Chairman Luker:

Greetings. This is Daniel Truscott. | testified in front of your committee last year on the minimum
mandatory drug laws, and informed you of my experience as a criminal defense attorney in Idaho, with
25 years of experience. | am very disturbed by a piece of proposed legislation that is set for hearing on
Thursday, HB377 (making solicitation a FELONY!) Unfortunately, once again the religious zealots have
proposed a law which is absolutely absurd in the context of a consensual agreement between

adults. Solicitation is already a crime in Idaho, and, as in all other 50 states, properly a

misdemeanor. This HB 377 would make Idaho the ONLY state in the nation to treat even a first time
offender as a felon, and the ridiculously loose definition of "sexual conduct" would give prosecutors
unfettered discretion to strong arm people to plead guilty even if they were innocent. This is just a
really BAD bill with no purpose or relation to "sex trafficking" and just another attempt by the religious
right to impose their definition of "morality" on everyone else. There's no reason in the world Idaho has
to be the only state to make this conduct a felony. This bill would be used by prosecutors to destroy
lives, and give yet an already over-loaded judiciary even more nonsense 'felonies" to deal with. Most
afternoons, the district courts are swelled to over-full with case after case after case and we often wait
hours just to hear our cases, with morning calendars often spilling over into the afternoons. Adding
even more "felonies" to this mix would be just absurd, and address a problem that is not anywhere near
a level that such a draconian measure should even be considered. In 25 years as a lawyer, I've seen one,
what | would even possibly consider, 'sex-trafficking" case, like 10 years ago, that involved a chinese
massage parlor. This is an absurdly over-blown response to what is simply not a big problem, at least
not in Idaho. And the definition of "solicitation" could encompass all kinds of innocuous behavior that
has nothing to do with "sex-trafficking". PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE do NOT vote for this right-wing,
religious fanatic garbage. Solicitation is already a crime, and there is no reason whatsoever to make it a
felony, contrary to every other state in the union! Making every crime a felony just multiplies the
judicial and court resources needed to deal with all of this forced morality nonsense, and eventually
results in all kinds of added costs and drain on our tax dollars and government employees. There is
simply no reason why a first-offender in this context should be subjected to MORE than a year in jail and
have their lives and families destroyed by a felony charge. Felonies should be reserved for the most
serious offenses, and there are plenty of felonies already on the books to deal with true "sex-trafficking'
situations against the pimps and establishment owners. Subjecting ordinary Idaho citizens to these
absurd penalties for a moment of indiscretion, even if they are guilty, is just a punishment that far
outweighs the conduct, and every other state recognizes that. I've attached the 50 state chart you may
have already seen. Please do not let this nonsense bill pass!

Sincerely,

Daniel M. Truscott

208-333-8810



State

Alabama

Alaska

Arizona

Arkansas

California

Colorado

Connecticut

Delaware

Penalty for
Prostitutes
(Crime Classification)

Up to 1 yr and/or
$6,000

(Class A misdemeanor)

Up to 90 days and/or
$2,000

(Class B misdemeanor)

1st offense 15 days,
2nd 30 days, 3rd 60
days, 4+ offenses
180 days-1.5 yrs
(First offense class 1
misdemeanor, 4 or more

offenses are a class 5
felony)

Up to 90 days and/or
$500, then up to 1 yr
and/or $1,000

(First offense class B
misdemeanor, subsequent
offense class A
misdemeanor)

Up to 1 yr and/or
$1,000

(Misdemeanor)

Up to 6 months
and/or $50-$750

(Class 3 misdemeanor)

Up to 1 yr and/or
$2,000

(Class A misdemeanor)

Up to 6 months
and/or $1,150

Penalty for
Customers
(Crime Classification)

Up to 1 yr and/or
$6,000

(Class A
misdemeanor)

Up to 90 days
and/or $2,000
(Class B
misdemeanor)
Up to 30 days
and/or $500

(Class 3
misdemeanor)

Up to 90 days
and/or $500, then
up tp 1 yr and/or
$1,000

(First offense class B
misdemeanor,
subsequent offense
class A misdemeanor)

Up to 1 yr and/or
$1,000

(Misdemeanor)

Up 6 months
and/or $500, then
6-18 months
and/or $500-
$5,000

(First offense class 1
petty offense, 3+
offenses class 1
misdemeanor)

Up to 1 yr and/or
$2,000

(Class A
misdemeanor)

Up to 30 days
and a minimum

mandatory fine of
$500

Penalty for Pimps

(Crime Classification)

1-10 yrs and/or
$15,000

(Class C felony)

Up to 5 yrs and/or
$50,000

(Class C felony)

18 months and/or
$150,000

(Class 5 felony)

Up to 1 yr and/or
$1,000

(Class A misdemeanor)

3-6 yrs in a state
prison
(Felony)

4-12 yrs and/or
$3,000-$750,000

(Class 3 felony)

1-10 yrs and/or
$10,000

(Class C felony)

Up to 5 yrs and/or
a fine

Penalty for Brothel
Owners
(Crime Classification)

1-10 yrs and/or
$15,000

(Class C felony)

Up to 5 yrs and/or
$50,000

(Class C felony)

18 months and/or
$150,000

(Class 5 felony)

Up to 1 yr and/or
$1,000

(Class A misdemeanor)

3-6 yrs in a state
prison
(Felony)

3 months-1 yr and/or
$250-$1,000

(Class 2 misdemeanor)

1-10 yrs and/or
$10,000

(Class C felony)

Up to 5 yrs and/or a
fine


https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=721
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=722
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=723
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=724
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=725
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=726
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=727
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=728
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District of
Columbia

Florida

Georgia

lllinois

Indiana

(Class B misdemeanor)

First offense 1-90
days and $500, 2nd
1-135 days and
$750, 3+ 1-180 days
and $1,000

First offense 2nd
degree
misdemeanor, 2nd
offense 1
misdemeanor, 3+
offenses 3 felony
Up to 1 yr and/or
$1,000

(Misdemeanor)
30 days and/or $500

(Petty misdemeanor)

1-6 months and/or
$500, then 1-5 yrs

(First offense
misdemeanor, 3+ offenses
are a felony)

Up to 1 yr and/or
$2,500 then 1-3 yrs
and/or $25,000

(First offense class A
misdemeanor, subsequent
convictions are a 4 felony)

Up to 1 yr and/or
$5,000, then 6
months-3 yrs and/or
$10,000

(First offense class A

misdemeanor, 3+
convictions are a D felony)

Up to 2 yrs and/or
$500-$5,000

(Aggravated
misdemeanor)

(Misdemeanor)

First offense 1-90
days and $500,
2nd 1-135 days
and $750, 3+ 1-
180 days and
$1,000

2nd degree
misdemeanor-3
felony

$500 fine

Up to 1 yr and/or
$1,000

(Misdemeanor)

30 days and/or
$500

(Petty misdemeanor)

1-6 months
and/or $500, then
1-5yrs

(First offense

misdemeanor, 3+
offenses are a felony

Up to 1 yr and/or
$2,500 then 1-3
yrs and/or
$25,000

(First offense class A
misdemeanor,
subsequent
convictions are a 4
felony)

Up to 1 yr and/or
$5,000, then 6
months-3 yrs
and/or $10,000

(First offense class A
misdemeanor, 3+
convictions are a D
felony)

Up to 2 yrs and/or
$500-$5,000

(Aggravated
misdemeanor)

(Class E felony)

Up to 5 yrs and/or
$5,000

(Felony)
3rd degree felony

Up to 1 yr and/or
$5,000
(Misdemeanor of a high
and aggravated nature)

Up to 5 yrs and/or
$10,000

(Class C felony)

2-20 yrs and/or a
fine of $1,000-
$50,000

(Felony)

Up to 1 yr and/or
$2,500 then 1-3 yrs
and/or $25,000

(First offense class A
misdemeanor,
subsequent convictions
are a 4 felony)

2-8 yrs and/or
$10,000

(Class C felony)

Up to 5 yrs and/or
$750-$7,500

(Class D felony)

(Class E felony)

Up to 5 yrs and/or
$5,000

(Felony)

First offense 2nd
degree
misdemeanor,
subsequent offenses
1 misdemeanor

Up to 1 yr and/or
$5,000
(Misdemeanor of a high
and aggravated nature)
Up to 5 yrs and/or
$10,000

(Class C felony)

2-20 yrs and/or a
fine of $1,000-
$50,000

(Felony)

Up to 1 yr and/or
$2,500 then 1-3 yrs
and/or $25,000

(First offense class A
misdemeanor,
subsequent convictions
are a 4 felony)

2-8 yrs and/or
$10,000

(Class C felony)

Up to 5 yrs and/or
$750-$7,500

(Class D felony)


https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=729
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=729
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=730
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=731
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=732
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=733
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=734
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=735
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=736
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Kansas

Kentucky

Louisiana

Maine

Maryland

Massachusetts

Michigan

Minnesota

Mississippi

Up to 6 months
and/or $1,000

(Class B nonperson
misdemeanor)

Up to 90 days and/or
$250

(Class B misdemeanor)

First offense up to 6
months and/or $500,
2nd offense up to 2
yrs and/or $250-
$2,000, 3+
convictions 2-4 yrs
and $500-$4,000
Up to 6 months
and/or $1,000 then
up to 1 yr and/or
$2,000

(First offense Class E

crime, then consequent
offenses class D crime)

Up to 1 yr and/or
$500

(Misdemeanor)

Up to 1 yr and/or
$500

First offense up 93
days and/or $500,
2nd offense up to 1
yr and/or $1,000, 3+
convictions up to 2
yrs and/or $2,000

(1-2 offense
misdemeanor, 3rd offense
felony)

First offense is up to
90 days and/or
$1,000,
consequence offense
is up to 1 yr and/or
$3,000

6 months and/or
$200

Up to 1 month
and/or $500

(Class C
misdemeanor)

Up to 90 days
and/or $250
(Class B
misdemeanor)

Up to 6 months
and/or $500

Up to 6 months
and/or $1,000
thenupto 1 yr
and/or $2,000

(First offense Class E
crime, then
consequent offenses
class D crime)

Up to 1 yr and/or
$500

(Misdemeanor)

Upto2 1/2 yrs
and/or $1000-
$5000

First offense up
93 days and/or
$500, 2nd offense
up to 1 yr and/or
$1,000, 3+
convictions up to
2 yrs and/or
$2,000

(1-2 offense

misdemeanor, 3rd
offense felony)

First offense is up
to 90 days and/or
$500-$1,000,
consequence
offenseisupto 1
yr and/or $1,500-
$3,000

6 months and/or
$200

Up to 1 yr and/or
$2,500 then 1-5 yr
and/or $100,000

(First offense class A
person misdemeanor
then subsequent
convictions are severity
level 7)

1-5 yrs and/or
$1,000-$10,000

(Class D felony)

5 yrs and/or $5,000

Up to 1 yr and/or
$2,000

(Class D crime)

Up to 10 yrs and/or
$10,000

(Misdemeanor)

5 yrs and $5,000

Up to 20 yrs

(Felony)

Up to 15 yrs and/or
$30,000

6 months and/or
$200

Up to 1 yr and/or
$2,500 then 1-5 yr
and/or $100,000

(First offense class A
person misdemeanor then
subsequent convictions
are severity level 7)

1-5 yrs and/or
$1,000-$10,000

(Class D felony)

5 yrs and/or $5,000

Up to 1 yr and/or
$2,000

(Class D crime)

Up to 1 yr and/or
$500

(Misdemeanor)

5 yrs and $5,000

5 yrs or $2,500

(Felony)

Up to 15 yrs and/or
$30,000

6 months and/or
$200


https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=737
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=738
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=739
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=740
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=741
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=742
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=743
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=744
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=745

26 | Missouri

27 | Montana

28 | Nebraska

29 | Nevada

See Section
11l below for

legal prostition

30 | New
Hampshire

31 | New Jersey

32 | New Mexico

33 | New York

30 days-6 months
and/or $500

(Class B misdemeanor)

6 months and/or
$500

Up to 1 yr and/or
$1,000

(Class | misdemeanor)

Up to 6 months
and/or $1,000

(Misdemeanor)

Upto 1 yrand
$2,000

(Misdemeanor)

First offense up to 6
months and/or fine,
consequent
convictions up to 18
months and/or fine

(First disorderly persons
offense, subsequent
offenses crime of the
fourth degree)

First offense up to 6
months in a county
jail and/or $500,
subsequent offenses
up to 1 yr in a county
jail and/or $1,000

(First offense petty
misdemeanor, subsequent
offenses misdemeanor)

Up to 3 months
and/or $500

30 days-6 months
and/or $500

(Class B
misdemeanor)

First offense up to
1 yr and/or
$1,000,
consequence
offense up to 5 yr
and/or $10,000
First offense at
least $200,
consequent
convictions at
least $500

(First offense class |
misdemeanor,
subsequent offenses
class IV felony)

Up to 6 months
and/or $1,000

(Misdemeanor)

Upto 1 yrand
$2,000

(Misdemeanor)

First offense up to
6 months and/or
fine, consequent
convictions up to
18 months and/or
fine

(First disorderly
persons offense,
subsequent offenses

crime of the fourth
degree)

First offense up to
6 months in a
county jail and/or
$500, subsequent
offensesupto 1
yr in a county jail
and/or $1,000

(First offense petty
misdemeanor,
subsequent offenses
misdemeanor)

Up to 1 yr and/or
$1,000

Up to 10 yrs and/or
$5,000
(Class C felony)

10 yr and/or
$50,000

Up to 5 yrs and/or
$10,000

(Class IV felony)

1-4 yrs and/or
$5,000
(Category D felony)

Upto 1 yrand
$2,000

(Misdemeanor)

3-5 yrs and/or fine

(Crime of the third
degree)

Up to 18 months
and/or $5,000

(Fourth degree felony)

Up to 7 yrs and/or
$5,000

Up to 10 yrs and/or
$5,000
(Class C felony)

10 yr and/or $50,000

Up to 1 yr and/or
$1,000

(Class | misdemeanor)

Up to 6 months
and/or $1,000

(Misdemeanor)

Upto 1 yrand
$2,000

(Misdemeanor)

3-5 yrs and/or fine

(Crime of the third
degree)

Up to 18 months
and/or $5,000

(Fourth degree felony)

Up to 7 yrs and/or
$5,000


https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=746
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=747
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=748
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=749
https://prostitution.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000119#3
https://prostitution.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000119#3
https://prostitution.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=000119#3
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=750
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=750
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=751
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=752
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=753
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North Carolina

North Dakota

o
=
o

Oklahoma

Oregon

Pennsylvania

Rhode Island

(Class B misdemeanor)

Up to 45 days and a
fine
(Class 1 misdemeanor)

Up to 30 days and/or
$1,000

(Class B misdemeanor)

Up to 60 days and/or
$500

(Third degree
misdemeanor)

First offense 30
days-1 yr or up to
$2,500, 2nd offense
30 days-1 yr or up to
$5,000, consequent
offenses 30 days-1
yr or up to $7,500

(Misdemeanor)

Up to 1 yr and/or
$6,250

(Class A misdemeanor)

First two offenses up
to 1 yr, 3rd offense
up to 2 yrs, and
subsequent offenses
upto5yr

(1st and 2nd offense a 3rd
deg. misdemeanor, 3rd
offense a 2nd deg.
misdemeanor, 4+ offenses
1st deg. misdemeanor)

Up to 6 months
and/or $250-$1,000,
subsequent
convictions up to 1 yr
and/or $500-$1,000

(Misdemeanor)

(Class A
misdemeanor)

Up to 45 days
and a fine
(Class 1
misdemeanor)
Up to 30 days
and/or $1,000
(Class B
misdemeanor)
Up to 60 days
and/or $500

(Third degree
misdemeanor)

First offense 30
days-1 yr or up to
$2,500, 2nd
offense 30 days-1
yr or up to
$5,000,
consequent
offenses 30 days-
lyrorupto
$7,500

(Misdemeanor)

Up to 1 yr and/or
$6,250

(Class A
misdemeanor)

First two offenses
up to 1 yr, 3rd
offense up to 2
yrs, and
subsequent
offensesup to 5
yr

(1st and 2nd offense a
3rd deg.
misdemeanor, 3rd
offense a 2nd deg.
misdemeanor, 4+
offenses 1st deg.
misdemeanor)

Up to 1 yr and/or
$250-$1,000,
subsequent
convictions up to
1 yr and/or $500-
$1,000

(Misdemeanor)

(Class D felony)

Up to 45 days and
a fine

(Class 1 misdemeanor)

Up to 5 yrs and/or
$5,000

(Class C felony)

Up to 180 days
and/or $1,000

(First degree
misdemeanor)

First offense 30
days-1 yr or up to
$2,500, 2nd
offense 30 days-1
yr or up to $5,000,
consequent
offenses 30 days-1
yr or up to $7,500

(Misdemeanor)

Up to 5 yrs and/or
$125,000

(Class C felony)

Upto 7 yrs

(3rd deg. felony)

First offense 1-5
yrs and $2,000-
$5,000,
subsequent
convictions 3-10
yrs and $5,000-
$10,000
(Pandering)

(Class D felony)

Up to 45 days and a
fine
(Class 1 misdemeanor)

Up to 5 yrs and/or
$5,000

(Class C felony)

Up to 180 days
and/or $1,000

(First degree
misdemeanor)

First offense 30
days-1 yror upto
$2,500, 2nd offense
30 days-1 yr or up to
$5,000, consequent
offenses 30 days-1
yr or up to $7,500

(Misdemeanor)

Up to 5 yrs and/or
$125,000

(Class C felony)

Upto 7 yrs

(3rd deg. felony)

First offense 1-5 yrs
and $2,000-$5,000,
subsequent
convictions 3-10yrs
and $5,000-$10,000

(Pandering)


https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=754
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=755
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=756
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=757
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=758
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=759
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=760
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[Editor's Note:
Indoor
prostitution
became legal
in 1980 as a
result of an
unintential
legal loophole
created by
legislators
when enacting
laws targeting
street
prostitution.
The state
passed new
legislation to
close this
loophole on
Nov. 3, 2009.]

South Carolina

South Dakota

Tennessee

Texas

First offense up to 30
days or $200, 2nd
offense up to 6
months and $1,000,
3+ atleast 1 yr
and/or up to $3,000

Up to 1 yr in county
jail and/or $2,000

(Class 1 misdemeanor)

Up to 6 months
and/or $500

(Class B misdemeanor)

First offense up to
180 days and/or
$2,000, 2nd up to 1
yr and/or $4,000, 3+
180 days-2 yrs
and/or $10,000

(First offense is a class B
misdemeanor, 2nd A
misdemeanor, 3+ is a
state jail felony)

Up to 6 months
and/or $500-
$1,000,
subsequent
convictions up to
1 yr and/or $750-
$1,000

(Only applies to
soliciting from motor
vehicles)

First offense up to
30 days or $200,
2nd offense up to
6 months and
$1,000, 3+ at
least 1 yr and/or
up to $3,000

Upto1lyrin
county jail and/or
$2,000

(Class 1
misdemeanor)

Up to 6 months
and/or $500

(Class B
misdemeanor)

First offense up to
180 days and/or
$2,000, 2nd up to
1 yr and/or
$4,000, 3+ 180
days-2 yrs and/or
$10,000

(First offense is a
class B misdemeanor,
2nd A misdemeanor,
3+ is a state jail
felony)

First offense up to
30 days or $200,
2nd offense up to 6
months and
$1,000, 3+ at least
1 yr and/or up to
$3,000

Up to 2 yrs and/or
$4,000

(Class 6 felony)

1-6 yrs and/or up to
$3,000
(Class E felony)

2-10 yrs and up to
$10,000

(3rd degree felony)

First offense up to
30 days or $200,
2nd offense up to 6
months and $1,000,
3+ atleast 1 yr
and/or up to $3,000

Up to 2 yrs and/or
$4,000

(Class 6 felony)

1-6 yrs and/or up to
$3,000
(Class E felony)

2-10 yrs and up to
$10,000

(3rd degree felony)


https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=761
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=762
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=763
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=764
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Vermont

Virginia

Washington

West Virginia

Wisconsin

Wyoming

State

First offense up to 6
months and/or
$1,000, subsequent
offenses up to 1 yr
and/or $2,500

(First offense class B
misdemeanor, subsequent
offenses are class A
misdemeanors)

First offense up to 1
yr or $100, second
offense up to 3 yrs

Up to 1 yr and/or
$2,500

(Class 1 misdemeanor)

Up to 90 days and/or
$1,000

(Misdemeanor)

60 days-6 months
and $50-$100

Up to 9 months
and/or $10,000

(Class A misdemeanor)

Up to 6 months
and/or $750

(Misdemeanor)

Penalty for
Prostitutes
(Crime Classification)

Up to 6 months
and/or $1,000

(Class B
misdemeanor)

First offense up to
1 yr or $100,
second offense
up to 3 yrs

Up to 1 yr and/or
$2,500

(Class 1
misdemeanor)

Up to 90 days
and/or $1,000

(Misdemeanor)

First offense 60
days-6 months
and $50-$100,
2nd offense 6
months-1 yr and
$100-$200,
consequent
offenses 1-3 yrs
Up to 9 months
and/or $10,000
(Class A
misdemeanor)

Up to 6 months
and/or $750

(Misdemeanor)

Penalty for
Customers
(Crime Classification)

Up to 5 yrs and/or
$5,000

(3rd degree felony)

1-10 yrs and/or
$200-$2,000

2-10 yrs and up to
$100,000

(Class 4 felony)

Up to 5 yrs and/or
$5,000

(Class C felony)

First offense 6
months-1 yr and
$100-$500,
subsequent
offenses 1-3 yrs

Upto 12.5yrs
and/or $25,000

(Class F felony)

Up to 3 yrs and/or
$3,000

(Felony)
Penalty for Pimps

(Crime Classification)

Up to 5 yrs and/or
$5,000

(3rd degree felony)

1-10 yrs and/or
$200-$2,000

2-10 yrs and up to
$100,000

(Class 4 felony)

Up to 5 yrs and/or
$5,000

(Class C felony)

First offense 6
months-1 yr and
$100-$250,
subsequent offenses
1-5yrs

Up to 6 yrs and/or
$10,000

(Class H felony)

Up to 3 yrs and/or
$3,000

(Felony)

Penalty for Brothel
Owners
(Crime Classification)


https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=765
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=766
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=767
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=768
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=769
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=770
https://prostitution.procon.org/viewbackgroundresource.asp?resourceID=771

