MINUTES

(Subject to Approval by the Council)

Legislative Council

Thursday, March 24, 2022

1:15 P.M.

House Maj Caucus Room

Boise, Idaho

Speaker Bedke called the meeting to order at 1:20 p.m.; a silent roll call was taken.

Legislative Council (Council) members in attendance: Speaker Scott Bedke, Pro Tem Chuck Winder, Senators Kelly Anthon, Dave Lent, Michelle Stennett, Grant Burgoyne, and Melissa Wintrow; Representatives Mike Moyle, John Vander Woude, Wendy Horman, Ilana Rubel, John McCrostie, and Brooke Green. Legislative Services Office (LSO) staff present: Director Terri Kondeff, Deputy Director Paul Headlee, and Julie Cooper.

Approval of Legislative Branch FY 21/22 and FY 23/24 Audit Proposal

LSO Director Kondeff shared an audit proposal, submitted by Harris CPAs, to conduct the biennial audit of the State of Idaho Legislative Branch for the Fiscal Years 2021/2022 and Fiscal Years 2023/2024. Senator Anthon made a motion to move forward with the audit as presented. Senator Burgoyne seconded the motion and the motion passed by voice vote.

2022 Interim Committee Appointments

Speaker Bedke reviewed interim committee member appointments for the Council's approval.

The following committees do not need approval from the Council.

Criminal Justice Reinvestment Oversight Committee - (continuing) (Established in 67-456, 2019)
The Committee shall consist of five (5) members of the Senate, one (1) of whom shall be the chairperson of the Senate Judiciary and Rules Committee, two (2) from the majority party appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate and two (2) from the minority party appointed by the minority leader, and five (5) members of the House of Representative, one(1) of whom shall be the chairpersons of the House Judiciary, Rules and Administration committee, two (2) from the majority party appointed by the Speaker of the House and two (2) from the minority party appointed by the minority leader. The co-chairs of the special committee shall be the chairperson of the Senate Judiciary and Rules Committee and the chairperson of the House Judiciary, Rules and Administration Committee.

Sen. Todd Lakey, Co-chair

Sen. Patti Anne Lodge

Sen. Jeff Agenbroad

Sen. Grant Burgoyne

Sen. Melissa Wintrow

Rep. Greg Chaney, Co-chair

Rep. James Holtzclaw

Rep. Bruce Skaug

Rep. John McCrostie

Idaho Council on Indian Affairs (continuing) Established in 67-4004 (1999). The Committee shall consist of two (2) to be appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate from the members of the Senate; two (2) to be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives from the members of the House.

Sen. Jim Woodward, Chair Rep. Randy Armstrong
Sen. David Nelson Rep. James Ruchti

Child Protection Legislative Oversight Committee (continuing) 16-1647 (2018) .The Committee shall be comprised of four (4) members of the House of Representatives chosen by the Speaker of the House, with one (1) such member chosen from the House Health and Welfare Committee and one (1) such member chosen from the House Judiciary, Rules and Administration Committee and four (4) members of the Senate chosen by the President Pro Tempore and with one (1) such member chosen from the Senate Health and Welfare Committee and one (1) such member chosen from the Senate Judiciary and Rules Committee.

Sen. Abby Lee, Co-chair Rep. Mike Moyle, Co-chair

Sen. Mary Souza

Rep. Jason Monks

Sen. Kelly Anthon

Rep. Brandon Mitchell

Sen. Melissa Wintrow

Rep. Lauren Necochea

Committee on Federalism (continuing) 67-9301 (2019). The Committee shall consist of ten (10) members, with five (5) members from the Senate as appointed by the President pro Tempore of the Senate, one (1) of whom shall be a member of the minority party and one (1) of whom shall be co-chair of the committee and five (5) members from the House of Representatives as appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, one (1) of whom shall be a member of the minority party and one (1) of whom shall be co-chair of the committee.

Sen. Steve Vick, Co-chair Rep. Sage Dixon, Co-chair

Sen. Robert Blair Rep. Judy Boyle

Sen. Mark Harris Rep. Megan Blanksma
Sen. Carl Crabtree Rep. Wendy Horman
Sen. David Nelson Rep. Chris Mathias

Committee on Uniform Accounting and Transparency - HB 073 (2021). The Committee shall consist of seven (7) members, with three (3) members from the Senate, one (1) of whom shall be the chair-person of the Senate Local Government and Taxation Committee or his designee, one (1) from the majority party appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, and one (1) from the minority party appointed by the minority leader; and three (3) members from the house of representatives, one (1) of whom shall be the chairperson of the House Revenue and Taxation Committee or his designee, one (1) from the majority party appointed by the Speaker of the House, and one (1) from the minority party appointed by the minority leader.

Sen. Jim Rice, Co-Chair Rep. Steven Harris, Co-chair

Sen. Jeff Agenbroad Rep. Jim Addis (replacement for Sen. Ali Rabe) Rep. Brooke Green

The following committee appointments need approval from Legislative Council

Natural Resources Interim Committee - HCR 007. Legislative Council is authorized to appoint and the Committee shall consist of ten (10) legislators, with five (5) from the Senate and five (5) from the House of Representatives. Additional members may be appointed as ad hoc.

Sen. Steve Vick, Co-chair Rep. Marc Gibbs, Co-chair

Sen. Jim Patrick Rep. Mike Moyle

Sen. Lee Heider Rep. Megan Blanksma

Sen. Jim Woodward Rep. Dustin Manwaring

Sen. Michelle Stennett Rep. Ilana Rubel

Sen. (Ad Hoc) Rep. Ned Burns (Ad Hoc)

Pacific Fisheries Legislative Task Force (67-452). Legislative Council appoints two (2) members from each body (one (1) each from the majority and minority) to represent Idaho on the Pacific Fisheries Legislative Task Force.

Sen. Lee Heider Rep. Megan Blanksma Sen. Michelle Stennett Rep. Chris Mathias

Occupational and Professional Licensure Review Committee - SB 1084. Legislative Council to determine number of members and membership from each body. Non-legislative members may be appointed by the co-chairs of the Committee, who are appointed by Legislative Council.

Sen. Todd Lakey, Co-chair Rep. Gayann DeMordaunt, Co-chair

Sen. Fred Martin

Sen. Lori Den Hartog

Sen. Grant Burgoyne

Rep. Julianne Young

Rep. Brandon Mitchell

Rep. Brooke Green

Public School Funding Formula Study Committee - **33-1029 (H 723)** .Legislative Council is authorized to appoint, and the Committee shall consist of eight (8) legislators, with four (4) from the Senate and four (4) from the House of Representatives.

Sen. Co-chair Rep. Co-Chair

Sen. Rep. Sen. Rep. Sen. Rep.

Speaker Bedke and Pro Tem Winder acknowledged that, in addition to these committees, there may be several issues that warrant or necessitate working groups. Speaker Bedke and Pro Tem Winder will address this need in the interim if necessary.

Representative Moyle made a motion to accept changes made to the 2022 Interim Committees. Pro Tem Winder seconded the motion and motion passed by voice vote.

There being no additional business, the Council adjourned at 1:41pm.