MINUTES

HOUSE TRANSPORTATION & DEFENSE COMMITTEE

DATE: Tuesday, March 08, 2016

TIME: 1:30 P.M.

PLACE: Room EW40

MEMBERS: Chairman Palmer, Vice Chairman Shepherd, Representatives Wills, Bateman,

Gestrin, Hixon, Kauffman, Packer, Youngblood, McDonald, Dixon, Harris, Holtzclaw,

Monks, King, Rudolph, Wintrow

ABSENT/ EXCUSED: Rep. Wills

GUESTS: Les Shadduck; Dan Goicoechea, Idaho Transportation Department; Gloria

Totoricaguena, Idaho Policy & Consulting; Ben Ealey, Ada County Sheriff's Office;

Matt Reiber, Intern; Blake Rindlisbacher, Idaho Transportation Department

Chairman Palmer called the meeting to order at 2:45 p.m.

MOTION: Rep. Wintrow made a motion to approve the minutes of the February 10, 2016,

meeting. Motion carried by voice vote.

MOTION: Rep. Wintrow made a motion to approve the minutes of the February 16, 2016,

meeting. Motion carried by voice vote.

MOTION: Rep. Wintrow made a motion to approve the minutes of the February 22, 2016,

meeting. Motion carried by voice vote.

MOTION: Rep. Dixon made a motion to approve the minutes of the March 2, 2016, meeting.

Motion carried by voice vote.

S 1212: General Brad Richy, Idaho Bureau of Homeland Security, presented the **S**

1212 regarding the consolidation of emergency and public safety. He stated that advances in technology and challenges pertaining to communication issues and public safety answer points are being considered for emergencies and public safety. These advantages and disadvantages will be addressed to join the resources in order to provide better 911 services to individual citizens within the counties. As a result, he gathered information and resources to update language and capability which this legislation will provide. He summarized the current system pertaining to the four "categories"; public safety answering points, dispatch, interoperable

communications and mobile broadband data.

He stated this legislation will reorganize and eliminate positions. This legislation will combine Idaho Emergency Communication Commission (IECC), State Interoperability Executive Council (SIEC), and FirstNet planning committee (FPC) into one Public Safety Communications Commission which will eliminate 34 members and allow for strategic planning for this process. He stated the reorganization process is being accomplished due to advances in technology. He summarized the statewide summits in 2014 and 2015. During these summits, the groups focused on public safety communication. In addition, he stated that private sectors provided the groups with new technology resources from applications to databases. He reviewed the stakeholder suggestions to implement a new model. As a result, the DIGBs model will continue to be utilized throughout Idaho. This model allows districts to collaborate their issues to one board. He highlighted improvements for the commission's ability to be effective. He stated the District Interoperability Governance Board has the ability to elect individuals that will represent the district on the board.

In conclusion, he provided a list of public safety agencies that support this legislation. On the other hand, the Idaho Association of Police Chefs and Idaho Association of Cities spoke neutral of this legislation due to the lack of funding mechanisms for radios.

In answer to committee questions, **General Richy** summarized the election process for representatives that serve in the legislature. Furthermore, this system allows the users to retrieve documents by utilizing system resources. General Richy highlighted the funding mechanism of this legislation; \$1.00 fee and 25 cents fee for the commission. He stated all six districts are working on their governance issues. He discussed the legislative process. Lastly, he informed the committee members that Legislative Services and the Attorney General's Office will amend this legislation to reflect the agency name change.

MOTION:

Rep. Hixon made a motion to send **S 1212** to the floor with a **DO PASS** recommendation. **Motion carried by voice vote**. **Rep. Youngblood** will sponsor the bill on the floor.

H 553:

Rep. Gestrin presented **H 553** regarding off-highway vehicles. This legislation amends the section to include the speed limit of 45 mph or less speed limits. Secondly, this legislation extends the right for riders to drive on state highways within the city limits and within one mile of a city limit. Lastly, this legislation provides Idaho Transportation Department with authority to ensure public safety pertaining to OHV travel and crossings.

In answer to committee questions, **Rep. Gestrin** described some of the various types of off-highway vehicles and safety mechanisms of the vehicles. He stated there are drivers under 18 years old driving on roads with a valid driver license. **Chairman Palmer** stated drivers are required to wear safety equipment.

MOTION:

Rep. McDonald made a motion to send **H 553** to the floor with a **DO PASS** recommendation. **Motion carried by voice vote**. **Rep. Gestrin** will sponsor the bill on the floor.

In answer to committee questions, **Rep. Gestrin** announced to the committee members that ATV Associations are **in support** of this legislation and he has an unofficial approval from the Sheriff's Association.

H 536:

Rep. Loertscher presented **H 536** regarding judicial review of county roads or highway districts. He stated this legislation addressed the filing petition process in the district courts and the right-of-way within counties and highway districts. This legislation allows for counties, highway districts or property owners to file a petition with the courts to request an out-of-county judge which eliminates a conflict of interest.

In answer to committee questions, **Rep. Loertscher** stated neutral detached judges are determined by the administrative judge. Rep. Loertscher reviewed the process of disqualifying a judge.

MOTION:

Rep. McDonald made a motion to send **H 536** to the floor with a **DO PASS** recommendation. **Motion carried by voice vote**. **Rep. Wintrow** requested to be recorded as voting **NAY**. **Rep. Loertscher** will sponsor the bill on the floor.

ADJOURN:	There being no further business to adjourned at 3:15 p.m.	ess to come before the Committee, the meeting was	
Representative	Palmer	Vicky Davies	
Chair		Secretary	