# MINUTES Legislative Council Tuesday, March 21, 2017 8:00 A.M. WW17 (Senate Flex Room) Boise, Idaho

Legislative Council members in attendance were Chairmen Speaker Scott Bedke and Pro Tem Brent Hill; Senators Bart Davis, Steve Bair, Steve Vick, Michelle Stennett, Cherie Buckner-Webb, and Grant Burgoyne; and Representatives Mike Moyle, Jason Monks, Clark Kauffman, Mathew Erpelding, and Phylis King. Also in attendance were Eric Milstead, Terri Kondeff, Shelley Sheridan, LSO; MaryLou Molitor, Idaho House of Representatives; Mary Sue Jones, Idaho Senate; Kevin Richert, Idaho Education News; and Betsy Russell, Spokesman-Review.

Chairman Bedke called the meeting to order at 8:09 a.m. by Chairman Bedke.

#### **2017 Interim Committee Appointments**

# Public School Funding Formula Interim Committee (re-authorized 2017) - HCR 012

Sen. Chuck Winder, Co-chair Rep. Wendy Horman, Co-chair

Sen. Dean Mortimer

Rep. Scott Bedke

Sen. Cliff Bayer

Rep. Julie VanOrden

Sen. Lori Den Hartog

Rep. Sage Dixon

Sen. Janie Ward-Engelking

Rep. John McCrostie

Senator Lori Den Hartog is replacing former committee member Senator Steven Thayn. Senator Davis moved to approve the re-authorization of the Public School Funding Formula Interim Committee, seconded by Senator Bair, and the motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

## Foster Care System Interim Committee (re-authorized 2017) - HCR 019

Sen. Abby Lee, Co-chair Rep. Christy Perry, Co-chair

Sen. Todd Lakey

Sen. Mary Souza

Rep. Mike Moyle

Rep. Lynn Luker

Rep. Jason Monks

Sen. Cherie Buckner-Webb

Rep. Melissa Wintrow

Senator Todd Lakey is replacing former committee member Senator Davis. Representative Moyle moved to approve the re-authorization of the Foster Care System Interim Committee, seconded by Senator Buckner-Webb, and the motion passed by unanimous voice vote. Senator Davis supported the motion and stated that the committee's work in 2016 addressed problems; however, more time is needed. Senator Stennett asked if the committee would be able to use the Office of Performance Evaluation's (OPE) report on foster care. Chairman Bedke affirmed that OPE's report could be referenced.

# State Employee Group Insurance Plan Interim Committee (re-authorized 2017) - HCR 013

Sen. Todd Lakey, Co-chair Rep. Fred Wood, Co-chair

Sen. Dan Johnson

Sen. Robert Nonini

Sen. Jim Patrick

Sen. Mark Nye

Rep. Neil Anderson

Rep. Robert Anderst

Rep. Jason Monks

Rep. Hy Kloc

Senator Mark Nye is new to the committee. Representative Monks' appointment is tentative and subject to reconsideration. Senator Bair moved to approve the re-authorization of the State Employee Group Insurance Plan Interim Committee, seconded by Representative King, and the motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

# Criminal Justice Reinvestment Oversight Committee (continuing) Established in 67-456 (2014)

Sen. Patti Anne Lodge, Co-chair

Sen. Shawn Keough

Sen. Jim Rice

Rep. Lynn Luker, Co-chair

Rep. James Holtzclaw

Rep. Bryan Zollinger

Sen. Cherie Buckner-Webb

Rep. John McCrostie

Sen. Mark Nye

Rep. Paulette Jordan

Chairman Bedke advised that the committee was set by statute and expires in 2019. Agenda item listing committee membership was for informational purposes only, and no action was required by the Council. Senator Mark Nye and Representative Bryan Zollinger are new to the committee.

#### Idaho Council on Indian Affairs (continuing) Established in 67-4004 (1999)

Sen. Jim Guthrie, Chair Rep. Neil Anderson Sen. Cherie Buckner-Webb Rep. Paulette Jordan

Agenda item listing committee membership was for informational purposes only, and no action was required by the Council.

## Natural Resources Interim Committee (re-authorized 2017) - SCR 114

Sen. Steve Bair, Co-chair Rep. Dell Raybould, Co-chair

Sen. Jeff Siddoway Rep. Scott Bedke
Sen. Lee Heider Rep. Mike Moyle
Sen. Bert Brackett Rep. Marc Gibbs
Sen. Michelle Stennett Rep. Ilana Rubel

Sen. Shawn Keough (Ad Hoc)

Rep. Terry Gestrin (Ad Hoc)

Sen. Jim Patrick (Ad Hoc)

Rep. Paul Shepherd (Ad Hoc)

Sen. Maryanne Jordan (Ad Hoc)

Representative Ilana Rubel changed from Ad Hoc to regular member. Senator Maryanne Jordan is a new Ad Hoc member. Senator Bair moved to approve the re-authorization of the Natural Resources Interim Committee, seconded by Senator Stennett, and the motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

# Commercial Vehicle Annual Registration Fee Study Committee (New for 2017) - SCR 116 per HB 312 (2015)

Sen. Bert Brackett, Co-chair Rep. Joe Palmer, Co-chair

Sen. Chuck Winder Rep. Jason Monks
Sen. Kelly Anthon Rep. Clark Kauffman

Sen. Carl Crabtree Rep. Gayann DeMordaunt

Sen. Mark Nye Rep. Sally Toone

Senator Burgoyne moved to approve the Commercial Vehicle Annual Registration Fee Study Committee. Senator Davis made a substitute motion to fix membership at ten members total; five to each house with the ability to add Ad Hoc members. Senator Burgoyne and Representative Erpelding agreed. Substitute motion seconded by Senator Vick, and the motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

# Administrative Hearing Officer Interim Committee (re-authorized 2017) - SCR 122

Sen. Steve Vick, Co-chair Rep. Gary Collins, Co-chair

Sen. Jim Rice Rep. Lynn Luker

Sen. Mary Souza Rep. Stephen Hartgen

Sen. Kelly Anthon Rep. Lance Clow Sen. Grant Burgoyne Rep. John Gannon

Senator Burgoyne advised that the committee's work over the last interim resulted in SB 1155, which was put out late in the session after a lot of work by Senator Davis and Representative Luker and needs further comment and consideration. Senator Burgoyne noted an additional issue, arguably more central to the issue for which the committee was formed, that is whether to create a central panel of hearing officers for contested cases, and if so, where that central panel would be located. Senator Davis stated that SB 1155 was not intended to advance but was for discussion purposes and to solicit feedback from stakeholders. He added that the bill was worthy of additional consideration and review and that next year's legislation will be different. Representative King moved to approve the re-authorization of the Administrative Hearing Officer Interim Committee, seconded by Senator Vick, and the motion passed by majority voice vote with one member voting nay.

#### **MISCELLANEOUS BUSINESS**

Representative King recommended the Council consider referring to bills that are prepared during the interim and are not ready for RS stage as "public drafts" and saving them in a central location for public viewing. Senator Burgoyne supported Representative King's recommendation. Chairman Bedke advised that the recommendation was "food for thought" for the Council.

Chairman Bedke adjourned the meeting at 8:32 a.m.