IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 20

BY STATE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

A HOUSE RESOLUTION

STATING FINDINGS OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES AND COMMEMORATING THE CELE BRATION OF THE FEAST OF SAINT PATRICK, THE PATRON SAINT OF IRELAND.

4 Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Idaho:

1

5 WHEREAS, on Saint Patrick's Day, all who wear the green live for a day in 6 the spirit of Ireland; and

7 WHEREAS, the songs of Ireland are the joyous and tragic songs of love;
8 the nostalgic reveries of the sorrows and the glories that are the Emerald
9 Isle; and the lamentations of life's myriad travails and the odes to joy and
10 the life eternal; and

11 WHEREAS, Irish immigrants to the United States, and all other immi-12 grants, have helped form the cultural foundation of the nation, and those of 13 Irish lineage today proudly sing support for America and Ireland; and

14 WHEREAS, Idaho and Ireland have a strong business and tourism relation15 ship that is important to our state and Ireland; and

16 WHEREAS, we celebrate the establishment of the American Irish State 17 Legislators Caucus with its aim of fostering and strengthening the long-18 standing relationship that exists between the United States of America and 19 Ireland to the mutual benefit of both countries with leadership in all 50 20 states.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the members of the House of Representatives, assembled in the Second Regular Session of the Sixty-sixth Idaho
Legislature, that the members of the House of Representatives commemorate
the celebration of the Feast of Saint Patrick, the patron saint of Ireland.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the chief clerk of the House of Representa-25 tives be and hereby is authorized and directed to transmit a duly certified 26 copy of this resolution to Senator Mark Daly, Chair of the Senate of Ireland, 27 which on this year celebrates its 100th anniversary, and to the national 28 cochairs of the American Irish State Legislators Caucus, Speaker Robin Vos 29 of Wisconsin, Assemblywoman Carol Murphy of New Jersey, Representative Kil-30 lian Timoney of Kentucky, Representative Fran Hurley of Illinois, Senator 31 Shannon O'Brien of Montana, and Senator Mia Costello of Alaska. 32