MINUTES

Approved by Council Legislative Council Thursday, March 15, 2018 1:00 P.M. Room E403

Boise, Idaho

Legislative Council members in attendance were Chairmen Speaker Scott Bedke and Pro Tem Brent Hill; Senators Chuck Winder, Steve Bair, Steve Vick, Cherie Buckner-Webb, and Grant Burgoyne; and Representatives Mike Moyle, Clark Kauffman, Jason Monks, Mathew Erpelding, Phylis King, and Sally Toone. Also in attendance were LSO staff: Eric Milstead, Terri Kondeff, and Shelley Sheridan; Betsy Russell, Spokesman Review; Stephen Thomas, HawleyTroxell.

Chairman Bedke called the meeting to order at 1:10 p.m.

2018 Interim Committee Appointments

Public School Funding Formula Interim Committee (reauthorized 2018) - HCR049

Sen. Chuck Winder, Co-chair Rep. Wendy Horman, Co-chair

Sen. Dean Mortimer

Rep. Scott Bedke

Sen. Cliff Bayer

Rep. Julie VanOrden

Sen. Lori Den Hartog

Rep. Sage Dixon

Sen. Janie Ward-Engelking

Rep. John McCrostie

Senator Winder moved to adopt the membership of the 2018 Public School Funding Formula Interim Committee, seconded by Representative Erpelding, and the motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

Campaign Finance Reform Interim Committee (working group in 2017) - SCR143

Sen.	Patti Anne Lodge, Co-Chair	Rep.	Fred Wood, Co-chair
Sen.	Mary Souza	Rep.	Thomas Loertscher
Sen.	Mark Harris	Rep.	John Vander Woude

Sen. Jeff Agenbroad Rep. Sage Dixon
Sen. Michelle Stennett Rep. Mat Erpelding

State Employee Group Insurance Plan Interim Committee (reauthorized 2018) - HCR041

Sen.	Todd Lakey,	Co-chair	Ren.	Fred	Wood.	Co-Chair
JCII.	TOGG EGICE V,	CO CHAIL	IICP.	1100	vvoca,	CO CITAII

Sen. Dan Johnson

Sen. Robert Nonini

Sen. Jim Patrick

Sen. Mark Nye

Rep. Neil Anderson

Rep. Robert Anderst

Rep. Jason Monks

Rep. John Gannon

Commercial Vehicle/Farm Vehicle Registration and Operating Fees Study Committee (reauthorized 2018) - SCR134

Sen. Bert Brackett, Co-chair Rep. Joe Palmer, Co-chair

Sen. Chuck Winder

Sen. Kelly Anthon

Sen. Carl Crabtree

Sen. Mark Nye

Rep. Jason Monks

Rep. Clark Kauffman

Rep. Paul Shepherd

Rep. Sally Toone

Criminal Justice Reinvestment Oversight Committee (continuing) S1393 (membership defined in 67-456, 2014; expires in 2019)

Sen. Patti Anne Lodge, Co-chair

Sen. Shawn Keough

Sen. Jim Rice

Sen. Cherie Buckner-Webb

Rep. Lynn Luker, Co-chair

Rep. James Holtzclaw

Rep. Bryan Zollinger

Rep. John McCrostie

Rep. Melissa Wintrow

Idaho Council on Indian Affairs (continuing) established in 67-4004 (1999)

Sen. Jim Guthrie, Chair Rep. Neil Anderson Sen. Cherie Buckner-Webb Rep. Margie Gannon

Natural Resources Interim Committee (reauthorized 2017) - SCR114

Sen. Steve Bair, Co-chair Rep. Marc Gibbs, Co-chair

Sen. Jeff Siddoway

Rep. Scott Bedke
Sen. Lee Heider

Rep. Mike Moyle
Sen. Bert Brackett

Rep. Terry Gestrin
Sen. Michelle Stennett

Rep. Ilana Rubel

Sen. Shawn Keough (Ad Hoc) Rep. Paul Shepherd (Ad Hoc)

Sen. Jim Patrick (Ad Hoc)

Sen. Maryanne Jordan (Ad Hoc)

Study of Occupational Licensing and Certification Laws Committee (Regulatory Reform) - SCR146

Sen. Todd Lakey, Co-chair Rep. Gayann DeMordaunt, Co-chair

Sen. Fred Martin Rep. Jason Monks

Sen. Lori Den Hartog Rep. Dustin Manwaring

Sen. Grant Burgoyne Rep. Elaine Smith

Representative Erpelding moved to adopt the membership of the 2018 Campaign Finance Reform, State Employee Group Insurance Plan, Criminal Justice Reinvestment Oversight, Idaho Council on Indian Affairs, and Natural Resources Interim Committees, and the membership of the 2018 Commercial Vehicle/Farm Vehicle Registration and Fee Study and Occupational Licensing and

Certification Laws Interim Committees, provided that should the concurrent resolution authorizing these committees fail in either body, the action by the Council shall be null and void and of no force and effect. The motion was seconded by Representative Moyle, and passed by unanimous voice vote.

Bid Selection for Next Legislative Branch Audit Cycle

Eric Milstead, Director, Legislative Services Office, advised that every four years the Council selects a Certified Public Accounting (CPA) firm to perform the Legislative Branch biennial audit. The request for proposal (RFP) approved by the Council at its October 27, 2017 meeting was sent to CPA firms. Proposals were received by EideBailly and Harris CPAs. The proposals were scored by Terri Kondeff, LSO Chief Operations Officer; Mary Sue Jones, Senate Chief of Staff to Pro Tem; Terri Franks-Smith, House Chief Fiscal Officer; and Lori Hendon, LSO Audits Division, Training & Quality Assurance Manager. Representative Moyle asked why there was a big cost difference between the firms. Director Milstead responded that Harris CPAs proposed one month to complete the audit, whereas EideBailly proposed two months. Representative Monks asked why the managerial capabilities were scored twice. Ms. Kondeff responded that the scoring used was a standard weighted system as used by the Board of Examiners. Pro Tem Hill recommended looking at the raw scores for each firm. Director Milstead stated that EideBailly scored higher than Harris CPAs and was the preferred firm by the scoring team.

Senator Winder moved to approve the staff's recommendation to hire EideBailly, seconded by Representative Erpelding, and the motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

Chairman Bedke adjourned the meeting at 1:33 p.m.