### AGENDA REVISED

# EDUCATION WORKING GROUP 1:30 P.M.

EW42 (Remote Electronic Meeting Only) Thursday, July 30, 2020

This meeting is being conducted via video teleconference. For members of the public to observe the meeting, please click on the following link: https://www.idahoptv.org/shows/idahoinsession/ew20/

If you wish to watch the proceedings from the Capitol, a live stream will be available in EW20. While at the Capitol, you are encouraged to wear a mask and maintain social distancing.

SUBJECT/TIME	DESCRIPTION	PRESENTER
1:30 - 1:35 PM	Introductory Remarks	Co-chairs Clow and Mortimer
1:35 - 1:50 PM	Remarks on COVID-19, CARES Act Funding, and Education	<b>Greg Wilson</b> , Senior Policy Adviser - Education, Office of the Governor
1:50 - 2:20 PM	Liability Protection for Schools and Discussion	Rep. Greg Chaney, Co-chair, Judiciary and Rules Working Group, and Education Working Group Members
2:20 PM - Adjournment	Presentations and Discussion on: - School reopening issues (including authority to reopen) - Funding based on enrollment vs. ADA - Funding flexibility - Transportation funding and issues - Technology needs and blended learning - CARES Act funds	Education Working Group Members Karen Echeverria, Idaho School Boards Association Andy Grover, Idaho Association of School Administrators Jared Tatro, LSO Tracie Bent, State Board of Education Marilyn Whitney, Tim Hill, Derek Newland, and Karen Seay, State Department of Education
	Votes ( <b>ACTION ITEMS</b> ) on: - Approval of 7.21.20 Minutes - Recommendations for an Extraordinary Session - Draft legislation	Education Working Group Members
4:30 PM (or at discretion of	Adjournment	

Co-chairs)

# An archive of this meeting will be available within 24 hours of the meeting at the following web address:

https://lso.legislature.idaho.gov/MediaArchive/

#### **COMMITTEE MEMBERS**

Senator Mortimer, Co-chairman

Senator Thayn
Senator Winder
Senator Den Hartog
Senator Crabtree
Senator Woodward

Senator Lent Senator Buckner-Webb Senator Ward-Engelking Representative Clow, Co-chairman

Representative Kerby
Representative Shepherd
Representative Boyle
Representative Mendive
Representative DeMordaunt

Representative Moon

Representative Ehardt
Representative Goesling
Representative Marshall
Representative Raymond
Representative Wisniewski
Representative McCrostie
Representative Abernathy
Representative Berch

#### STAFF CONTACT(S)

Shelley Sheridan

Email: SSheridan@lso.idaho.gov

Elizabeth Bowen

Email: EBowen@lso.idaho.gov

Phone: 208.334.4851