MINUTES

SENATE HEALTH & WELFARE COMMITTEE

DATE: Tuesday, January 14, 2020

TIME: 3:00 P.M.

PLACE: Room WW54

MEMBERS Chairman Martin, Vice Chair Souza, Senators Heider, Lee, Harris, Burtenshaw,

PRESENT: Bayer, Jordan, and Nelson

ABSENT/ None

EXCUSED:

NOTE: The sign-in sheet, testimonies and other related materials will be retained with

the minutes in the committee's office until the end of the session and will then be

located on file with the minutes in the Legislative Services Library.

Chairman Martin called the meeting of the Senate Health and Welfare Committee CONVENED:

(Committee) to order at 3:00 p.m.

PASSED THE

GAVEL:

Chairman Martin passed the gavel to Vice Chair Souza.

DOCKET NO. Wayne Denny, Bureau Chief, Emergency Medical Services (EMS), Department of 16-0102-1901

Health and Welfare, presented **Docket No. 16-0102-1901**, Department of Health

and Welfare, Emergency Medical Services - Rule Definitions.

MOTION: Senator Heider moved to approve Docket No. 16-0102-1901. Senator Nelson

seconded the motion. The motion carried by voice vote.

DOCKET NO. Wayne Denny, Bureau Chief, Emergency Medical Services (EMS), Department of 16-0103-1901

Health and Welfare, presented **Docket No. 16-0103-1901**, Department of Health and Welfare, EMS - Agency Licensing Requirements. Mr. Denny stated there were two changes: one was a housekeeping change, the other was in the Time Sensitive Emergency (TSE) Manual, to add TSE designation to hospitals and EMS agencies,

and this designation was not mandatory.

DISCUSSION: In response to Committee questions, Mr. Denny explained agencies desiring

the TSE Designation would have to attend meetings. The goal of EMS is for every hospital and EMS agency to desire TSE designation; he doesn't foresee it

becoming mandatory in the future.

MOTION: Senator Bayer moved to approve Docket No. 16-0103-1901. Senator Heider

seconded the motion. The motion carried by voice vote.

DOCKET NO. Mr. Denny presented Docket No. 16-0107-1901, Department of Health and

16-0107-1901 Welfare, EMS Personnel Licensing Requirements. Mr. Denny noted three changes

or additions: Section 103, Recognition of EMS Personnel Licensure Interstate Compact (REPLICA); Section 107, Licensure of Members of the Military, Veterans, and Spouses; and Section 131, Reinstatement of a Lapsed EMS Personnel License, specifically competency certification. Mr. Denny explained the continuing education (CE) and criminal history requirements were kept, but the examination

requirement was removed.

DISCUSSION: In response to Committee questions, Mr. Denny indicated a person who has not

> been an emergency medical technician (EMT) for several years would have two years to meet the reinstatement requirements. There are national standards that have to be met, and a National Registry of EMT's exam must be passed. Currently,

there are 17 states with reciprocity agreements.

MOTION: Chairman Martin moved to approve Docket No. 16-0107-1901. Senator Heider seconded the motion. The motion carried by voice vote. DOCKET NO. Nicole Fitzgerald, Executive Director, Idaho Council on Domestic Violence 16-0504-1901 and Victim Assistance, presented Docket No. 16-0504-1901, Department of Health and Welfare, Rules of the Idaho Council on Domestic Violence and Victim Assistance Grant Funding. Ms. Fitzgerald explained this docket realigns with federal requirements. Ms. Fitzgerald clarified the term "share a child in common" included a family or a household. Another clarification was the term "victim" regarding the terms of sexual and psychological abuse that were added. Ms. Fitzgerald explained the terms were added as a result of comments received during the comment period and not due to any federal requirement. MOTION: Senator Jordan moved to approve Docket No. 16-0504-1901. Senator Lee seconded the motion. The motion carried by voice vote. PASSED THE Vice Chair Souza passed the gavel to Chairman Martin. GAVEL: ADJOURNED: There being no further business at this time, Chairman Martin adjourned the meeting at 3:36 p.m. Margo Miller Senator Martin Secretary Chair