MINUTES SENATE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

DATE: Monday, March 25, 2019

TIME: 2:00 P.M.

PLACE: Room WW55

MEMBERS Chairman Mortimer, Vice Chairman Thayn, Senators Winder, Den Hartog, Crabtree, Woodward, Lent, McCoy(Buckner-Webb), and Ward-Engelking

ABSENT/ None

EXCUSED:

- **NOTE:** The sign-in sheet, testimonies and other related materials will be retained with the minutes in the committee's office until the end of the session and will then be located on file with the minutes in the Legislative Services Library.
- **CONVENED:** Chairman Mortimer called the Education Committee (Committee) to order at 2:07 p.m. He opened with a reading from the book, *A Heap O 'Living Along Life's Highway*, by Eager A. Guest, "Failures."
- MINUTES
APPROVAL:Senator Crabtree moved to approve the Minutes of February 13, 2019. Senator
Den Hartog second the motion. The motion passed by voice vote.

Senator Ward-Engelking moved to approve the Minutes of February 14, 2019. **Senator McCoy** second the motion. The motion passed by **voice vote**.

Senator Den Hartog moved to approve the Minutes of February 20, 2019. Senator Ward-Engelking second the motion. The motion passed by voice vote.

PAGE Chairman Mortimer thanked Taylor McMullin for her service to the Legislature and asked her to come to the podium to speak about her experience.

Ms. McMullin said she enjoyed her experience as a page and especially liked serving on the Education Committee because it is personally applicable to her. She detailed her plans after her high school graduation.

- **DISCUSSION:** Chairman Mortimer lead the discussion regarding the accomplishments of the Committee for the 2019 legislative session. He addressed the concerns of the Public School Funding Formula and asked the Committee if they could be available, if needed, to meet during the interim to work on future education legislation. The request was met with favor.
- **ADJOURNED:** There being no further business at this time, **Chairman Mortimer** adjourned the meeting at 2:24 p.m.

Senator Dean M. Mortimer Chair LeAnn Mohr Secretary