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IDAPA 24 — DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES
24.27.01 - RULES OF THE IDAHO STATE BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY
DOCKET NO. 24-2701-2000F (FEE RULE)

NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING — ADOPTION OF TEMPORARY RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rules being adopted through this omnibus rulemaking is
the adjournment date of the second regular session of the 65th Idaho State Legislature - March 20, 2020.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given this agency has adopted a
temporary rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-4007, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons
for adopting a temporary rule:

This temporary rulemaking adopts the following chapter under IDAPA 24.27.01:

IDAPA 24.27
e 24.27.01, Rules of the Idaho State Board of Massage Therapy.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and
confer a benefit on its citizens. These temporary rules implement the duly enacted laws of the state of Idaho, provide
citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the orderly execution and
enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and processes would undermine
the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the benefit intended by these rules.
These rules protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public through ensuring massage therapy services are
provided by those have met minimum qualifications to perform massage therapy. Allowing these rules to expire
would harm current licensees, applicants, and the public because the minimum standards of competency would lapse.

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), the Governor has found that the fees or charges being imposed or
increased are justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fees are described herein:

The fees or charges, authorized in Section 54-4008, Idaho Code, are part of the agency’s 2021 budget that relies
upon the existence of these fees or charges to meet the state’s obligations and provide necessary state services. Failing
to reauthorize these temporary rules would create immediate danger to the state budget, immediate danger to
necessary state functions and services, and immediate danger of a violation of Idaho’s constitutional requirement that
it balance its budget.

The following is a specific description of the fees or charges:

FEE TYPE (Not to Excecd)
Application $50
Original License $65
Annual Renewal $65
License by Endorsement $75
Temporary License $25
Provisional Permit $25
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DIV. OF OCCUPATIONAL & PROFESSIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-2701-2000F

IDAPA 24.27 Omnibus Notice — Temporary (Fee) Rule
AMOUNT
A2S IS (Not to Exceed)
Reinstatement As provided in Section 67-2614, Idaho Code
Examination Established by Administrator

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary
rule, contact Rob McQuade at (208) 334-3233.

DATED this February 21, 2020.

Kelley Packer

Division Administrator

Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses
700 W. State Street

P.O. Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720

Phone: (208) 334-3233

Fax: (208) 334-3945
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24.27.01 - RULES OF THE IDAHO STATE BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY

000. LEGALAUTHORITY.

These rules are hereby prescribed and established pursuant to the authority vested in the Idaho State Board of
Massage Therapy by the provisions of Section 54-4007, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T
001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. The rules are titled IDAPA 24.27.01, “Rules of the Idaho State Board of Massage Therapy.”
(3-20-20)T

02. Scope. These rules implement the purposes and intent of Title 54, Chapter 40, Idaho Code, to
regulate the profession of massage therapy in the interest of the public health, safety, and welfare. (3-20-20)T

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)
010. DEFINITIONS.
01. Approved Massage Program. A massage therapy program conducted by an entity that is

registered with the Idaho State Board of Education pursuant to Chapter 24, Title 33, Idaho Code, or with a
comparable authority in another state, and that meets the entry-level educational requirements as set forth in Section

600 of these rules. (3-20-20)T
02. Clinical Work. Supervised, hands-on training in a classroom setting. (3-20-20)T
03. Code of Ethics. The Idaho Code of Ethics for Massage Therapy attached to these rules as
Appendix A. (3-20-20)T
04. CPR. Cardiopulmonary resuscitation. (3-20-20)T
0s. Standards of Practice. The Standards of Practice of Massage Therapy attached to these rules as
Appendix B. (3-20-20)T

011. -- 099. (RESERVED)
100. ORGANIZATION AND OPERATIONS OF THE BOARD.

01. Meetings. The Board meets at least annually and at other such times and places as designated by
the Chairman or upon the written request of any three (3) members of the Board. (3-20-20)T
a. A minimum of three (3) Board members constitutes a quorum and shall be required for the
transaction of business. A majority vote of the quorum present at a meeting is considered the action of the Board as a
whole. (3-20-20)T
b. The Chairman is a voting member. (3-20-20)T
02. Organization. At the first meeting of each fiscal year, the Board elects from its members a
Chairman, who assumes the duty of the office immediately upon such selection. (3-20-20)T

101. -- 199. (RESERVED)
200. APPLICATION.

01. Filing an Application. Applicants for licensure must submit a complete application, verified under
oath, to the Board at its official address. The application must be on the forms approved by the Board and submitted
together with the appropriate fee(s) and supporting documentation. (3-20-20)T

02. Supplemental Documents. The applicant must provide or facilitate the provision of any
supplemental third party documents that may be required under the qualifications for the license being sought.

(3-20-20)T

201. -- 249. (RESERVED)
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250. FEES.
All fees are non-refundable except that, if a license is not issued, the license fee will be refunded
FEE TYPE (Not to Exceed)
Application $50
Original License $65
Annual Renewal $65
License by Endorsement $75
Temporary License $25
Provisional Permit $25
Reinstatement As provided in Section 67-2614,
Idaho Code
Examination Established by Administrator

(3-20-20)T
251. - 299, (RESERVED)

300. REQUIREMENTS FOR ORIGINAL LICENSURE.
The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure who completes an application as set forth in Section 200

of these rules and meets the following general, education, and examination requirements: (3-20-20)T
01. General. (3-20-20)T
a. An applicant must provide evidence of being at least eighteen (18) years of age. (3-20-20)T
b. An applicant must certify that he/she has not been found guilty, convicted, received a withheld

judgment, or suspended sentence for a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude, or if the applicant has been found
guilty, convicted, received a withheld judgment, or suspended sentence for such a crime, the applicant must submit a
written statement of suitability for licensure as set forth in Section 306 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

c. An applicant must certify that he/she has not been convicted of a crime under any municipal, state,
or federal narcotic or controlled substance law, or if the applicant has been convicted of such a crime, the applicant
must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set forth in Section 306 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

d. An applicant must certify that their license has not been subject to any disciplinary action by a
regulatory entity in another state, territory or country including, but not limited to, having an application for licensure
denied. If the applicant or their license has been subject to discipline, the applicant must submit a written statement of
suitability for licensure as set forth in Section 306 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

301. -- 304. (RESERVED)

305. APPROVED EXAMINATIONS.

Approved examinations are the following examinations or another nationally recognized competency examination in

massage therapy that is approved by the Board. (3-20-20)T
01. Approved Examinations. (3-20-20)T

a. Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEX) as administered by the Federation of
State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB); (3-20-20)T

b. National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCETMB) or
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National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage (NCETM) as administered by the National Certification
Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB), if taken before February 1, 2015. (3-20-20)T

c. Other nationally recognized competency examinations in massage therapy that are approved by the
Board. A written request for approval must be submitted to the Board together with supporting documentation as may
be requested by the Board. (3-20-20)T

02. Successful Passage. A passing score, or successful passage of the exam, will be determined by the
entity administering the exam. (3-20-20)T

03. Date of Exam. The passage of the exam may have occurred prior to the effective date of these
rules. (3-20-20)T

306. WRITTEN STATEMENT OF SUITABILITY FOR LICENSURE.

An applicant who or whose license has a conviction, finding of guilt, withheld judgment, or suspended sentence for a
felony or crime involving moral turpitude, has a conviction for any crime under any municipal, state, or federal
narcotic or controlled substance law, or has been subject to discipline in another state, territory or country must
submit with his application a written statement and any supplemental information establishing his current suitability

for licensure. (3-20-20)T
01. Consideration of Factors and Evidence. The Board considers the following factors or evidence:

(3-20-20)T

a. The severity or nature of the crime or discipline; (3-20-20)T

b. The period of time that has passed since the crime or discipline under review; (3-20-20)T

c. The number or pattern of crimes or discipline or other similar incidents; (3-20-20)T

d. The circumstances surrounding the crime or discipline that would help determine the risk of

repetition; (3-20-20)T

e. The relationship of the crime or discipline to the practice of massage therapy; (3-20-20)T

f. The applicant's activities since the crime or discipline under review, such as employment,

education, participation in treatment, payment of restitution, or any other factors that may be evidence of current

rehabilitation; and (3-20-20)T

g. Any other information regarding rehabilitation or mitigating circumstances. (3-20-20)T

02. Interview. The Board may, at its discretion, grant an interview of the applicant. (3-20-20)T

03. Applicant Bears the Burden. The applicant bears the burden of establishing his current suitability
for licensure. (3-20-20)T

307. -- 309. (RESERVED)

310. REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT.
The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure by endorsement who completes an application as set forth
in Section 200 and meets the following requirements: (3-20-20)T

01. Holds a Current License. The applicant must be the holder of a current active license or certificate
in good standing in the profession, and at the level for which a license is being sought, issued by the authorized
regulatory entity in another state. The state must have licensing or certification requirements substantially equivalent
to or higher than those required for new applicants in Idaho. The certification of licensure or certification must be
received by the Board from the issuing agency; (3-20-20)T

Section 306 Page 1758



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 24.27.01
Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses Idaho State Board of Massage Therapy

02. Has Not Been Disciplined. The applicant or his/her license must have not been voluntarily
surrendered, revoked, or suspended by any regulatory entity. The Board may consider an applicant who, or whose
license, has been restricted, denied, sanctioned, or otherwise disciplined. If the applicant or his/her license has been
subject to discipline, the applicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set forth in Section
306 of these rules; (3-20-20)T

03. Is of Good Moral Character. The applicant must not have been found guilty, convicted, received
a withheld judgment, or suspended sentence for any felony or any crime involving moral turpitude. If the applicant
has been found guilty, convicted, received a withheld judgment, or suspended sentence for such a crime the applicant
must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set forth in Section 306 of these rules; and (3-20-20)T

04. Has Not Been Convicted of a Drug Offense. The applicant must not have been convicted of any
crime under any municipal, state, or federal narcotic or controlled substance law. If the applicant has been convicted
of such a crime, the applicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set forth in Section 306 of
these rules. (3-20-20)T

311. -- 319. (RESERVED)
320. TEMPORARY LICENSE.

01. General. Any person who has submitted to the Board a complete application for licensure by
examination under Section 54-4009, Idaho Code, or by endorsement under Section 54-4010, Idaho Code, together
with the required fees, may apply for a temporary license to practice massage therapy while their application is being
processed by the Board. (3-20-20)T

02. Duration. An applicant will be issued only one (1) temporary license that will be valid for a period
not to exceed four (4) months or until the Board acts upon the licensure application, whichever occurs first.
(3-20-20)T

321. -- 329. (RESERVED)

330. PROVISIONAL PERMIT.

Upon application to the Board and payment of the required fees, an applicant may be issued a provisional permit to
practice massage therapy if the applicant meets all the requirements for licensure under section 54-4009, Idaho Code,
except for having successfully passed a nationally recognized competency examination in massage therapy that is

approved by the Board as described in Subsection 305.01. (3-20-20)T

01. General. A provisional permit will be issued subject to the following conditions: (3-20-20)T

a. The applicant must certify that the applicant will take the next scheduled examination for licensure
approved by the Board, and that the applicant has not failed two (2) previous examinations for licensure; and

(3-20-20)T

b. A licensed massage therapist certifies to the Board that the applicant will practice massage therapy

only under the supervision of the licensed massage therapist while both are in the same location. (3-20-20)T

02. Duration and Renewal. An applicant will be issued only one (1) provisional permit that is valid

for a period not to exceed six (6) months or until the applicant is issued a temporary license or the Board acts upon the
massage therapist license application, whichever occurs first. A provisional permit may only be renewed once upon a
showing of good cause. (3-20-20)T

331. -- 399. (RESERVED)

400. RENEWAL OR EXPIRATION OF LICENSE.

A license expires on the license holder’s birth date. The individual must annually renew the license before the license
holder’s birth date. Licenses not so renewed will be immediately canceled in accordance with Section 67-2614, Idaho
Code. (3-20-20)T
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01. Renewal. A license must be renewed before it expires by submitting a complete application for
renewal on forms approved by the Board together with the renewal fee. As part of a complete renewal application, the
licensee will attest to completion of the required continuing education pursuant to Section 500 of these rules. False
attestation of satisfaction of the continuing education requirements on a renewal application subjects the licensee to
disciplinary action, including revocation. (3-20-20)T

02. Reinstatement. A license that has been canceled for failure to renew may be reinstated in
accordance with Section 67-2614, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

a. Within five (5) years of cancellation, an applicant seeking reinstatement must submit to the Board
evidence that the applicant has completed the required continuing education together with a complete renewal
application and appropriate fee(s). (3-20-20)T

i. The applicant must submit evidence of completion of continuing education hours totaling the hours
required at the time of cancellation and for each year the license was canceled. (3-20-20)T

ii. The applicant must pay a reinstatement fee as set forth in Section 250 of these rules.  (3-20-20)T

b. After five (5) years of cancellation, the applicant will be treated as a new applicant, and application
must be made on the same forms and in the same manner as an application for an original license in accordance with
Section 200 of these rules. (3-20-20)T
401. -- 499. (RESERVED)

500. CONTINUING EDUCATION.
All licensees must comply with the following continuing education requirements: (3-20-20)T

01. Requirement. Beginning with the second renewal of their license, a licensee is required to
complete a minimum of six (6) hours of continuing education, which includes one (1.0) hour in ethics, within the
preceding twelve (12) months that meet the requirements in Sections 501, 502 and 503 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

a. An hour is defined as fifty (50) minutes out of each sixty (60) minute segment. (3-20-20)T
b. Continuing education credit will only be given for actual time in attendance or for the time spent
participating in the educational activity. (3-20-20)T
c. The educational course setting may include a classroom, conference, seminar, on-line or a virtual
classroom. (3-20-20)T
d. If the licensee completes two (2) or more courses having substantially the same content during any

one (1) renewal period, the licensee will only receive continuing education credit for one (1) of the courses.
(3-20-20)T
02. Documentation. Each licensee must maintain documentation verifying continuing education
course attendance and curriculum, or completion of the educational activity for a period of five (5) years from the
date of completion. This documentation will be subject to audit by the Board. (3-20-20)T
a. Documented evidence of meeting the continuing education course requirement must be in the form

of a certificate or letter from the sponsoring entity that includes verification of attendance by the licensee, the title of
the activity, the subject material covered, the dates and number of hours credited, and the presenter’s full name and
professional credentials. Documented evidence of completing a continuing education activity must be in such form as
to document both completion and date of the activity. (3-20-20)T

b. A licensee must submit the verification documentation to the Board, if requested by the Board. In
the event a licensee fails to provide the Board with acceptable documentation of the hours attested to on the renewal
application, the licensee may be subject to disciplinary action. (3-20-20)T
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03. Waiver. The Board may waive the requirements of this rule for reasons of individual hardship,
including health or other good cause. The licensee should request the waiver in advance of renewal and must provide
any information requested by the Board to assist in substantiating hardship cases. This waiver is granted at the sole
discretion of the Board. (3-20-20)T

04. Carryover of Continuing Education Hours. Continuing education hours not claimed in the
current renewal year may be claimed in the next renewal year. A maximum of six (6) hours may be carried forward
from the immediately preceding year, and may not be carried forward more than one renewal year. (3-20-20)T

0s. Exemption. A licensee is exempt from the continuing education requirements under this Section
for the period between the initial issuance of the original license and the first expiration date of that license.
(3-20-20)T

501. APPROVAL OF CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES.
Approved continuing education courses are those courses and programs that meet the requirements of these rules, and
are approved, sponsored, or provided by the following entities or organizations, or otherwise approved by the Board:

(3-20-20)T

01. A College or University. Accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting agency as recognized

by the United States Secretary of Education; (3-20-20)T

02. Federal, State or Local Governmental Entities; and (3-20-20)T

03. National and State Massage Therapy Associations. (3-20-20)T

04. Provider Course Approval. Other courses may be approved by the Board based upon

documentation submitted by a continuing education provider. Requests for approval of courses made by the provider

must be submitted on a form approved by the Board that includes: (3-20-20)T
a. The nature and subject of the course and its relevancy to the practice of massage therapy;

(3-20-20)T

b. The name of instructor(s) and their qualifications; (3-20-20)T

c. The date, time and location of the course; (3-20-20)T

d. The specific agenda for the course; (3-20-20)T

e. The number of continuing education hours requested; (3-20-20)T

f. The procedures for verification of attendance; and (3-20-20)T

g. Other information as may be requested by the Board. (3-20-20)T

h. Upon review of all information requested, the Board may deny any request for a course that does

not meet the requirements of Idaho law or rule. Board approval of a course will be granted for a period not to exceed

five (5) years, or until the course materials or instructors are changed, whichever may occur first. (3-20-20)T

05. Licensee Course Approval. Other courses may be approved by the Board based upon

documentation submitted by the licensee. All requests for approval must be made to the Board in writing and include
the nature and subject of the course and its relevancy to the practice of massage therapy, name of instructor(s) and
their qualifications, date, time and location of the course, and procedures for verification of attendance. (3-20-20)T

502. CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITIES.
The following educational activities qualify for continuing education as set forth: (3-20-20)T
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01. Teaching a Course For The First Time, Not to Exceed Six Hours. A report must be submitted,
including the name of the course, course outline, qualifications for teaching, number of hours taught, number of
participants taught, date and location of the training. (3-20-20)T
02. Publishing Articles or Books. The hours awarded as determined at the discretion of the Board.
(3-20-20)T
03. Self Study. Using books, audio tapes, video tapes, DVD's, research materials, professional
publications, online sources, and/or other electronic sources/methods documented by a type-written two-page report
summarizing the study content. (3-20-20)T

503. CONTENT OF CONTINUING EDUCATION.
The content of continuing education activities and course content must be germane to the practice of massage therapy
as defined in Section 54-4002, Idaho Code, and courses in ethics must also be specific to legal issues, law, standards

of practice, or ethics. (3-20-20)T

01. Continuing Education. Content germane to the practice of massage therapy includes, but is not

limited to: (3-20-20)T

a. Applications of massage and bodywork therapy for specific needs, conditions, or client

populations. (3-20-20)T

b. Client assessment protocols, skills for client record keeping, strategies for interfacing with other

health care providers. (3-20-20)T

c. Use of external agents such as water, sound, heat, cold, or topical applications of plant or mineral-

based substances. (3-20-20)T

d. Body-centered or somatic psychology, psychophysiology, or interpersonal skills which may include
communication skills, boundary functions, dual relationships, transference, counter-transference, and projection.

(3-20-20)T

e. Standards of practice, professional ethics, or state laws. (3-20-20)T

f. Strategies for the marketing of massage and bodywork therapy practices. (3-20-20)T

g. Theory or practice of ergonomics as applied to therapists or clients. (3-20-20)T

h. Hygiene, methods of infectious disease control, organization and management of the treatment

environment. (3-20-20)T

i. Body sciences, which may include anatomy, physiology, kinesiology or pathology, as they apply to

massage therapy. (3-20-20)T

je Certified CPR or first aid training. (3-20-20)T

504. -- 599. (RESERVED)

600. EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM STANDARDS.

Approved educational programs are those programs conducted by an entity that meet the definition in Section 010
and that consist of a minimum of five hundred (500) hours of in-class supervised hours of coursework and clinical
work that meets the following entry-level educational standards: (3-20-20)T

01. Coursework Content and Hours. Coursework must include the following content areas and
minimum hours: (3-20-20)T

a. Two hundred (200) hours in massage and bodywork assessment, theory, and application;
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(3-20-20)T

b. One hundred twenty-five (125) hours in body systems including anatomy, physiology, and
kinesiology; (3-20-20)T
c. Forty (40) hours in pathology; (3-20-20)T

d. Twenty-five (25) hours in business and ethics; and (3-20-20)T

02. Clinical Work. A minimum of one hundred ten (110) hours must be clinical work. (3-20-20)T

a. Students are not permitted to render any clinical services to clients until students have completed at

least twenty percent (20%) of the required hours of instruction. (3-20-20)T
b. All clinical services must be performed under the supervision of a person fully licensed.

(3-20-20)T

601. SUPERVISION.

01. Supervision of Clinical Work. The supervising massage therapist must consult with the student,
evaluate student performance and be physically present and available to render direction in person and on the
premises where massage therapy is being provided. (3-20-20)T

02. Supervision of Fieldwork. The supervising massage therapist must be available to render direction
either in person or by means of telecommunications but is not required to be physically present on the premises where
massage therapy is being provided. (3-20-20)T

602. -- 699. (RESERVED)

700. SCOPE OF PRACTICE.
All licensees must practice in a competent manner consistent with their level of education, training, and experience.
(3-20-20)T

701. -- 749. (RESERVED)

750. STANDARDS OF PRACTICE.

All licensees must comply with the Idaho Standards of Practice for Massage Therapy as approved by the Board and
attached as Appendix B. (3-20-20)T
751. -- 799. (RESERVED)

800. CODE OF ETHICS.

All licensees must comply with the Code of Ethics for Massage Therapy as approved by the Board and attached to
these rules as Appendix A. (3-20-20)T
801. -- 899. (RESERVED)

900. DISCIPLINE.

If the Board determines that grounds for discipline exist for violations of Title 54, Chapter 40, Idaho Code, violations
of these rules, or both, it may impose disciplinary sanctions against the licensee including, without limitation, any or

all of the following: (3-20-20)T
01. Refuse License. Refuse to issue, renew, or reinstate a license; (3-20-20)T
02. Revoke License. Revoke or suspend the licensee’s license(s); (3-20-20)T
03. Restrict License. Condition, restrict, or limit the licensee’s practice, license, or both;  (3-20-20)T
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04. Administrative Fine. Impose an administrative fine not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000)
for each violation of the Board’s laws or rules; and (3-20-20)T

05. Licensee Costs. Order a licensee to pay the costs and fees incurred by the Board in the
investigation, prosecution, or both, of the licensee for violation(s) of the Board’s laws, rules, or both. (3-20-20)T

901. -- 999. (RESERVED)

IDAHO BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY CODE OF ETHICS -- APPENDIX A

Preamble: This Code of Ethics is a summary statement of the standards of conduct that define ethical practice of
massage therapy. All licensees are responsible for maintaining and promoting ethical practice.

A licensee shall:

1. Conduct all business and professional activities honestly and within their scope of practice and all
applicable legal and regulatory requirements.

2. Inform clients of the limitations of the licensee's practice, the limitations of massage therapy, and
the contraindications for massage therapy.

3. Refer the client to other professionals or services if the treatment or service is beyond the licensee’s
scope of practice.

4. Not engage in any sexual conduct, sexual activities, or sexualizing behavior involving a client, even
if the client attempts to sexualize the relationship. Sexual activity includes any verbal and/or nonverbal behavior for
the purpose of soliciting, receiving, or giving sexual gratification.

5. Be truthful in advertising and marketing, and not misrepresent services, charges for services,
credentials, training, experience or results.

6. Safeguard the confidentiality of all client information, unless disclosure is requested by the client in
writing or as allowed or required by law.

7. Obtain informed and voluntary consent from clients.

8. Allow a client the right to refuse, modify or terminate treatment regardless of prior consent given.
9. Provide draping and treatment in a way that ensures the safety, comfort, and privacy of the client.
10. Possess the right to refuse to treat any person or part of the body.

11. Refuse any gifts or benefits that are intended to influence a referral, decision, treatment or the

professional relationship between the licensee and the client.

12. Report to the Idaho Board of Massage Therapy any unlicensed practice of massage therapy, and
any evidence indicating unethical, incompetent or illegal acts committed by a licensee or individual.

13. Do no harm to the physical, mental, and emotional well being of clients.
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IDAHO BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY STANDARDS OF PRACTICE --
APPENDIX B

Standard I: Professionalism

In his/her professional role the licensee shall:

1. Cooperate with any Board investigation regarding any alleged violation of the Massage Therapy
law or rules.

2. Use professional verbal, nonverbal, and written communications.

3. Provide an environment that is safe for the client and which meets all legal requirements for health
and safety.

4. Use standard precautions to ensure professional hygienic practices and maintain a level of personal

hygiene appropriate for practitioners in the therapeutic setting.
5. Wear clothing that is clean and professional.

6. Obtain voluntary and informed consent from the client, or written informed consent from client's
legal guardian, prior to initiating the treatment plan.

7. If applicable, conduct an accurate needs assessment, develop a plan of care with the client, and
update the plan as needed.

8. Use appropriate draping to protect the client's physical and emotional privacy. When clients remain
dressed for seated massage or sports massage, draping is not required.

9. Not practice under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or any illegal substances, with the exception of
legal or prescribed dosage of medication which does not impair the licensee.

Standard I1: Legal and Ethical Requirements
In his/her professional role the licensee shall:
1. Maintain accurate and complete client billing and records. Client Records includes notes written by
a licensee and kept in a separate client file that indicates the date of the session, areas of complaint as stated by client,

and observations made and actions taken by the licensee.

2. Report within thirty (30) days to the Idaho Board of Massage Therapy any felony or misdemeanor
criminal convictions of the licensee.

Standard I11: Confidentialit
In his/her professional role the licensee shall:
1. Protect the confidentiality of the client's identity in conversations, all advertisements, and any and
all other matters unless disclosure of identifiable information is requested or permltted by the client in writing or is

required or allowed by law.

2. Protect the interests of clients who are minors or clients who are unable to give voluntary and
informed consent by securing written informed consent from an appropriate third party or guardian.

3. Solicit only information that is relevant or reasonable to the professional relationship.
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4. Maintain the client files for a minimum period of seven (7) years.
5. Store and dispose of client files in a secure manner.

Standard IV: Business Practices

In his/her professional role the licensee shall:

1. Not use sensational, sexual, or provocative language and/or pictures to advertise or promote their
business.

2. Display/discuss a schedule of fees in advance of the session that is clearly understood by the client
or potential client.

3. Make financial arrangements in advance that are clearly understood by, and safeguard the best
interests of, the client or consumer.

Standard V: Roles and Boundaries

In his/her professional role the licensee shall:

1. Not participate in client relationships that could impair professional judgment or result in
exploitation of the client.

Standard VI: Prevention of Sexual Misconduct

In his/her professional role the licensee shall:
1. Not engage in any behavior that sexualizes, or appears to sexualize, the client/licensee relationship.
2. Not participate in a sexual relationship or sexual conduct with the client, whether consensual or
otherwise, from the beginning of the client/licensee relationship and for a minimum of twelve (12) months after the

termination of the client/licensee relationship.

3. In the event that the client initiates sexual behavior, clarify the purpose of the therapeutic session
and, if such conduct does not cease, terminate or refuse the session.
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