## AGENDA IDAHO CONTENT STANDARDS COMMITTEE 9:00 A.M. EW42 (Wholly/Partially Remote Electronic Meeting) Thursday, August 06, 2020

This meeting will be held wholly or partially via video teleconference. For members of the public to observe the meeting, please click on the following link: https://www.idahoptv.org/shows/idahoinsession/ew42/

If you wish to watch the proceedings from the Capitol, a live stream will be available in EW20. While at the Capitol, you are encouraged to wear a mask and maintain social distancing.

SUBJECT/TIME	DESCRIPTION	PRESENTER
9:00 - 9:05 AM	Introductory Remarks Approval of 6.22.20 Minutes - <b>ACTION ITEM</b>	Rep. Gary Marshall and Senator Steven Thayn, Co-chairs
9:05 - 11:05 AM	Presentations from National Experts on Content Standards:	
9:05 - 9:35 AM	Academic Content Standards	<b>Patricia Levesque</b> , CEO, ExcelinEd
9:35 - 10:05 AM	States with High-Quality Standards	<b>Mike Petrilli</b> , President, Thomas B. Fordham Institute
10:05 - 10:35 AM	Florida BEST Standards	Dr. Graham H. Walker, Executive Director, Independent Institute, and Dr. Williamson M. Evers, Director of the Center on Educational Excellence, Independent Institute
10:35 - 11:05 AM	Math Standards	W. Gary Martin, Leischuck Endowed Professor of Mathematics Education, Auburn University
11·05 - 11·15 AM	Break	

11:05 - 11:15 AM Break

11:15 AM - 12:15 PM Update on Idaho Content Standards Review

NOTE FROM CO-CHAIRS: During this report, it will be important to discuss Common Core issues that must be resolved. Committee members should be prepared to discuss what those issues are (e.g., math: the use of multiple strategies for solving basic math functions in the lower grades). The standards can be changed, but some politically charged issues could remain if we are not clear about those issues and how to resolve them. Cathy Beals, Mathematics Coordinator; Liz James, English Language Arts Coordinator; and Sharon Cates, Science Coordinator, State Department of Education

12:15 PM Adjournment

At discretion of Co-chairs

Discussion

## **Committee Members**

An archive of this meeting will be available within 24 hours of the meeting at the following web address: <u>https://lso.legislature.idaho.gov/MediaArchive/</u>

## **COMMITTEE MEMBERS**

Senator Thayn, Co-chairman Senator Den Hartog Senator Woodward Senator Lent Senator Ward-Engelking Representative Marshall, Co-chairman Representative Moon Representative Kerby Representative Amador Representative McCrostie

## STAFF CONTACT(S)

Jennifer Kish Email: JKish@lso.idaho.gov