## MINUTES

## HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

**DATE:** Friday, February 18, 2022

**TIME:** 9:00 A.M. **PLACE:** Room EW41

**MEMBERS:** Chairman Clow, Vice Chairman Kerby, Representatives Boyle, Mendive,

DeMordaunt, Moon, Ehardt, Marshall, Wisniewski, Galloway, Yamamoto, McCann,

McCrostie, Berch, Toone

ABSENT/ EXCUSED: None

**GUESTS:** The sign-in sheet will be retained in the committee secretary's office; following the

end of the legislative session the sign-in sheet will be filed in the Legislative Library.

**Chairman Clow** called the meeting to order at 9:02 am.

**MOTION:** Rep. Toone made a motion to approve the minutes of February 10 and 15, 2022.

Motion carried by voice vote.

**Chairman Clow** thanked **Hope Alles** for her service to the Committee.

S 1247: Dr. Clay Long, State Administrator, Idaho Career and Technical Education,

introduced **S 1247**. He explained how some schools are not eligible for added cost funds because they are a cooperative service agency. He shared how **S 1247** would add cooperative service agencies to section 33-1002G Idaho Code.

In response to Committee questions, **Dr. Long** shared the funding formula is already in place and it would not be difficult to add cooperative service agency

to this section of Idaho Code.

MOTION: Rep. McCann made a motion to send S 1247 to the floor with a DO PASS

recommendation. Motion carried by voice vote. Rep. McCann will sponsor the

bill on the floor.

RS 29588C1: Rep. Moon presented RS 29588C1. She shared how this proposed legislation

would create the Hope and Opportunity Scholarship program. This scholarship would enable funds to follow the student through their education. Rep. Moon

discussed the fiscal note and different eligibility criteria for the students.

**Rep. DeMordaunt** discussed different programs and items families can spend the money on. She explained how the projected participation rate was calculated.

In response to Committee questions, **Rep. DeMordaunt** described the electronic program which will be utilized to make the money transfers into student accounts.

MOTION: Rep. Ehardt made a motion to introduce RS 29588C1.

ROLL CALL Roll call vote was requested. Motion carried by a vote of 12 AYE and 3 NAY.

VOTE: Voting in favor of the motion: Reps. Clow, Kerby, Boyle, Mendive, DeMordaunt,

Moon, Ehardt, Marshall, Wisniewski, Galloway, Yamamoto, and McCann. Voting in opposition of the motion: Reps. McCrostie, Berch and Toone.

ADJOURN:	adjourned at 9:33 am.	
Representative C		Filia Obsistana sa
Representative C	iow .	Elbia Christensen
Chair		Secretary