Dear Senators PATRICK, Martin, Schmidt, and
Representatives BARBIERI, Clow, Smith:

The Legislative Services Office, Research and Legislation, has received the enclosed rules of the

Board of Registration for Professional Geologists:

IDAPA 14.01.01 - Rules of Procedure of the Board of Registration for Professional Geologists -
Proposed Rule (Docket No. 14-0101-1501);

IDAPA 14.01.01 - Rules of Procedure of the Board of Registration for Professional Geologists - Fee
Rule, Proposed Rule (Docket No. 14-0101-1502).

Pursuant to Section 67-454, Idaho Code, a meeting on the enclosed rules may be called by the
cochairmen or by two (2) or more members of the subcommittee giving oral or written notice to Research
and Legislation no later than fourteen (14) days after receipt of the rules' analysis from Legislative
Services. The final date to call a meeting on the enclosed rules is no later than 10/23/2015. If a meeting is
called, the subcommittee must hold the meeting within forty-two (42) days of receipt of the rules' analysis
from Legislative Services. The final date to hold a meeting on the enclosed rules is 11/20/2015.

The germane joint subcommittee may request a statement of economic impact with respect to a
proposed rule by notifying Research and Legislation. There is no time limit on requesting this statement,
and it may be requested whether or not a meeting on the proposed rule is called or after a meeting has
been held.

To notify Research and Legislation, call 334-4834, or send a written request to the address on the

memorandum attached below.
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Legislative Services Oflice
Idaho State Legislature

Eric Milstead Serving Haho' s Glizen Legialafiure
Director
MEMORANDUM
TO: Rules Review Subcommittee of the Senate Commerce & Human Resources Committee and the

House Business Committee
FROM: Legislative Research Analyst - Elizabeth Bowen

DATE: October 5, 2015
SUBJECT: Board of Registration for Professional Geologists

IDAPA 14.01.01 - Rules of Procedure of the Board of Registration for Professional Geologists - Proposed
Rule (Docket No. 14-0101-1501)

IDAPA 14.01.01 - Rules of Procedure of the Board of Registration for Professional Geologists - Fee Rule,
Proposed Rule (Docket No. 14-0101-1502)

The Board of Registration for Professional Geologists submits notice of proposed rulemaking at IDAPA
14.01.01.

The first proposed rule:

* Revises definitions;
* Revises language relating to lack of activity on an application for registration;
* (Clarifies professional examination requirements and procedures; and
* Includes provisions relating to geologists in training.

Negotiated rulemaking was not conducted, because these changes are being made to comply with House
Bill 81, which was passed during the 2015 session. There is no anticipated fiscal impact on the state general
fund. This rulemaking is authorized pursuant to Section 54-2808, Idaho Code.

The second proposed rule, a fee rule, increases the registration reinstatement fee from $25 to the rein-
statement fee provided by Section 67-2614, Idaho Code, which is $35. The purpose of the rule change is to
align the Board's fee with the fees of other boards served by the Bureau of Occupational Licenses.

Negotiated rulemaking was not conducted, but the Board discussed this rule change at noticed, open
meetings. There is no anticipated fiscal impact on the state general fund, as the fees collected are dedicated
funds. This rulemaking is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-2802 and 67-2614, Idaho Code.

cc: Board of Registration for Professional Geologists

Tana Cory

Mike Nugent, Manager Cathy Holland-Smith, Manager April Renfro, Manager Glenn Harris, Manager

Research & Legislation Budget & Policy Analysis Legislative Audits Information Technology
Statehouse, P.O. Box 83720 Tel: 208-334-2475

Boise, Idaho 83720-0054 www.legislature.idaho.gov



IDAPA 14 - BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR PROFESSIONAL GEOLOGISTS

14.01.01 - RULES OF PROCEDURE OF THE BOARD OF REGISTRATION
FOR PROFESSIONAL GEOLOGISTS

DOCKET NO. 14-0101-1501
NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - PROPOSED RULE

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-2808, 1daho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 21, 2015.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the
proposed rulemaking:

The changes will alow applicants to take one of the required examinations while still in college. The rule also
clarifies the examination, re-examination, and examination scores.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: None.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not
conducted because the rules are being amended to comply with House Bill 81 which passed in the 2015 Legidlative
Session. The rules were discussed in an open, noticed meeting of the Board.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by referenceinto thisrule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Cherie Simpson at (208) 577-2584.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 28, 2015.

DATED this 4th Day of September, 2015.

Tana Cory

Bureau Chief

Bureau of Occupational Licenses
700 W State St.

P O Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720-0063

Phone: (208) 334-3233

Fax: (208) 334-394
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BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR PROFESSIONAL GEOLOGISTS Docket No. 14-0101-1501
Rules of the Board of Registration for Professional Geologists Proposed Rulemaking

THE FOLLOWING ISTHE PROPOSED TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 14-0101-1501
(Only Those Sections With Amendments Are Shown.)

010. DEFINITIONS.
For the purposes of these rules, the following definitions apply: (3-26-08)

01. Act. The legidlation enacted by the First Regular Session of the Forty-first Legidature (Chapter
137, 1971 Session Laws), and compiled at Sections 54-2801, et seq., Idaho Code, providing for registration of

professional geologists. (3-26-08)
02. Applicant. Any person who has made application for registration under the Act and who has
neither been granted registration nor had the Application denied by the Board. (3-26-08)
03. Application. An Application consists of completed form or forms prescribed by the Board and all
official transcripts, reference statements, and a signed code of ethics. (3-26-08)
04, ASBOG. The National Association of State Boards of Geology. ( )

045. Boar d. The Idaho Board of Registration for Professional Geologists as provided for in the Act.
(7-1-93)

056. Geologist-in-Training. The interim designation given to any person who has met the academic
requirements and successfully passed the fundamentals of geology and—academic—gestogical portion of the
professional examination but has not yet completed the reqU|5|te years of experlence and passed the practices of
geology examination as prowded inthe Act. » J !

067. Registrant. Any person currently registered as a professional geologist under provisions of the
Act. (7-1-93)

0%8. Responsible Position. A position wherein a person, having independent control, direction, or
supervision of ageological project, investigates and interprets geologic features. (7-1—93)

089. Responsible Charge. Responsible charge means the control and direction of geology work,
requiring initiative, professional skill, independent judgment, and professional knowledge of the content of relevant
documents during their preparation. (3-20-14)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

200. APPLICATION PROCEDURES.

01. Applications. Applications for registration shall be: (7-1-93)
a. Filed on aform or forms prescribed by the Board and accompanied by official transcripts, reference
statements, and a signed code of ethics (SEE “APPENDIX B” AT END OF THIS CHAPTER); (3-26-08)
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BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR PROFESSIONAL GEOLOGISTS Docket No. 14-0101-1501

Rules of the Board of Registration for Professional Geologists Proposed Rulemaking
b. Filed at the office of the Board, accompanied by the required Application feg; (3-26-08)
C. Received by the Board, if for registration by examination, not less than ninety (90) days prior to the
date of examination; (4-9-09)
i d. Subscribed and certified to by the Applicant under penalty of perjury as provided for by st(a7tell aa/é/)

Applications not submitted in proper form, or which are incomplete, will not be accepted by the
Board and will be returned to the Applicant by-the seeretary with a statement of the reason for return. (7-1-93)/ )

02. Board Action. Upon evaluation of the Application by the Board, including receipt of statements

from references, each Application will be: (7-1-93)
a. Approved and the Applicant notified in writing of such approval and the granting of registration; or

(7-1-93)

b. Approved and the Applicant scheduled for examination for registration, and so notified in writing;

or (7-1-93)
C. Denied with-prejudiee and the Applicant so notified in writing by-eertified-mait stating the reason

for denial. In the event of denia of Application, the Application fee will be retained by the Board.  (7-1-93)( )

03. Appeal. Upon natification by the Board that the Application has been denied or rejected, the
Applicant, within thirty (30) days of receipt of such notice, may petition the Board for a hearing, under the provisions
of Title 67, Chapter 52, Idaho Code. (3-26-08)

04. Dates. The date of application shall be the date it is delivered in person to the Board office or, if
mailed, the date shown by post office cancellation mark. Qualifying education and experience of the Applicant, for
examination and registration, shall be computed from the date of application as described above. (7-1-93)

05. References. Statements from personal references in Responsible Positions concerning the
Applicant’s technical ability and personal character, shall be received, as prescribed by the Act, prior to any action by
the Board to approve an Application. Each statement must reflect in a positive way the technical and ethical merits of
the Applicant. Applicants for the Fundamentals of Geology examination may fulfill this requirement with reference
statements from geologists in Responsible Positions familiar with the ability and character of the Applicant as
demonstrated in an academic setting. (3-26-08)

abandened—whea Lack of Act|V|tv If an appllcant fails to respond to a Board requ&et or an appllcanon has Iacked
activity for twelve (12) consecutive months, the application on file with the Board will be deemed denied and will be
terminated upon athirty (30) day written notice, unless good cause is demonstrated to the Board. -1-93)( )

201. -- 299. (RESERVED)
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BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR PROFESSIONAL GEOLOGISTS Docket No. 14-0101-1501
Rules of the Board of Registration for Professional Geologists Proposed Rulemaking

300. EXAMINATIONS.

Except as otherwise provided in statute, every Applicant for registration shall take and pass the compl ete professional
examination for registration as a professional geologist. The complete professional examination consists of a written
examination that covers subjects ordinarily contained in a college curriculum and a written examination that covers
the practice of geology. ( )

Fundamentals of Geoloqv The ertten exam nanon that covers sublects contal ned |n a Colleqe currlcul umis the
Fundamentals of Geology examination provided by ASBOG. To be €ligible to take the Fundamentals of Geology

examination an Applicant must: 193 )
a File a complete Application as set forth in Subsection 200 of these rules, including providing the
required references; and )
b. Submit the required fees, as set forth in Subsection 150 of these rules; and )
(o Have completed thirty (30) semester units or equivalent quarter units in courses in geological

science leading to a degree in the geological sciences of which at least twenty-four (24) units are in third or fourth
year, and/or graduate courses. Applicants who can satisfy the Board that they will have completed the required
coursework and number of units and will be graduating at the end of the spring, summer or fall terms of any given
year, may be eligible for examination immediately preceding the date of graduation. ( )

02. Practice of Geology.The written examination that covers the practice of geology is the Practice of

Geology examination provided by ASBOG. To be eligible to take the Practice of Geology examination an Applicant
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BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR PROFESSIONAL GEOLOGISTS Docket No. 14-0101-1501

Rules of the Board of Registration for Professional Geologists Proposed Rulemaking
must: )
a Have a complete Application on file with the Board; and ( )
b. Submit the required fee, as set forth in Subsection 150 of these rules; and ( )
C. Have satisfied the education requirements as set forth in Section 54-2812, 1daho Code; and ( )
d. Have satisfied the experience requirements as set forth in Section 54-2812, Idaho Code. ()
03. Authorization. (7-1-93)
a. After the Board evaluates the qualifications of an Applicant and establishes his digibility for
examination, the seeretary Board shall notify the Applicant of eigibility and the dates of the next scheduled
examinations for which his Application qualifies him. 3-13-62)( )
b. The seeretary Board shall notify each Applicant in writing of the acceptance or regjection of his
Application and, if rejected, the reason for the rejection. {3-26-08)( )

C. Not less than ferty-five ninety (4590) days prior to the examination date, the eandidate A pplicant
shall give written notice to the Board of his intent to take the examination and shall submit all applicable testing fees
infull. 81202

d. Not less than thirty (30) days prior to the examination date, the seeretary Board shall give written
notice to each eandidate Applicant that has previously given written notice and has paid his examination fees, of the
date, time, and location(s) of the examination. (3-13-02)/ )

06e4. Reexamination. An eandidate Applicant failing hisfirst examination may apply for reexamination
at-the-expiration-ef-six{6)-menths without filing a new Application and shall be entitled to such reexamination on
payment of the reexamination fee. An eandidate Applicant who fails on reexamination must file a new Application
before he can again be admitted to examination, and such new Application shall not be filed prior to one (1) year
following the date of the last examination taken by the Applicant; provided, however, that it shall be unlawful for an
eandidate Applicant failing any examination to practice professional geology under the appropriate provisions of the

Act. (3-13-02)/( )
0#5. Time and Place. (7-1-93)
a. The regular written examinations for registration as a professional geologist shall be conducted
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BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR PROFESSIONAL GEOLOGISTS Docket No. 14-0101-1501

Rules of the Board of Registration for Professional Geologists Proposed Rulemaking
enhce-or-twiceyearly upon the dates prescribed by ASBOG. (3-13-02)( )
b. The seeretary Board shall make all arrangements necessary to provide sufficient help to conduct

examinations and to provide adequate facilities at such locations throughout the state as may be required to
accommodate the number of Applicantsto be examined.

086. Examination Irregularities. (7-1-93)
a. Examinees are forbidden to recelve any unauthorized assistance during the examination.
Communication between examinees or possession of unauthorized matter or devices during the examination is
strictly prohibited. (7-1-93)

b. Only scheduled examinees, Board members, the-assistant-seeretary and authorized examination
personnel shall be admitted to the examination room. (7-1-93)/ )

097. Grading Scores. An Applicant for registration by examination must successfully pass both the
Fundamentals of Geology examination and the Practice of Geology examination. (7-1-93)! )

ba. Every Applicant receiving an-overalt-grade scaled score of seventy pereent (70%) or more, as
determined by ASBOG, on the Fundamentals of Geology examination shall be deemed to have passed the

examination, is thereby eligible to take-the-Prineiples-and-Practice-examinationane-wilt receive certification as a
Geologist-in-Training, provided that the required fees have been paid.

€b. Every Applicant receiving a grade scaled score of seventy pereent (70%) or more, as determined
by ASBOG, on the Prineiptes-and Practice of Geology examination shall be deemed to have passed such examination
and will be registered as a professional geologist, provided that all of the required fees have been paid.

LB )

dc. Every Applicant receiving a grade scaled score of |ess than seventy pereent (70%) or more, as
determined by ASBOG, on either the Fundamentals of Geology examination or the Prineiples-and Practice of
Geology examination, shall be deemed to have failed such examination. Every Applicant having failed shall have his
Application denied without prejudice, but shall be allowed to retake the failed examination in accordance with

Subsection 300.064 of theserules. {3-26-08} )
408. Haspeetion Re-Score or Review of Examination. (7-1-93)/ )
a. An Applicant who fails to obtain a passing grade in any portion of the written examination may
Hspeet request a rescore or review of his examination papers at such times, and locations, and under such
circumstances as may be designated by the seeretary Board, ASBOG, or both. £3-25-68} )
b. When areview isrequested and authorized, Aat the time of Haspeetien review, no one other than the

examinee or his attorney and a representative of the Board shall have access to such examination papers.
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BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR PROFESSIONAL GEOLOGISTS Docket No. 14-0101-1501
Rules of the Board of Registration for Professional Geologists Proposed Rulemaking

121. Retention of Examinations. The Board shall retain examination results for at least one (1) year.

301.--9399.  (RESERVED)

400. GEOLOGIST IN TRAINING.

An Applicant who has passed the Fundamentals of Geology examination and satisfied the education requirements set
forth in Subsection 250.01 of these rules, will receive a certificate of completion that designates the Applicant as a
Geologist-in-Training. ( )

01. Supervised Practice. The possession of a Geologist-in-Training certificate by an Applicant does
not entitle the Applicant to practice professional geology without supervision as provided in the Act. ( )

02. Limitation. Designation as a Geologist in Training is limited to a period not to exceed ten (10)
vears. If after ten (10) years the Geologist-in-Training has not met all requirements for registration as a professional
geologist, the Geologist-in-Training certification is withdrawn and the Applicant must re-apply for registration.

(]

401. -- 999. (RESERVED)

Idaho Administrative Bulletin Page 228 October 7, 2015 - Val. 15-10



PROPOSED RULE COST/BENEFIT ANALYSIS

Section 67-5223(3), Idaho Code, requires the preparation of an economic impact statement for all proposed rules
imposing or increasing fees or charges. This cost/benefit analysis, which must be filed with the proposed rule, must
include the reasonably estimated costs to the agency to implement the rule and the reasonably estimated costs to be
borne by citizens, or the private sector, or both.

Department or Agency: BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES

Agency Contact: _Cherie Simpson Phone: _ 208 334-3233

Date:  September 30, 2015

IDAPA, Chapter and Title Number and Chapter Name:

14.01.01 - RULES OF PROCEDDURE OF THE BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR
PROFESSIONAL GEOLOGISTS

Fee Rule Status: X _Proposed ____Temporary

Rulemaking Docket Number: _ 14-0101-1502

STATEMENT OF ECONOMIC IMPACT:

This rule will increase the reinstatement fee for the board from $25 to $35. The number of annual renewal fees collected
will be capped at just one (1) rather than one (1) for each year that a license is expired. It is expected that the higher
reinstatement fees will be offset by the lower reinstatement fees and the fact that multiple renewal fees will no longer be
collected.
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IDAPA 14 - BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR PROFESSIONAL GEOLOGISTS

14.01.01 - RULES OF PROCEDURE OF THE BOARD OF REGISTRATION
FOR PROFESSIONAL GEOLOGISTS

DOCKET NO. 14-0101-1502 (FEE RULE)
NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - PROPOSED RULE

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 67-2614 (Bureau of
Occupational Licenses), and 54-2802, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 21, 2015.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the
proposed rulemaking:

During the 2015 regular legislative session, the Legisature passed House Bill (HB) 117 which amended Idaho
Code 867-2614, the Idaho Bureau of Occupational License's (IBOL) section on renewal or reinstatement of licenses
or registrations. HB 117 simplified and standardized the license renewal process for licensing boards served by the
Bureau. While boards have the option of maintaining their individual licensing requirements, this Board has decided
to amend its rules to align them with the Bureau’s statute. Other boards are in the process of amending their statutesto
allow them to align their rules, and the statutes and rules of other boards are already in synch with the Bureau's
statute. The changes contained in this rule were discussed and decided upon by the Board at a properly noticed open
Board meeting.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: The Board
operates solely on dedicated funds derived primarily from licensing and registration fees. This rule will increase the
reinstatement fee from $25 to $35. The number of annual renewal fees collected will be capped at just one (1) rather
than one (1) for each year that alicense is expired. It is expected that the higher reinstatement fee will be offset by the
fact that multiple renewal feeswill no longer be collected. The statute authorizing the reinstatement fee is Section 67-
2614, Idaho Code.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking:

There will be no fiscal impact to the state general fund since licensing and registration fees collected are
dedicated funds.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), ldaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not
conducted because the Board discussed and decided to propose this rule at properly noticed open meetings to which
interested parties were welcome to attend. Additionally, licensees and registrants who will alow their licenses/
registrations to lapse in the future and later seek reinstatement cannot be identified.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by referenceinto thisrule: NA

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Cherie Simpson at (208) 577-2584.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 28, 2015.

DATED this 17th Day of September, 2015.
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BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR PROFESSIONAL GEOLOGISTS Docket No. 14-0101-1502
Rules of the Board of Registration for Professional Geologists Proposed Fee Rule

Tana Cory, Bureau Chief

Bureau of Occupational Licenses

700 W State St

P O Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720-0063

(208) 334-3233 ph/ (208) 334-3945 fax

THE FOLLOWING ISTHE PROPOSED TEXT OF FEE DOCKET NO. 14-0101-1502
(Only Those Sections With Amendments Are Shown.)

150. FEES.
The fees for registration under the Act shall be the following: (4-9-09)

01. Application. A non-refundable fee for application shall be one hundred dollars ($100).  (4-9-09)

02. Initial Certificate. Thefeefor theinitial certificate shall be twenty dollars ($20). (4-9-09)
03. Examination/Reexamination. The fee for the National examination is set at the current
Association of State Boards of Geology (ASBOG) rate and is non-refundable. (4-9-09)
04. Annual Renewal Fee. Annual renewal fee shall be sixty dollars ($60). (4-9-09)
05. Annual Renewal Fee for Registrants Seventy (70) Years of Age or Older. Annual renewal fee
shall be one-half (1/2) of the current renewal fee for registrants seventy (70) years of age or older. (4-9-09)
06. Reinstatement Fee. Reinstatement fee shat-be twenty-five-doHars{$25) is as provided in Section
67-2614, 1daho Code. (4-9-09)/ )
07. Duplicate Certificate Fee. The fee for replacing alost, destroyed, or mutilated certificate shall be
twenty dollars ($20). (4-9-09)
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