HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

DATE:	Friday, February 02, 2018
TIME:	8:00 A.M.
PLACE:	Lincoln Auditorium WW02
MEMBERS:	Chairman VanOrden, Vice Chairman McDonald, Representatives Shepherd, Boyle, Clow, Mendive, Kerby, Cheatham, Amador, DeMordaunt, Moon, Syme, Ehardt, Kloc (Chilcote), McCrostie, Toone
ABSENT/ EXCUSED:	None
GUESTS:	The sign-in sheet will be retained in the committee secretary's office until the end of the session. Following the end of the session, the sign-in sheet will be filed with the minutes in the Legislative Library.
	Chairman VanOrden called the meeting to order at 8:01 a.m.
DOCKET NO. 08-0203-1705:	Lisa Hecht; Matthew Kohn; Sharon Bosley, Kootenai Environmental Alliance; Sarah Bartholow; Rialin Flores; John Segar; Roberta Damico; Trent Clark, Monsanto; Leslie Elliott; Kerrie Wepner; Veronica Richmond; Jamie Richmond; Don Shaff; James Vandermaas; Pamela Pace; Dr. Julianne Wenner, Boise State University; Charles Luce; Heather Dermott; Cara Leatherman; Kendra Kaiser; and Jonathan Oppenheimer, Idaho Conservation League spoke in support of Docket No. 08-0203-1705. They listed the importance of having up-to-date science standards for current STEM jobs, the importance of giving science teachers clear direction, and their concern for the environment as reasons for their support. They said the standards prepare students better to ask questions and think critically, and they are necessary for students to deal with a complex world.
	Mary Ollie spoke in opposition to Docket No. 08-0203-1705. She said she was familiar with both the old standards and the new standards. She expressed concern that the content standards contain material which, according to state statutes and administrative rule, are not supposed to be in administrative rule. She said other areas, such as math, social studies, and language arts, do not have supporting content. The supporting content is declarative sentences which close the door on questioning, she added.
ADJOURN:	There being no further business to come before the committee, the meeting was adjourned at 9:09 a.m.

Jenifer Cavaness-Williams

Secretary

Representative VanOrden

Chair