MINUTES

SENATE AGRICULTURAL AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

Thursday, January 09, 2020

DATE:

TIME:	8:00 A.M.
PLACE:	Room WW53
MEMBERS PRESENT:	Chairman Guthrie, Vice Chairwoman Den Hartog, Senators Patrick, Harris, Mortimer, Lent, Bayer, Jordan, and Nelson
ABSENT/ EXCUSED:	None
NOTE:	The sign-in sheet, testimonies and other related materials will be retained with the minutes in the committee's office until the end of the session and will then be located on file with the minutes in the Legislative Services Library.
CONVENED:	Chairman Guthrie called the Senate Agricultural Affairs Committee (Committee) to order at 8:00 a.m.
WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS:	Chairman Guthrie introduced the new Committee secretary, LeAnn Mohr and the Committee page, Moses Brown. Chairman Guthrie invited Mr. Brown to the podium to introduce himself and share his interests, future aspirations, and long-term goals.
PASSED THE GAVEL:	Chairman Guthrie passed the gavel to Vice Chairwoman Den Hartog.
RULES REVIEW:	Vice Chairwoman Den Hartog updated the Committee about the rules review process. She explained the contents in the modified Committee rules review book. She said due to the uniqueness of the 2020 Legislative Session rules process, she will not be assigning specific rules to Committee members, rather the Committee will work on the omnibus rules collectively.
PRESENTATION:	Colby Cameron , Regulatory Analyst, Division of Financial Management (DFM), spoke about the work DFM accomplished for the Red Tape Reduction Act. He recommended the Committee to first address omnibus rules before reviewing the traditional rules. He walked the Committee members through the rules book on the Legislative website.
	Committee members expressed their concerns regarding how they would know which omnibus rule had been removed. Mr. Cameron explained the rule review process the agencies undertook and advised Committee members to contact the agencies with their concerns.
PASSED THE GAVEL:	Vice Chairwoman Den Hartog passed the gavel to Chairman Guthrie.
ADJOURNED:	There being no further business at this time, Chairman Guthrie adjourned the meeting at 8:28 a.m.
Senator Jim Guthrie Chair	LeAnn Mohr Secretary