## MINUTES

## **HOUSE HEALTH & WELFARE COMMITTEE**

Monday, March 18, 2019

DATE:

TIME:	9:00 A.M.	
PLACE:	Room EW20	
MEMBERS:	Chairman Wood, Vice Chairman Wagoner, Representatives Vander Woude, Gibbs, Blanksma, Kingsley, Zollinger, Christensen, Green(2), Lickley, Chew, Rubel, Davis	
ABSENT/ EXCUSED:	None	
GUESTS:	Lynn Tominaga, IGWA; Kelli D. Brassfield, IAC; Esteban Goslan, SCLT; Christine Pisani, DD Council; Carmel Crick and Beck Dellicarpini, Self	
	Chairman Wood called the meeting to order at 9	9:00 a.m.
MOTION:	<b>Rep. Lickley</b> made a motion to approve the minutes of the March 8 and 12, 2019, meetings. <b>Motion carried by voice vote.</b>	
RS 27132:	<b>Rep. John Vander Woude</b> , District 22, presented <b>RS 27132</b> , proposed legislation based on <b>H 249</b> . Two modifications have been made. The work requirement hours have been decreased to twenty hours per week. A CMS waiver is requested to allow persons within the 100-138% federal poverty limit (FPL) to remain on the state exchange, including a provision for their Medicaid qualification, should the request not be approved by January 1, 2020.	
MOTION:	Rep. Blanksma made a motion to introduce RS 27132.  Answering questions, Rep. Vander Woude said Your Health Idaho (YHI) estimates 20,000 exchange members would meet this qualification and 10,000 Idahoans who qualify for the exchange have not exercised their option. Hospitals estimate this will reduce uncompensated care by \$120M. The Institution for Mental Disease (IMD) waiver will help persons with mental conditions get coverage and enhance the current Medicaid mental health treatment.	
	Speaking against the motion, <b>Rep. Rubel</b> said the of the counties' and indigent funds' costs and is r in Proposition 2.	
VOTE ON MOTION:	Chairman Wood called for a vote on the motion to introduce RS 27132. Motion carried by voice vote. Reps. Davis, Rubel, and Chew requested they be recorded as voting NAY.	
ADJOURN:	There being no further business to come before the committee, the meeting adjourned at 9:15 a.m.	
Representative Wood		Irene Moore
Chair		Secretary