## MINUTES

## **HOUSE AGRICULTURAL AFFAIRS COMMITTEE**

DAIE:	Monday, March 16, 2020
TIME:	1:30 P.M.
PLACE:	Room EW42
MEMBERS:	Chairman Boyle, Vice Chairman Troy (Seegmiller), Representatives Kerby, Stevenson, Zito, Andrus, Giddings, Goesling, Marshall, Nichols, Raymond, Kiska, Toone, Abernathy, McCrostie
ABSENT/ EXCUSED:	Rep. Abernathy, McCrostie, Giddings and Seegmiller
GUESTS:	Steve Becker, IASCD; Lynn Tominaga, IGWA
	Chairman Boyle called the meeting to order at 1:35 p.m.
MOTION:	<b>Rep. Kiska</b> made a motion to approve the minutes of Tuesday, March 10, and Thursday, March 12, 2020 meetings. <b>Motion carried by voice vote.</b>
	<b>Chairman Boyle</b> thanked the Committee Page, <b>Kaela Davis</b> for her work this Session, she also thanked the Secretary, <b>Joan Majors</b> .
RS 28014:	<b>Rep. Boyle</b> explained this concurrent resolution approves and extends, with exceptions, Administrative Rules reviewed by the House Agriculture Committee and the Senate Agriculture Committee.
MOTION:	Rep. Goesling made a motion to introduce RS 28014 and recommend it be sent directly to the Second Reading Calendar. Motion carried by voice vote. Rep. Boyle will sponsor the bill on the floor.
	Steve Becker, President of Idaho Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts detailed the Misson Creek Bridge project as an example of the types of projects accomplished by IASWD throughout the districts. He said the association's philosophy is that conservation decisions be made by local people with technical and funding assistance from federal, state and local governments and the private sector. Mr. Becker explained the division of the budget, and stated several districts are struggling to run their programs under current funding. He said they hope in the future to be able to secure more funding. He said the stewardship of our state's soil and water resources is a responsibility all Idaho citizens share and the conservation districts are the leaders of non-regulatory, locally led natural resource conservation in Idaho.
	<b>Chairman Boyle</b> expressed her appreciation for the work of the Committee this session.
ADJOURN:	There being no further business to come before the committee at this time, the meeting was adjourned at 2:06 p.m.
Representative B	byle Joan Majors
Chair	Secretary