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IDAPA 24 – DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES
24.26.01 – RULES OF THE IDAHO BOARD OF MIDWIFERY

DOCKET NO. 24-2601-2000F (FEE RULE)

NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF TEMPORARY RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rules being adopted through this omnibus rulemaking is 
the adjournment date of the second regular session of the 65th Idaho State Legislature - March 20, 2020.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given this agency has adopted a 
temporary rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-5504, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons 
for adopting a temporary rule:

This temporary rulemaking adopts the following chapter under IDAPA 24.26.01:

IDAPA 24.26
• 24.26.01, Rules of the Idaho Board of Midwifery.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the 
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and 
confer a benefit on its citizens. These temporary rules implement the duly enacted laws of the state of Idaho, provide 
citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the orderly execution and 
enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and processes would undermine 
the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the benefit intended by these rules. 
These rules govern the qualifications, formulary, and certain standards of practice of midwives in Idaho. Allowing 
these rules to expire would harm licensees and would impose a barrier to care, harming the public health, safety, and 
welfare of the citizens of Idaho.

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), the Governor has found that the fees or charges being imposed or 
increased are justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fees are described herein:

The fees or charges, authorized in Section 54-5509, Idaho Code, are part of the agency’s 2021 budget that relies 
upon the existence of these fees or charges to meet the state’s obligations and provide necessary state services. Failing 
to reauthorize these temporary rules would create immediate danger to the state budget, immediate danger to 
necessary state functions and services, and immediate danger of a violation of Idaho’s constitutional requirement that 
it balance its budget.

The following is a specific description of the fees or charges:

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary 
rule, contact Rob McQuade at (208) 334-3233.

APPLICATION FEE
(Not to Exceed)

Initial Application $200

Initial License $800 (amount will be refunded if license not issued)

Renewal $850 (amount will be refunded if license not renewed)

Reinstatement $50
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DATED this February 21, 2020.

Kelley Packer
Division Administrator 
Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses
700 W. State Street
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720
Phone: (208) 334-3233
Fax: (208) 334-3945
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24.26.01 – RULES OF THE IDAHO BOARD OF MIDWIFERY

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
In accordance with Section 54-5504, Idaho Code, the Idaho Board of Midwifery has promulgated rules that 
implement the provisions of Chapter 55, Title 54, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. These rules are titled IDAPA 24.26.01, “Rules of the Idaho Board of Midwifery.” (3-20-20)T

02. Scope. These rules establish the framework for licensure of midwives and the provisions for what 
midwives are allowed to do, what they may not do, when they must advise their clients to seek other medical advice 
and when to transport a client. (3-20-20)T

002. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
The following documents are incorporated by reference into these rules, and are available at the Board’s office and 
through the Board’s website: (3-20-20)T

01. Prevention of Perinatal Group B Streptococcal Disease. Published by the Centers for Disease 
Control and Prevention, MMWR 2010;59 (No. RR 10), dated November 19, 2010, referenced in Paragraph 350.01.d.

(3-20-20)T

02. Essential Documents of the National Association of Certified Professional Midwives. 
Copyright date 2004, referenced in Subsection 356.01. (3-20-20)T

03. 2016 Job Analysis Survey. Published by the North American Registry of Midwives (NARM).
(3-20-20)T

003. -- 019. (RESERVED)

020. ORGANIZATION.
At the first meeting of each fiscal year, the Board elects from its members a Chairman, who assumes the duty of the 
office immediately upon such selection. (3-20-20)T

021. -- 099. (RESERVED)

100. QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE.

01. Applications. Applications for licensure must be submitted on Board-approved forms. (3-20-20)T

02. Qualifications. Applicants for licensure must submit a completed application, required application 
and licensing fees, and documentation, acceptable to the Board, establishing that the applicant: (3-20-20)T

a. Currently is certified as a CPM by NARM or a successor organization. (3-20-20)T

b. Has successfully completed Board-approved, MEAC-accredited courses in pharmacology, the 
treatment of shock/IV therapy, and suturing specific to midwives. (3-20-20)T

03. Incomplete or Stalled Applications. The applicant must provide or facilitate the provision of any 
supplemental third party documents that may be required by the Board. If an applicant fails to respond to a Board 
request or an application has lacked activity for twelve (12) consecutive months, the application on file with the 
Board is deemed denied and it will be terminated upon thirty (30) days written notice, unless good cause is 
established to the Board. (3-20-20)T

101. -- 174. (RESERVED)

175. FEES.
Unless otherwise provided for, all fees are non-refundable.
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(3-20-20)T

176. -- 199. (RESERVED)

200. RENEWAL OF LICENSE.

01. Complete Practice Data. The information submitted by the licensed midwife must include 
complete practice data for the calendar year preceding the date of the renewal application. Such information includes:

(3-20-20)T

a. The number of clients to whom the licensed midwife has provided care; (3-20-20)T

b. The number of deliveries, including; (3-20-20)T

i. The number of cesareans; (3-20-20)T

ii. The number of vaginal births after cesarean (VBACs); (3-20-20)T

c. The average, oldest, and youngest maternal ages; (3-20-20)T

d. The number of primiparae; (3-20-20)T

e. All APGAR scores below five (5) at five (5) minutes; (3-20-20)T

f. The number of prenatal transfers and transfers during labor, delivery and immediately following 
birth, including: (3-20-20)T

i. Transfers of mothers; (3-20-20)T

ii. Transfers of babies; (3-20-20)T

iii. Reasons for transfers; (3-20-20)T

iv. Transfers of all newborns being admitted to the neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) for more than 
twenty four (24) hours. (3-20-20)T

g. Any perinatal deaths occurring up to six weeks post-delivery, broken out by: (3-20-20)T

i. Weight; (3-20-20)T

ii. Gestational Age; (3-20-20)T

iii. Age of the baby; (3-20-20)T

iv. Stillbirths, if any; (3-20-20)T

APPLICATION FEE
(Not to Exceed)

Initial Application $200
Initial License $800 (amount will be refunded if license not issued)

Renewal $850 (amount will be refunded if license not renewed)
Reinstatement $50
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h. Any significant neonatal or perinatal problem, not listed above, during the six (6) weeks following 
birth. (3-20-20)T

02. Current Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Certification. A licensed midwife to renew their 
license must certify on their renewal application that they possess a current certification in adult, infant, and child 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation and in neonatal resuscitation obtained through completion of American Heart 
Association or the Health and Safety Institute approved cardiopulmonary resuscitation courses and American 
Academy of Pediatrics approved neonatal resuscitation courses. (3-20-20)T

03. Continuing Education Verification. When a licensed midwife submits a renewal application, the 
licensed midwife must certify by signed affidavit that the annual continuing education requirements set by the Board 
have been met. The Board may conduct such continuing education audits and require verification of attendance as 
deemed necessary to ensure compliance with continuing education requirements. (3-20-20)T

201. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT.

01. Annual Continuing Education Requirement. A licensed midwife must successfully complete a 
minimum of ten (10) continuing education hours per year for the year preceding renewal. Two (2) of these hours must 
be in peer review participation as described in Subsection 300.06. One (1) continuing education hour equals one (1) 
clock hour. A licensed midwife is considered to have satisfied the annual continuing education requirement for the 
first renewal of the initial license. (3-20-20)T

02. Subject Material. The subject material of the continuing education must be germane to the 
practice of midwifery and either acceptable to NARM as counting towards recertification of a licensed midwife as a 
CPM or otherwise approved by the Board. (3-20-20)T

03. Verification of Attendance. Each licensed midwife must maintain verification of attendance by 
securing authorized signatures or other documentation from the course instructors or sponsoring institution 
substantiating any hours attended. This verification must be maintained by the licensed midwife for no less than 
seven (7) years and provided to the Board upon request by the Board or its agent. (3-20-20)T

04. Distance Learning and Independent Study. The Board may approve a course of study for 
continuing education credit that does not include the actual physical attendance of the licensed midwife in a face-to-
face setting with the course instructor. Distance Learning or Independent Study courses will be eligible for continuing 
education credits if approved by NARM or upon approval of the Board. (3-20-20)T

05. Requests for Board Approval. All requests for Board approval of educational programs must be 
made to the Board in writing at least sixty (60) days before the program is scheduled to occur. Requests must be 
accompanied by a statement that includes: (3-20-20)T

a. The name of the instructor or instructors; (3-20-20)T

b. The date and time and location of the course; (3-20-20)T

c. The specific agenda for the course; (3-20-20)T

d. The number of continuing education credit hours requested; and (3-20-20)T

e. A statement of how the course is believed to be germane to the practice of midwifery. (3-20-20)T

06. Peer Review System. As part of the Board’s annual continuing education requirement, each 
licensed midwife must participate in peer review activities for a minimum of two (2) hours per year. (3-20-20)T

a. The purpose of peer review is to enable licensed midwives to retrospectively present and review 
cases in an effort to further educate themselves about the appropriateness, quality, utilization, and ethical performance 
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of midwifery care. (3-20-20)T

b. Licensed midwives are responsible for organizing their own peer review sessions. At least three (3) 
licensed midwives or CPMs must participate in a peer review session in order for the session to count towards a 
licensed midwife’s annual two-hour peer review activity requirement. (3-20-20)T

c. Each licensed midwife must make a presentation that must include, without limitation, the 
following information: (3-20-20)T

i. Total number of clients currently in the licensed midwife’s care; (3-20-20)T

ii. The number of upcoming due dates for clients in the licensed midwife’s practice; (3-20-20)T

iii. The number of women in the licensed midwife’s practice that are postpartum; (3-20-20)T

iv. The number of births the licensed midwife has been involved with since the last peer review 
session; and (3-20-20)T

v. One (1) or more specific cases arising since the licensed midwife’s last peer review session. The 
licensed midwife must present any cases involving serious complications or the transport of a mother or baby to the 
hospital. (3-20-20)T

d. The information presented in a peer review session is confidential. The identities of the client, other 
health care providers, and other persons involved in a case may not be divulged during the peer review session.

(3-20-20)T

07. Carryover Hours. A licensed midwife may carryover a maximum of five (5) hours of continuing 
education to meet the next year's continuing education requirement. (3-20-20)T

08. Hardship Waiver. The Board may waive the continuing education requirement for good cause. 
The licensed midwife must request the waiver and provide the Board with any information requested to assist the 
Board in substantiating the claimed hardship. (3-20-20)T

301. -- 324. (RESERVED)

325. INFORMED CONSENT.

01. Informed Consent Required. A licensed midwife must obtain and document informed consent 
from a client before caring for that client. The informed consent must be documented on an informed consent form, 
signed and dated by the client, in which the client acknowledges, at a minimum, the provisions listed in Section 54-
5511, Idaho Code and the following: (3-20-20)T

a. Instructions for obtaining a copy of the Essential Documents of the NACPM and 2016 Job Analysis 
Survey, published by NARM; (3-20-20)T

b. Instructions for filing complaints with the Board; (3-20-20)T

02. Record of Informed Consent. All licensed midwives must maintain a record of all signed 
informed consent forms for each client for a minimum of nine (9) years after the last day of care for such client.

(3-20-20)T

326. -- 349. (RESERVED)

350. FORMULARY.

01. Midwifery Formulary. A licensed midwife may obtain and administer, during the practice of 
midwifery, the following: (3-20-20)T
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a. Oxygen; (3-20-20)T

b. Oxytocin, misoprostol, and methylergonovine as postpartum antihemorrhagic agents; (3-20-20)T

c. Injectable local anesthetic for the repair of lacerations that are no more extensive than second 
degree; (3-20-20)T

d. Antibiotics to the mother for group b streptococcus prophylaxis consistent with the guidelines set 
forth in Prevention of Perinatal Group B Streptococcal Disease, published by the Centers for Disease Control and 
Prevention; (3-20-20)T

e. Epinephrine to the mother administered for anaphylactic shock; (3-20-20)T

f. Intravenous fluids for stabilization of the woman; (3-20-20)T

g. Rho (d) immune globulin; (3-20-20)T

h. Phytonadione; and (3-20-20)T

i. Eye prophylactics to the baby. (3-20-20)T

02. Other Legend Drugs. During the practice of midwifery a licensed midwife may not obtain or 
administer legend drugs that are not listed in the midwifery formulary. Drugs of a similar nature and character may be 
used if determined by the Board to be consistent with the practice of midwifery and provided that at least one hundred 
twenty (120) days' advance notice of the proposal to allow the use of such drugs is given to the Board of Pharmacy 
and the Board of Medicine and neither Board objects to the addition of such drugs to the midwifery formulary.

(3-20-20)T

351. USE OF FORMULARY DRUGS.
A licensed midwife may use the drugs described in the midwifery formulary according to the following protocol 
describing the indication for use, dosage, route of administration and duration of treatment:

Drug Indication Dose Route of 
Administration Duration of Treatment

Oxygen

Maternal/Fetal Dis-
tress

Neonatal Resusci-
tation

10-12 L/min.
10 L/min.

10-12 L/min.
10 L/min.

Bag and mask
Mask

Bag and mask
Mask

Until maternal/fetal stabilization 
is achieved or transfer to hospital 
is complete

Until stabilization is achieved or 
transfer to a hospital is complete

Oxytocin (Pitocin) Postpartum hemor-
rhage only 10 Units/ml Intramuscularly 

only

1-2 doses

Transport to hospital required if 
more than two doses are admin-
istered

Lidocaine HCl 2%

Local anesthetic 
for use during post-

partum repair of 
lacerations or epi-

siotomy

Maximum 50 ml Percutaneous infil-
tration only Completion of repair
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Penicillin G

(Recommended)

Group B Strep Pro-
phylaxis

5 million units initial 
dose, then 2.5 mil-
lion units every 4 
hours until birth

IV in > 100 ml LR, 
NS or D5LR Birth of baby

Ampicillin Sodium

(Alternative)

Group B Strep Pro-
phylaxis

2 grams initial 
dose, then 1 gram 
every 4 hours until 

birth

IV in >100 ml NS 
or LR Birth of baby

Cefazolin Sodium
(drug of choice for 
penicillin allergy 
with low risk for 

anaphylaxis)

Group B Strep Pro-
phylaxis

2 grams initial 
dose, then 1 gram 

every 8 hours

IV in > 100 ml LR, 
NS or D5LR Birth of baby

Clindamycin Phos-
phate

(drug of choice for 
penicillin allergy 
with high risk for 

anaphylaxis) 

Group B Strep Pro-
phylaxis

900 mg every 8 
hours 

IV in >100 ml NS 
(not LR) Birth of baby

Epinephrine HCl 
1:1000

Treatment or 
post-exposure pre-
vention of severe 
allergic reactions

0.3 ml Subcutaneously or 
intramuscularly

Every 20 minutes or until emer-
gency medical services arrive

Administer first dose then imme-
diately request emergency ser-
vices

Lactated Ringer’s 
(LR)

5% Dextrose in 
Lactated Ringer’s 
solution (D5LR)

0.9% Sodium 
Chloride (NS)

Sterile Water

To achieve mater-
nal stabilization 

Reconstitution of 
antibiotic powder

I - 2 liter bags

First liter run in at a 
wide-open rate, the 
second liter titrated 
to client’s condition

As directed

Intravenously with
>18 gauge cathe-

ter

As directed

Until maternal stabilization is 
achieved or transfer to a hospital 
is complete

Birth of Baby

Cytotec (Misopros-
tol)

Postpartum hemor-
rhage only 800 mcg

 Rectally is the pre-
ferred method 

Orally is allowed

1-2 doses

Transport to hospital required if 
more than one dose is adminis-

tered

Drug Indication Dose Route of 
Administration Duration of Treatment
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(3-20-20)T

352. OBTAINING, STORING, AND DISPOSING OF FORMULARY DRUGS.
A licensed midwife must adhere to the following protocol for obtaining, storing, and disposing of formulary drugs 
during the practice of midwifery. (3-20-20)T

01. Obtaining Formulary Drugs. A licensed midwife may obtain formulary drugs as allowed by law, 
including, without limitation, from: (3-20-20)T

a. A person or entity that is licensed as a Wholesale Distributor by the Idaho State Board of 
Pharmacy; and (3-20-20)T

b. A retail pharmacy, in minimal quantities for office use. (3-20-20)T

02. Storing Formulary Drugs. A licensed midwife must store all formulary drugs in secure areas 
suitable for preventing unauthorized access and for ensuring a proper environment for the preservation of the drugs. 
However, licensed midwives may carry formulary drugs to the home setting while providing care within the course 
and scope of the practice of midwifery. (3-20-20)T

03. Disposing of Formulary Drugs. A licensed midwife must dispose of formulary drugs using means 
that are reasonably calculated to guard against unauthorized access by persons and harmful excretion of the drugs into 
the environment. The means that may be used include, without limitation: (3-20-20)T

a. Transferring the drugs to a reverse distributor who is registered to destroy drugs with the U.S. Drug 
Enforcement Agency; (3-20-20)T

b. Removing the drugs from their original containers, mixing them with an undesirable substance 
such as coffee grounds or kitty litter, putting them in impermeable, non-descript containers such as empty cans or 
sealable bags, and throwing the containers in the trash; or (3-20-20)T

Rho(d) Immune 
Globulin

Prevention of Rho 
(d) sensitization in 
Rho (d) negative 

women

300 mcg Intramuscularly

Single dose at any gestation for 
Rho (d) negative, antibody nega-
tive women within 72 hours of 
spontaneous bleeding or abdom-
inal trauma.

Single dose at 26-28 weeks ges-
tation for Rho (d) negative, anti-
body negative women

Single dose for Rho (d) negative, 
antibody negative women within 
72 hours of delivery of Rho (d) 
positive infant, or infant with 
unknown blood type

Phytonadione
Prophylaxis for 
Vitamin K Defi-
ciency Bleeding

1 mg Intramuscularly 1 dose

0.5% Erythromy-
cin Ophthalmic 

Ointment

Prophylaxis of 
Neonatal Ophthal-

mia

1 cm ribbon in 
each eye Topical 1 dose

Drug Indication Dose Route of 
Administration Duration of Treatment



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 24.26.01
Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses Rules of the Idaho Board of Midwifery

Section 355 Page 1750  

c. Flushing the drugs down the toilet if the accompanying patient information instructs that it is safe 
to do so. (3-20-20)T

353. -- 354. (RESERVED)

355. MEDICAL WASTE.
A licensed midwife must dispose of medical waste during the practice of midwifery according to the following 
protocol: (3-20-20)T

01. Containers for Non-Sharp, Medical Waste. Medical waste, except for sharps, must be placed in 
disposable containers/bags which are impervious to moisture and strong enough to preclude ripping, tearing or 
bursting under normal conditions of use. The bags must be securely tied so as to prevent leakage or expulsion of solid 
or liquid waste during storage, handling or transport. The containment system must have a tight-fitting cover and be 
kept clean and in good repair. All bags used for containment of medical waste must be clearly identified by label or 
color, or both. (3-20-20)T

02. Containers for Sharps. Sharps must be placed in impervious, rigid, puncture-resistant containers 
immediately after use. Needles must not be bent, clipped or broken by hand. Rigid containers of discarded sharps 
must either be labeled or colored like the disposable bags used for other medical waste, or placed in such labeled or 
colored bags. (3-20-20)T

03. Storage Duration. Medical waste may not be stored for more than seven (7) days, unless the 
storage temperature is below thirty-two (32) degrees Fahrenheit. Medical waste must never be stored for more than 
ninety (90) days. (3-20-20)T

04. Waste Disposal. Medical waste must be disposed of by persons knowledgeable in handling of 
medical waste. (3-20-20)T

356. SCOPE AND PRACTICE STANDARDS.
A licensed midwife must adhere to the following scope and practice standards when providing antepartum, 
intrapartum, postpartum, and newborn care. (3-20-20)T

01. NACPM Scope and Practice Standards. The Board adopts the Essential Documents of the 
National Association of Certified Professional Midwives as scope and practice standards for licensed midwives. All 
licensed midwives must adhere to these scope and practice standards during the practice of midwifery to the extent 
such scope and practice standards are consistent with the Board’s enabling law, Chapter 55, Title 54, Idaho Code.

(3-20-20)T

02. Conditions for Which a Licensed Midwife May Not Provide Care. A licensed midwife may not 
provide care for a client with conditions listed in Section 54-5505(1)(e)(i), Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

03. Conditions for Which a Licensed Midwife May Not Provide Care Without Health Care 
Provider Involvement. A licensed midwife may not provide care for a client with a history of the disorders, 
diagnoses, conditions, or symptoms listed in Section 54-5505(1)(e)(ii), Idaho Code, unless such disorders, diagnoses, 
conditions or symptoms are being treated, monitored or managed by a licensed health care provider. For purposes of 
this Paragraph, in Section 54-5505(1)(e)(ii), Idaho Code, “history” means a “current history” and “illegal drug use” 
means “illegal drug abuse or addiction.” Before providing care to such a client, the licensed midwife must notify the 
client in writing that the client must obtain the described physician care as a condition to the client’s eligibility to 
obtain maternity care from the licensed midwife. The licensed midwife must, additionally, obtain the client’s signed 
acknowledgment that the client has received the written notice. (3-20-20)T

04. Conditions for Which a Licensed Midwife Must Recommend Physician Involvement. Before 
providing care for a client with a history of any of the disorders, diagnoses, conditions or symptoms listed in Section 
54-5505(1)(e)(iii), Idaho Code, a licensed midwife must provide written notice to the client that the client is advised 
to see a physician licensed under Chapter 18, Title 54, Idaho Code, or under an equivalent provision of the law of a 
state bordering Idaho, during the client’s pregnancy. Additionally, the licensed midwife must obtain the client’s 
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signed acknowledgment that the client has received the written notice. (3-20-20)T

05. Conditions for which a Licensed Midwife must Facilitate Hospital Transfer. (3-20-20)T

a. Conditions. A licensed midwife must facilitate the immediate transfer of a client to a hospital for 
emergency care if the client has any of the disorders, diagnoses, conditions or symptoms listed in Section 54-
5505(1)(e)(iv), Idaho Code, and the following: (3-20-20)T

i. Maternal fever in labor of more than 100.4 degrees Fahrenheit, in the absence of environmental 
factors; (3-20-20)T

ii. Suggestion of fetal jeopardy, such as frank bleeding before delivery, any abnormal bleeding (with 
or without abdominal pain), evidence of placental abruption, meconium with non-reassuring fetal heart tone patterns 
where birth is not imminent, or abnormal fetal heart tones with non-reassuring patterns where birth is not imminent;

(3-20-20)T

b. Plan for Emergency Transfer and Transport. When facilitating a transfer under Subsection 356.05, 
the licensed midwife must notify the hospital when the transfer is initiated, accompany the client to the hospital, if 
feasible, or communicate by telephone with the hospital if the licensed midwife is unable to be present personally. 
The licensed midwife must also ensure that the transfer of care is accompanied by the client’s medical record, which 
must include items defined in Section 54-5505(1)(e)(v), Idaho Code, and if feasible, the licensed midwife’s 
assessment of the client’s current medical condition and description of the care provided by the licensed midwife 
before transfer. (3-20-20)T

c. Transfer or Termination of Care. A midwife who deems it necessary to transfer or terminate care 
pursuant to the laws and rules of the Board or for any other reason must transfer or terminate care and will not be 
regarded as having abandoned care or wrongfully terminated services. (3-20-20)T

357. -- 359. (RESERVED)

360. NEWBORN TRANSFER OF CARE OR CONSULTATION.

01. Newborn Transfer of Care. Conditions for which a licensed midwife must facilitate the 
immediate transfer of a newborn to a hospital for emergency care: (3-20-20)T

a. Respiratory distress defined as respiratory rate greater than eighty (80) or grunting, flaring, or 
retracting for more than one (1) hour. (3-20-20)T

b. Any respiratory distress following delivery with moderate to thick meconium stained fluid.
(3-20-20)T

c. Central cyanosis or pallor for more than ten (10) minutes. (3-20-20)T

d. Apgar score of six (6) or less at five (5) minutes of age. (3-20-20)T

e. Abnormal bleeding. (3-20-20)T

f. Any condition requiring more than six (6) hours of continuous, immediate postpartum evaluation.
(3-20-20)T

g. Any vesicular skin lesions. (3-20-20)T

h. Seizure-like activity. (3-20-20)T

i. Any bright green emesis. (3-20-20)T

j. Poor feeding effort due to lethargy or disinterest in nursing for more than two (2) hours 
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immediately following birth. (3-20-20)T

02. Newborn Consultation Required. Conditions for which a licensed midwife must consult a 
Pediatric Provider (Neonatologist, Pediatrician, Family Practice Physician, Advanced Practice Registered Nurse, or 
Physician Assistant): (3-20-20)T

a. Temperature instability, defined as a rectal temperature less than ninety-six point eight (96.8) 
degrees Fahrenheit or greater than one hundred point four (100.4) degrees Fahrenheit documented two (2) times more 
than fifteen (15) minutes apart. (3-20-20)T

b. Murmur lasting more than twenty-four (24) hours immediately following birth. (3-20-20)T

c. Cardiac arrhythmia. (3-20-20)T

d. Congenital anomalies. (3-20-20)T

e. Birth injury. (3-20-20)T

f. Clinical evidence of prematurity, including but not limited to, low birth weight of less than two 
thousand five hundred (2,500) grams, smooth soles of feet, or immature genitalia. (3-20-20)T

g. Any jaundice in the first twenty-four (24) hours after birth or significant jaundice at any time.
(3-20-20)T

h. No stool for more than twenty-four (24) hours immediately following birth. (3-20-20)T

i. No urine output for more than twenty-four (24) hours. (3-20-20)T

j. Development of persistent poor feeding effort at any time. (3-20-20)T

361. -- 449. (RESERVED)

450. UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT.

01. Standards of Conduct. If a licensed midwife or an applicant for licensure, renewal, or 
reinstatement has engaged in unprofessional conduct, the Board may refuse to issue, renew, or reinstate the 
applicant’s license and may discipline the licensee. Unprofessional conduct includes, without limitation, those 
actions defined in Section 54-5510, Idaho Code, and any of the following: (3-20-20)T

a. Having a license suspended, revoked, or otherwise disciplined in this or any other state or 
jurisdiction; (3-20-20)T

b. Having been convicted of any felony, or of a lesser crime that reflects adversely on the person’s 
fitness to be a licensed midwife. Such lesser crimes include, but are not limited to, any crime involving the delivery of 
health care services, dishonesty, misrepresentation, theft, or an attempt, conspiracy or solicitation of another to 
commit a felony or such lesser crimes. (3-20-20)T

c. Violating any standards of conduct set forth in these rules, whether or not specifically labeled as 
such, and including without limitation any scope and practice standards, record-keeping requirements, notice 
requirements, or requirements for documenting informed consent. (3-20-20)T

02. Discipline. If the Board determines that a licensed midwife has engaged in unprofessional conduct, 
it may impose discipline against the licensed midwife that includes, without limitation, the following: (3-20-20)T

a. Require that a licensed midwife practice midwifery under the supervision of another health care 
provider. The Board may specify the nature and extent of the supervision and may require the licensed midwife to 
enter into a consultation, collaboration, proctoring, or supervisory agreement, written or otherwise, with the other 
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health care provider; (3-20-20)T

b. Suspend or revoke a license; (3-20-20)T

c. Impose a civil fine not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) for each violation of the Board’s 
laws and rules; and (3-20-20)T

d. Order payment of the costs and fees incurred by the Board for the investigation and prosecution of 
the violation of the Board’s laws and rules. (3-20-20)T

451. -- 999. (RESERVED)


