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HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

DATE: Friday, February 19, 2016
TIME: 9:00 A.M.
PLACE: Room EW41
MEMBERS: Chairman DeMordaunt, Vice Chairman VanOrden, Representatives Shepherd,

Wills, Boyle, Gestrin, Harris, Mendive, McDonald, Dixon, Kerby, Pence, Kloc, Rubel
ABSENT/
EXCUSED:

Clow

GUESTS: Dan Blocksom, Idaho Association of Counties; Robin Nettinga, Idaho Education
Association; Phil Homer, Idaho Association of School Administrators; Blake Youde,
State Board of Education; Tina Polishchuck, State Department of Education;
Marilyn Whitney, Governor's Office; Clark Corbin, Educational News
Chairman DeMordaunt called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

MOTION: Rep. Mendive made a motion to approve the minutes of February 15, 2016.
Motion carried by voice vote.

RS 24322: Dan Blocksom, Idaho Association of Counties, spoke to RS 24322. He explained
how college out-of-district tuition works. If a student lives in the county with the
community college, the student just pays the tuition. If the student lives in a
different county, the county pays $50 a credit, with a lifetime maximum of $3,000
per student. One problem encountered, he explained, is Idaho Statute does not
identify deadlines for when students apply for and receive certificates of residency.
Certificates of residency and invoices have been submitted up to a year after
the course was taken, and community colleges have had to wait months before
receiving payment from some counties.
The legislation would create definite deadlines for when students must submit
certificates of residency forms, when counties must approve those residency forms,
when community colleges must invoice the communities, and when the counties
must pay the invoices, said Mr. Blocksom. The legislation would require counties
to pay only for students who have not dropped out of community college courses
before the deadline to drop classes, and clarify terms and definitions about which
students are in district or out of district. The deadline for out-of-district students
to submit a certificate of residency form and submit it to their resident county is
December 1 for Fall Classes, and May 1 for Spring Classes. The deadline for
counties to provide information on approval or denial of certificates or residency
to the college is December 20 for the Fall Semester, and May 20 for the Spring
Semester. The deadline for community colleges to submit an invoice to the counties
of residence of out-of-district students is January 20th for the Fall Semester, and
June 20 for the Spring Semester.
Several parties worked on the legislation for approximately a year, said Mr.
Blocksom, and it is a compromise between the parties. The legislation can better
accommodate late-start classes, and gives students time to get their certificates
of residencies completed and submitted, he added.



In response to questions from the committee, Mr. Blocksom said the counties
keep the students' certificates of residency. The colleges only need the counties
approvals or denials of residency to create invoices. The college processes
paperwork on the word of the students until receiving confirmation or denial of
the residencies from the counties. If the student misses the deadline to submit a
certificate of residency form, the student pays the $50 penalty. That amount shows
up as unpaid on the student's record until confirmation of residency is received,
he added.

MOTION: Rep. Kerby made a motion to introduce RS 24322. Motion carried by voice vote.
RS 24561C2: Blake Youde, Office of the State Board of Education, spoke to RS 24561C2. He

said improvements in language were made to clarify the district interventions
and accountability regarding literacy intervention to students in kindergarten
through third grade. Section 33-1616, subsection a, includes language regarding
research-based intervention strategies, including phonemic awareness and
decoding intervention. Subsection 6 of this section sets forth that the State Board
of Education shall promulgate rules implementing the provisions of this section,
including a time line to reach benchmarks, said Mr. Youde. By including a time
line for reaching benchmarks, the Board has the consistency of regular review,
he added.
In response to questions from the committee, Mr. Youde said benchmarks for the
five-year goal could be based on a variety of data, with the Idaho Reading Initiative
(IRI) being one of them. If the Board decided to change or modify the IRI, the Board
would make changes to its benchmark criteria.

MOTION: Rep. Boyle made a motion to introduce RS 24561C2.
In response to questions from the committee, Mr. Youde said literacy intervention
was funded in previous years from funds appropriated to the State Department of
Education for re-mediation in literacy and math. In previous years, the amount for
literacy and math intervention was approximately $100 per student. The language
in Section 8 refers to how the legislation is funded in Section 1, and is consistent
with the legislation for the support programs. Funding was included in the sections,
so it will not be lost, he added.

VOTE ON
MOTION:

Motion carried by voice vote.

H 450: Rep. VanOrden made a motion to HOLD H 450, subject to the call of the chair.
Motion carried by voice vote.

ADJOURN: There being no further business to come before the committee, the meeting was
adjourned at 9:21 a.m.

___________________________ ___________________________
Representative DeMordaunt Jenifer Cavaness-Williams
Chair Secretary
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