Dear Senators HEIDER, Souza, Jordan, and
Representatives WOOD, Packer, Chew:

The Legislative Services Office, Research and Legislation, has received the enclosed rules of the

Bureau of Occupational Licenses - Speech and Hearing Services Licensure Board:

IDAPA 24.23.01 - Rules of the Speech, Hearing and Communication Services Licensure Board -
Proposed Rule (Docket No. 24-2301-1701);

IDAPA 24.23.01 - Rules of the Speech, Hearing and Communication Services Licensure Board (Fee
Rule) - Proposed Rule (Docket No. 24-2301-1702).

Pursuant to Section 67-454, Idaho Code, a meeting on the enclosed rules may be called by the
cochairmen or by two (2) or more members of the subcommittee giving oral or written notice to Research
and Legislation no later than fourteen (14) days after receipt of the rules' analysis from Legislative
Services. The final date to call a meeting on the enclosed rules is no later than 11/02/2017. If a meeting is
called, the subcommittee must hold the meeting within forty-two (42) days of receipt of the rules' analysis
from Legislative Services. The final date to hold a meeting on the enclosed rules is 12/04/2017.

The germane joint subcommittee may request a statement of economic impact with respect to a
proposed rule by notifying Research and Legislation. There is no time limit on requesting this statement,
and it may be requested whether or not a meeting on the proposed rule is called or after a meeting has
been held.

To notify Research and Legislation, call 334-4834, or send a written request to the address on the

memorandum attached below.
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Legislative Services Oflice
Idaho State Legislature

Eric Milstead Serving Haho' s Glizen Legialafiure

Director
MEMORANDUM
TO: Rules Review Subcommittee of the Senate Health & Welfare Committee and the House Health
& Welfare Committee
FROM: Senior Legislative Research Analyst - Kristin Ford
DATE: October 16, 2017

SUBJECT: Bureau of Occupational Licenses - Speech and Hearing Services Licensure Board

IDAPA 24.23.01 - Rules of the Speech, Hearing and Communication Services Licensure Board - Proposed
Rule (Docket No. 24-2301-1701)

IDAPA 24.23.01 - Rules of the Speech, Hearing and Communication Services Licensure Board (Fee Rule)
- Proposed Rule (Docket No. 24-2301-1702)

1. IDAPA 24.23.01 - Rules of the Speech, Hearing and Communication Services Licensure Board - Pro-
posed Rule (Docket No. 24-2301-1701). The Bureau of Occupational Licenses submits notice of proposed
rulemaking relating to the Rules of the Speech, Hearing and Communication Services Licensure Board. The
proposed rule clarifies that the practice of audiology does not include, by itself, the operation of automated
newborn hearing screening machines. It further increases flexibility for licensees in completing continuing ed-
ucation requirements by moving from a 1-year cycle of ten credits to a 3-year cycle of thirty credits. It also
provides a definition of what constitutes a continuing education contact hour. The Bureau states that negotiated
rulemaking was not conducted because the proposed changes were discussed during open, noticed meetings
of the Board. The proposed rule changes appear to be within the statutory authority of the Board pursuant to
sections 54-2905 and 54-2910, Idaho Code.

2. IDAPA 24.23.01 - Rules of the Speech, Hearing and Communication Services Licensure Board (Fee
Rule) - Proposed Rule (Docket No. 24-2301-1702). The Bureau of Occupational Licenses submits notice
of proposed rulemaking relating to the Rules of the Speech, Hearing and Communication Services Licensure
Board. The proposed rule implements 2017 HB 46 which adds the profession of sign language interpreter
to the Speech and Hearing Services Practice Act. The proposed rule incorporates by reference the Code of
Professional Conduct for the National Association of the Deaf (NAD) - Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf.
It adds definitions, provides application requirements, and creates a registration fee of $10 for out-of-state
licensees. The proposed rule sets out the qualifications required for sign language interpreters, out of state li-
censees and deaf interpreters; provides for examination requirements, sets forth approved certification entities,
and provides for consideration of factors regarding applicants who have a felony record or disciplinary record
in another state. Finally, the proposed rule provides for provisional permits for persons who are pursuing li-
censure. The Bureau states that negotiated rulemaking was not conducted because the changes were discussed
during open, noticed meetings of the Board. The Bureau also states that the fee rule will have no impact on the
general fund, and estimates there will be no impact to the Bureau of Occupational Licenses' dedicated fund be-
cause the administrative cost of regulating licensees will be offset by their application, license and renewal fees.

Mike Nugent, Manager Paul Headlee, Manager April Renfro, Manager Glenn Harris, Manager
Research & Legislation Budget & Policy Analysis Legislative Audits Information Technology
Statehouse, P.O. Box 83720 Tel: 208-334-2475

Boise, Idaho 83720-0054 www.legislature.idaho.gov



The proposed rule changes appear to be within the agency's statutory authority pursuant to sections 54-2905,
54-2916A, 54-2917 and 54-5713, Idaho Code.

cc: Bureau of Occupational Licenses - Speech and Hearing Services Licensure Board
Tana Cory

Page 2 of 2



IDAPA 24 —- BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES

24.23.01 - RULES OF THE SPEECH, HEARING AND COMMUNICATION
SERVICES LICENSURE BOARD

DOCKET NO. 24-2301-1701
NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - PROPOSED RULE

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-2910, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 18, 2017.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the
proposed rulemaking:

This proposed rule clarifies that the practice of audiology does not include the operation of automated newborn
hearing screening machines. It also increases flexibility for licensees in completing continuing education (CE) by
moving from a l-year CE cycle (completion of 10 hours of CE within a one-year period) to a 3-year CE cycle
(completion of 30 hours of CE within a three-year period).

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: N/A

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not
conducted because the proposed changes to these rules were discussed during noticed, open meetings of the Board.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Dicsie Gullick at (208) 334-3233.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 25, 2017.

DATED this 31st day of August, 2017.

Tana Cory, Bureau Chief
Bureau of Occupational Licenses
700 W. State St.

P.O. Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720-0063

Phone: (208) 334-3233

Fax: (208) 334-3945
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BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-2301-1701
Rules of Speech, Hearing & Communication Services Board Proposed Rulemaking

THE FOLLOWING IS THE PROPOSED TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 24-2301-1701
(Only Those Sections With Amendments Are Shown.)

212. NEWBORN HEARING SCREENING TESTS.

Performing newborn hearing screening tests on infants using automated equipment that produces a pass/fail response
does not, by itself, constitute the practice of audiology or convert persons performing the tests into audiology support
personnel. C )

2123. -- 219. (RESERVED)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

400. CONTINUING EDUCATION (RULE 400)

In order to Drotect DubllC health and safetv and nromote the public
welfare, the Board has adopted the following continuing education requirement of all licensees: {3-36-68) )

01. Requirement. Until January 1, 2021, each licensee will successfully complete, in the twelve (12)
months preceding each renewal of their license. a minimum of ten (10) contact hours of continuing education. ( )
a. Effective January 1. 2021, each licensee will successfully complete, in the three (3) years prior to

their license expiration date, a minimum of thirty (30) contact hours of continuing education.

b. A contact hour is a measurement of the licensee’s participation in an area of study germane to the
practice for which the license is issued as approved by the Board. One (1) contact hour requires one (1) hour of
participation in a Board-approved continuing education program excluding meals and breaks. One (1) contact hour
equals one (1) clock hour for purposes of obtaining continuing education credit.

C. For college or university courses that are approved by the Board for continuing education credit,
one (1) semester credit hour equals fifteen (15) contact hours: one (1) quarter credit hour equals ten (10) contact
hours.

d. Effective January 1, 2021, the Board will waive the continuing education requirement for the first
three (3) license renewals after initial licensure. ( )
02. Documentation of Attendance. It shall be necessary for the applicant to provide documentation

verifying attendance by securing authorized signatures or other documentation from the course instructors, providers,
or sponsoring institution substantiating any hours attended by the applicant. This documentation must be maintained
by the applicant and provided to the Board upon request by the Board or its agent. (3-30-06)

03. Compliance Audit. The Board may conduct random continuing education audits of those persons
required to obtain continuing education in order to renew a license and require that proof acceptable to the Board of
meeting the continuing education requirement be submitted to the Bureau. Failure to provide proof of meeting the
continuing education upon request of the Board shall be grounds for disciplinary action in accordance with Section

54-2923, Idaho Code. (3-30-06)
04. Initial Compliance. Until January 1. 2021, Elicensees shall not be required to meet the continuing
education requirement for the first renewal. {3-36-68) )
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BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-2301-1701
Rules of Speech, Hearing & Communication Services Board Proposed Rulemaking

045. Special Exemption. The Board shall have authority to make exceptions for reasons of individual
hardship, including health, when certified by a medical doctor, or other good cause. The licensee must provide any
information requested by the Board to assist in substantiating hardship cases. This exemption is granted at the sole
discretion of the Board. Requests for special exemption must be received by the Bureau fifteen (15) business days
prior to expiration of the license. (3-29-10)
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IDAPA 24 —- BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES

24.23.01 - RULES OF THE SPEECH, HEARING AND COMMUNICATION
SERVICES LICENSURE BOARD

DOCKET NO. 24-2301-1702 (FEE RULE)
NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - PROPOSED RULE

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-2905, 54-2916A, 54-
2917, 67-2614, and 54-5713, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 18, 2017.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the
proposed rulemaking:

In 2017, the Idaho Legislature passed H46 that included sign language interpreting within the Speech and
Hearing Services Practice Act. These rules implement the new provisions of the Speech and Hearing Services
Practice Act.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased:

Rule 175 adds a $10 registration fee for out of state licenses and clarifies that fees relating to reinstatement and
dual licensure are as set in the law. Sign language interpreters will pay the same fees that are charged to other
licensees under the Speech and Hearing Services Practice Act and already established in rule. No change is being
made to those fees in this proposed rule.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: N/A

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not
conducted because the proposed changes to these rules were discussed during noticed, open meetings of the Board.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: This rule incorporates by
reference the “National Association of the Deaf (NAD)-Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc. (RID) Code of
Professional Conduct as the code of ethics for sign language interpreters.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Dicsie Gullick at (208) 334-3233. Anyone may submit
written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be directed to the undersigned and
must be delivered on or before October 25, 2017.

DATED this 31st day of August, 2017.

Tana Cory, Bureau Chief
Bureau of Occupational Licenses
700 W. State St.

P.O. Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720-0063

Phone: (208) 334-3233

Fax: (208) 334-3945
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BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-2301-1702
Rules of Speech, Hearing & Communication Services Board Proposed Rulemaking (Fee)

THE FOLLOWING IS THE PROPOSED TEXT OF FEE DOCKET NO. 24-2301-1702
(Only Those Sections With Amendments Are Shown.)

004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE (RULE 4)

document titled “Natlonal Assomatlon of the Deaf (NAD)- Reglstrv of Internreters for the Deaf Inc ( RID) Code of
Professional Conduct,” copyright 2005 by the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, is incorporated by reference into
this rule and is available at the Board’s office and on the Board’s web site. {3-36-68) )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

010. DEFINITIONS (RULE 10).

01. Board. The Speech, Hearing and Communication Services Licensure Board as prescribed in
Section 54-2908, Idaho Code. (3-30-06)

02. Bureau. The Bureau of Occupational Licenses as prescribed in Sections 54-2903 and 67-2602,
Idaho Code. (3-30-06)

03. Audiology Support Personnel. Unlicensed natural persons who work under the direction and
supervision of an audiologist who is licensed in accordance with Title 54, Chapter 29, Idaho Code, and is engaged in
the practice of audiology. (3-24-17)

04. Deaf Interpreter. A person who is deaf or hard-of-hearing and not a licensed sign language
interpreter, who is nonetheless permitted by Section 54-2905, Idaho Code, and Board rule to perform in the role of a
sign language interpreter. ( )

05. Dual Licensure. The status of a person who holds more than one (1) license under Title 54,
Chapter 29, Idaho Code.

J

06. Distant Site. The site at which a provider of audiology. speech-language pathology. sign language
interpreting or hearing aid dealing and fitting services is located at the time the service is provided.

)

07. Originating Site. The location of a service recipient at the time audiology. speech-language
pathology, sign language interpreting or hearing aid dealing and fitting services are provided.

)

08. Tele-Speech. Hearing and Communication Services. Audiology, speech-language pathology,
sign language interpreting or hearing aid dealing and fitting services provided to a person through the use of
electronic _communications, information technology, asynchronous store and forward transfer or synchronous
interaction between a service provider at a distant site and a service recipient at an originating site. The practice of

audiology, speech-language pathology, sign language interpreting or hearing aid dealing and fitting via tele-speech,

hearing and communication services is deemed to take place at the originating site. ( )
09. Tele-Speech, Hearing and Communication Provider. A person who is licensed, required to be

licensed, or, if located outside of Idaho, would be required to be licensed if located in Idaho by Title 54, Chapter 29,
Idaho Code, and who provides or offers to provide tele-speech, hearing and communication services to persons who
are located in Idaho. ( )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)
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BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-2301-1702
Rules of Speech, Hearing & Communication Services Board Proposed Rulemaking (Fee)

150. APPLICATION (RULE 150).

01. Filing an Application. Applicants for licensure will submit a complete application, verified under
oath, to the Board at its official address. The application must be on the forms approved by the Board and submitted

together with the appropriate fees and supporting documents. ( )
02. Supporting Documents. The applicant must provide or facilitate the provision of any supporting
third-party documents that may be required under the qualifications for the license being sought. ( )
03. Applications Must Be Complete. Applications will not be considered complete until all required
information, documents, and fees are received by the Board. ( )
04. Lack of Activity. If an applicant fails to respond to a Board request or an application has lacked
activity for twelve (12) consecutive months, the application on file with the Board will be deemed denied and will be
terminated upon a thirty (30) day written notice, unless the applicant demonstrates good cause to the Board. ( )
(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)
175. FEES (RULE 175).
Applications should not be filed unless the applicant can meet all requirements. (3-30-06)
01. Application Fee. Application Fee - Thirty dollars ($30). (3-30-006)
02. Original License Fee. The original license fee is seventy dollars ($70) to be accompanied by the
completed application. (3-24-17)
03. Examination/Reexamination Fee. Examination fee shall be that charged by the examination
provider plus an administration fee of fifty dollars ($50) when the examination is administered by the Board.
(3-30-06)
04. Provisional Permit. Provisional permit and provisional permit extension fee is one hundred dollars
($100). 33006} )
05. Registration Fee for Out of State Licenses. Registration fee is ten dollars ($10). ( )
056. Annual Renewal Fee. Annual renewal fee is one hundred dollars ($100). (3-24-17)
067. Annual Renewal Fee for Inactive License. Annual renewal fee is sixty-five dollars ($65).
(3-27-13)
08. Reinstatement Fee. Reinstatement fee is as provided in Section 67-2614, Idaho Code. ( )
09. Dual Licensure Fee. There is no fee for dual licensure. A person shall be charged fees as though
the person had obtained only one (1) license. ( )

6410. Refund of Fees. No refund of fees shall be made to any person who has paid such fees for
application or reinstatement of a license or examination fees for unexcused applicants. (3-29-10)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)
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BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-2301-1702
Rules of Speech, Hearing & Communication Services Board Proposed Rulemaking (Fee)

251.--29959. (RESERVED)
260. QUALIFICATIONS FOR SIGN LANGUAGE INTERPRETER LICENSURE (RULE 260).

The Board may grant a sign language interpreter license to an applicant who completes an application as set forth in

Section 150 and meets the following: )
01. General. C )
a. Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age; C )
b. Certify that the applicant has not been found guilty, convicted, received a withheld judgment, or

suspended sentence for a felony. If the applicant has been found guilty, convicted, received a withheld judgment, or
suspended sentence for such a crime, the applicant must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set
forth in Section 320 of these rules; and ( )

C. Certify that the applicant or the applicant’s license or certification has not been subject to any
disciplinary action by a regulatory entity in another state, territory, or country including, but not limited to, having an
application for licensure denied. If the applicant or applicant’s license has been subject to discipline, the applicant
must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure as set forth in Section 320 of these rules.

L[

02. Education. Possess a high school diploma or the equivalent;

certification approved by the Board.

03. Examination or Certification. Pass competency examinations approved by the Board or obtain a
)

261. -- 269. (RESERVED)
270. OUT OF STATE LICENSEES (RULE 270).

A person licensed or certified as sign language interpreters in another state, territory, or the District of Columbia, who
is not a resident of the state of Idaho, may practice sign language interpreting in this state for a period not to exceed in
the aggregate thirty (30) days in any calendar year provided that they fulfill the following requirements: ( )

01. Statement of Registration. Before commencing such work, the person will file with the Board on
a form approved by the board a statement of registration providing the person’s name, residence, sign language
interpreter license or certificate of registration number, and the name, address, and phone number of the issuing
authority; ( )

02. Registration Fee. The person will pay one (1) registration fee for each calendar year in which they

)

register;
03. Statement of Time Engaged. Within five (5) business days of completion of the work, the person

will submit to the Board on a form approved by the Board a statement of the number of days in which the person
engaged in that work within the state. ( )

271.--279. (RESERVED)
280. DEAF INTERPRETERS (RULE 280).
01. Letter of Endorsement. Persons who are deaf or hard-of-hearing and are not sign language

interpreters may perform in the role of a deaf interpreter if they file with the Board two (2) written endorsement
letters from a sign language interpreter licensed under Title 54, Chapter 29, Idaho Code. Each letter must, at a

minimum, include: ( )
a. Date letter of endorsement was written; ( )
b. Full name, mailing address, and phone number of the deaf interpreter; ( )
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BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-2301-1702
Rules of Speech, Hearing & Communication Services Board Proposed Rulemaking (Fee)

C. Name, mailing address, and phone number of the sign language interpreter; and ( )

d. A statement endorsing the deaf interpreter to perform sign language interpreting services and an
explanation as to why the sign language interpreter believes that the deaf interpreter has the skills and the knowledge
to perform this role. ( )

02. Withdrawal of Endorsement. A sign language interpreter who has endorsed a deaf interpreter
may withdraw their endorsement at any time upon delivery of written notice to the deaf interpreter and the Board.

)

281. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. EXAMINATION AND RE-EXAMINATION (RULE 300).
Each applicant shall be required to successfully pass the examination approved by the Board that is relevant to the
license or permit for which application is being made. (3-30-06)

01. Dates and Locations of Exams. Examinations shall be held at such times and places as shall be
determined by the Board and/or third-party examination administering authorities. {3-36-66} )

02. Content of Exam. Each applicant shall be required to successfully pass the examination approved
by the Board that is relevant to the license or permit for which application is being made. (3-30-06)

a. Applicants for Speech-Language Pathologist licensure shall successfully pass the national Praxis
speech-language pathologist examination. Applicants for speech-language pathologist aide or speech-pathologist
assistant must pass an examination approved by the Board. (3-30-06)

b. Applicants for audiologist licensure shall successfully pass the national Praxis audiologist
examination. (3-30-06)

c. Applicants for Hearing Aid Dealer and Fitter licensure shall successfully pass the national
International Hearing Instrument Studies examination. (3-30-06)

d. Applicants for a sign language interpreter license by examination must pass one (1) written
examination from Subsection 300.02.d.i. or as approved by the Board and one (1) practical examination from
Subsection 300.02.d.ii. or as approved by the Board: ( )

i The Educational Interpreter Performance Assessment (EIPA), any interpreting generalist written

examination developed by the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID), the Center for Assessment of Sign

Language Interpreters (CASLI), or any state government. ( )

il. Any practical or performance general interpreting examination recognized by the Registry of
Interpreters for the Deaf (RID) or the Educational Interpreter Performance Assessment (EIPA) at score 4.0 or above.

This practical or performance examination must have been passed within twenty (20) years before original

application. ( )
03. Failure of Exam. An applicant who fails to obtain a satisfactory score as determined by the

examination provider in either the written examination or a section of the practical examination, shall be required to
retake only the portion of the examination failed in order to qualify for licensure. If the applicant again fails the
examination the applicant shall be required to retake the entire examination until the examination is successfully
passed to qualify for licensure. (3-30-006)

301. CERTIFICATIONS (RULE 301).

01. Approved Certification Sponsors. Certifications approved by the Board for purposes of licensure

are those administered by: )
)

a. Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID):;
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BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-2301-1702

Rules of Speech, Hearing & Communication Services Board Proposed Rulemaking (Fee)
b. National Association of the Deaf (NAD); ( )
C. Center for Assessment of Sign Language Interpreters (CASLI). ( )
d. Board for Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) at basic level or above, or if certified before 2014, at
intermediate level or above; C )
e. Utah Interpreter Program (UIP) at professional or master level. ( )
02. Board Approved Certification. Also approved is any certification that may be approved by the
Board. C )
03. Valid Certification. To be valid for licensure, a certification must be current. ( )
04. Multiple-Level Certifications. Some certifications are multiple-level. It is the responsibility of
each sign language interpreter to work in settings appropriate to their certification. ( )

3012.--309. (RESERVED)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

311. -- 319. (RESERVED)
320. WRITTEN STATEMENT OF SUITABILITY FOR LICENSURE (RULE 320).

An applicant who or whose license has a conviction, finding of guilt, withheld judgment, or suspended sentence for a
felony or has been subject to discipline in another state, territory, or country must submit with his application a

written statement and any supplemental information establishing his current suitability for licensure.

)

01. Consideration of Factors and Evidence. The board shall consider the following factors or
evidence:

The severity or nature of the crime or discipline;

[®

=

The period of time that has passed since the crime or discipline under review:

LLLLER

The number or pattern of crimes or discipline or other similar incidents;

i

3.
=

d. The circumstances surrounding the crime or discipline that would help determine the risk o

reoccurrence; ( )
€. The relationship of the crime or discipline to the practice of sign language interpreting; ( )
f. The atmhcant’s activities since the crime or discipline under review, such as employment,

—

education, participation in treatment, payment of restitution, or any other factors which may be evidence of curren

rehabilitation; and C )
g. Any other information regarding rehabilitation or mitigating circumstances. )
02. Interview. The Board may. at its discretion, grant an interview of the applicant. C )
03. Applicant Bears the Burden. The applicant shall bear the burden of establishing his current
suitability for licensure. C )

31021.--349. (RESERVED)
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BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-2301-1702
Rules of Speech, Hearing & Communication Services Board Proposed Rulemaking (Fee)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

471.--49979. (RESERVED)

480. PROVISIONAL PERMITS (RULE 480).
The Board may issue a provisional permit allowing a person to engage in the practice of sign language interpreting

while that person is pursuing licensure by taking steps to pass a competency examination or obtain a certification.
The holder of a provisional permit may only practice under the supervision of person(s) holding an active and

unrestricted license under Title 54, Chapter 29, Idaho Code that has not been disciplined for two (2) years
immediately prior to the supervisor’s appointment.

il

01. Application. An applicant must submit a completed application on a form approved by the Board
together with the required fee, a plan of trammg= an affidavit to abide by the profession’s code of professional

conduct, and a statement from a supervisor accepting supervisory responsibility. [
02. Supervision. C )
a. A supervisor will ensure that the practice and conduct of each permit holder under their supervision

conforms to the requirements of Title 54, Chapter 29. Idaho Code, and these rules. C )
b. A supervisor will record with the Board a plan of training that encompasses all sections covered in

o

the hcensmg examination. The plan must be accepted and approved by the Board or its agent prior to issuance of

perrmt. (_)
C. A superv1sor will review with the permit holder plans for training necessary to prepare the permit
holder for the required examination. ( )
d. A supervisor may not supervise more than two (2) permit holder at a time. ( )
e. A supervisor may terminate their supervision of a permit holder by delivering written notice to the
Board and the permit holder by certified mail at least ten (10) calendar days prior to termination. ( )
03. Quarterly Reports. ( )
a. Every permit holder must submit a quarterly report of their activities on forms furnished by the

Board together with supplemental attachments as may be necessary, attested to and signed by the permit holder and

supervisor. Supplemental attachments which must be submitted with this form include: C )
i Log of supervisor and permit holder contacts; (G
il. Supervisor’s statement of completion of training assignments by permit holder; and )
ili. Certificate of attendance for any workshop or training session that permit holder has attended;
()
b. Quarterly reports are due on or before April 10th, July 10th, October 10th, and January 10th for the

three (3) calendar month period preceding the month due. If the permit has not been in effect for the entire quarter, the
report is due for that portion of the quarter in which the permit was in effect. If quarterly reports are not received by
the specified due date, the permit may be revoked.

&

Supervisors who fail to properly or adequately work with permit holders as required by Subsection
480.02 w1ll be subject to disciplinary action as set forth in Section 54-2923. Idaho Code.

L[5

04. Expiration and Renewal.
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BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES Docket No. 24-2301-1702

Rules of Speech, Hearing & Communication Services Board Proposed Rulemaking (Fee)
a. Upon termination of supervision, a new permit may be applied for in accordance with these rules,
provided that the expiration date of the new permit does not exceed the date of the third licensure examination
following approval of the original application. ( )
b. A provisional permit expires automatically upon issue of an original license. The provisional

permit is valid for one (1) year from the date of issue and may be renewed prior to its expiration with an application
for extension signed by the permit holder’s supervisor at the discretion of the Board for a one (1) year period up to a
maximum of two (2) renewals. ( )

481. -- 499. (RESERVED)

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

601.--9699.  (RESERVED)

700. CODE OF ETHICS (RULE 700).

The code of ethics for sign language interpreters licensed under Title 54, Chapter 29, Idaho Code, is contained within
the National Association of the Deaf (NAD)-Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc. (RID) Code of Professional
Conduct as incorporated by reference in Section 004 of these rules. ( )

701. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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PROPOSED RULE COST/BENEFIT ANALYSIS

Section 67-5223(3), Idaho Code, requires the preparation of an economic impact statement
for all proposed rules imposing or increasing fees or charges. This cost/benefit analysis,
which must be filed with the proposed rule, must include the reasonably estimated costs to
the agency to implement the rule and the reasonably estimated costs to be borne by citizens,
or the private sector, or both.

Department or Agency: Bureau of Occupational Licenses
Agency Contact: Dicsie Gullick Phone: 208 334-3233
Date: August 31, 2017

IDAPA, Chapter and Title Number and Chapter Name:

IDAPA 24.23.01 — Rules of the Speech, Hearing and Communication Services Licensure
Board

Fee Rule Status: X __ Proposed ____Temporary

Rulemaking Docket Number: 24-2301-1702

STATEMENT OF ECONOMIC IMPACT:

This fee rule will have no impact on the general fund. It is estimated that there will be no impact
to the Bureau of Occupational License's dedicated fund because the administrative cost of
registering out of state licensees will be offset by the new $10 registration fee and the cost of
regulating in-state licensees will be offset by their application, license and renewal fees.
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