Printer Friendly Version

     Idaho Statutes

pecnv.out
TITLE 18
CRIMES AND PUNISHMENTS
CHAPTER 80
MOTOR VEHICLES
18-8004C.  Excessive alcohol concentration -- Penalties. Notwithstanding any provision of section 18-8005, Idaho Code, to the contrary:
(1) Any person who pleads guilty to or is found guilty of a violation of the provisions of section 18-8004(1)(a), Idaho Code, for the first time, but who has an alcohol concentration of 0.20, as defined in section 18-8004(4), Idaho Code, or more, as shown by an analysis of his blood, breath or urine by a test requested by a police officer, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor; and:
(a)  Shall be sentenced to jail for a mandatory minimum period of not less than ten (10) days, the first forty-eight (48) hours of which must be consecutive, and may be sentenced to not more than one (1) year;
(b)  May be fined an amount not to exceed two thousand dollars ($2,000);
(c)  Shall be advised by the court in writing at the time of sentencing, of the penalties that will be imposed for subsequent violations of the provisions of this section and violations of the provisions of section 18-8004, Idaho Code, which advice shall be signed by the defendant, and a copy retained by the court and another copy retained by the prosecuting attorney;
(d)  Shall surrender his driver's license or permit to the court;
(e)  Shall have his driving privileges suspended by the court for an additional mandatory minimum period of one (1) year after release from confinement, during which one (1) year period absolutely no driving privileges of any kind may be granted.
(2)  Any person who pleads guilty to or is found guilty of a violation of the provisions of section 18-8004, Idaho Code, and who has an alcohol concentration of 0.20, as defined in section 18-8004(4), Idaho Code, or more, as shown by an analysis of his blood, breath or urine by a test requested by a police officer, and who previously has been found guilty of or has pled guilty to one (1) or more violations of the provisions of section 18-8004, Idaho Code, in which the person had an alcohol concentration of 0.20 or more, or any substantially conforming foreign criminal violation wherein the defendant had an alcohol concentration of 0.20 or more, or any combination thereof, within five (5) years, notwithstanding the form of judgment or withheld judgment shall be guilty of a felony; and:
(a)  Shall be sentenced to the custody of the state board of correction for a term not to exceed five (5) years; provided that notwithstanding the provisions of section 19-2601, Idaho Code, should the court impose any sentence other than incarceration in the state penitentiary, the defendant shall be sentenced to the county jail for a mandatory minimum period of not less than thirty (30) days; and further provided that notwithstanding the provisions of section 18-111, Idaho Code, a conviction under this section shall be deemed a felony;
(b)  May be fined an amount not to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000);
(c)  Shall surrender his driver's license or permit to the court;
(d)  Shall have his driving privileges suspended by the court for a mandatory minimum period of one (1) year after release from imprisonment, and may have his driving privileges suspended by the court for a period not to exceed five (5) years after release from imprisonment, during which time he shall have absolutely no driving privileges of any kind; and
(e)  Shall, while operating a motor vehicle, be required to drive only a motor vehicle equipped with a functioning ignition interlock system, as provided in section 18-8008, Idaho Code, following the mandatory license suspension period.
(3)  Notwithstanding the provisions of subsections (1)(e) and (2)(d) of this section, a person who is enrolled in and is a participant in good standing in a drug court or mental health court approved by the supreme court drug court and mental health court coordinating committee under the provisions of chapter 56, title 19, Idaho Code, or other similar problem solving court utilizing community-based sentencing alternatives, shall be eligible for restricted noncommercial driving privileges for the purpose of getting to and from work, school or an alcohol treatment program, which may be granted by the presiding judge of the drug court or mental health court or other similar problem solving court, provided that the offender has served a period of absolute suspension of driving privileges of at least forty-five (45) days, that a state approved ignition interlock system is installed, and for repeat offenders it shall be maintained for not less than one (1) year, on each of the motor vehicles owned or operated, or both, by the offender, and that the offender has shown proof of financial responsibility as defined and in the amounts specified in section 49-117, Idaho Code, provided that the restricted noncommercial driving privileges may be continued if the offender successfully completes the drug court, mental health court or other similar problem solving court, and that the court may revoke such privileges for failure to comply with the terms of probation or with the terms and conditions of the drug court, mental health court or other similar problem solving court program.
(4)  All the provisions of section 18-8005, Idaho Code, not in conflict with or otherwise provided for in this section, shall apply to this section.
(5)  Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any evidence of conviction under this section shall be admissible in any civil action for damages resulting from the occurrence. A conviction for the purposes of this section means that the person has pled guilty or has been found guilty, notwithstanding the form of the judgment or withheld judgment.

History:
[18-8004C, added 1994, ch. 421, sec. 1, p. 1316; am. 2000, ch. 247, sec. 2, p. 694; am. 2009, ch. 184, sec. 4, p. 594; am. 2011, ch. 265, sec. 3, p. 719; am. 2014, ch. 63, sec. 4, p. 161.]

How current is this law?

The Idaho Code is the property of the state of Idaho and is made available on the Internet as a public service. Any person who reproduces or distributes the Idaho Code for commercial purposes is in violation of the provisions of Idaho law and shall be deemed to be an infringer of the state of Idaho's copyright.

Search the Idaho Statutes