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IDAPA 24 - DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES

24.19.01 - RULES OF THE BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF
RESIDENTIAL CARE FACILITY ADMINISTRATORS

DOCKET NO. 24-1901-2000F (FEE RULE)
NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING — ADOPTION OF TEMPORARY RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rules being adopted through this omnibus rulemaking is
the adjournment date of the second regular session of the 65th Idaho State Legislature - March 20, 2020.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given this agency has adopted a
temporary rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-4205, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons
for adopting a temporary rule:

This temporary rulemaking adopts the following chapter under IDAPA 24.19.01:

IDAPA 24.19
*  24.19.01, Rules of the Board of Examiners of Residential Care Facility Administrators.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and
confer a benefit on its citizens. These temporary rules implement the duly enacted laws of the state of Idaho, provide
citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the orderly execution and
enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and processes would undermine
the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the benefit intended by these rules.
These rules govern the qualifications and code of ethics for individuals who run residential care facilities, which are
home to residents with varying assistive needs. Allowing these rules to expire would harm the safety and welfare of
the residents of residential care facilities, current licensees, and prospective licensees.

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), the Governor has found that the fees or charges being imposed or
increased are justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fees are described herein:

The fees or charges, authorized in Sections 54-4205, and 54-4206, Idaho Code, are part of the agency’s 2021
budget that relies upon the existence of these fees or charges to meet the state’s obligations and provide necessary
state services. Failing to reauthorize these temporary rules would create immediate danger to the state budget,
immediate danger to necessary state functions and services, and immediate danger of a violation of Idaho’s
constitutional requirement that it balance its budget.

The following is a specific description of the fees or charges:

FEE TYPE (Not to Excecd)
Application $150
Annual Renewal $150
Provisional Permit $150
Reissuance of Lost License $10
Reinstatement As provided in Section 67-2614, Idaho Code
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DIV. OF OCCUPATIONAL & PROFESSIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-1901-2000F
IDAPA 24.19 Omnibus Notice — Temporary (Fee) Rule

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary
rule, contact Rob McQuade at (208) 334-3233.

DATED this February 21, 2020.

Kelley Packer

Division Administrator

Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses
700 W. State Street

P.O. Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720

Phone: (208) 334-3233

Fax: (208) 334-3945
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24.19.01 - RULES OF THE BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF RESIDENTIAL
CARE FACILITY ADMINISTRATORS

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
These rules are hereby prescribed and established pursuant to the authority vested in the Board of Examiners of
Residential Care Facility Administrators by the provisions of Section 54-4205, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.
These rules are titled IDAPA 24.19.01, “Rules of the Board of Examiners of Residential Care Facility
Administrators.” (3-20-20)T

002. — 003. (RESERVED)

004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.

The document titled “ACHCA Code of Ethics,” published by the American College of Health Care Administrators
(ACHCA) as referenced in Section 650, is herein incorporated by reference and is available from the Board’s office
and on the Board web site. (3-20-20)T

005. -- 099. (RESERVED)

100. APPLICATIONS.

Applications will be on forms approved by the Board. No application will be considered for any action unless
accompanied by the appropriate fees and until the required supporting documentation is received by the Division. If
an applicant fails to respond to a Board request or an application has lacked activity for twelve (12) consecutive
months, the application on file with the Board will be deemed denied and will be terminated upon thirty (30) days
written notice, unless good cause is established to the Board. (3-20-20)T

101. -- 149. (RESERVED)

150. QUALIFICATIONS FOR ADMINISTRATOR LICENSE.
Each applicant for an administrator’s license must submit proof, along with their application, that said individual is at
least twenty-one (21) years of age and meets all the following qualifications for the issuance of a license: (3-20-20)T

01. Good Moral Character. The applicant must submit a criminal background check by an entity
approved by the Board establishing that the applicant has not been convicted, pled guilty or nolo contendere or
received a withheld judgment for a felony or any crime involving dishonesty or the health or safety of a person.

(3-20-20)T

02. Education and Experience. The applicant must document one (1) of the combinations of
education and experience in accordance with Section 54-4206, Idaho Code, and Subsection 400 of these rules.

(3-20-20)T

03. Coursework. The applicant must document completion of a specialized course or program of study

as set forth in Subsection 400 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

04. Examination. The applicant must submit proof of successful passage of a relevant examination as

approved by the Board and defined in Subsection 300 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

151. -- 159. (RESERVED)

160. NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATOR QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSE.

Any applicant who holds a valid Idaho nursing home administrator license must meet the requirements provided in
Section 54-4211(2), Idaho Code, and must take and pass the Board-approved residential care administrator
examination. This requirement may be waived if the applicant submits evidence satisfactory to the Board that he has
at least one (1) year of leadership or management experience working in a residential care facility or nursing home
facility within the five (5) years preceding the application. (3-20-20)T

161. -- 199. (RESERVED)
200. BOARD MEETINGS -- DATES -- PLACES.

01. Board Meeting Dates. The Board meets at least semi-annually at such time and place as
determined by the Board. (3-20-20)T
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IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 24.19.01 — Rules of the Board of Examiners
Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses of Residential Care Facility Administrators

02. Dates and Places May be Changed. Dates and places of board meetings may be changed by the
action of the majority of the Board and advance public notice given. (3-20-20)T

201. -- 299. (RESERVED)
300. EXAMINATIONS.
01. Examination. The Board approves the following examinations for licensure: (3-20-20)T

a. The Residential Care Facility Administrators examination developed and administered by the
National Association of Boards of Examiners of Long Term Care Administrators (NAB) and an open book
examination of law and rules governing residential care administrators in Idaho. The passing score for the NAB
examination is determined by NAB. An applicant for examination is required to register with NAB and pay any
required examination fees directly to NAB. The passing score for the open book examination is seventy-five percent
(75%). (3-20-20)T

b. Other examinations as approved by the Board. (3-20-20)T
301. -- 399. (RESERVED)
400. EDUCATIONAL AND TRAINING REQUIREMENTS.

01. Approved Course. (3-20-20)T

a. The Certification Program for Residential Care Facility Administrators course, administered by the
Idaho Health Care Association (IHCA)/Idaho Center for Assisted Living (ICAL), are approved courses of study to
qualify for licensure. (3-20-20)T

b. Any Certification Program for Residential Care Facility Administrators provided by a state or
national Residential Care Facility Administrator organization or a nationally or regionally accredited college or
university must be an approved course of study to qualify for licensure. (3-20-20)T

02. Approval of Other Courses. Applicants may, in lieu of completion of the Certification Program
for Residential Care Facility Administrators, submit official documentation of successful completion of relevant
courses. These courses must be approved by the Board before equivalency will be given. (3-20-20)T
401. CONTINUING EDUCATION.

01. Minimum Hours Required. Applicants for annual renewal or reinstatement are required to

complete a minimum of twelve (12) hours of continuing education courses within the preceding twelve-month (12)
period. Basic First Aid, Cardio-Pulmonary Resuscitation, medication assistance, or fire safety courses will not be

considered for continuing education credit. (3-20-20)T

02. Course Approval. Courses of study relevant to residential care facility administration and
sponsored or provided by the following entities or organizations are approved for continuing education credits:

(3-20-20)T

a. Accredited colleges or universities. (3-20-20)T

b. Federal, state or local government entities. (3-20-20)T

c. National or state associations. (3-20-20)T

d. Otherwise approved by the Board based upon documentation submitted by the licensee or course

provider reviewing the nature and subject of the course and its relevancy to residential care administration, name of
instructor(s) and their qualifications, date, time and location of the course and procedures for verification of
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Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses of Residential Care Facility Administrators
attendance. (3-20-20)T
03. Credit. Continuing education credit will only be given for actual time in attendance or for the time

spent participating in the educational activity. One (1) hour of continuing education is equal to sixty (60) minutes.
Courses taken by correspondence or by computer on-line may be approved for continuing education if the courses
require an exam or other proof of successful completion. Each licensee must maintain proof of attendance or
successful completion documentation of all continuing education courses for a period of three (3) years. (3-20-20)T

04. Special Exemption. The Board has authority to make exceptions for reasons of individual
hardship, including health, when certified by a medical doctor, or other good cause. The licensee must provide any
information requested by the Board to assist in substantiating hardship cases. This exemption is granted at the sole
discretion of the Board. (3-20-20)T

402. -- 449. (RESERVED)

450. SCOPE OF PRACTICE.

A residential care facility administrator must possess the education, training, and experience necessary to insure that
appropriate services and care are provided for each facility resident within any facility under the licensee’s
administration. Information contained within the application together with supporting documentation maintained by
the licensee is prima facie evidence of the licensee’s education and experience. It is the responsibility of the
individual licensee to maintain adequate documentation of education and experience appropriate to the planning,
organizing, directing and control of the operation of a residential care facility. (3-20-20)T

451. -- 599. (RESERVED)

600. FEES.
AMOUNT
FEE TYPE (Not to Exceed)
Application $150
Annual Renewal $150
Provisional Permit $150
Reissuance of Lost License $10
. As provided in Section 67-2614,
Reinstatement Idaho Code
(3-20-20)T
601. -- 649. (RESERVED)
650. DISCIPLINE.
01. Civil Fine. The Board may impose a civil fine not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) upon a
licensed residential care facility administrator for each violation of Section 54-4213(1), Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T
02. Costs and Fees. The Board may order a licensed residential care facility administrator to pay the
costs and fees incurred by the Board in the investigation or prosecution of the licensee for violation of Section 54-
4213(1), Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

03. Code of Ethics. The Board has adopted (ACHCA) Code of Ethics. Violations of the code of ethics
is considered grounds for disciplinary action. (3-20-20)T

651. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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