Printer Friendly Version

     Idaho Statutes

pecnv.out
TITLE 39
HEALTH AND SAFETY
CHAPTER 57
PREVENTION OF MINORS' ACCESS TO TOBACCO
39-5703.  Possession, distribution or use by a minor. (1) It shall be unlawful for a minor to possess, receive, purchase, use or consume tobacco products or electronic cigarettes or to attempt any of the foregoing.
(2)  It shall be unlawful for a minor to sell or distribute tobacco products or electronic cigarettes or to attempt either of the foregoing.
(3)  It shall be unlawful for a minor to provide false identification, or make any false statement regarding their age in an attempt to obtain tobacco products or electronic cigarettes.
(4)  A minor who is assisting with a random unannounced inspection in accordance with this chapter shall not be in violation of this chapter.
(5)  A minor may possess but not sell or distribute tobacco products or electronic cigarettes in the course of employment, for duties such as stocking shelves or carrying purchases to customers' vehicles.
(6)  Penalties for violations by a minor. A violation of subsection (1) of this section by a minor shall constitute an infraction and shall be punishable by a fine of seventeen dollars and fifty cents ($17.50). The first violation of subsection (2) or (3) of this section by a minor shall constitute an infraction and shall be punishable by a fine of two hundred dollars ($200). A subsequent violation of subsection (2) or (3) of this section by a minor shall constitute a misdemeanor and shall be punishable by imprisonment in an appropriate facility not exceeding thirty (30) days, a fine not exceeding three hundred dollars ($300), or both such fine and imprisonment. The court may, in addition to the penalties provided herein, require the minor and the minor's parents or legal guardian to attend tobacco awareness programs or to perform community service in programs related to tobacco awareness.

History:
[39-5703, added 1998, ch. 418, sec. 2, p. 1317; am. 2012, ch. 39, sec. 2, p. 119; am. 2015, ch. 158, sec. 1, p. 553.]

How current is this law?

Search the Idaho Statutes