MINUTES HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

DATE: Tuesday, January 18, 2022

TIME: 9:00 A.M.

EXCUSED:

PLACE: Room EW41

- MEMBERS: Chairman Clow, Vice Chairman Kerby, Representatives Boyle, Mendive, DeMordaunt, Moon, Ehardt, Marshall, Wisniewski, Galloway, Yamamoto, McCann, McCrostie (Coberly), Berch, Toone
- ABSENT/ Rep. Boyle and DeMordaunt
- **GUESTS:** The sign-in sheet will be retained in the committee secretary's office; following the end of the session the sign-in sheet will be filed with the minutes in the Legislative Library.

Chairman Clow called the meeting to order at 9:00 am.

MOTION: Rep. McCann made a motion to approve the minutes of January 12, 13, and 17, 2022. Motion carried by voice vote.

Chairman Clow introduced Rep. Coberly who is substituting for Rep. McCrostie.

Dr. Kaitlin Maguire, Interim Executive Director, Idaho Stem Action Center, presented an overview of the Idaho STEM Action Center's work and impact in Idaho. She discussed how Idaho STEM jobs pay double the median wage of non-STEM jobs. When sharing the STEM AC strategic goals Dr. Maguire stated they are looking to bring awareness, access, and alignment to STEM throughout Idaho. These goals are being achieved through i-STEM Summer Institutes, Idaho Science and Engineering Fairs, Educator Externships and other opportunities. She shared ways they are promoting the STEM diploma and are working with schools and districts to present to students.

In response to Committee questions, **Dr. Maguire** discussed how they are opening opportunities to all students and expanding outreach to communities. She also spoke to how the Idaho Rural Community grant can bring a two day workshop into rural communities to expand STEM. Dr. Maguire also shared many skills students are learning in STEM can easily be transferred over to other programs and jobs.

Marilyn Whitney, Deputy Superintendent of Communications and Policy, State Department of Education introduced the final four presenters of the State Department of Education Report to the Legislature to the Committee.

Michelle Clement Taylor, Coordinator for School Choice, State Department of Education, discussed the different school choice options including: public school, non-public and enrollment options. She shared the number of students enrolled in public choice schools and noted an increase in the number of Idaho charters schools.

In response to Committee questions, **Ms. Taylor** stated that charter schools are not usually privately owned. Additionally, Ms. Taylor shared that if charter schools received federal COVID-19 funding there are different reporting requirements than public schools.

Dr. Eric Studebaker, Director of Student Engagement and Safety Coordination, State Department of Education, discussed several programs and services they provide to students to keep them safe and prepare them for a successful career. They also provided training on the new federal Title IX requirements to the 756 school administrators.

In response to Committee questions, **Dr. Studebaker** gave an overview of the Youth Risk Behavior Survey (YRBS) and the questions within the survey. He also shared that due to a low attendance in the YRBS the results will not be available this year.

Kyle Rahn, Director of Student Transportation, State Department of Education, shared the standards for Idaho School Bus operations and how it defines specific practices and policies to keep riders safe. Mr. Rahn discussed the funding formula described in §33-1006.

In response to Committee questions, **Mr. Rahn**, discussed the 103% funding cap and how it is designed to prevent schools and districts from overspending.

Louie Konkol, Director of Technology Services, State Department of Education, discussed the Broadband Reimbursement Program and how they are able to reimburse schools and libraries for eligible connections. Mr. Konkol also shared that the Broadband Infrastructure Improvement Grant (B.I.I.G) has reimbursed 100% of the \$18 million schools have spent on broadband.

ADJOURN: There being no further business to come before the Committee, the meeting was adjourned at 10:34 am.

Representative Clow Chair

Elbia Christensen Secretary