 
vehicles that the business will utilize when offering driver education. A business licensee may not utilize vehicles that 
do not appear on the list. Each vehicle must have dual control brake pedals, safety restraints for all passengers, a side 
view mirror on each side of the vehicle, and an additional rear view mirror or compatible viewing device for the 
exclusive use of the instructor. A driving business must ensure that students are not allowed in a listed vehicle unless 
the vehicle is in a safe and proper operating condition. (3-20-20)T

a. Initial Inspection. An applicant may not include a vehicle on a business’s vehicle list unless the 
vehicle has passed a vehicle inspection performed by an ASE mechanic or vehicle technician within the two (2) 
month period preceding the application. The inspection must be documented on the Board-approved inspection form 
included at Appendix A to these rules, or on such other similar forms as may be approved by the Board. The person 
who inspected the vehicle must sign the form, certifying that the vehicle generally is in a safe and proper operating 
condition, and that each inspected item passed inspection or, if found to be in need of repair, was repaired on a given 
date. The application must be accompanied by a separate, signed form for each listed vehicle. (3-20-20)T

b. Annual Inspection. A business licensee must ensure that each vehicle passes an inspection every 
twelve (12) months, and that the inspection is performed by an ASE mechanic or vehicle technician documented on 
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the Board-approved form referenced in Paragraph 225.06.a. of these rules. If a vehicle fails an annual inspection, the 
business licensee must withdraw the vehicle from service. The business licensee may not use the vehicle for behind-
the-wheel training until the vehicle passes a subsequent inspection and the business licensee has submitted to the 
Division the inspection form evidencing that the vehicle has passed. (3-20-20)T

c. Incident Inspection. If a vehicle incident occurs that requires an investigation and report by law 
enforcement, or in which the damage exceeds one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500), the business licensee must 
withdraw the vehicle from service. The business licensee may not use the vehicle for behind-the-wheel training until 
the vehicle passes inspection by an ASE mechanic or vehicle technician and the business licensee has submitted to 
the Division the inspection form evidencing that the vehicle has passed. (3-20-20)T

d. Signage. The business licensee must ensure that the outside of each vehicle is equipped with safely 
secured signs. Signs must include “Student Driver,” “Driver Education,” “Driver Training,” “Driving School,” or 
similar language that clearly designates the vehicle as a driver training vehicle. (3-20-20)T

07. Course of Instruction. Each applicant, for an original business license, must provide with its 
application the course of instruction the applicant will use when instructing students. The applicant must demonstrate, 
to the Board’s satisfaction, that the course of instruction is designed to produce safe and effective drivers and is 
educationally sound. The course of instruction must be based on the minimum curriculum components outlined in 
Rule 226, and consists of: (3-20-20)T

a. Not less than thirty (30) hours of classroom instruction; and (3-20-20)T

b. Not less than six (6) hours of behind-the-wheel practice driving; and (3-20-20)T

c. Not less than six (6) hours of student, in-vehicle observation of other persons (e.g., parents, other 
student drivers, etc.) driving the vehicle. (3-20-20)T

08. On-line Instruction. In addition to, or in lieu of offering classroom instruction at a physical 
classroom location, a business licensee may offer classroom instruction to students via the internet. While a business 
licensee may utilize a third party to offer on-line classroom instruction, the business licensee is responsible for 
ensuring that the instruction content meets the requirements of these rules and is approved by the Board. (3-20-20)T

09. Instructor Apprenticeship Training Program. A driving business may offer a Board-approved 
instructor apprenticeship training program under the conditions specified in Rule 275. (3-20-20)T

226. DRIVING BUSINESS -- MINIMUM CURRICULUM COMPONENTS.
In order to assure consistency among driving businesses, it is necessary that every business licensee ensure that its 
driver education curriculum include the following minimum curriculum components: (3-20-20)T

01. Component One for Classroom. (3-20-20)T

a. Conducting a parent/student orientation and course overview. (3-20-20)T

02. Component Two for Classroom. (3-20-20)T

a. Identifying vehicle gauges, alert, and warning symbols. (3-20-20)T

b. Preparing to drive. (3-20-20)T

c. Protecting occupants. (3-20-20)T

03. Component Three for Classroom. (3-20-20)T

a. Identifying road signs and signals. (3-20-20)T

b. Identifying lane markings. (3-20-20)T



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 24.25.01 – Rules of the Idaho
Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses Driving Businesses Licensure Board

Section 226 Page 1734  

04. Component Four for Classroom. (3-20-20)T

a. Understanding basic traffic laws, including right-of-way rules. (3-20-20)T

05. Component Five for Classroom. (3-20-20)T

a. Using good habits for reduced risk driving. (3-20-20)T

b. Using time and space management systems and strategies. (3-20-20)T

06. Component Six for Classroom. (3-20-20)T

a. Explaining the effect of gravity and energy of motion on a vehicle. (3-20-20)T

b. Understanding procedures to maintain vehicle balance and traction. (3-20-20)T

c. Identify strategies to negotiate hills and curves. (3-20-20)T

07. Component Seven for Classroom. (3-20-20)T

a. Identifying strategies to use when driving in rural and urban environments. (3-20-20)T

b. Identifying strategies to use when driving on freeways. (3-20-20)T

08. Component Eight for Classroom. (3-20-20)T

a. Identifying strategies to use when driving in bad weather. (3-20-20)T

b. Identifying strategies to use when encountering roadside emergencies. (3-20-20)T

09. Component Nine for Classroom. (3-20-20)T

a. Understanding ways to cooperate with other roadway users, including bicyclists. (3-20-20)T

b. Identifying responsibilities after a collision. (3-20-20)T

c. Identifying the procedure for obtaining a driver’s license. (3-20-20)T

d. Identifying and avoiding common driver distractions. (3-20-20)T

e. Identifying ways to prevent drowsiness while driving. (3-20-20)T

f. Resisting aggressive driving behaviors. (3-20-20)T

10. Component Ten for Classroom. (3-20-20)T

a. Explaining the effects of alcohol on the body. (3-20-20)T

b. Explaining the effects of alcohol on the driving task. (3-20-20)T

c. Correlating drinking and driving with vehicle crashes. (3-20-20)T

d. Identifying Idaho laws related to drinking and driving. (3-20-20)T

e. Explaining the dangers of alcohol and other drug use. (3-20-20)T
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11. Component Eleven for In-Car. (3-20-20)T

a. Performing pre-drive procedure. (3-20-20)T

b. Identifying vehicle controls. (3-20-20)T

c. Starting the vehicle. (3-20-20)T

d. Backing the vehicle. (3-20-20)T

e. Demonstrating approved steering technique. (3-20-20)T

f. Smoothly stopping the vehicle. (3-20-20)T

g. Demonstrating proper signaling and turning technique. (3-20-20)T

h. Recognizing relevant signs and markings. (3-20-20)T

i. Distinguishing between four-way and two-way stops. (3-20-20)T

12. Component Twelve for In-Car. (3-20-20)T

a. Negotiating controlled and uncontrolled intersections. (3-20-20)T

b. Negotiating hills and curves. (3-20-20)T

c. Angle parking in a parking lot. (3-20-20)T

d. Driving in rural environment. (3-20-20)T

e. Making lane changes. (3-20-20)T

13. Component Thirteen for In-Car. (3-20-20)T

a. Driving in an urban environment (with one-way and two-way streets, if available). (3-20-20)T

b. Dealing with signal lights, pedestrians, and city traffic. (3-20-20)T

c. Performing a perpendicular park. (3-20-20)T

d. Merging onto the freeway. (3-20-20)T

e. Driving on the freeway. (3-20-20)T

f. Exiting the freeway and merging with traffic on surface streets. (3-20-20)T

14. Component Fourteen for In-Car. (3-20-20)T

a. Performing a parallel park/street park. (3-20-20)T

b. Performing turnabouts. (3-20-20)T

c. Passing another vehicle. (3-20-20)T

d. Driving independently with the instructor. (3-20-20)T

227. DRIVING BUSINESS - COURSE OF INSTRUCTION.
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01. Student Permit Required. No enrollee of any class D driver’s training course will be allowed to 
attend classes or participate in driving instruction unless he has obtained a class D driver’s training instruction permit, 
or a class D instruction permit, as provided in Section 49-307(4), Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

02. In-Car Documentation. A business licensee must ensure that each listed vehicle contains 
documentation that identifies each student and the student’s permit number. Permits will be given to the students 
following the completion of the course and used during the required graduate licensing process. (3-20-20)T

03. Maximum Daily Driving and Observation Time. Neither a business licensee nor an instructor 
licensee may permit an enrolled student to receive more than two (2) hours of behind-the-wheel driving time per day. 
Maximum observation time is two (2) hours per student, per day, and may be completed with a parent or legal 
guardian. (3-20-20)T

04. Maximum Number of Students In Vehicle. Neither a business licensee nor an instructor licensee 
may permit more than three (3) students in a vehicle at one (1) time. (3-20-20)T

05. Grading Criteria. A business licensee may not permit a student to graduate from the business’s 
driver education program unless the student has achieved an eighty percent (80%) or higher in each of the three (3) 
course areas described in Subsection 225.07. The business licensee must utilize written grading criteria for each of 
the minimum components in Rule 226. Criteria may include student attitude and such other criteria as the driving 
business may deem appropriate. The business licensee must maintain records of the student’s grades. (3-20-20)T

06. Driving Log. Each driving instructor must complete a log for each student's behind-the-wheel 
driving and each driving business licensee must ensure that its driving instructors complete the log. The log must 
include, for each student, at least the student's name, birthdate, phone number, driving permit number, class date, 
instructor's name, lesson objective, total instruction time, total observation time, final grade, and date the student 
passed. (3-20-20)T

07. Reporting. A business licensee will send student performance information as prescribed by the 
Idaho Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to the DMV no later than five (5) p.m. on the third business day following 
completion of the course. (3-20-20)T

08. Parental Involvement. Each business licensee should encourage parental involvement in the 
education of the student. (3-20-20)T

09. Record Retention. The business licensee must maintain all logs and other records required under 
Rule 227 for at least three (3) years from date on which the student completes, or is no longer enrolled in, the 
business’s driver education course. The business licensee may not release these records without written consent from 
the student and the student’s parent or legal guardian. The Board and its agents, however, may inspect these records at 
any time. (3-20-20)T

228. DRIVING BUSINESS - INITIAL AUDIT.
After July 1, 2009, all new driving business licensees issued licenses will automatically be audited for compliance 
with the Board’s laws and rules following their first renewal. (3-20-20)T

229. -- 249. (RESERVED)

250. DRIVING INSTRUCTOR LICENSE.

01. Application. Each applicant for a driving instructor license must apply as required by Rule 150. 
Each applicant is required to provide his name, date of birth, and contact information, including mailing address and 
telephone number, on the Board-approved application form. (3-20-20)T

02. Age. An applicant for a driving instructor license must be at least twenty-one (21) years old.
(3-20-20)T
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03. Driving Record and Drivers License. Each applicant must submit a copy of a valid driver’s 
license in good standing and a copy of a satisfactory driving record. An unsatisfactory record includes, but is not 
limited to, two (2) moving violations in the past twelve (12) months, or suspension or revocation of a driver’s license 
in the last thirty-six (36) months, or a conviction involving alcohol or controlled substances within the last thirty-six 
(36) months. (3-20-20)T

04. Criminal History Background Check. Each applicant must submit to a current, fingerprint-based 
criminal history check conducted by an organization approved by the Board. Each applicant must submit a full set of 
the applicant’s fingerprints, and any relevant fees, to the Division which will forward the fingerprints and fees to the 
organization that conducts the fingerprint based criminal history background check. The application will not be 
processed until the completed fingerprint-based criminal history background check has been received. (3-20-20)T

05. Medical Certificate. A driving instructor licensee may not provide in-vehicle instruction to 
students if the instructor suffers from a medical condition that may impair the instructor’s ability to safely instruct 
student drivers. Accordingly, each applicant for an instructor’s license must obtain a medical examination performed 
by a licensed medical professional. The examination must be completed within two (2) years preceding the 
application. The applicant must submit a medical examiner’s certificate, issued and signed by a licensed, qualified 
medical professional documenting that the examination occurred and that the applicant does not suffer from any 
physical or mental condition or disease that would impair the applicant’s ability to safely instruct student drivers. If a 
medical condition exists, the applicant must re-certify as the medical professional requires and submit that 
information to the Board. (3-20-20)T

06. Education. Each applicant must submit written evidence, satisfactory to the Board, of having 
graduated from a high school or a regionally or nationally accredited college or university, or of having obtained a 
GED. (3-20-20)T

07. Instructor Apprenticeship Training Program. Applicants for licensure must demonstrate to the 
Board’s satisfaction that they have successfully completed all required classroom instruction and behind-the-wheel 
training hours from a Board-approved instructor apprenticeship training program or have met the requirements for a 
waiver of the apprenticeship training program as set forth in these rules. The applicant must have undertaken and 
completed the apprenticeship training program within the five (5) year period immediately preceding the application.

(3-20-20)T

a. Proof of successful completion must include written certificate from a Board-approved 
apprenticeship training program certifying that the applicant has satisfactorily completed the program. An applicant 
need not have completed all required classroom instruction and behind-the-wheel training hours through a single 
program so long as the last program attended by the applicant ensures itself, and its business licensee certifies to the 
Board that the applicant has satisfactorily completed all required hours through Board-approved apprenticeship 
training programs. (3-20-20)T

b. A person may not enroll in an apprenticeship training program unless the person has applied for, 
paid for, and obtained an apprenticeship permit from the Board. The applicant must apply on Board-approved forms, 
which must identify the applicant and the business licensee in whose approved apprenticeship training program the 
applicant will be enrolled. The individual applicant must establish that they are at least twenty-one (21) years old, 
hold a valid driver’s license and a satisfactory driver license record, have passed a fingerprint based criminal history 
background check, and have obtained a medical certificate consistent with the requirements of Subsections 250.02 
through 250.05. An apprenticeship permit automatically expires one (1) year after issuance. The Board also may 
suspend or revoke an apprenticeship permit, and refuse to issue another permit, if the permittee engages in any act or 
omission that would subject the permittee to discipline if the permittee had an instructor’s license. No one may be a 
permittee for more than three (3) years. (3-20-20)T

08. Waiver of Instructor Apprenticeship Training Program. An applicant is entitled to a waiver of 
the apprenticeship training program if they possess the requisite training and experience as set forth below.

(3-20-20)T

a. An applicant who holds a current active unrestricted equivalent driving instructor license from 
another state qualifies for a waiver of the apprenticeship training program requirement. The applicant is responsible 
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to provide proof to the Board that they hold a current unrestricted driving instructor license from another state, and 
that said license is equivalent to an Idaho driver instructor license in its qualifications and scope of practice; or

(3-20-20)T

b. An applicant who has held within the past five (5) years an active and unrestricted public driver 
education instructor license issued by the Idaho State Department of Education and has completed eight (8) hours of 
continuing education within the prior year or an individual who has completed the Idaho State Department of 
Education driving instructor program within the past five (5) years and has completed eight (8) hours of continuing 
education within the prior year qualifies for a waiver of the apprenticeship training program requirement. The 
applicant is responsible to provide proof to the Board that they meet the requirements herein. (3-20-20)T

251. -- 274. (RESERVED)

275. INSTRUCTOR APPRENTICESHIP TRAINING PROGRAM.

01. Application for Approval. A business licensee may operate a Board-approved instructor 
apprenticeship training program. The business licensee must apply for program approval on forms provided by the 
Board, and submit with the application such documentation as the Board may require to enable the Board to assess 
whether the proposed program meets the Board’s approval criteria, as specified in Subsections 275.03 through 275.08 
of these rules. (3-20-20)T

02. Suspension or Revocation of Approval and Discipline. If an approved program fails to 
consistently adhere to the approval criteria in Subsections 275.03 through 275.08 of these rules, the Board may 
suspend or revoke the approval. Further, if a business licensee that operates an approved program fails to cooperate 
with the Board in any inspection or audit of the program, the licensee may be disciplined. (3-20-20)T

03. Apprentices. The business licensee must ensure that all persons who enroll in the licensee’s 
program possess a valid instructor apprenticeship training permit from the Board. (3-20-20)T

04. Instruction and Training Hours. The Board must be satisfied that the program has designed its 
proposed instruction and training to produce safe and effective driving instructors. The business licensee must ensure 
that the program includes at least the following instruction and training components: (3-20-20)T

a. Each apprentice must receive at least sixty (60) hours of classroom instruction covering the 
curriculum components for student classroom instruction specified in Subsections 226.01 through 226.10 of these 
rules. These hours may also be completed through on-line or internet based instruction. (3-20-20)T

b. Each apprentice must receive at least one hundred eight (108) hours of behind-the-wheel-training 
covering the curriculum components for student in-car instruction specified in Subsections 226.11 through 226.14 of 
these rules. When an apprentice begins to provide behind-the-wheel driving instruction to students, a program 
instructor must supervise the apprentice by riding in the vehicle with the apprentice and students for the first six (6) 
hours. A program instructor also must ride in the vehicle with the apprentice and students to evaluate the apprentice 
during the final two (2) hours of the apprentice’s behind-the-wheel training. (3-20-20)T

05. Instructors. The business licensee must ensure that only licensed driving instructors are allowed to 
teach in the program. A list of the instructors must accompany the application for approval. (3-20-20)T

06. Recordkeeping. The business licensee must ensure that the program maintains progress records for 
each apprentice. A program instructor and the apprentice must sign and date the records each month, and copies of 
the records must be provided to the apprentice. The records must, at a minimum, identify each lesson completed, the 
number of hours of instruction involved in the lesson, the date the apprentice completed the lesson, the instructor who 
taught the lesson, and whether the apprentice passed. When an apprentice’s course of instruction has been completed 
or terminated, the program business licensee must maintain the records of the apprentice’s progress, and the total 
hours recorded and maintained by the program for a period of five (5) years from completion or termination date. 
These records are subject to inspection by the Board at any time. (3-20-20)T

07. Certificate of Proficiency. The program must provide each apprentice with a certificate of 
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proficiency evidencing all hours satisfactorily completed by the apprentice while in the program, and that the 
apprentice is proficient in all areas covered by the certificate. (3-20-20)T

08. Discontinuance of Program. If the business licensee ceases to operate the program, the business 
licensee must provide the program’s current and prior apprentices with any progress or other records that the program 
is required to maintain under this Section. (3-20-20)T

276. -- 449. (RESERVED)

450. DISCIPLINE.

01. Grounds for Discipline. In addition to the grounds for discipline listed in Section 54-5408, Idaho 
Code, grounds for discipline also include: (3-20-20)T

a. Failure to cooperate with an inspection or audit conducted by the Board or its agents including, 
without limitation, any continuing education audit, as specified in Section 54-5403(6), Idaho Code. Failure to 
cooperate includes, without limitation, failure to provide documentation requested by the Board or its agents during 
an inspection or audit of the licensee’s compliance with Board laws or rules. (3-20-20)T

b. Violating any of the following standards of conduct that have been adopted by the Board:
(3-20-20)T

i. A licensee must not use fraud or deception in procuring or renewing, or in attempting to procure or 
renew, a license, permit, or other authorization issued by the Board. (3-20-20)T

ii. A licensee must not aid, abet, or assist any person or entity in conduct for which a license or permit 
is required under Idaho Driving Businesses Act, unless the person or entity has the required license or permit.

(3-20-20)T

iii. A licensee must comply with final orders of the Board issued in contested cases to which the 
licensee is a party. (3-20-20)T

02. Disciplinary Sanctions. If the Board determines that grounds for discipline exist, it may impose 
disciplinary sanctions against the licensee including, without limitation, any or all of the following: (3-20-20)T

a. Revoke or suspend the licensee’s license(s); (3-20-20)T

b. Restrict or limit the licensee’s practice; (3-20-20)T

c. Require the licensee to pay an administrative fine not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1000) for 
each violation identified in the Board’s order. (3-20-20)T

d. Require the licensee to pay all or part of the costs and fees incurred by the Board in the 
investigation and prosecution of the licensee, including without limitation, all costs and fees incurred by the Board in 
proceedings upon which the order was entered. (3-20-20)T

451. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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APPENDIX “A”

BUSINESS OWNER/OPERATOR AND BUSINESS NAME INSPECT ORS NAME (PRINT OR TYPE)

ADDRESS

CIT Y, STATE, ZIP CODE VEHICLE IDENT IFICAT ION    (LIC. PLATE NO. &   VIN)

VEHICLE T YPE (YEAR, MAKE and MODEL) ODOMETER READING

OK
Need s  
Repair

Repaired  
Date Item OK

Needs  
Repair

Rep aired  
Date Item OK

Needs  
Rep air

Rep aired  
Date Comments

1. BRAKE SYSTEM 7. LIGHTING DEVICES List any other condition
a. service brakes a. headlights high and low beam which may prevent safe 
b. parking brake system b. brake lights operation of this vehicle
c. brake drums/rotors/pads c. taillights and whether or not the
d. brake hoses d. turn signals repair has been made.
e. brake tubing e. parking lights

f. low pressure warming f. other

device 8. SUSPENSION
g. hydraulic brakes a. Any damaged or loose  

h. vacuum system U-bolt(s), spring hangers

i. dual control brake with or other part(s) that may cause

stopping distance 20mph axle to shift

2. EXHAUST SYSTEM b. spring assembly

a. any exhaust system c. torque, radius or tracking

determined to be leaking components

b. emission control d. wheel alignment

3. FUEL SYSTEM 9. ELECTRICAL SYSTEM
a. visible leak a. horn

b. fuel tank cap missing b. switches

4. STEERING MECHANISM c. wiring

a. steering wheel free play d. starting system

b. steering column 10. VISIBILITY
c. front axle beam and all a. dual side view mirrors

steering components b. rearview mirror

other than steering c. inside instructor mirror

column d. windshield wipers

d. steering gear box c. defroster

e. pitman arm 11. INTERIOR
f. power steering a. seatbelts for all occupants

g. ball and socket joints b. airbag readiness light

h. tie rods and drag links

i. nuts

j. steering system

5. TIRES
 tire condition and wear

6. WINDSHIELD GLAZE

cracks, discoloration or 
lack of clarity

_________________________________ _______ ____________________________________
Print Name ASE ID # Signature

VEHICLE COMPONENTS INSPECTED

IDAHO DRIVING BUSINESSES LICENSURE BOARD VEHICLE 
INSPECTION REPORT

DATE

I verify I have inspected this vehicle and completed this form. I cert ify that the vehicle appears to be in a safe and proper operating condition, and that each 
inspected item passed inspection, or if found to be in need of repair, was repaired on the date indicated .    

Mechanic Verification


