FRATERNAL BENEFIT SOCIETIES
41-3236. Penalties. (1) A person who shall knowingly or willfully make any false or fraudulent statement or representation in or relating to any application for membership or for the purpose of obtaining money from or a benefit in any society, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be fined not less than one hundred dollars ($100) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or imprisoned in the county jail not less than thirty (30) days nor more than one (1) year, or both.
(2) Any person who willfully makes a false or fraudulent statement in any verified report or declaration under oath required or authorized in this chapter, or of any material fact or thing contained in a sworn statement concerning the death or disability of an insured for the purpose of procuring payment of a benefit named in the certificate, shall be guilty of perjury and shall be subject to the penalties therefor prescribed by law.
(3) Any person who solicits membership for, or in any manner assists in procuring membership in, any society not licensed to do business in this state shall upon conviction, be subject to the penalties prescribed in section 41-117A, Idaho Code.
(4) Any person guilty of a willful violation of, or neglect or refusal to comply with, the provisions of this chapter for which a penalty is not otherwise prescribed, shall upon conviction, be subject to the penalty prescribed in section 41-117, Idaho Code.
[41-3236, added 1995, ch. 213, sec. 2, p. 740.]
The Idaho Code is the property of the state of Idaho and is made available on the Internet as a public service. Any person who reproduces or distributes the Idaho Code for commercial purposes is in violation of the provisions of Idaho law and shall be deemed to be an infringer of the state of Idaho's copyright.