MINUTES HOUSE AGRICULTURAL AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

DATE: Wednesday, January 10, 2018

TIME: 1:30 P.M.

PLACE: Room EW42

MEMBERS: Chairman Boyle, Vice Chairman Dayley, Representatives Bell, Miller, VanOrden, Burtenshaw, Kerby, Troy, Stevenson, Amador, Armstrong, Hanks, Zito, Erpelding, Toone

ABSENT/ None EXCUSED:

GUESTS: None

Chairman Boyle called the meeting to order at 1:32 p.m.

Chairman Boyle welcomed the committee members of the 2018 Legislative Session. Chairman Boyle introduced the Committee Page, **Alex Fesperman** from Mountain Home, Idaho.

Chairman Boyle introduced **Evan Frasure**, who recently was appointed by the Trump Administration as the new state Executive Director for the USDA Idaho Farm Service Agency.

Director Fraser explained he had most recently served as a county commissioner for Bannock County, Idaho. He said he also had served in both the Idaho House and Senate previous to this appointment. He indicated he would draw upon his extensive experience in business, marketing and education while serving as executive director.

Chairman Boyle assigned **Rep. Kerby** from the majority and **Rep. Toone** from the minority, as proofreaders to review the committee minutes during this session.

Chairman Boyle turned the gavel over to Vice Chairman Dayley.

Vice Chairman Dayley explained the process of Rules Review. He explained the majority of rules would be divided between two subcommittees with the remaining rules being considered by the committee as a whole. The Subcommittees are: Administrative/Inspection Rules: Rep. Amador, Chairman, Rep. Miller, Rep. Bell, Rep. Burtenshaw, Rep. Hanks, and Rep. Erpelding; Lab/ Plant Industries: Rep. Stevenson, Chairman, Rep. VanOrden, Rep. Kerby, Rep. Troy, Rep. Armstrong, Rep. Zito, and Rep, Toone. Subcommittees will begin rules review on Tuesday, January 16, 2018.

ADJOURN: There being no further business to come before the committee, the meeting was adjourned at 1:45 p.m.

Representative Boyle Chair Joan Majors Secretary