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IDAPA 57 — SEXUAL OFFENDER MANAGEMENT BOARD
DOCKET NO. 57-0101-2000F (FEE RULE)
NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING — ADOPTION OF TEMPORARY RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule being adopted through this omnibus rulemaking is the
adjournment date of the second regular session of the 65th Idaho State Legislature - March 20, 2020.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given this agency has adopted a
temporary rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 18-8314, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons
for adopting a temporary rule:

This temporary rule adopts the following chapter under IDAPA 57:

IDAPA 57
e 57.01.01, Rules Governing the Sexual Offender Management Board

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and
confer a benefit on its citizens. These temporary rules implement the duly enacted laws of the state of Idaho, provide
citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the orderly execution and
enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and processes would undermine
the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the benefit intended by these rules.

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), the Governor has found that the fee(s) or charge(s) being
imposed or increased is justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fee(s) is described herein:

The fees or charges, authorized in Section 18-8314, Idaho Code, are part of the agency’s 2021 budget that relies
upon the existence of these fees or charges to meet the state’s obligations and provide necessary state services. Failing
to reauthorize these temporary rules would create immediate danger to the state budget, immediate danger to
necessary state functions and services, and immediate danger of a violation of Idaho’s constitutional requirement that
it balance its budget.

The following is a specific description of the fees or charges:

Seventy-five dollars ($75) for initial certification applications and fifty dollars ($50) for biennial certification
renewal applications for: senior/approved level psychosexual evaluators, associate/supervised level sexual offender
treatment provider, and associate/supervised level post-conviction sexual offender polygraph examiners.

Fifty dollars ($50) for initial certification application and thirty dollars ($30) for annual certification renewal
applications for entry-level provisional/supervised psychosexual evaluators and provisional/supervised sexual
offender treatment providers.

There is an option for certificate holders to seek a 60-day extension to submit proof of completing continuing
education requirements upon renewal of certification. There is a $25 fee for this 60-day extension.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary
rule, contact Nancy Volle at (208) 658-2002.

DATED this 14th day of February, 2020.

Nancy Volle 1299 N. Orchard St., Ste #110
SOMB Program Manager Boise, ID 83706
Sexual Offender Management Board Phone: (208) 658-2002; Fax: (208) 287-3322
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IDAPA 57 — SEXUAL OFFENDER MANAGEMENT BOARD

57.01.01 - RULES OF THE SEXUAL OFFENDER MANAGEMENT BOARD

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.

This chapter is adopted under the legal authority of Section 18-8314(3), Idaho Code, to implement the provisions of
Sections 18-8312 through 18-8316, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T
001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. These rules are titled IDAPA 57.01.01, “Rules of the Sexual Offender Management Board.”
(3-20-20)T

02. Scope. These rules provide procedures for the Sexual Offender Management Board to: (3-20-20)T

a. Establish certified evaluator, sexual offender treatment provider and post conviction sexual
offender polygraph examiner qualifications; (3-20-20)T
b. Establish standards for psychosexual evaluations and sexual offender treatment programs based on
current and evolving best practices; (3-20-20)T
c. Approve, issue, renew, deny, suspend, revoke, restrict or otherwise monitor a certification;
(3-20-20)T
d. Establish fees for initial and renewal certification; (3-20-20)T
e. Establish procedures for standards and qualification quality assurance; and (3-20-20)T
f. Establish standard protocols for sexual offender management, assessment and classification.
(3-20-20)T

03. Relationship to the Department of Correction. The Board is created within the Idaho
Department of Correction, and relies upon the department for fiscal and administrative support. The governor
appoints the Board members. The powers and duties of the Board are separate from the Department of Correction,
and are set forth in Section 18-8314, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

002. ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS.
The “Idaho Rules of Administrative Procedure of the Attorney General,” IDAPA 04.11.01, Sections 000 through 799

apply to contested cases of the Board. (3-20-20)T
003. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
The following documents are incorporated by reference into these rules: (3-20-20)T
01. “Bylaws and Constitution of the American Association of Police Polygraphists,” effective
May, 2010, is herein incorporated by reference and is available from the American Association of Police
Polygraphists, PO Box 657, Waynesville, Ohio 45068, website http://www.policepolygraph.org/. (3-20-20)T
02. “Bylaws of the American Polygraph Association,” effective March 2018, is herein incorporated
by reference and is available from the American Polygraph Association, PO Box 8037, Chattanooga, Tennessee
37414, website http://www.polygraph.org/. (3-20-20)T

03. “Idaho Sexual Offender Management Board Standards and Guidelines for Adult Sexual
Offender Management Practices,” December 2019 revision, is herein incorporated by reference and is available
from the Board’s office and on the Board website, http://somb.idaho.gov/. (3-20-20)T

04. “Idaho Sexual Offender Management Board Standards and Guidelines for Practitioners,
Evaluations and Treatment of Juvenile Sexual Offenders,” December 2019 revision, is herein incorporated by
reference and is available from the Board's office and on the Board's website, http://somb.idaho.gov/. (3-20-20)T

0s. The Sexual Offender Management Board's “Required Format for Juvenile Psychosexual
Evaluation Reports,” December 2019 revision, is herein incorporated by reference and is available from the Board's
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office and on the Board's website, http://somb.idaho.gov/. (3-20-20)T

06. The Sexual Offender Management Board’s “Required Format for Adult Psychosexual
Evaluation Reports,” December 2019 revision, is herein incorporated by reference and is available from the Board’s
office and on the Board’s website, http://somb.idaho.gov/. (3-20-20)T

00s. PUBLIC RECORDS ACT COMPLIANCE.

01. Administrative Rules. The rules contained herein are promulgated pursuant to Title 67, Chapter
52, Idaho Code, and are public records. (3-20-20)T

02. Public Records Requests. Requests for public information are processed in compliance with the
Idaho Public Records Act, Title 74, Chapter 1, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

006. -- 009. (RESERVED)
010. DEFINITIONS.

01. Board. The Sexual Offender Management Board described in Section 18-8312, Idaho Code.
(3-20-20)T

02. Central Roster. A roster of evaluators, treatment providers and polygraph examiners, who meet
the qualifications and are certified by the Board to conduct psychosexual evaluations, provide sexual offender
treatment or conduct post-conviction sexual offender polygraphs. (3-20-20)T

03. Certificate Holder. A person who has been approved by the Board and certified as meeting
qualifications to conduct or assist in the conduct of psychosexual evaluations, provide sexual offender treatment or
conduct post conviction sexual offender polygraphs. (3-20-20)T

04. Certified Evaluator. Either a psychiatrist licensed by this state pursuant to Title 54, Chapter 18,
Idaho Code, or a master’s or doctoral level mental health professional licensed by this state pursuant to Title 54,
Chapters 23, 32, or 34, Idaho Code. The evaluator shall have by education, experience, and training, expertise in the
assessment and treatment of sexual offenders, meet the qualifications, and be approved by the Board to perform
psychosexual evaluations in this state, as described in Section 18-8314, Idaho Code. A person meeting this definition
may be certified by the Board as either a senior/approved certified evaluator or an associate/supervised certified
evaluator. (3-20-20)T

0s. Certified Post Conviction Sex Offender Polygraph Examiner. A polygraph examiner who has
received specialized post conviction sexual offender testing training, and who is certified by the Board to conduct
post conviction sexual offender polygraph examinations as ordered or required by the court, Idaho Department of
Correction, or Idaho Commission for Pardons and Parole. A person meeting this definition may be certified by the
Board as either a senior/approved post conviction sexual offender polygraph examiner or an associate/supervised post
conviction sexual offender polygraph examiner. (3-20-20)T

06. Certified Treatment Provider. A person who has been certified by the Board as meeting
qualifications to provide sexual offender treatment as ordered by the court, Idaho Department of Correction, Idaho
Commission for Pardons and Parole, or Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections. Such person shall be licensed by
this state or another state or jurisdiction as a psychiatrist, or a master’s or doctoral level mental health professional,
and who has by education, experience and training, expertise in the treatment of sexual offenders. A person meeting
this definition may be certified by the Board as either a senior/approved sex offender treatment provider or an

associate/supervised sex offender treatment provider. (3-20-20)T
07. Client. An adult or juvenile receiving services from a person certified by the Board pursuant to
Section 18-8314, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

08. Established Standards. The “Idaho Sexual Offender Management Board Standards and
Guidelines for Adult Sexual Offender Management Practices” and the “Idaho Sexual Offender Management Board
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Standards and Guidelines for Practitioners, Evaluations and Treatment of Juvenile Sexual Offenders” as referenced in
Section 004 of these rules and established pursuant to Section 18-8314, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

09. Provisional/Supervised Psychosexual Evaluator. A person with limited clinical experience and
specialized training, who may be licensed or is working toward licensure as a psychiatrist or master’s or doctoral
level mental health professional, who is authorized by the Board to assist with the conduct of psychosexual
evaluations under the clinical supervision of a senior/approved psychosexual evaluator. A person with a provisional/
supervised psychosexual evaluator certificate is not considered to be a certified evaluator as defined in Section 18-
8303, Idaho Code or for the purposes of conducting a psychosexual evaluation in accordance with Section 18-8316,
Idaho Code. Certification approval is specific to adult or juvenile clients. (3-20-20)T

10. Provisional/Supervised Sex Offender Treatment Provider. A person with limited clinical
experience and specialized training, who may be licensed or is working toward licensure as a psychiatrist or master’s
or doctoral level mental health professional, who is authorized by the Board to provide sexual offender treatment
under the clinical supervision of a senior/approved sex offender treatment provider. Certification approval is specific
to adult or juvenile clients. (3-20-20)T

11. Psychosexual Evaluation. A comprehensive evaluation and assessment specifically addressing a
person’s sexual development, sexual deviancy, sexual history and risk of re-offense. A psychosexual evaluation for
the purpose of these rules is conducted post conviction, as ordered by the court pursuant to Section 18-8316, Idaho
Code, or Title 20, Chapter 5, Idaho Code, by a person who has been certified by the Board. (3-20-20)T

12. Quality Assurance. Processes established by the Board to review psychosexual evaluations and
sexual offender treatment procedures to assure minimum standards and certificate holder qualifications are met. All
quality assurance reviews will be conducted under the direction of the Board. (3-20-20)T

13. Sexual Offender. A person adjudicated or convicted of an offense as listed in Section 18-8304,
Idaho Code, or a substantially equivalent offense under the laws of another state, territory, commonwealth, or other
jurisdiction of the United States including tribal courts and military courts; or who has been adjudicated or convicted
of a sexual offense-related crime. (3-20-20)T

14. Sexual Offender Classification Board. A board in effect from 1998 to 2011 that determined
whether a sexual offender should be designated as a violent sexual predator; set certified evaluator qualifications and

standards; and administered an evaluator certification process. (3-20-20)T
15. Supervision. (3-20-20)T
a. For purposes of clinical practice supervision for associate/supervised psychosexual evaluator or

associate/supervised sex offender treatment provider certification, supervision is generally considered as face-to-face

direct contact, documented teleconferencing, or interactive video conferencing with a Board-approved supervisor

using a ratio of one (1) hour of clinical supervision for every twenty (20) hours of direct service provided; or
(3-20-20)T

b. For purposes of clinical practice supervision for provisional/supervised psychosexual evaluator or
provisional/supervised treatment provider certification, supervision is considered as continual face-to-face direct
contact with a Board-approved supervisor for the first two hundred fifty (250) hours of direct service provided
followed by face-to-face direct contact with a Board-approved supervisor using a ratio of one (1) hour of clinical
supervision for every fifteen (15) hours of direct service provided; or (3-20-20)T

c. For purposes of supervision for associate/supervised post conviction sexual offender polygraph
examiners, supervision is generally considered as face-to-face direct contact with a Board-approved supervisor
during conduct of the supervisee’s first five (5) PCSOT polygraphs followed by review by a Board-approved
supervisor of one (1) PCSOT polygraph for every five (5) PCSOT polygraphs conducted by the supervisee. Such
review shall include chart and report review. (3-20-20)T

16. Treatment. For purposes of certification eligibility the provision of face-to-face individual, group,
or family therapy with a person who has been investigated by law enforcement or child protective services for

Section 010 Page 5



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 57.01.01 — Rules of the
Sexual Offender Management Board Sexual Offender Management Board

commission of a sexual offense, or who has been adjudicated or convicted of a sexual offense or sexual offense-
related crime. Treatment must be directly relevant to the client’s sexually offending behavior. (3-20-20)T

17. Violent Sexual Predator. A person who was designated as a violent sexual predator by the Sexual
Offender Classification Board where such designation has not been removed by judicial action or otherwise.
(3-20-20)T

011. ABBREVIATIONS.

01. APA. The American Polygraph Association. (3-20-20)T
02. PCSOT. “Post conviction sexual offender testing” is specialized instruction beyond the basic
polygraph training for the purpose of specific polygraph testing of post convicted sexual offenders. (3-20-20)T
03. SOCB. The Sexual Offender Classification Board. (3-20-20)T
04. SOMB. The Sexual Offender Management Board. (3-20-20)T

012. -- 019. (RESERVED)
020. RECORDKEEPING.

01. Certificate Holders. Records on all applicants and certifications issued, renewed, denied,
suspended, revoked, or otherwise monitored shall be maintained for a period not less than five (5) years. (3-20-20)T

02. Violent Sexual Predators. The file on a sexual offender who was designated as a violent sexual
predator by the SOCB is maintained by the Board and is considered the official file for all purposes. (3-20-20)T

021. BOARD MEETINGS.

01. Meetings. The Board meets at least quarterly and may meet more frequently. All business of the
Board is conducted in compliance with the open meeting law, pursuant to Title 67, Chapter 23, Idaho Code, and
Section 18-8315, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

02. Agenda. An agenda for each regularly scheduled meeting is posted in compliance with Section 67-
2343, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

022. -- 039. (RESERVED)
040. CERTIFIED EVALUATOR QUALIFICATIONS.

01. Certified Evaluators. Each evaluator who conducts or assists with the conduct of a psychosexual
evaluation pursuant to Section18-8316, Idaho Code, must meet the qualifications as set forth in the established
standards issued by the Board and be certified by the Board. (3-20-20)T

a. Certification approval is specific to adult or juvenile clients. (3-20-20)T

b. A certificate holder may be separately approved to provide services to both adult and juvenile
clients. (3-20-20)T

02. Certification Requirements. Minimum requirements for certification as a psychosexual evaluator
include criteria, requirements, and expectations in the following categories: (3-20-20)T

a. Formal educational requirements; (3-20-20)T

b. Professional licensure requirements; (3-20-20)T
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c. Clinical experience requirements; (3-20-20)T
d. Specialized training requirements; and (3-20-20)T
e. Continuing education and professional development requirements. (3-20-20)T

041. LEVELS OF PSYCHOSEXUAL EVALUATOR CERTIFICATION.
The Board issues certificates within three (3) levels reflective of a person’s training and experience specific to the
population to be served: (3-20-20)T

01. Senior/Approved Psychosexual Evaluator. (3-20-20)T

a. Possesses a valid Idaho license to practice as a psychiatrist or master’s or doctoral level
psychologist, social worker, professional counselor, or marriage and family therapist. (3-20-20)T

b. Has engaged in a combination of direct, face-to-face clinical practice with sexual offenders and
received specialized training for a minimum of one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours. Of this requirement, a
minimum of five hundred (500) combined hours shall have been accumulated within the three (3) years immediately
preceding an initial application for certification at this level, as set forth in the established standards issued by the

Board; and (3-20-20)T
c. Has conducted a minimum of nine (9) psychosexual evaluations within the three (3) years
preceding an initial application for certification at this level. (3-20-20)T
02. Associate/Supervised Psychosexual Evaluator. (3-20-20)T
a. Possesses a valid Idaho license to practice as a psychiatrist or master’s or doctoral level
psychologist, social worker, professional counselor, or marriage and family therapist. (3-20-20)T
b. Has engaged in a combination of supervised direct, face-to-face clinical practice with sexual

offenders and received specialized training for a minimum of five hundred (500) hours. Of this requirement, a
minimum of three hundred (300) combined hours shall have been accumulated within the three (3) years immediately
preceding an initial application for certification at this level, as set forth in the established standards issued by the

Board; (3-20-20)T
c. Has conducted a minimum of six (6) psychosexual evaluations within the three (3) years preceding
an initial application for certification at this level; and (3-20-20)T
d. Shall only conduct psychosexual evaluations under the clinical practice supervision of a Board-
approved supervisor as defined in Paragraph 010.15.a. of these rules, and under the terms of a formal clinical
supervision agreement. (3-20-20)T
03. Provisional/Supervised Psychosexual Evaluator. (3-20-20)T
a. Possesses or is currently enrolled in a graduate program of study toward the attainment of a

master’s or doctoral degree, preferably with an emphasis on the application of forensic clinical practice; (3-20-20)T

b. Possesses or is pursuing a valid license to practice as a psychiatrist or master’s or doctoral level
psychologist, social worker, professional counselor, or marriage and family therapist; (3-20-20)T
c. May assist with the conduct of psychosexual evaluations only under the clinical supervision of a

Board-approved supervisor as defined in Paragraph 010.15.b. of these rules, and under the terms of a formal clinical
supervision agreement. Face-to-face supervision is required when providing direct clinical services to sex offenders.
(3-20-20)T

042. - 079. (RESERVED)
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080. SEXUAL OFFENDER TREATMENT PROVIDER QUALIFICATIONS.

01. Certified Sexual Offender Treatment Provider. Each person who provides treatment to sexual
offenders as ordered or required by the court, Idaho Department of Correction, Idaho Commission for Pardons and
Parole, or the Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections, in accordance with Section 18-8314, Idaho Code, must meet
the qualifications as set forth in the established standards issued by the Board and be certified by the Board.

(3-20-20)T

a. Certification approval is specific to adult or juvenile clients. (3-20-20)T

b. A certificate holder may be separately approved to provide services to both adult and juvenile

clients. (3-20-20)T
02. Certification Requirements. Minimum requirements for certification as a sexual offender
treatment provider include criteria, requirements, and expectations in the following categories: (3-20-20)T
a. Formal educational requirements; (3-20-20)T

b. Professional licensure requirements; (3-20-20)T

c. Clinical experience requirements; (3-20-20)T

d. Specialized training requirements; and (3-20-20)T

e. Continuing education and professional development requirements. (3-20-20)T

081. LEVELS OF SEXUAL OFFENDER TREATMENT PROVIDER CERTIFICATION.
The Board issues certificates within three (3) levels reflective of a person’s training and experience specific to the

population to be served: (3-20-20)T

01. Senior/Approved Sexual Offender Treatment Provider. (3-20-20)T

a. Possesses a valid license to practice in this state or another state or jurisdiction as a psychiatrist or
master’s or doctoral level psychologist, social worker, professional counselor, or marriage and family therapist; and

(3-20-20)T

b. Has engaged in a combination of direct, face-to-face clinical practice with sexual offenders and

received specialized training for a minimum of one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours. Of this requirement, a
minimum of five hundred (500) combined hours shall have been accumulated within the three (3) years immediately
preceding an initial application for certification at this level, as set forth in the established standards issued by the

Board. (3-20-20)T

02. Associate/Supervised Sexual Offender Treatment Provider. (3-20-20)T

a. Possesses a valid license to practice in this state or another state or jurisdiction as a psychiatrist or
master’s or doctoral level psychologist, social worker, professional counselor, or marriage and family therapist.

(3-20-20)T

b. Has engaged in a combination of supervised direct, face-to-face clinical practice with sexual

offenders and received specialized training for a minimum of five hundred (500) hours. Of this requirement, a
minimum of three hundred (300) combined hours shall have been accumulated within the three (3) years immediately
preceding an initial application for certification at this level, as set forth in the established standards issued by the

Board; and (3-20-20)T

c. Shall only provide treatment services under the clinical practice supervision of a Board-approved
supervisor as defined in Paragraph 010.15.a. of these rules, and under the terms of a formal clinical supervision
agreement. (3-20-20)T
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03. Provisional/Supervised Sexual Offender Treatment Provider. (3-20-20)T

a. Possesses or is currently enrolled in a graduate program of study toward the attainment of a
master’s or doctoral degree, preferably with an emphasis on the application of forensic clinical practice; and
(3-20-20)T

b. Possesses or is pursuing a valid license to practice as a psychiatrist or master’s or doctoral level
psychologist, social worker, professional counselor, or marriage and family therapist. (3-20-20)T

c. Shall only provide treatment services under the clinical supervision of a Board-approved supervisor
as defined in Paragraph 010.15.b. of these rules, and under the terms of a formal clinical supervision agreement.
Face-to-face supervision is required when providing direct clinical services to sex offenders. (3-20-20)T

082. -- 099. (RESERVED)

100. SPECIALIZED TRAINING FOR PSYCHOSEXUAL EVALUATORS AND SEXUAL OFFENDER
TREATMENT PROVIDERS.

For initial certification as a psychosexual evaluator or sexual offender treatment provider, an applicant must have
participated in specialized training in the field of sexual abuse, as set forth in the established standards issued by the
Board. Sources for such training may be formal conferences, symposia, seminars and workshops in areas such as:

(3-20-20)T

01. Sexually Abusive Behavior. Contemporary research regarding the etiology of sexually abusive

behavior; (3-20-20)T

02. Offending Behavior. Research-identified risk factors for the development and continuation of

sexually abusive/offending behavior; (3-20-20)T

03. Assessment, Treatment, and Management of Adult or Juvenile Sex Offenders. Contemporary
research and practice in the areas of assessment, treatment, and management of adult or juvenile sex offenders;

(3-20-20)T

04. Specific Risk Assessment Tools. Research-supported, sex offender-specific risk assessment tools;

and (3-20-20)T

05. Deviant Sexual Arousal and/or Interests. Physiological assessment of deviant sexual arousal

and/or interests. (3-20-20)T

101. CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR PSYCHOSEXUAL EVALUATORS AND SEXUAL
OFFENDER TREATMENT PROVIDERS.

To maintain certification as a psychosexual evaluator or sexual offender treatment provider, a certificate holder must
receive continuing education in the field of sexual abuse. (3-20-20)T

01. Senior/Approved and Associate/Supervised Certification Levels. A psychosexual evaluator or
sexual offender treatment provider who is certified at a senior/approved or an associate/supervised level must receive
a minimum of forty (40) hours of specialized continuing education in the form of formal conferences, symposia,
seminars, workshops or on-line training over the course of the two-year period prior to each renewal period as set
forth in the established standards issued by the Board. A certificate holder not meeting the continuing education
requirements may formally petition the SOMB for a sixty-day extension to submit proof of meeting continuing
education requirements. (3-20-20)T

02. Provisional/Supervised Certification Level. A provisional/supervised psychosexual evaluator or
sexual offender treatment provider must receive a minimum of twenty (20) hours of specialized continuing education
in the form of formal conferences, symposia, seminars, workshops or on-line training annually as set forth in the
established standards issued by the Board. A certificate holder not meeting the continuing education requirements
may formally petition the SOMB for a sixty-day extension to submit proof of meeting continuing education

Section 100 Page 9



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 57.01.01 — Rules of the
Sexual Offender Management Board Sexual Offender Management Board

requirements. (3-20-20)T
102. -- 149. (RESERVED)
150. REQUEST FOR CONDITIONAL WAIVER.

01. Conditional Waiver. The Board may consider an initial applicant’s request for a time limited
conditional waiver for deficiencies in experience and specialized training qualifications as set forth in the established
standards issued by the Board. (3-20-20)T

02. Duration. A conditional waiver is limited to a period of two (2) years. Conditional waivers may
not be extended or renewed after the third year. (3-20-20)T

03. Frequency. A conditional waiver request shall only be considered one (1) time for an initial
certification application for psychosexual evaluator and sexual offender treatment provider applicants at the senior/
approved or associate/supervised level. (3-20-20)T

151. (RESERVED)

152. RECIPROCITY.

The Board may consider reciprocity for any applicant who has been licensed or certified to conduct psychosexual
evaluations or sexual offender treatment in another state or jurisdiction as set forth in the established standards issued
by the Board. (3-20-20)T

153. EXCLUSION.

Each mental health employee of the Idaho Department of Correction or Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections
who conducts psychosexual evaluations or provides sexual offender treatment is exempt from the certification
process. This exemption shall only apply while the employee is acting within the course and scope of his employment
with the applicable agency. (3-20-20)T

154. REQUEST FOR CHANGE IN CERTIFICATION LEVEL.

01. Request to Advance in Level of Certification. A certificate holder may apply at any time during
an effective certification to advance to the next higher level of certification provided that he meets the established
qualifications and requirements as set forth in the established standards issued by the Board. (3-20-20)T

02. Request to Change to a Less Independent Level of Certification. A certificate holder may apply
at any time during an effective certification for a reduction in his level of certification in the event that he no longer
meets the established qualifications and requirements for his current level of certification as set forth in the
established standards issued by the Board. (3-20-20)T

155. APPLICATION FOR CHANGE IN CERTIFICATION LEVEL.
Application for change in certification level shall be on a form provided by the Board and submitted with the required
supporting documentation and applicable renewal application processing fee: (3-20-20)T

01. Advance to Senior/Approved Level of Certification Application Fee. A non-refundable renewal
application fee payable to the Board in the amount of fifty dollars ($50) provided that the application is submitted
three hundred sixty-five (365) days or more after the most recent effective certification date. The application fee shall
be waived if submission is within three hundred sixty-five (365) days from the most recent effective certification
date. (3-20-20)T

02. Advance to Associate/Supervised Level of Certification Application Fee. A non-refundable
renewal application fee payable to the Board in the amount of thirty dollars ($30) provided that the application is
submitted three hundred sixty-five (365) days or more after the most recent effective certification date. The
application fee shall be waived if submission is within three hundred sixty-five (365) days from the most recent
effective certification date. (3-20-20)T
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03. Change to a Less Independent Level of Certification Application Fee. A non-refundable
renewal application fee payable to the Board in the amount of fifty dollars ($50) provided that the application is
submitted three hundred sixty-five (365) days or more after the most recent effective certification date. The
application fee shall be waived if submission is within three hundred sixty-five (365) days from the most recent
effective certification date. (3-20-20)T

156. -- 199. (RESERVED)
200. POST CONVICTION SEXUAL OFFENDER POLYGRAPH EXAMINER QUALIFICATIONS.

01. Certified Examiner. Each person who conducts post conviction sexual offender polygraphs as
ordered or required by the court, Idaho Department of Correction, or Idaho Commission for Pardons and Parole, in

accordance with Section 18-8314, Idaho Code, must meet the qualifications as set forth in the established standards
issued by the Board and be certified by the Board. There shall not be a separate certification specific to adult or

juvenile clients. (3-20-20)T
02. Certification Requirements. Minimum requirements for certification as a sexual offender
treatment provider include criteria and requirements in the following categories: (3-20-20)T
a. Educational requirements; (3-20-20)T
b. Experience requirements; (3-20-20)T
c. Specialized training requirements; and (3-20-20)T
d. Continuing education and professional development requirements. (3-20-20)T

201. LEVELS OF POST CONVICTION SEXUAL OFFENDER POLYGRAPH EXAMINER
CERTIFICATION.
The Board issues certificates within two (2) levels reflective of a person’s experience in conducting post conviction

sexual offender polygraphs. (3-20-20)T
01. Senior/Approved Post Conviction Sexual Offender Polygraph Examiner. (3-20-20)T
a. Has graduated from an APA-accredited polygraph school; (3-20-20)T
b. Has successfully completed a minimum of forty (40) hours of formal post conviction sexual
offender polygraph testing beyond the basic polygraph training course requirements from an APA-accredited
program or school; and (3-20-20)T
c. Has successfully completed a minimum of one hundred (100) polygraph examinations. Of this

requirement, a minimum of ten (10) sexual history polygraph examinations and a minimum of ten (10) PCSOT
maintenance polygraph examinations shall have been conducted within the three (3) years immediately preceding an
initial application for certification at this level, as set forth in the established standards issued by the Board;

(3-20-20)T

02. Associate/Supervised Post Conviction Sexual Offender Polygraph Examiner. (3-20-20)T

a. Has graduated from an APA-accredited polygraph school; (3-20-20)T

b. Has successfully completed a minimum of forty (40) hours of formal post conviction sexual
offender polygraph testing beyond the basic polygraph training course requirements from an APA-accredited
program or school; and (3-20-20)T
c. Shall only conduct polygraphs under the supervision of a Board-approved supervisor as defined in
Paragraph 010.15.c. of these rules, and under the terms of a formal supervision agreement. (3-20-20)T
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202. -- 230. (RESERVED)

231. CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR POST CONVICTION SEXUAL OFFENDER POLYGRAPH
EXAMINERS.

To maintain certification as a post conviction sexual offender polygraph examiner, a certificate holder must receive a
minimum of thirty (30) hours of continuing education related to the field of polygraphy in the form of formal
conferences, symposia, seminars, or workshops over the course of the two-year period prior to each renewal period as
set forth in the established standards issued by the Board. A certificate holder not meeting the continuing education
requirements may formally petition the SOMB for a sixty-day extension to submit proof of meeting continuing
education requirements. (3-20-20)T

232.--299. (RESERVED)
300. STANDARDS FOR PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT AND CLIENT RELATIONS.

01. General Considerations for Certified Evaluators and Certified Treatment Providers. Each
person who is certified by the Board to conduct or assist with the conduct of psychosexual evaluations or provide
sexual offender treatment shall: (3-20-20)T

a. Adbhere to the ethical principles and codes, and all practice standards and guidelines for the person’s
respective discipline and area of professional licensure; (3-20-20)T

b. Be knowledgeable of statutes and scientific data relevant to specialized sexual offender evaluation
and sexual offender treatment; (3-20-20)T

Be familiar with the statutory requirements for assessments and reports for the courts, pursuant to
Section 18 8316, Idaho Code; (3-20-20)T

d. Be committed to community protection and safety; (3-20-20)T

e. Provide services in a manner that ensures humane and ethical treatment of clients; (3-20-20)T

f. Conduct testing in accordance with the person’s licensing body, qualifications and experience, and
in a manner that ensures the integrity of testing data; (3-20-20)T

g. Avoid relationships with clients that may constitute a conflict of interest, impair professional
judgment and risk exploitation; and (3-20-20)T

h. Have no sexual relationships with any client. (3-20-20)T

02. General Considerations for Certified Post Conviction Sexual Offender Polygraph Examiners.
Each person who is certified by the Board to conduct post conviction sexual offender polygraph examinations shall:

(3-20-20)T

a. Adhere to the ethical principles and codes, and all practice standards and guidelines for the person’s
discipline, area of professional practice, or licensure as promulgated by any applicable regulatory board or licensing
authority; (3-20-20)T

b. Adhere to the standards and guidelines specific to post conviction sexual offender testing as
promulgated by the APA; (3-20-20)T

c. Adhere to the ethical principles and codes, and all practice standards and guidelines for the
administration of polygraph examinations generally, as promulgated by the APA or the American Association of
Police Polygraphists, as referenced in Section 004 of these rules; (3-20-20)T

d. Avoid relationships with clients that may constitute a conflict of interest, impair professional
judgment and risk exploitation; (3-20-20)T
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e. Have no sexual relationships with any client; (3-20-20)T
f. Take factors such as age, mental capacity and co-occurring mental health concerns into
consideration when utilizing polygraphy with juvenile offenders; (3-20-20)T
g. Be committed to community protection and safety; and (3-20-20)T
h. Provide services in a manner that ensures humane and ethical treatment of clients. (3-20-20)T

301. - 329. (RESERVED)

330. INITIAL CERTIFICATION APPLICATION.

An applicant seeking certification by the Board must submit a completed application on forms provided by the Board
for the applicant’s area of practice and client population, if applicable, accompanied by documentation as outlined in
the established standards issued by the Board and an initial certification application fee made payable to the Board.

(3-20-20)T

331. EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATION.
No certification shall be renewed, except as follows: (3-20-20)T
01. Renewal. At least thirty (30) days prior to the expiration of a certification, a certificate holder shall

apply for renewal of the certification on forms provided by the Board for the applicant’s area of practice and client
population, if applicable, accompanied by documentation as outlined in the established standards issued by the Board

and a renewal certification application fee made payable to the Board. (3-20-20)T

02. Removal from the Roster. A certificate holder who has not renewed his certification shall be

removed from the central roster. (3-20-20)T

03. Renewal After Certification Expiration. A certificate holder whose certification has expired may

reapply at any time for certification as follows: (3-20-20)T

a. A certificate holder whose certification has been expired for less than three hundred sixty-five

(365) days may reapply following the certification renewal process as referenced in Subsection 331.01 of these rules.

(3-20-20)T

b. A certificate holder whose certification has been expired for three hundred sixty-five (365) days or

longer may reapply for certification following the initial certification process as referenced in Section 330 of these

rules. (3-20-20)T

332. FEES.

The following non-refundable application processing fees are established by the Board: (3-20-20)T

01. Initial Certification. Application processing fees for initial certification are: (3-20-20)T

Senior/Approved Psychosexual Evaluator, Treatment Provider, or Post Conviction Sexual Offender

Polygraph Examiner — Seventy-five dollars ($75). (3-20-20)T

b. Associate/Supervised Psychosexual Evaluator, Treatment Provide, or Post Conviction Sexual

Offender Polygraph Examiner — Seventy-five dollars ($75). (3-20-20)T
c. Provisional/Supervised Psychosexual Evaluator or Treatment Provider — Fifty dollars ($50).

(3-20-20)T

02. Renewal Certification. Application processing fees for renewal certification are: (3-20-20)T

a. Senior/Approved Psychosexual Evaluator, Treatment Provider, or Post Conviction Sexual Offender
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Polygraph Examiner — Fifty dollars ($50). (3-20-20)T

b. Associate/Supervised Psychosexual Evaluator, Treatment Provider, or Post Conviction Sexual

Offender Polygraph Examiner — Fifty dollars ($50). (3-20-20)T
c. Provisional/Supervised Psychosexual Evaluator or Treatment Provider — Thirty dollars ($30).

(3-20-20)T

03. Change in Certification Level. Application processing fees for a change in certification level are

as referenced in Section 155 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

04. Continuing Education Extension. Application processing fee for a request for an extension of

time to complete continuing education requirements is twenty-five dollars ($25). (3-20-20)T

333. CERTIFICATION PERIOD.

Provided that the certificate holder continues to meet the criteria for certification and such certification has not been
suspended, revoked, otherwise restricted or placed on voluntary inactive status, the effective period for certification is
as follows: (3-20-20)T

01. Senior/Approved Psychosexual Evaluator or Treatment Provider. Certification shall remain in
effect for two (2) years. Certification renewal shall typically occur during the certificate holder’s month of birth two
(2) years following initial certification and every two (2) years thereafter. (3-20-20)T

02. Associate/Supervised Psychosexual Evaluator or Treatment Provider. Certification shall
remain in effect for two (2) years. Certification renewal shall typically occur during the certificate holder’s month of
birth two (2) years following initial certification and every two (2) years thereafter. (3-20-20)T

03. Provisional/Supervised Psychosexual Evaluator or Treatment Provider. Certification shall
remain in effect for one (1) year. Certification renewal shall typically occur during the certificate holder’s month of
birth one (1) year following initial certification and annually thereafter. Certification at the provisional/supervised
level is limited to a period of three (3) years, at which time the certificate holder must meet minimum requirements
for upgrade to the associate/supervised level to be eligible for certification renewal. (3-20-20)T

04. Senior/Approved Post Conviction Sexual Offender Polygraph Examiner. Certification shall
remain in effect for two (2) years. Certification renewal shall typically occur during the certificate holder’s month of
birth two (2) years following initial certification and every two (2) years. (3-20-20)T

0s. Associate/Supervised Post Conviction Sexual Offender Polygraph Examiner. Certification
shall remain in effect for two (2) years from the certificate holder’s month of birth following initial certification.
Thereafter, the certificate holder must meet minimum requirements for upgrade to the senior/approved level to be
eligible for certification renewal. (3-20-20)T

334. APPLICABILITY AND NOTIFICATION OF CHANGES.

Certification shall only apply to the person named therein and is not transferable. The Board must be notified in

writing within thirty (30) days of any change in the certificate holder’s name, business address or phone number.
(3-20-20)T

335. REQUEST FOR PLACEMENT ON INACTIVE STATUS.

Any certificate holder may request placement on inactive status by submitting a written request to the SOMB
specifying the reasons for the request and indicating the inactive status effective date. A certificate holder who is
placed on inactive status shall be removed from the central roster of certified evaluators, treatment providers and post
conviction sexual offender polygraph examiners. A person who has been placed on inactive status may reapply for
certification in accordance with the established standards issued by the Board. (3-20-20)T

336. -- 349. (RESERVED)
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350. CENTRAL ROSTER OF PSYCHOSEXUAL EVALUATORS, SEXUAL OFFENDER
TREATMENT PROVIDERS AND POST CONVICTION SEXUAL OFFENDER POLYGRAPH
EXAMINERS.

01. Identification. The Board shall publish a central roster of psychosexual evaluators, sexual offender
treatment providers and post conviction sexual offender polygraph examiners pursuant to Sections 18-8312 through
18-8316, Idaho Code. The central roster shall indicate: (3-20-20)T

a. The certificate holder’s name; (3-20-20)T

b. The certificate holder’s business address and telephone number; (3-20-20)T

c. Whether the certificate holder is certified or approved by conditional waiver; (3-20-20)T

d. The category and applicable level of certification; (3-20-20)T

e. The expiration date of the certification or conditional waiver; (3-20-20)T

f. Whether the certificate holder is approved to provide services to adult or juvenile clients, or both;
and (3-20-20)T

g. Current formal disciplinary action imposed on a certificate holder by the Board. (3-20-20)T

02. Availability. A copy of the central roster may be obtained from the Board, and shall be posted on
the Board’s website. (3-20-20)T

351. -- 379. (RESERVED)
380. DENIAL AND GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINE.

01. Cause. The Board may deny, suspend, revoke, restrict or otherwise monitor certification of an
applicant or certificate holder for the following reasons: (3-20-20)T

a. Failure to meet or maintain the minimum eligibility criteria and qualifications for certification;
(3-20-20)T

b. Falsification of any information or documentation, or concealing a material fact in the application
for certification, or during any investigation or quality assurance review; (3-20-20)T

c. Misrepresentation of current level or designation of certification, or practicing outside the scope or
current level or designation of certification; (3-20-20)T

d. Failure to comply with Section 18-8316, Idaho Code, any portion of this chapter, or the established
standards issued by the Board; (3-20-20)T

e. Failure to demonstrate an understanding of counter-transference issues and a broad knowledge of
sexuality in the general populations, and basic theories and typologies of sexual offenders and sexual assault victims;
(3-20-20)T

f. Failure or refusal to comply with the quality assurance review process or to cooperate during any
investigation concerning certification, including failure or refusal to provide data, information or records as requested
by the Board or designee; (3-20-20)T

g. Failure to comply with any informal disciplinary measures, remedial steps, corrective action or
final order issued by the Board as a condition of continued certification, 1nclud1ng practicing on a suspended or
restricted certification; (3-20-20)T
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h. Engaging in conduct that departs from the established standards issued by the Board; (3-20-20)T
i. Revocation, suspension, limitation, reprimand, voluntary surrender or any other disciplinary action
or proceeding, including investigation against a hcense certificate or privilege to practice by a professional licensing
board; (3-20-20)T
J- Conviction of, or entry of a withheld judgment or plea of nolo contendre to conduct constituting a
felony or crime of moral turpitude; or (3-20-20)T
k. Failure to notify the Board in writing of any circumstances that affect a certificate holder’s
eligibility for certification, including any disciplinary action taken by a respective professional licensing board or
conviction of any felony or crime of moral turpitude. (3-20-20)T
02. Mirroring Orders. If a state licensing board with authority over a certificate holder’s professional

license takes action against the professional license which suspends, restricts, limits, or affects the certificate holder’s
ability to provide services pursuant to their SOMB certification, the SOMB is authorized to issue an order
suspending, restricting, limiting, or otherwise affecting the certificate holder’s SOMB certification in the same
fashion as the professional licensing board’s action. (3-20-20)T

03. Emergency Suspension. Pursuant to Section 67-5247, Idaho Code, if the Board finds that public
health, safety or welfare requires immediate emergency action the Board may take such action necessary to prevent or
avoid the immediate danger as outlined in the established standards issued by the Board. (3-20-20)T

381. REAPPLICATION FOLLOWING CERTIFICATION DENIAL OR DISCIPLINARY ACTION.

01. Denial. An applicant whose certification was denied may reapply when evidence is available
confirming that he meets the required qualifications for the respective area of practice as referenced in Sections 040,
080 or 200 of these rules; (3-20-20)T

02. Suspension. A person whose certification has been suspended may apply for reinstatement after
the suspension period has expired and following completion of any remedial steps or corrective action ordered by the
Board, as outlined in the established standards issued by the Board; (3-20-20)T

03. Restriction. A person whose certification has been restricted or otherwise monitored may request
removal of the restrictions after the restriction period has expired. If no period of restriction was established, the
request may be made following completion of any remedial steps or corrective action ordered by the Board, as
outlined in the established standards issued by the Board; (3-20-20)T

04. Revocation. A person whose certification has been revoked may request reinstatement after the
revocation period has expired, as outlined in the established standards issued by the Board. The Board shall have
discretion to impose any monitoring conditions upon a certificate holder whose certification has been reinstated
following revocation; (3-20-20)T

0s. Withheld Discipline and Probation. A certificate holder whose formal discipline was withheld
and placed on probationary status may request reinstatement after the probationary period has expired and any
conditions imposed have been met, as outlined in the established standards issued by the Board. (3-20-20)T

382. LEVELS OF DISCIPLINE.
The levels of disciplinary action utilized by the Board against a certificate holder may generally include formal
discipline, informal discipline or withholding formal discipline and probation. (3-20-20)T

383. FORMAL DISCIPLINE.

Formal disciplinary action consists of suspension, revocation or other restrictions. Formal disciplinary actions restrict
or otherwise impede a certificate holder’s ability to perform sexual offender services consistent with their
certification level. (3-20-20)T

384. INFORMAL DISCIPLINE.
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Informal disciplinary action consists of monitoring a certificate holder or issuing letters of informal reprimand or
counseling. Informal disciplinary actions do not restrict or otherwise impede a certificate holder’s ability to perform
sexual offender services consistent with their certification level. (3-20-20)T

385. WITHHOLDING FORMAL DISCIPLINE AND PROBATION.

The Board may withhold the imposition of formal discipline and place the certificate holder on a period of probation
not to exceed two (2) years. The Board may impose any conditions of probation as deemed necessary to ensure
compliance with the established standards issued by the Board. Such probationary conditions may include attendance
at specialized training, review of the certificate holder’s work product by the Board or its designee, or supervised
practice by a senior level certificate holder. Failure to comply with a probationary condition imposed by the Board
may result in the imposition of any suspended disciplinary action. (3-20-20)T

386. COMPLAINTS.
Any individual may file against a certificate holder by submitting a written complaint to the Board, as outlined in the
established standards issued by the Board. (3-20-20)T

01. Initial Review. The Board’s designee shall conduct an initial review of any complaint or
information received to determine if the Board has jurisdiction. (3-20-20)T

02. Investigation. The Board’s designee shall conduct an investigation upon a determination that the
Board has jurisdiction and a possible violation may exist. Investigative findings shall be presented to the Board as
outlined in the established standards issued by the Board. (3-20-20)T

387. DISCIPLINARY PROCESS.

The disciplinary process may be initiated as a result of a complaint received by the Board or a quality assurance
review, or be based upon a review of information submitted to the Board during the certification process, monitoring
process or while under formal probation. (3-20-20)T

388. -- 399, (RESERVED)

400. QUALITY ASSURANCE.
Policies for technical review and quality assurance of psychosexual evaluation reports and sexual offender treatment
services and polygraph examinations are outlined in the established standards issued by the Board. (3-20-20)T

401. -- 449. (RESERVED)
450. PSYCHOSEXUAL EVALUATIONS.

01. Adult Psychosexual Evaluations. Pre-sentence psychosexual evaluations on adult sexual
offenders shall be conducted pursuant to the established standards issued by the Board and written utilizing the
“Required Format for Psychosexual Evaluation Reports,” as referenced in Section 004 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

02. Juvenile Psychosexual Evaluations. Psychosexual evaluations on juveniles adjudicated for sexual
offenses shall be conducted in accordance with the established standards issued by the Board and written utilizing the
“Required Format for Juvenile Psychosexual Evaluation Reports,” incorporated by reference in Section 004 of these
rules. (3-20-20)T

03. Testing. The evaluator shall utilize testing instrumentation and assessment measures as outlined in
the established standards issued by the Board. (3-20-20)T

04. Client Participation. The client being evaluated may refuse or decline to participate in any testing,
assessment measure, or physiological measure used for the pre-sentence psychosexual evaluation. The evaluator shall
document the client’s refusal or declination in the psychosexual evaluation report. (3-20-20)T

451. -- 479. (RESERVED)

480. POLYGRAPH EXAMINATIONS.
Post conviction sexual offender polygraph examinations performed pursuant to an order or requirement by the court
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or requested by the Idaho Department of Correction or Idaho Commission for Pardons and Parole shall be conducted
by a person certified by the Board to conduct such examinations and shall follow the established standards issued by
the Board. (3-20-20)T

481. -- 499, (RESERVED)

500. SEXUAL OFFENDER TREATMENT.

Specialized sexual offender treatment conducted pursuant to an order or requirement by the court, the Idaho
Department of Correction, the Idaho Commission for Pardons and Parole or the Idaho Department of Juvenile
Corrections shall be conducted by a person certified by the Board to conduct such treatment and shall follow the
established standards issued by the Board. (3-20-20)T

501. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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