MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION
49-419E. Idaho mountain biking plates. (1) On and after January 1, 2011, any person who is the owner of a vehicle registered under the provisions of section 49-402, Idaho Code, or registered under any other section of law for which the purchase of special plates is allowed, may apply for and upon department approval, receive special Idaho mountain biking license plates in lieu of regular license plates. The provisions of this section shall not apply to any vehicle with a registered maximum gross weight over twenty-six thousand (26,000) pounds. Availability of Idaho mountain biking license plates for other vehicles shall be subject to the rules, policies and procedures of the department.
(2) In addition to the regular registration fee required in chapter 4, title 49, Idaho Code, the applicant shall be charged a fee of thirty-five dollars ($35.00) for the initial issuance of the plates and twenty-five dollars ($25.00) upon each succeeding annual registration. Thirteen dollars ($13.00) of the initial fee and thirteen dollars ($13.00) of the renewal fee shall be deposited in the state highway account and shall be used to fund the cost of administration of this special license plate program. Twenty-two dollars ($22.00) of each initial fee and twelve dollars ($12.00) of each renewal fee shall be deposited by the state treasurer in a dedicated fund in the department of parks and recreation or any successor state agency or department thereto which fund shall be used by any such agency or department exclusively for the preservation, maintenance and expansion of recreational trails within the state of Idaho and on which mountain biking is permitted.
(3) Whenever title or interest in a vehicle registered under the provisions of this section is transferred or assigned, the owner may transfer the special plates to another vehicle upon payment of the required transfer fees. The owner may only display the plates on another vehicle upon receipt of a new registration from the department.
(4) The Idaho mountain biking license plate shall be of a color and design in accordance with the provisions of section 49-402C, Idaho Code. The design and any slogan on the plate shall be acceptable to the department of parks and recreation or any successor agency or department thereto, and shall be approved by the Idaho transportation department utilizing a numbering system as determined by the department. Initial costs of the plate program, including costs of plate design, shall be paid by the Idaho mountain bike trail preservation association.
(5) Sample Idaho mountain biking license plates may be purchased for a fee of thirty dollars ($30.00), thirteen dollars ($13.00) of which shall be deposited in the state highway account and seventeen dollars ($17.00) of which shall be deposited in a dedicated fund within the department of parks and recreation or any successor state agency or department thereto and which fund shall be used by any such agency or department exclusively for the preservation, maintenance and expansion of recreational trails within the state of Idaho and on which mountain biking is permitted.
[49-419E, added 2010, ch. 132, sec. 2, p. 282.]
The Idaho Code is the property of the state of Idaho and is made available on the Internet as a public service. Any person who reproduces or distributes the Idaho Code for commercial purposes is in violation of the provisions of Idaho law and shall be deemed to be an infringer of the state of Idaho's copyright.