## MINUTES HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

DATE:	Monday, January 17, 2022
TIME:	9:00 A.M.
PLACE:	Room EW41
MEMBERS:	Chairman Clow, Vice Chairman Kerby, Representatives Boyle, Mendive, DeMordaunt, Moon, Ehardt, Marshall, Wisniewski, Galloway, Yamamoto, McCann, McCrostie, Berch, Toone
ABSENT/ EXCUSED:	Rep. Boyle and DeMordaunt
GUESTS:	The sign-in sheet will be retained in the committee secretary's office; following the end of the session the sign-in sheet will be filed with the minutes in the Legislative Library.
	Chairman Clow called the meeting to order at 9:00 am.
	Layne McInelly, President, Idaho Education Association, thanked all of the education professionals in attendance. He shared his educational history and history of working within IEA. President McInelly discussed Governor Little's education proposals and expressed IEA's support of the proposals to investment into Idaho educators and schools. He expressed concern for underpaid teachers and how they would like to see an increase in support, benefits and respect to education professionals.
	Chairman Clow turned the gavel over to Vice Chairman Kerby.
	<b>Vice Chairman Kerby</b> explained to the Committee the rules process and how last year's rule making has impacted this year's process.
	<b>Tracie Bent</b> , Chief Planning and Policy Officer, State Board of Education, gave an overview of the administrative rules and discussed Executive Order 2020-01 Zero-Based Regulation and how it will require agencies to streamline the rule making process. Ms. Bent shared that this year the Committee will be reviewing Idaho Administrative Procedure Act (IDAPA) 08, 55 and fee rules. She discussed the update from 2012 English Language Arts/Literacy program standards to the new 2020 standards.
	In response to Committee questions, <b>Ms. Bent</b> discussed that on July 1, temporary rules were put in place because the Legislature did not Sine Die until November. She stated these temporary rules will expire at the end of the legislative session and disappear if not codified.
	Vice Chairman Kerby turned the gavel over to Chairman Clow.
ADJOURN:	There being no further business to come before the Committee the meeting was adjourned at 9:36 am.

Elbia Christensen

Secretary

Representative Clow

Chair