Printer Friendly Version

     Idaho Statutes

[No Title]
TITLE 39
HEALTH AND SAFETY
CHAPTER 57
PREVENTION OF MINORS' ACCESS TO TOBACCO
 39-5708. Civil penalties for violations of permit -- civil penalty for violations relating to electronic cigarettes. (1) Any permittee who fails to comply with any part of this chapter, or any current state or local law or rule or regulation regarding the sale or distribution of tobacco products shall be subject to a civil penalty as provided in this section or have their permit suspended, pursuant to compliance with the contested case provisions of the Idaho administrative procedure act, chapter 52, title 67, Idaho Code, or both.
(2)  If a seller who is not a permittee violates section 39-5705, Idaho Code, and sells or distributes tobacco products or electronic cigarettes to a minor, then the seller shall be fined one hundred dollars ($100).
(3)  In the case of a first violation, the permittee shall be notified in writing of penalties to be levied for further violations.
(4)  In the case of a second violation, the permittee shall be fined two hundred dollars ($200) and shall be notified in writing of penalties to be levied for further violations. For a violation of section 39-5705, Idaho Code, the permittee shall not be fined if the permittee can show that a training program was in place for the employee and that the permittee has a form signed by that employee on file stating that they understand the tobacco laws dealing with minors and the unlawful purchase of tobacco, but the permittee shall be notified in writing of penalties to be levied for any further violations. If no such training is in place, the permittee shall be fined two hundred dollars ($200).
(5)  In the case of a third violation in a two (2) year period, the permittee shall be fined two hundred dollars ($200) and the permit may be suspended for up to seven (7) days. If the violation is by an employee, at the same location, who was involved in any previous citation for violation, the permittee shall be fined four hundred dollars ($400). Effective training and employment practices by the permittee, as determined by the department shall be a mitigating factor in determining permit suspension. Tobacco retailers must remove all tobacco products from all areas accessible to or visible to the public while the permit is suspended.
(6)  In the case of four (4) or more violations within a two (2) year period, the permittee shall be fined four hundred dollars ($400) and the permit shall be revoked until such time that the permittee demonstrates an effective training plan to the department, but in no case shall the revocation be for less than thirty (30) days. Tobacco retailers must remove all tobacco products from all areas accessible to or visible to the public while the permit is revoked.
(7)  All moneys collected for violations pursuant to this section shall be remitted to the prevention of minors' access to tobacco fund created in section 39-5711, Idaho Code.

History:
[39-5708, added 1998, ch. 418, sec. 2, p. 1319; am. 2001, ch. 39, sec. 2, p. 75; am. 2012, ch. 39, sec. 5, p. 120.]

How current is this law?

The Idaho Code is the property of the state of Idaho and is made available on the Internet as a public service. Any person who reproduces or distributes the Idaho Code for commercial purposes is in violation of the provisions of Idaho law and shall be deemed to be an infringer of the state of Idaho's copyright.

Search the Idaho Statutes