MINUTES

Approved by Council Legislative Council Wednesday, May 12, 2021 11:00 A.M. EW42 Boise, Idaho

Pro Tem Winder called the meeting to order at 11:08 a.m.; a silent roll call was taken.

Legislative Council (Council) members in attendance: Speaker Scott Bedke, Pro Tem Chuck Winder, Senators Kelly Arthur Anthon, Carl Crabtree, Dave Lent, Michelle Stennett, Grant Burgoyne, and Melissa Wintrow; Representatives Mike Moyle, John Vander Woude, Wendy Horman, Ilana Rubel, John McCrostie, and Brooke Green. Legislative Services Office (LSO) staff present: Director Eric Milstead, Deputy Director Terri Kondeff, and Julie Cooper.

2021 Interim Committee Appointments

Pro Tem Winder reviewed interim committee member appointments for the Council's approval.

Criminal Justice Reinvestment Oversight Committee (continuing) (established in 67-456, 2019). Appointments do not require Council approval.

Sen. Todd Lakey, Co-Chair

Sen. Patty Ann Lodge

Sen. Jeff Agenbroad

Sen. Grant Burgoyne

Sen. Melissa Wintrow

Rep. Greg Chaney, Co-Chair

Rep. James Holtzclaw

Rep. Bruce Skaug

Rep. John McCrostie

Rep. Colin Nash

Idaho Council on Indian Affairs (continuing) Established in 67-4004 (1999). Appointments do not require Council approval.

Sen. Jim Guthrie, Chair Rep. Kevin Andrus Sen. David Nelson Rep. James Ruchti

Child Protection Legislative Oversight Committee (continuing) (Established in 16-1647, 2018). Appointments do not require Council approval.

Sen. Abby Lee, Co-Chair Rep. Mike Moyle, Co-Chair

Sen. Mary Souza

Rep. Jason Monks

Sen. Kelly Anthon

Rep. Greg Chaney

Sen. Melissa Wintrow

Rep. Lauren Necochea

Committee on Federalism (continuing) (Established in 67-9301, 2019). Appointments do not require Council approval.

Sen. Steve Vick, Co-Chair Rep. Sage Dixon, Co-Chair

Sen. Dan Johnson Rep. Judy Boyle

Sen. Mark Harris Rep. Megan Blanksma

Sen. Carl Crabtree Rep. Wendy Horman Sen. David Nelson Rep. Chris Mathias

Committee on Uniform Accounting and Transparency - (Established in HB 073; 2021). Appointments do not require Council approval.

Sen. Jim Rice, Co-Chair Rep. Steve Harris, Co-Chair

Sen. Jeff Agenbroad Rep. Jim Addis Sen. Ali Rabe Rep. Brooke Green

Study of the Expenditure of ARPA Funds – (Established in HCR 19). Appointments do not require Council approval.

Pro Tem Chuck Winder, Co-Chair Speaker Scott Bedke, Co-Chair

Sen. Kelly Anthon Rep. Mike Moyle Sen. Michelle Stennett Rep. Ilana Rubel

Sen. Steve Bair

Sen. Jeff Agenbroad

Rep. Rick Youngblood

Rep. Jason Monks

Sen. Janie Ward-Engelking

Rep. Megan Blanksma

Natural Resources Interim Committee (Established in HCR 007).

Sen. Steve Bair, Co-Chair Rep. Marc Gibbs, Co-Chair

Sen. Jim Patrick

Sen. Lee Heider

Sen. Steve Vick

Sen. Michelle Stennett

Rep. Scott Bedke

Rep. Mike Moyle

Rep. Terry Gestrin

Rep. Ilana Rubel

Sen. Ali Rabe (Ad Hoc) Rep. Megan Blanksma (Ad Hoc)

Pacific Fisheries Legislative Task Force (Established in 67-452)

Sen. Lee Heider Rep. Laurie Lickley
Sen. Michelle Stennett Rep. Sally Toone

Study Property Taxes and Property Tax Revenue Expenditures – (Established in HCR 015)

Sen. Jim Rice, Co-Chair Rep. Jim Addis, Co-Chair

Sen. Jim Guthrie Rep. Mike Moyle
Sen. Kelly Anthon Rep. Jason Monks
Sen. Scott Grow Rep. Rod Furniss

Sen. Ali Rabe Rep. Lauren Necochea

Sen. Jim Woodward (Ad Hoc) Rep. John Vander Woude (Ad Hoc)

Rep. John Gannon (Ad Hoc)

Occupational and Professional Licensure Review Committee (Established in SB 1084)

Sen. Todd Lakey, Co-Chair Rep. Gayann DeMordaunt, Co-Chair

Sen. Fred Martin

Sen. Lori Den Hartog

Sen. Grant Burgoyne

Rep. Julianne Young

Rep. Codi Galloway

Rep. Brooke Green

2021 Joint Standing Committees

Joint Legislative Oversight Committee

Sen. Mark Harris, Co-Chair

Sen. Dave Lent

Rep. Ilana Rubel, Co-Chair

Rep. Caroline Nilsson Troy

Sen. Michelle Stennett Rep. Paul Amador Sen. David Nelson Rep. Steve Berch

Speaker Bedke made a motion to approve the committees as appointed. Senator Crabtree seconded the motion. Senator Burgoyne made a substitute motion to approve the committees as appointed, with the exception of the committee to Study Property Taxes and Property Tax Revenue Expenditures. Senator Burgoyne expressed that the committee was no longer needed and would not be a good use of state resources to continue the committee. The substitute motion failed by voice vote. The original motion passed by voice vote. Senator Stennett suggested that Senator Wintrow replace Senator Nye on the Criminal Justice Reinvestment Committee.

Miscellaneous Announcements and Adjournment

Eric Milstead, Director, Legislative Services Office (LSO) provided an update on the selection process for the Director of LSO. He reported that the process would be the same as in 2014, and that the job announcement was posted. He stated that a four-member screening panel would review all applications and conduct screening interviews in late June or early July. Director Milstead concluded that the Council would interview the finalists in an executive session of the Council's July 13, 2021, meeting.

There being no further miscellaneous announcements, the Council adjourned at 11:18 a.m.