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IDAPA 24 — DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES
24.17.01 — RULES OF THE STATE BOARD OF ACUPUNCTURE
DOCKET NO. 24-1701-2000F (FEE RULE)
NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING — ADOPTION OF TEMPORARY RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule being adopted through this omnibus rulemaking is the
adjournment date of the second regular session of the 65th Idaho State Legislature - March 20, 2020.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given this agency has adopted a
temporary rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-4705, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons
for adopting a temporary rule:

This temporary rulemaking adopts the following chapter under IDAPA 24.17.01:

IDAPA 24.17
e 24.17.01, Rules of the State Board of Acupuncture.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and
confer a benefit on its citizens. These temporary rules implement the duly enacted laws of the state of Idaho, provide
citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the orderly execution and
enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and processes would undermine
the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the benefit intended by these rules.
These rules establish and govern the standards necessary for the practice of acupuncture and allowing the rules to
expire would impede the Board’s ability to ensure that acupuncture services are provided by competent individuals.

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), the Governor has found that the fees or charges being imposed or
increased is justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fees are described herein:

The fees or charges, authorized in Section 54-4710(2), Idaho Code, are part of the agency’s 2021 budget that
relies upon the existence of these fees or charges to meet the state’s obligations and provide necessary state services.
Failing to reauthorize these temporary rules would create immediate danger to the state budget, immediate danger to
necessary state functions and services, and immediate danger of a violation of Idaho’s constitutional requirement that
it balance its budget.

The following is a specific description of the fees or charges:

License/Certification/Permit/Certification (Nc:?itt(ialli)l(:::e d) An(r;‘lu:ltl tlze;;(\::zl dl):ee
Application $50 n/a
License $150 $75
Certification $150 $75
Acupuncture Trainee $150 $50
Inactive License or Certification n/a $50
Reinstatement $250 n/a
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DIV. OF OCCUPATIONAL & PROFESSIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-1701-2000F
IDAPA 24.17 Omnibus Notice — Temporary (Fee) Rule

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary
rule, contact Rob McQuade at (208) 334-3233.

DATED this February 21, 2020.

Kelley Packer

Division Administrator

Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses
700 W State Street

P.O. Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720

Phone: (208) 334-3233

Fax: (208) 334-3945
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24.17.01 — RULES OF THE STATE BOARD OF ACUPUNCTURE

000. LEGALAUTHORITY.

These rules are hereby prescribed and established pursuant to the authority vested in the State Board of Acupuncture
by the provisions of Section 54-4705, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T
001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. These rules are titled IDAPA 24.17.01, “Rules of the State Board of Acupuncture.”

(3-20-20)T
02. Scope. These rules review and establish the minimum requirements for licensure/certification of
acupuncturists. (3-20-20)T
002. -- 009. (RESERVED)
010. DEFINITIONS.
01. Accredited College or University. An accredited college or university is a college or university
accredited by an accrediting organization approved by the U.S. Department of Education. (3-20-20)T
02. Approved Acupuncture Program. A formal full-time acupuncture educational program that has

met the standards of the Accreditation Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine or an equivalent
educational body. An acupuncture program may be established as having satisfied this requirement by obtaining:

(3-20-20)T
a. Accreditation; or (3-20-20)T
b. Candidacy for accreditation; or (3-20-20)T
c. An equivalent evaluation performed by a private, state government, or foreign government agency
recognized for that purpose by the NCCAOM (National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental
Medicine) Eligibility Committee. (3-20-20)T
03. License. Any license or certification issued to a qualified applicant pursuant to the laws and rules
of the Board, permitting said applicant to practice acupuncture in the state of Idaho. (3-20-20)T
04. Practitioner. A person to whom a license, certification, or acupuncture trainee has been issued
pursuant to Title 54, Chapter 47, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T
011. -- 199. (RESERVED)
200. QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE OR CERTIFICATION.
01. Requirements for Licensure. Applicants for licensure must submit a complete application,
required fee, and official certified documentation of either: (3-20-20)T
a. Certification from NCCAOM; or (3-20-20)T
b. Graduation from an approved formal full-time acupuncture program of at least one thousand seven
hundred twenty-five (1,725) hours of entry-level acupuncture education which includes a minimum of one thousand
(1000) hours of didactic course work and five hundred (500) clinical hours practice; and (3-20-20)T
c. Successful completion of an acupuncture internship, or other equivalent experience as approved by
the Board; and (3-20-20)T
d. Receipt of a passing grade on an NCCAOM Acupuncture certification examination; or (3-20-20)T
e. Other demonstration of proficiency as uniformly required by the Board for other similarly qualified
applicants for licensure; and (3-20-20)T
f. Successful completion of a Blood Borne Pathogen course and comprehensive examination that
incorporates clean needle techniques and OSHA procedures and requirements. (3-20-20)T
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IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 24.17.01
Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses Rules of the State Board of Acupuncture

201. ACUPUNCTURE TRAINEE PERMIT.

The Board may issue an acupuncture trainee permit to allow a person to engage in the practice of acupuncture while
actively pursuing licensure or certification. The permit will expire one (1) year from date of issue. The permit may be
extended in accordance with Section 54-4708, Idaho Code. The holder of an acupuncture trainee permit may only
practice under the supervision of a person licensed or certified under this chapter who meets the requirements in
Section 404 of these rules. An applicant for a permit must present evidence satisfactory to the Board of meeting the

following requirements: (3-20-20)T

01. Education. An applicant must submit documentation of either: (3-20-20)T

a. Current enrollment in an Approved Acupuncture Program and actively pursuing completion of the

program; or (3-20-20)T
b. Satisfaction of the requirement for certification as set forth in Section 54-4707, Idaho Code.

(3-20-20)T

02. Supervision. Submission of a supervision plan specifying at a minimum the name of the supervisor

and the setting and location where the permit holder will practice. A supervision plan may be approved by a

designated Board member. (3-20-20)T

202. -- 225. (RESERVED)
226. REQUEST FOR APPROVAL OF QUALIFICATION.

01. Course Review. A person or entity may request approval of a course of study in acupuncture that
will be offered to qualify applicants for a credential to practice acupuncture. The request must include a complete
description of the required hours, scope and extent of academic and other training and clinical experience offered
through the course along with appropriate supporting documentation and course materials. The request must also
designate whether approval is sought for compliance with standards for certification. (3-20-20)T

02. Individual Qualification. An applicant may request approval of his individual qualification for
licensure or certification in acupuncture. The request must include a complete description of the number of hours,
scope and extent of academic and other training and clinical experience the individual has received along with
available supporting documentation. The request must also designate whether qualification is sought for licensure or
certification. A demonstration of proficiency or examination may be required as a part of the determination of the
individual’s qualification. (3-20-20)T

227. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. FEES.
All fees are non-refundable:
License/Certification/Permit/Certification (Ncly:‘itﬂalli)l(:::e d) An(r:qu;l tieé]:;:u;ee
Application $50 n/a
License $150 $75
Certification $150 $75
Acupuncture Trainee $150 $50
Inactive License or Certification n/a $50
Reinstatement $250 n/a
(3-20-20)T

Section 201 Page 1674



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 24.17.01
Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses Rules of the State Board of Acupuncture

301. REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSE.
The applicant must submit proof of having met the continuing education required of licensees by Section 305 through
307 of these rules as follows: (3-20-20)T

01. Expired for One Year or Less. For licenses or certificates expired for one (1) year or less, one (1)
year of continuing education; (3-20-20)T

02. Expired More than One Year. For licenses or certificates expired for more than one (1) year, two
(2) years of continuing education. (3-20-20)T

302. INACTIVE STATUS.
A currently licensed or certified practitioner may request in writing to have their license placed on inactive status and
pay the inactive status fee. Such request must be made prior to the expiration date of the license. (3-20-20)T

01. Waiving Continuing Education Requirements — Inactive Status. All continuing education
requirements will be waived for any year or portion thereof that a licensee maintains an inactive license. (3-20-20)T

02. Return to Active Status. (3-20-20)T

a. A licensee desiring to return to active status must complete the equivalent of one (1) year of
continuing education for every year the license was inactive and submit a fee equivalent to the difference between the
inactive fee and renewal fee. (3-20-20)T

b. For licenses inactive five (5) years or greater, the licensee shall complete forty-five (45) hours of
continuing education and either provide proof that the licensee has actively engaged in the practice of acupuncture in
another state or territory of the United States for at least three (3) of the immediately preceding five (5) years, or

provide proof that the licensee is competent to practice acupuncture in Idaho. (3-20-20)T
c. The Board may consider the following factors when determining proof of competency: (3-20-20)T
1. Practice of acupuncture in another jurisdiction; (3-20-20)T
ii. Number of years of practice prior to transfer from active status; (3-20-20)T
iil. Completion of continuing education courses; (3-20-20)T
iv. Employment in a field similar to acupuncture; and (3-20-20)T
\ Any other factors the Board deems appropriate. (3-20-20)T

303. -- 304. (RESERVED)

305. CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS.
In order to further protect the public health and to facilitate the administration of the Acupuncture Act, the Board has
adopted the following requirements: (3-20-20)T

01. Requirement. All practitioners are required to complete a minimum of fifteen (15) hours of
continuing education within the preceding twelve (12) months. A minimum of ten (10) hours of continuing education
must be from Category I topics, and a maximum of five (5) hours of continuing education may be from Category II
topics, as set forth in Sections 306 and 307 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

02. Verification of Attendance. Each licensee must maintain verification of attendance by securing
authorized signatures or other documentation from the course instructors or sponsoring institution substantiating any
hours attended by the applicant. This verification must be maintained by the licensee for no less than four (4) years
and provided to the Board upon the request of the Board or its agent. (3-20-20)T
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IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 24.17.01
Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses Rules of the State Board of Acupuncture

03. Distance Learning and Independent Study. The Board may approve a course of study for
continuing education credit that does not include the actual physical attendance of the applicant in a face-to-face
setting with the course instructor. Distance Learning or Independent Study courses are eligible for continuing
education credits if approved by NCCAOM or upon approval of the Board. (3-20-20)T

04. Special Exemption. The Board has authority to make exceptions for reasons of individual
hardship. The licensee must provide any information requested by the Board to assist in substantiating hardship cases.
This exemption is granted at the sole discretion of the Board. (3-20-20)T

0s. Carryover. A continuing education course taken in a renewal year, but not claimed for continuing
education credit in that year, may only be claimed for credit in the following renewal year. (3-20-20)T

06. Credit for Teaching. Licensees may earn continuing education credit by teaching Board-approved
courses. A licensee will earn one (1) credit hour for every two (2) hours of teaching. Credit for teaching will not
exceed five (5) hours of the total continuing education hours required for a renewal period and will be credited to the
category of the topic taught. (3-20-20)T

306. APPROVAL OF CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES.
Approved continuing education courses are those courses, programs, and activities that are approved or provided by

the following entities or organizations, or otherwise approved by the Board: (3-20-20)T
01. NCCAOM; (3-20-20)T
02. Accredited Schools. Acupuncture and oriental medicine; and (3-20-20)T

03. Other Courses May Be Approved by the Board. Other courses may be approved based upon
documentation submitted by the licensee or course provider. All requests for approval or pre-approval of educational
programs must be made to the Board in writing, and must be accompanied by a statement that includes the name of
the instructor or instructors, the date and time and location of the course, the specific agenda for the course, the
number of continuing education credit hours requested, and a statement of how the course is believed to be pertinent
to the practice of acupuncture. (3-20-20)T

307. CONTENT OF CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES.
The content of a continuing education course must be germane to the practice of acupuncture as defined in Section

54-4702, Idaho Code, and: (3-20-20)T

01. Category 1. Category I courses relate to the following topics: (3-20-20)T

a. Acupuncture and the practice of acupuncture as defined in Section 54-4702, Idaho Code including

topics that directly concern the history and theory of acupuncture, oriental medicine diagnosis and treatment

techniques, and techniques of adjunctive oriental medicine therapies; (3-20-20)T
b. The role of acupuncture in individual and public health, such as emergencies and disasters; or

(3-20-20)T

c. Research and evidence-based medicine as related to acupuncture and Asian medicine; (3-20-20)T

02. Category II. Category II courses relate to the following topics: (3-20-20)T

a. Western biomedicine and biological sciences; (3-20-20)T

b. Scientific or clinical content with a direct bearing on the quality of patient care, community or

public health, or preventive medicine; (3-20-20)T

c. Laws and ethics; (3-20-20)T

d. Enhancement of effective communication with other medical practitioners; (3-20-20)T
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IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 24.17.01
Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses Rules of the State Board of Acupuncture

e. Behavioral sciences, patient counseling, and patient management and motivation when such
courses are specifically oriented to the improvement of patient health; (3-20-20)T

f. Practice management unrelated to clinical matters and direct patient care, including, but not limited
to, administrative record keeping, insurance billing and coding, and general business organization and management;
or (3-20-20)T

g. Patient education including, but not limited to, patient education in East Asian therapeutic exercise
techniques and Asian nutritional therapies. (3-20-20)T

308. -- 400. (RESERVED)

401. RECORDS.
A practitioner must keep accurate records of each patient the practitioner treats. The records must at a minimum
include the name of the patient and the indication and nature of treatment given. Records must be kept on file for a

minimum of five (§) years. A patient’s records will be made available to the patient within thirty (30) days of a
request. (3-20-20)T

402. (RESERVED)

403. EMPLOYMENT OF UNLICENSED, NON-EXEMPT INDIVIDUALS.

Individuals who do not have a license and are not exempt from licensure may not perform any insertion of
acupuncture needles or use similar devices and therapies, including application of moxibustion. They may only
support the practitioner’s professional practice by performing office and ministerial acts related to acupuncture. The
practitioner is responsible for the services provided by such employees. (3-20-20)T

404. SUPERVISION OF TRAINEES.
A licensed or certified acupuncturist providing supervision to trainees shall be responsible for the services provided
by such individuals. Failure to adequately supervise such an individual may subject the supervisor to discipline.

(3-20-20)T

01. Qualifications of Supervisors. Prior to providing supervision to a trainee, a supervisor must:
(3-20-20)T
a. Have held a current acupuncture license or certification without restriction for a minimum of five
(5) years. (3-20-20)T
b. Have not been the subject of any disciplinary action within the preceding five (5) years, provided
that the Board may in its discretion approve a supervisor with disciplinary action for failing to complete continuing
education requirements. (3-20-20)T
02. Supervision. For the first one hundred (100) hours of practice, the supervisor must provide

supervision in person when the trainee is providing treatment. After the first one hundred (100) hours of practice, the
supervisor may provide supervision by making themselves accessible to the trainee by telephone, or video
conferencing, provided that the trainee has successfully completed the requirement in Paragraph 404.02.a. of this
rule, and provided that the supervisor meets with the trainee in person on at least a monthly basis during which time
the supervisor must review case studies and require the trainee to demonstrate acupuncture point location and needle
placement technique. (3-20-20)T

a. Before providing treatment without in-person supervision, the trainee must successfully complete a
Blood Borne Pathogen course and comprehensive examination that incorporates clean needle techniques and OSHA
procedures and requirements. (3-20-20)T

b. The supervisor must provide the trainee with adequate training, which must include at a minimum
charting, diagnosis, and treatment plans, and opportunities for the trainee to complete at least twenty-five (25) case
studies. (3-20-20)T
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IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 24.17.01
Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses Rules of the State Board of Acupuncture

c. The supervisor and trainee must keep adequate records of supervision, which shall include at a
minimum, summary of case studies in progress or completed by the trainee under supervision, treatment plan for each
patient, and the dates of supervision. (3-20-20)T

03. Continuing Education. A supervisor may annually count up to ten (10) hours of supervision of a
trainee toward the Category I continuing education requirements. Supervision hours not claimed in the current
renewal year may be claimed in the next renewal year. A maximum of ten (10) hours may be carried forward from the
immediately preceding year, and may not be carried forward more than one renewal year. (3-20-20)T

04. Completion of Supervision. At the conclusion of supervision of a trainee, the supervisor must
verify the hours of supervision, the type of supervision provided to the trainee, and the documentation of at least
twenty-five (25) case studies by the trainee. (3-20-20)T

05. Termination of Supervision or Change in Supervisor. A supervisor may terminate supervision at
any time by submitting written notice of termination to the Board. (3-20-20)T

405. ADVERTISING.
A practitioner shall not disseminate or cause the dissemination of any advertisement or advertising including offers,
statements, or other representations, which is in any way fraudulent, false, deceptive, or misleading. (3-20-20)T

406. — 524. (RESERVED)

525. DISPLAY OF LICENSE.
The license shall be conspicuously displayed in the office of the Practitioner. (3-20-20)T

526. -- 574. (RESERVED)
575. DISCIPLINE.

01. Civil Fine. The Board may impose a civil fine not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) upon a
licensee for each violation of Section 54-4711, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

02. Costs and Fees. The Board may order a licensee to pay the costs and fees incurred by the Board in
the investigation or prosecution of the licensee for violation of Section 54-4711, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

576. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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