### AGENDA

# PUBLIC SCHOOL FUNDING FORMULA COMMITTEE 9:00 A.M.

## State Capitol – Room EW40 Tuesday, June 20, 2017

SUBJECT/TIME	DESCRIPTION	PRESENTER
9:00 - 9:10 AM	Introductory Remarks	Senator Winder and Representative Horman, Co-chairs
9:10 - 9:20 AM	Review of House Concurrent Resolution 12 (2017)	Paul Headlee, Legislative Services Office
9:20 - 9:30 AM	Attorney General Review of Amending the Public School Funding Formula (Handout)	Co-chairs
9:30 - 10:15 AM	Idaho's Accountability Framework	Debbie Critchfield, State Board of Education
10:15 - 10:30 AM	Break	
10:30 - Noon	Update on ESSA Changes to School Finance, Including Data Requirements	Daniel Thatcher, National Conference of State Legislatures
Noon - 1:30 PM	Lunch (on your own)	
1:30 - 3:00 PM	National Picture on Funding Formula Transitions, Spending, and Student Outcomes	Mr. Thatcher
3:00 - 3:30 PM	Discussion of Workgroups and Workgroup Subjects	Committee Members
3:30 - 4:00 PM	Committee Discussion and Future Meeting Date Selection	Committee Members

## Live audio stream made available by Idaho Public Television at: legislature.idaho.gov

#### **COMMITTEE MEMBERS**

Senator Winder, Co-chair Representative Horman, Co-chair

Senator Mortimer Representative Bedke
Senator Bayer Representative VanOrden
Senator Den Hartog Representative Dixon
Senator Ward-Engelking Representative McCrostie

Sherri Ybarra, Superintendent, Dr. Linda Clark, Board of Education,

Nonlegislative Member Nonlegislative Member

#### STAFF CONTACT(S)

Elizabeth Bowen: 208-334-4859 email: ebowen@lso.idaho.gov Paul Headlee: 208-334-4746 pheadlee@lso.idaho.gov Robyn Lockett: 208-334-4745 rlockett@lso.idaho.gov

#### Secretary:

Lara Margelofsky 208-334-4852 LMargelofsky@lso.idaho.gov

#### Pursuant to HCR 12, the following staff members also support the committee:

Marilyn Whitney, Office of the Governor

Blake Youde, Office of the State Board of Education

Tracie Bent, Office of the State Board of Education

Tim Hill, State Department of Education

David Hahn, Division of Financial Management

Tamara Baysinger, Idaho Charter School Commission