MINUTES HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

DATE:	Thursday, January 13, 2022
TIME:	9:00 A.M.
PLACE:	Room EW41
MEMBERS:	Chairman Clow, Vice Chairman Kerby, Representatives Boyle, Mendive, DeMordaunt, Moon, Ehardt, Marshall, Wisniewski, Galloway, Yamamoto, McCann, McCrostie, Berch, Toone
ABSENT/ EXCUSED:	Rep. Boyle and Galloway
GUESTS:	The sign-in sheet will be retained in the committee secretary's office; following the end of the session the sign-in sheet will be filed with the minutes in the Legislative Library.
	Chairman Clow called the meeting to order at 9:00 am.
MOTION:	Rep. Toone made a motion to approve the minutes of January 11, 2022. Motion carried by voice vote.
	Chairman Clow turned the gavel over to Vice Chairman Kerby.
RS 29146:	Chairman Clow presented RS 29146 as a Concurrent Resolution which would reject all current Administrative Rules on English Language Standards, Math, and Science. He explained the growing frustration among parents with the current rules and the need to replace them.
RS 29140:	Chairman Clow also presented RS 29140 which is proposed legislation related to RS 29146. While RS 29146 rejects the current standards, RS 29140 would give instruction on how to establish new standards which the legislature has been working on drafting over the last several years. The State Board of Education would be given until 2024 to complete the transition.
MOTION:	Rep. Marshall made a motion to introduce RS 29146.
	In response to questions about making this one legislative act, Chairman Clow explained that a Concurrent Resolution is used to reject Administrative Rules without the Governor's signature but is not required to create new rules.
	Vice Chairman Kerby turned the gavel over to Chairman Clow.
VOTE ON MOTION:	Motion carried by voice vote. Rep. Berch and Rep. Toone requested to be recorded as voting NAY.
MOTION:	Rep. Marshall made a motion to introduce RS 29140. Motion carried by voice vote.
ADJOURN:	There being no further business to come before the Committee the meeting was adjourned at 9:33 am.

Elbia Christensen

Secretary

Representative Kerby

Chair