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IDAPA 24 – DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES
24.03.01 – RULES OF THE STATE BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC PHYSICIANS

DOCKET NO. 24-0301-2000F (FEE RULE)

NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF TEMPORARY RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule being adopted through this omnibus rulemaking is the 
adjournment date of the second regular session of the 65th Idaho State Legislature - March 20, 2020.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given this agency has adopted a 
temporary rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-707, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons 
for adopting a temporary rule:

This temporary rulemaking adopts the following chapter under IDAPA 24:

IDAPA 24.03
• 24.03.01, Rules of the State Board of Chiropractic Physicians.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the 
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and 
confer a benefit on its citizens. These temporary rules implement the duly enacted laws of the state of Idaho, provide 
citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the orderly execution and 
enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and processes would undermine 
the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the benefit intended by these rules. 
These rules govern the qualifications for chiropractors as well as regulate the practice of chiropractic physicians. 
Allowing these rules to expire would harm licensees and consumers who seek treatment from chiropractic physicians. 

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), the Governor has found that the fees or charges being imposed or 
increased are justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fees are described herein:

The fees or charges, authorized in Section 54-707A, Idaho Code, are part of the agency’s 2021 budget that relies 
upon the existence of these fees or charges to meet the state’s obligations and provide necessary state services. 
Failing to reauthorize these temporary rules would create immediate danger to the state budget, immediate danger to 
necessary state functions and services, and immediate danger of a violation of Idaho’s constitutional requirement that 
it balance its budget. 

The following is a specific description of the fees or charges:

Fee Type Amount 
(Not to Exceed)

Application $200

Original License $200

Annual Renewal $200

Inactive License $150

Reinstatement of Expired License $35

Reinstatement of Inactive License $150

Temporary Permit $150
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ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary 
rule, contact Rob McQuade at (208) 334-3233.

DATED this February 21, 2020.

Kelley Packer
Division Administrator 
Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses
700 W. State Street
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720
Phone: (208) 334-3233
Fax: (208) 334-3945

Intern Permit $150

Application for Clinical Nutrition Certification $175

Clinical Nutrition Certification Renewal $175

Fee Type Amount 
(Not to Exceed)
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24.03.01 – RULES OF THE STATE BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC PHYSICIANS

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
These rules are hereby prescribed and established pursuant to the authority vested in the State Board of Chiropractic 
Physicians by the provisions of Section 54-707, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.
These rules are titled IDAPA 24.03.01, “Rules of the State Board of Chiropractic Physicians.” (3-20-20)T

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITION.

01. Chiropractic Assistant. A chiropractic assistant is an individual functioning in a dependent 
relationship with a supervising chiropractic physician in the performance of any chiropractic practice. (3-20-20)T

02. Chiropractic Intern. A chiropractic intern is defined as any individual who is presently enrolled in 
a school of chiropractic and is qualified to practice as an intern as established by the approved chiropractic college 
that the individual attends and who will function in a dependent relationship with a supervising chiropractic physician 
in the performance of chiropractic practice. (3-20-20)T

03. Direct Personal Supervision. Direct Personal Supervision means that the licensed chiropractic 
physician is physically present in the clinic, is monitoring the activities of the supervisee, and is available to 
intervene, if necessary. (3-20-20)T

04. Inactive Retired. The status of a licensee who is over sixty-five (65) years of age, has paid the 
inactive retired fee and is permanently retired from the practice of chiropractic. The holder of an inactive retired 
license may not practice chiropractic in Idaho. (3-20-20)T

011. -- 099. (RESERVED)

100. APPLICATIONS.

01. Qualifications. (3-20-20)T

a. New applicants will meet the following requirements: (3-20-20)T

i. National Boards Parts I, II, III, and IV; (3-20-20)T

ii. Graduation from a Council on Chiropractic Education (CCE) approved college or university; and
(3-20-20)T

iii. Applicants will be required to sign an affidavit swearing under oath that they have fully reviewed 
and understand and will abide by the Chiropractic Act, Title 54, Chapter 7, Idaho Code, and the Board’s Rules, 
IDAPA 24, Title 03, Chapter 01, “Rules of the State Board of Chiropractic Physicians.” (3-20-20)T

b. Endorsement applicants will meet the following requirements: (3-20-20)T

i. Successful passage of the National Boards Parts which were in effect at the time of graduation from 
chiropractic college and physiotherapy; (3-20-20)T

ii. If licensed prior to January, 1980, CCE approved college or university not required. If licensed after 
January, 1980, applicant must have graduated from a CCE approved college or university; (3-20-20)T

iii. Five (5) years of consecutive practice without discipline immediately prior to application and holds 
a current, valid license to practice in a state, territory, or district of the United States or Canada; (3-20-20)T

iv. Applicants must demonstrate that they possess the requisite qualifications to provide the same 
standard of chiropractic care as provided by physicians in this state. The Board may, in its sole discretion, require 
further examination to establish such qualifications, such as passage of the National Board Special Purposes 
Examination for Chiropractors (SPEC); and (3-20-20)T

v. Applicants will be required to sign an affidavit swearing under oath that they have fully reviewed 
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and understand and will abide by the Chiropractic Act, Title 54, Chapter 7, Idaho Code, and the Board’s Rules, 
IDAPA 24, Title 03, Chapter 01, “Rules of the State Board of Chiropractic Physicians.” (3-20-20)T

101. -- 149. (RESERVED)

150. FEES.
All fees are non-refundable.

(3-20-20)T

151. -- 199. (RESERVED)

200. EXAMINATIONS.
It shall be the applicant’s duty to take and successfully pass the National Board Examinations administered by the 
National Board of Chiropractic Examiners as specified in these rules. (3-20-20)T

201. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. INACTIVE LICENSE.
A licensee holding a current active license in this state who is not practicing chiropractic in this state may be issued 
an inactive license in accordance with Section 54-708(2), Idaho Code, as follows: (3-20-20)T

01. Inactive Status. Each application for an Inactive status license must be accompanied by:
(3-20-20)T

a. The established fee; and (3-20-20)T

b. A written application to change a current active license to an inactive license. (3-20-20)T

c. An inactive license shall be issued for one (1) year. (3-20-20)T

02. Inactive License Status Renewal. (3-20-20)T

a. An inactive license must be renewed annually by submitting the established fee and renewal 
application. Inactive licenses not renewed will be canceled. (3-20-20)T

b. All continuing education requirements will be waived for any year or portion thereof that a licensee 
maintains an inactive license and is not actively practicing or supervising in Idaho. (3-20-20)T

03. Return to Active Status of License Inactive for Five (5) or Fewer Years. An inactive license 

Fee Type Amount
(Not to Exceed)

Application $200
Original license $200
Annual renewal $200
Inactive license $150
Reinstatement of expired license $35
Reinstatement of inactive license $150
Temporary permit $150
Intern permit $150
Application for clinical nutrition certification $175
Clinical nutrition certification renewal $175



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 24.03.01
Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses Board of Chiropractic Physicians

Section 350 Page 1513  

holder whose license has been inactive for five (5) or fewer years may convert from inactive to active license status 
by: (3-20-20)T

a. Making written application to the Board on a form prescribed by the Board; (3-20-20)T

b. Providing documentation to the Board showing successful completion within the previous twelve 
(12) months of the continuing education requirements for renewal of an active license; and (3-20-20)T

c. Paying a fee equivalent to the difference between the current inactive fee and the active renewal 
fee. (3-20-20)T

04. Return to Active Status of License Inactive for More Than Five (5) Years. An inactive license 
holder whose license has been inactive for more than five (5) years may convert from inactive to active license status 
by: (3-20-20)T

a. Making written application to the Board on a form prescribed by the Board. (3-20-20)T

b. Providing an account to the Board for that period of time during which the license was inactive and 
fulfilling requirements that demonstrate competency to resume practice. Those requirements may include, but are not 
limited to, education, supervised practice, and examination as determined by the Board. The Board may consider 
practice in another jurisdiction in determining competency. (3-20-20)T

c. Paying a fee equivalent to the difference between the current inactive fee and the active renewal 
fee. (3-20-20)T

05. Clinical Nutrition Certificate Expires. If a licensee holds a clinical nutrition certificate and places 
their license on inactive status, the clinical nutrition certificate is immediately canceled as though the license was not 
timely renewed as provided in Section 703 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

06. Reissuance of Clinical Nutrition Certificate. An inactive license holder who held a clinical 
nutrition certificate at the time their license was placed on inactive status who returns to active license status pursuant 
to this rule may be reissued a clinical nutrition certificate by showing proof of compliance with the provisions of 
Sections 704, 705, and 706 that apply to their situation. (3-20-20)T

301. -- 349. (RESERVED)

350. CONTINUING EDUCATION.
All licensees must comply with the following continuing education requirements: (3-20-20)T

01. Requirement. Applicants for renewal shall be required to complete a minimum of eighteen (18) 
hours of continuing education within the preceding twelve (12) months, as approved by the Board. (3-20-20)T

a. Continuing education credit will only be given for actual time in attendance or for the time spent 
participating in the educational activity. (3-20-20)T

b. The educational setting may include a classroom, conference/seminar, on-line, or a virtual 
classroom. (3-20-20)T

c. If the licensee completes two (2) or more courses having substantially the same content during any 
one (1) renewal period, the licensee only will receive continuing education credit for one (1) of the courses.

(3-20-20)T

02. Documentation. Each licensee shall maintain documentation verifying continuing education 
attendance and curriculum for a period of five (5) years from the date of completion. This documentation will be 
subject to audit by the Board. (3-20-20)T

a. Documented evidence of meeting the continuing education requirement shall be in the form of a 
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certificate or letter from the sponsoring entity that includes verification of attendance by the licensee, the title of the 
activity, the subject material covered, the dates and number of hours credited, and the presenter’s full name and 
professional credentials. (3-20-20)T

b. A licensee must submit the verification documentation to the Board if requested by the Board. In 
the event a licensee fails to provide the Board with acceptable documentation of the hours attested to on the renewal 
application, the licensee may be subject to disciplinary action. (3-20-20)T

03. Waiver. The Board may waive the requirements of this rule for reasons of individual hardship 
including health or other good cause. The licensee should request the waiver in advance of renewal and must provide 
any information requested by the Board to assist in substantiating hardship cases. This waiver is granted at the sole 
discretion of the Board. (3-20-20)T

04. Carryover of Continuing Education Hours. Continuing education hours not claimed in the 
current renewal year may be claimed in the next renewal year. Hours may be carried forward from the immediately 
preceding year, and may not be carried forward more than one renewal year. (3-20-20)T

05. Exemption. A licensee is exempt from the continuing education requirements under this section 
for the period between the initial issuance or the original license and the first expiration date of that license.

(3-20-20)T

06. Continuing Education Activities. The following educational activities qualify for continuing 
education: (3-20-20)T

a. Post-graduate education courses, germane to chiropractic practice as approved by the Board.
(3-20-20)T

b. Attendance at Board meetings. (3-20-20)T

351. APPROVAL OF CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES.

01. Approved Continuing Education Courses. Approved continuing education courses shall be those 
courses, programs, and activities that are germane to the practice of chiropractic, as defined in Sections 54-704(1) and 
(2), Idaho Code, and meet the general requirements and content requirements of these rules, and are approved, 
sponsored, or provided by the following entities or organizations, or otherwise approved by the Board: (3-20-20)T

a. Council of Chiropractic Education (CCE) approved chiropractic college or university, a college or 
university accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting agency as recognized by the United States Secretary of 
Education or an educational program approved by the Board; (3-20-20)T

b. Providers of Approved Continuing Education (PACE); (3-20-20)T

c. National and state chiropractic associations; and (3-20-20)T

d. Provider Course Approval. Other courses that may be approved by the Board based upon 
documentation submitted by a continuing education provider. Requests for approval of courses made by the provider 
must be submitted on a form approved by the Board that includes: (3-20-20)T

i. The nature and subject of the course and how it is germane to the practice of chiropractic;
(3-20-20)T

ii. The name of the instructor(s) and their qualifications; (3-20-20)T

iii. The date, time, and location of the course; (3-20-20)T

iv. The specific agenda for the course; (3-20-20)T
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v. The number of continuing education hours requested; (3-20-20)T

vi. The procedures for verification of attendance; and (3-20-20)T

vii. Other information as may be requested by the Board. (3-20-20)T

viii. Upon review of all information requested, the Board may deny any request for a course that does 
not meet the requirements of Idaho law or rule. Board approval of a course shall be granted for a period not to exceed 
two (2) years or until the course materials or instructors are changed, whichever may occur first. (3-20-20)T

02. Licensee Course Approval. Other courses that may be approved by the Board based upon 
documentation submitted by the licensee. All requests for approval must be made to the Board in writing and include 
the nature and subject of the course and its relevancy to the practice of chiropractic, name of instructor(s) and their 
qualifications, date, time and location of the course, and procedures for verification of attendance. (3-20-20)T

352. -- 399. (RESERVED)

400. APPROVED SCHOOLS OF CHIROPRACTIC.

01. Requirement for Approval. (3-20-20)T

a. The Board will consider a school, college, or university in good standing only if such school, 
college, or university conforms to the requirements of “recognized candidate for accreditation,” or “accredited” of the 
Council of Chiropractic Education or any foreign country college which meets equivalent standards as determined by 
the Board and teaches accredited courses in all the subjects set forth in Section 54-709(1)(b), Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

b. Regardless of the Council on Chiropractic Education status, the Board may make additional 
requirements for approval as a reputable school, college or university of Chiropractic. (3-20-20)T

02. New Schools. Those graduates of new schools of chiropractic will only be accepted for licensure 
application provided the school reaches “recognized candidate for accreditation” status with the Council on 
Chiropractic Education within one year following the first graduating class. (3-20-20)T

401. -- 449. (RESERVED)

450. ADVERTISEMENTS.

01. Prohibited Advertising. No chiropractor shall disseminate or cause the dissemination of any 
advertisement or advertising which is any way fraudulent, false, deceptive or misleading. Any advertisement or 
advertising shall be deemed by the board to be fraudulent, false, deceptive, or misleading if it: (3-20-20)T

a. Is likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public; or (3-20-20)T

b. Uses false or misleading statement(s) regarding a chiropractor’s skill or the efficacy or value of the 
chiropractic medicine, treatment, or remedy prescribed by a chiropractor or at a chiropractor’s direction in the 
treatment of any disease or other condition of the body or mind. (3-20-20)T

451. -- 549. (RESERVED)

550. CHIROPRACTIC ASSISTANTS.

01. Chiropractic Physician Responsible and Liable. The chiropractic physician shall be responsible 
and liable for: (3-20-20)T

a. Direct personal supervision; (3-20-20)T

b. Any acts of the assistant in the performance of chiropractic practice; (3-20-20)T
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c. Proper training and capabilities of the chiropractic assistant before authorization is given to 
perform any chiropractic practice. (3-20-20)T

02. Chiropractic Assistant Limitations. A chiropractic assistant shall not: (3-20-20)T

a. Manipulate articulations; (3-20-20)T

b. Provide diagnostic results or interpretations to the patient; (3-20-20)T

c. Provide treatment advice to any patient without instructions from the supervising Chiropractic 
Physician. (3-20-20)T

551. CHIROPRACTIC INTERN.

01. Chiropractic Physician Responsible and Liable. The chiropractic physician shall be responsible 
and liable for: (3-20-20)T

a. Direct personal supervision of the intern; (3-20-20)T

b. Any acts of the intern in the performance of chiropractic practice; (3-20-20)T

c. Determining that the intern possesses sufficient training and capabilities before authorization is 
given to perform any chiropractic practice. (3-20-20)T

02. Chiropractic Intern Limitations. A chiropractic intern shall not: (3-20-20)T

a. Perform any chiropractic practice independently, but must perform all such practice under the 
direct personal supervision of a licensed Chiropractic Physician; (3-20-20)T

b. Provide diagnostic results or interpretations to the patient prior to consultation with the supervising 
Chiropractic Physician; (3-20-20)T

c. Provide treatment advice to any patient without instructions from the supervising Chiropractic 
Physician. (3-20-20)T

552. TEMPORARY PRACTICE PERMITS.
When an original application for license or internship is accepted by the board as being fully completed, in 
accordance with the requirements of the Idaho Chiropractic Physician Law and these Rules, a temporary permit to 
practice may be issued. (3-20-20)T

01. Supervision Required. A permit holder may work only when under the direct personal supervision 
of a chiropractic physician currently licensed in Idaho. The name, address and signature of the supervising 
chiropractic physician shall appear on the application. (3-20-20)T

02. Only One Permit May Be Issued. Only one (1) permit may be issued under any circumstances to 
any individual. (3-20-20)T

03. Validity of Temporary Permits. Temporary permit to practice will be valid for a period not to 
exceed twelve (12) months and only: (3-20-20)T

a. In the case of an applicant for Idaho licensure, until the results of the next scheduled examination 
have been released. No work permit will be issued to an applicant who has previously failed an examination for 
licensure in this or any other state, territory, possession, or country more than once. Failure to sit for the next 
scheduled examination will invalidate the work permit and no further permits will be issued. (3-20-20)T

b. In the case of an intern, until the scheduled date of graduation from an approved school of 
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chiropractic. Upon original application for licensure in Idaho, the intern permit may be extended by the board until 
the results of the next scheduled examination have been released. No work permit will be issued to an applicant who 
has previously failed an examination for licensure in this or any other state, territory, possession, or country more 
than once. Failure to sit for the next scheduled examination will invalidate the work permit and no further permits 
will be issued. (3-20-20)T

553. -- 604. (RESERVED)

605. CODE OF ETHICS.
Chiropractic physicians are responsible for maintaining and promoting ethical practice in accordance with the ethical 
principles set forth in Appendix A in these rules. (3-20-20)T

606. -- 699. (RESERVED)

700. CLINICAL NUTRITION CERTIFICATION AND PRACTICE.

01. Non-Certified Clinical Nutritional Practice. Clinical nutritional methods as referenced in Section 
54-704(1), Idaho Code, include, but are not limited to, the clinical use, administration, recommendation, 
compounding, prescribing, selling, and distributing non-prescription vitamins, minerals, botanical medicine, herbals, 
homeopathic, phytonutrients, antioxidants, enzymes and glandular extracts, and durable and non-durable medical 
goods and devices. Nothing herein shall allow any deviation from Section 54-704(3), Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

02. Certified Clinical Nutritional Practice.The Board may issue clinical nutrition certification to a 
chiropractic physician licensed by the Board who successfully completes the minimum education and complies with 
requirements in Chapter 7, Title 54, Idaho Code governing clinical nutrition certification and the requirements of 
Sections 700 through 706. (3-20-20)T

701. (RESERVED)

702. REQUIREMENTS FOR CLINICAL NUTRITION CERTIFICATION.
The Board may grant clinical nutrition certification to a licensee who completes an application, pays the applicable 
fees and meets the following requirements: (3-20-20)T

01. General. (3-20-20)T

a. Hold and maintain a current, active, unrestricted license as a chiropractic physician issued by the 
Board. (3-20-20)T

b. Not have been on probation or otherwise disciplined by the Board or by any other licensing board 
or regulatory entity; provided the applicant may make written request to the Board for an exemption review to 
determine the applicant's suitability for certification, which the Board shall determine in accordance with the 
following: (3-20-20)T

i. The exemption review shall consist of a review of any documents relating to the probation or 
discipline and any supplemental information provided by the applicant bearing upon the applicant’s suitability for 
certification. The Board may, at its discretion, grant an interview of the applicant. During the review, the Board shall 
consider the following factors or evidence: (3-20-20)T

(1) The severity or nature of the violation(s) resulting in probation or discipline; (3-20-20)T 

(2) The period of time that has passed since the violation(s) under review; (3-20-20)T

(3) The number or pattern of violations or other similar incidents; (3-20-20)T

(4) The circumstances surrounding the violation(s) that would help determine the risk of repetition;
(3-20-20)T
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(5) The relationship of the violation(s) to the practice of chiropractic or any health care profession, 
including but not limited to, whether the violation(s) related to clinical practice, involved patient care, a violation of 
any state or federal law, rule or regulation relating to controlled substances or to a drug, substance or product 
identified in Section 54-704(3)(b), Idaho Code; (3-20-20)T

(6) The applicant's activities since the violation(s) under review, such as employment, education, 
participation in treatment, payment of restitution, or any other factors that may be evidence of current rehabilitation; 
and (3-20-20)T

(7) Any other mitigating or aggravating circumstances. (3-20-20)T

ii. The applicant shall bear the burden of establishing current suitability for certification. (3-20-20)T

c. Successfully complete the requirements of Section 54-717, Idaho Code, and Section 702.
(3-20-20)T

d. Written verification of current health care provider cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) 
certification. Health care provider CPR certification must be from a course that includes a hands-on skill component 
as provided by the American Heart Association, American Red Cross, American Health and Safety Institute or 
similar provider approved by the Board. Written verification of current basic life support (BLS) certification. All 
chiropractic physicians holding clinical nutrition certification must maintain current health care provider CPR and 
BLS certification as provided in this Section. (3-20-20)T

e. Certify that the chiropractic physician has BLS equipment on the premises where clinical nutrition 
treatment is being performed. BLS equipment shall include at a minimum: (3-20-20)T

i. Rescue breathing equipment. (3-20-20)T

ii. Oxygen. (3-20-20)T

iii. Epinephrine. (3-20-20)T

f. Certify that the chiropractic physician possesses and will provide to patients informed consent 
documentation that explains the benefits and potential risks of the specific course of intravenous or injectable 
nutrition therapy that is being proposed and that the physician will in advance obtain from the patient written 
voluntary permission to perform the proposed therapy in accordance with Section 54-717(7), Idaho Code.(3-20-20)T

g. Payment of all fines, costs, fees or other amounts that are due and owing to the Board or in 
compliance with a payment arrangement with the Board is required to be eligible for clinical nutrition certification 
pursuant to Sections 700 through 706. (3-20-20)T

02. Didactic Education Requirement. Provide a certificate or other evidence acceptable to the Board 
of successful completion of a minimum of seven (7) credits (seventy-seven (77) hours) of didactic human nutrition, 
nutrition biochemistry, and nutritional pharmacology courses. The certificate or other evidence of successful 
completion must be provided directly to the Board by the educational institution. (3-20-20)T

a. Chiropractic physicians licensed by the Board who apply for clinical nutrition certification may be 
determined to have satisfied the didactic education requirements only if they present a certificate or other evidence 
acceptable to the Board pursuant to this Section demonstrating they commenced obtaining the didactic education 
required by this Section no earlier than three (3) years prior to applying for clinical nutrition certification and 
thereafter successfully completed the requirements. (3-20-20)T

03. Practicum Requirement. Provide a certificate or other evidence acceptable to the Board of 
successful completion of a minimum of twenty-four (24) hours of practicum in intravenous and injectable nutrient 
therapy, which must include: sterile needle practices, phlebotomy, proper injection techniques, intravenous therapy 
techniques, intramuscular injection techniques, safety practices, and use and expected outcomes utilizing 
micronutrients, response to adverse effects, lab testing, and blood chemistry interpretation. (3-20-20)T
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a. After July 1, 2019, the practicum of any applicant for clinical nutrition certification required by this 
Section must not have commenced more than two (2) years prior to the date of application for clinical nutrition 
certification and be successfully completed thereafter. (3-20-20)T

04. Accredited Institution and Program Requirement. The courses and practicum required by 
Subsections 702.02 and 702.03 must be taken from an accredited chiropractic college or other accredited institution 
of higher education. In addition the courses and practicum must be from an accredited program at the college or 
institution or be a program approved by the Board. (3-20-20)T

a. For purposes of this Section “accredited” means accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by 
the United States Department of Education. (3-20-20)T

b. For purposes of this Section “approved by the Board” means a program that is a “recognized 
candidate for accreditation,” has “initial accreditation” status or “preaccreditation” status by an accrediting body 
recognized by the United States Department of Education, or is substantially equivalent to a program having that 
status. (3-20-20)T

c. An applicant for clinical nutrition certification shall bear the burden to demonstrate their education 
and training in clinical nutrition meets the requirements of this Section, including both the accredited institution and 
accredited program requirements. (3-20-20)T

05. Audit of Compliance with Clinical Nutrition Certification and Recertification Requirements. 
The Board may conduct audits to confirm that licensees meet the requirements to maintain clinical nutrition 
certification and recertification. In the event a licensee audited by the Board fails to provide documentation or other 
evidence acceptable to the Board of meeting the clinical nutrition certification or recertification requirements as 
verified to the Board as part of their annual license renewal or the recertification process the matter will be referred to 
Division’s investigative unit for investigation and potential disciplinary proceedings by the Board. (3-20-20)T

06. Requirement to Maintain Supporting Documentation. A licensee need not submit 
documentation to the Board with a chiropractic license renewal application verifying qualifications for annual 
issuance of clinical nutrition certification pursuant to Section 703, or verifying qualifications to recertify clinical 
nutrition certification pursuant to Section 706. However, a licensee must maintain documentation for a period of five 
(5) years verifying the licensee has satisfied the requirements. A licensee must submit the documentation to the Board 
if the annual reissuance or the recertification is audited. All documentation must include the licensee’s name, and as 
applicable, the date the course or other required activity commenced and was completed, provider name, course title 
and description, length of the course/activity, and other information required by the Board. (3-20-20)T

703. ANNUAL ISSUANCE OF CLINICAL NUTRITION CERTIFICATION WITH LICENSE 
RENEWAL.

01. Expiration Date. Chiropractic physicians’ clinical nutrition certification expires on the expiration 
date of their chiropractic license and must be issued annually with the renewal of their license pursuant to Section 
250. The Board shall waive the clinical nutrition certification fee in conjunction with the first timely renewal of the 
chiropractic license after initial clinical nutrition certification. (3-20-20)T

02. Issuance. Clinical nutrition certification shall be issued annually by timely submission of a 
chiropractic license renewal application, payment of the chiropractic license renewal fee, the clinical nutrition 
certification fee, any amounts owing pursuant to Subsection 702.01.g., and verifying to the Board that the licensee is 
in compliance with the requirements for clinical nutrition certification as provided in the Board’s laws and rules.

(3-20-20)T

03. Failure to Comply with Issuance Requirements. (3-20-20)T

a. If a licensee with clinical nutrition certification fails to verify meeting clinical nutrition certification 
annual issuance requirements when renewing their chiropractic physician license the clinical nutrition certification is 
canceled and the chiropractic physician license will be renewed without clinical nutrition certification. (3-20-20)T
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b. If a licensee with clinical nutrition certification fails to timely renew their chiropractic physician 
license their clinical nutrition certification is canceled. (3-20-20)T

c. Clinical nutrition certification canceled pursuant to this Section may be reissued within three (3) 
years in accordance with Section 704. (3-20-20)T

704. REISSUANCE OF CANCELLED CLINICAL NUTRITION CERTIFICATION.

01. Reissuance. Clinical nutrition certification canceled pursuant to Subsection 703.03 may be 
reissued within three (3) years of cancellation as follows: (3-20-20)T

a. Submission of a reissuance application and payment of the current clinical nutrition certification 
fee. (3-20-20)T

b. Submission of any other documents required by the Board for reissuance including but not limited 
to: (3-20-20)T

i. Documentation of holding current licensure as a chiropractic physician from the Board meeting the 
requirements of Section 702. (3-20-20)T

ii. Documentation of compliance with clinical recertification requirements in accordance with Section 
706. (3-20-20)T

iii. Documentation of current health care provider CPR and BLS certification and certification that the 
chiropractic physician has BLS equipment on the premises where clinical nutrition treatment is performed and that 
informed consent and voluntary permission to perform the proposed therapy are being used in accordance with 
Section 702. (3-20-20)T

705. CLINICAL NUTRITION CERTIFICATION CANCELLED FOR OVER THREE (3) YEARS.
Clinical nutrition certification canceled for a period of more than three (3) years may not be reissued. The 
chiropractic physician so affected shall be required to make application to the Board in compliance with Section 701 
and Section 702 and pay the application and other fees for new clinical nutrition certification. The applicant shall be 
reviewed by the Board and considered as follows: (3-20-20)T

01. Current Competency and Training. The chiropractic physician shall fulfill requirements as 
determined by the Board that demonstrate the chiropractic physician’s competency to regain clinical nutrition 
certification in this state. Such requirements may include, but are not limited to, education, supervised practice, and 
examination, including some or all education, training and other requirements for original clinical nutrition 
certification as set forth in Section 54-717, Idaho Code, and Section 702. (3-20-20)T

02. New Clinical Nutrition Certification. Chiropractic Physicians who fulfill the conditions and 
requirements of this Section may be granted a new clinical nutrition certification. (3-20-20)T

706. CLINICAL NUTRITION RECERTIFICATION REQUIREMENT.

01. Recertification in Clinical Nutrition Every Three (3) Years. After Initial certification in clinical 
nutrition, chiropractic physicians must recertify in clinical nutrition every three (3) years in order to maintain clinical 
nutrition certification. (3-20-20)T

02. Annual Verification of Meeting Requirements. In order to maintain clinical nutrition 
certification pursuant to Section 54-717, Idaho Code, and Section 700, chiropractic physicians having clinical 
nutrition certification must annually verify, along with their chiropractic license renewal, pursuant to Subsection 
706.01 by attesting to the Board they are in compliance with the requirements to recertify in clinical nutrition the 
following: (3-20-20)T

a. Completion within the three (3) years prior to required recertification of a twelve (12) hour in 



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 24.03.01
Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses Board of Chiropractic Physicians

Section 707 Page 1521  

person face to face classroom course from an institution and program meeting Section 702.04 accreditation 
requirements. The course must include both didactic education and practical review and practice of contemporary 
developments and best practices to maintain core competency in the practice of clinical nutrition as set forth in 
Section 54-716, Idaho Code, and Section 54-717, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

b. Current licensure as a chiropractic physician issued by the Board meeting the requirements of 
Section 702. (3-20-20)T

c. Current health care provider CPR and BLS certification and that BLS equipment is maintained on 
the premises where clinical nutrition treatment is performed pursuant to Section 702. (3-20-20)T

d. They possess and will provide to patients informed consent documentation that explains the 
benefits and potential risks of the specific course of intravenous or injectable nutrition therapy that is being proposed 
and that the physician will in advance obtain from the patient written voluntary permission to perform the proposed 
therapy in accordance with Section 54-717(7), Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

03. Recertification is in Addition to Required Annual Continuing Education. The twelve (12) hour 
recertification course requirement is in addition to the annual eighteen (18) hours of continuing education required 
under Subsection 300.01. (3-20-20)T

04. Failure to Timely Recertify in Clinical Nutrition. Clinical nutrition certification not timely 
recertified in accordance with Section 706 shall expire and be canceled. Clinical nutrition certification canceled for 
failure to recertify may be reissued within three (3) years in accordance with Section 704. (3-20-20)T

707. OBTAINING AND INDEPENDENTLY ADMINISTERING CLINICAL NUTRITION 
PRESCRIPTION DRUG PRODUCTS.
A chiropractic physician with clinical nutrition certification as defined by Sections 54-704(4), 54-716 and 54-717, 
Idaho Code, may obtain and independently administer prescription drug products in the practice of chiropractic 
subject to the conditions below. (3-20-20)T

01. Current Certification in Clinical Nutrition Required. Only chiropractic physicians who hold 
current certification in clinical nutrition by the Board may obtain and independently administer prescription drug 
products during chiropractic practice. (3-20-20)T

02. Obtain Prescription Drugs Products from the Formulary. A chiropractic physician with clinical 
nutrition certification may not obtain a prescription drug product that is not listed in the chiropractic clinical nutrition 
formulary. (3-20-20)T

03. Only Administer Prescription Drug Products from the Formulary. Chiropractic physicians 
with clinical nutrition certification may only administer those prescription drug products listed in the chiropractic 
clinical nutrition formulary. (3-20-20)T

a. Chiropractic physicians with clinical nutrition certification shall not prescribe, dispense, distribute, 
or direct to a patient the use of a prescription drug product. (3-20-20)T

04. Routes of Administration and Dosing of Prescription Drug Products. Prescription drug 
products listed in the chiropractic clinical nutrition formulary may be administered through oral, topical, intravenous, 
intramuscular or subcutaneous routes by a chiropractic physician with clinical nutrition certification. The route of 
administration and dosing shall be in accordance with the product’s labeling as approved by the federal food and drug 
administration or with the manufacturer’s instructions. (3-20-20)T

05. Practice Limited to Chiropractic Physicians with Clinical Nutrition Certification. 
Chiropractic interns, chiropractic assistants, holders of chiropractic temporary practice permits and others working 
under the authority or direction of a chiropractic physician may not perform any practice or function requiring clinical 
nutrition certification. (3-20-20)T

06. Sale, Transfer, or Other Distribution of Prescription Drugs Prohibited. Chiropractic 
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physicians with clinical nutrition certification may obtain and administer prescription drug products to a patient only 
in accordance with this Section 707. Chiropractic physicians may not prescribe, sell, transfer, dispense, or otherwise 
distribute prescription drug products to any person or entity. Prescription drug products not administered to a patient 
shall be handled in accordance with Subsections 708.05, 708.06, and 708.07. (3-20-20)T

708. CLINICAL NUTRITION FORMULARY.
Chiropractic physicians certified in clinical nutrition may obtain and independently administer, during chiropractic 
practice, only the prescription drug products listed in this chiropractic clinical nutrition formulary and subject to the 
provisions hereof. (3-20-20)T

01. Chiropractic Clinical Nutrition Prescription Drug Formulary. Prescription drug products that 
may be used by chiropractic physicians with clinical nutrition certification are limited to the following: (3-20-20)T

a. Vitamins: vitamin A, all B vitamins and vitamin C; (3-20-20)T

b. Minerals: ammonium molybdate, calcium, chromium, copper, iodine, magnesium, manganese, 
potassium, selenium, sodium, and zinc; (3-20-20)T

c. Fluids: dextrose, lactated ringers, plasma lyte, saline, and sterile water; (3-20-20)T

d. Epinephrine; and (3-20-20)T

e. Oxygen for use during an emergency or allergic reaction. (3-20-20)T

02. Sources of Clinical Nutrition Prescription Drug Products. Prescription drug products listed in 
the chiropractic clinical nutrition formulary shall be obtained only by a chiropractic physician with clinical nutrition 
certification and only from a source licensed under Chapter 17, Title 54, Idaho Code, that is a wholesale distributor, a 
manufacturer, a pharmacy, or an outsourcing facility and from no other source. (3-20-20)T

03. No Compounding of Prescription Drug Products. No vitamin or mineral may be compounded, 
as defined in Section 54-1705, Idaho Code, by a chiropractic physician. A compounded drug product containing two 
(2) or more of the vitamins or minerals approved in the chiropractic clinical nutrition formulary shall be obtained for 
office use by a chiropractic physician with clinical nutrition certification only from an outsourcing facility licensed 
under Chapter 17, Title 54, Idaho Code and from no other source. A chiropractic physician may not obtain or use in 
chiropractic practice a compounded drug product containing a prescription drug product that is not included in the 
chiropractic clinical nutrition formulary. (3-20-20)T

04. Limitations on Possession of Prescription Drug Products. Possession of prescription drug 
products without a valid prescription drug order by chiropractic physicians licensed pursuant to Chapter 7, Title 54, 
Idaho Code, and certified pursuant to Sections 54-708, and 54-717, Idaho Code, or their agents or employees shall be 
limited to: (3-20-20)T

a. Only those prescription drug products listed in Sections 54-716, Idaho Code, and in the chiropractic 
clinical nutrition formulary; (3-20-20)T

b. Only those quantities reasonably required for use in the usual and lawful course of the chiropractic 
physician’s clinical nutrition practice based on the patient panel size and history of orders. (3-20-20)T

05. Prescription Drug Product Storage. Clinical nutrition prescription drugs must be stored in 
accordance with United States Pharmacopeia-National Formulary requirements in an area maintained and secured 
appropriately to safeguard product integrity and protect against product theft or diversion. (3-20-20)T 

06. Expired, Deteriorated, Adulterated, Damaged, or Contaminated Prescription Drug Products. 
Expired, deteriorated, adulterated, damaged, or contaminated prescription drug products must be removed from stock 
and isolated for return, reclamation or destruction. (3-20-20)T

07. Compliance with Federal and State Requirements. In addition to the requirements of the Idaho 
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Chiropractic Practice Act and rules of the Board, chiropractic physicians shall comply with all federal and state laws, 
rules and policies governing possession, storage, record keeping, use, and disposal of prescription drug products.

(3-20-20)T

709. MEDICAL WASTE.
Chiropractic physicians certified in clinical nutrition must dispose of medical waste during the practice of 
chiropractic clinical nutrition according to the following protocol: (3-20-20)T

01. Containers for Non-Sharp, Medical Waste. Medical waste, except for sharps, must be placed in 
disposable containers/bags that are impervious to moisture and strong enough to preclude ripping, tearing, or bursting 
under normal conditions of use. The bags must be securely tied so as to prevent leakage or expulsion of solid or liquid 
waste during storage, handling, or transport. The containment system must have a tight-fitting cover and be kept 
clean and in good repair. All bags used for containment of medical waste must be clearly identified by label or color, 
or both. (3-20-20)T

02. Containers for Sharps. Sharps must be placed in impervious, rigid, puncture-resistant containers 
immediately after use. After use, needles must not be bent, clipped or broken by hand. Rigid containers of discarded 
sharps must either be labeled or colored like the disposable bags used for other medical waste, or placed in such 
labeled or colored bags and disposed of according to container guidelines. (3-20-20)T

710. -- 999. (RESERVED)

Appendix A – Chiropractic Physicians Code of Ethics

PREAMBLE

This code of ethics set forth principles for the ethical practice of chiropractic. All chiropractic physicians are 
responsible for maintaining and promoting ethical practice and otherwise complying with the terms of this code of 
ethics. To this end, the chiropractic physician shall act in the best interest of the patient. This code of ethics shall be 
binding on all chiropractic physicians.

1. Duty to Report
A. Duty to Report. It shall be the duty of every licensee to notify the Board through the Division of 

Occupational and Professional Licenses of any violation of the Chiropractic Act or Board Rules, if the licensee has 
personal knowledge of the conduct.

B. Reporting of Certain Judgments to Board. If a judgment is entered against a licensee in any court, or a 
settlement is reached on a claim involving malpractice exceeding fifty thousand dollars ($50,000), a licensee shall 
report that fact to the Board within thirty (30) days. The licensee may satisfy the provision of this subsection if he/she 
provides the Board with a copy of the judgment or settlement.

If a licensee is convicted of a felony or a crime involving dishonesty, theft, violence, habitual use of drugs or 
alcohol, or sexual misconduct, he/she shall report that fact to the board within thirty (30) days following the 
conviction.

2. Advertising of Research Projects
Advertisement of Affiliation with Research Projects. If a licensee advertises any affiliation with a research 

project, he must make a written statement of the objectives, cost and budget of the project, and the person conducting 
the research. Such statements are to be made available at the request of the Board, to scientific organizations, and to 
the general public. The advertisement must indicate that it is supported by clinical research. Any willful failure to 
comply with these requirements will be deemed false and deceptive advertising under rule 450. Licensee must 
comply with all state and federal laws and regulations governing research projects on humans, and shall obtain 
“Institutional Review Board” (IRB) approval as established and set forth in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations, 
Title 45, Part 46, Subpart A (45 CFR 46.101-46-505).
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3. Sexual Misconduct
The doctor-patient relationship requires the chiropractic physician to exercise utmost care that he or she will 

do nothing to exploit the trust and dependency of the patient. Sexual misconduct is a form of behavior that adversely 
affects the public welfare and harms patients individually and collectively. Sexual misconduct exploits the doctor-
patient relationship and is a violation of the public trust. This section of the Code of Ethics shall not apply between a 
chiropractor and their spouse.

For the purposes of this subsection, sexual misconduct is divided into sub-categories based upon the severity 
of the conduct:

A. Sexual Impropriety. Any behavior such as gestures, expressions, and statements which are sexually 
suggestive or demeaning to a patient, or which demonstrate a lack of respect for a patient's privacy.

B. Sexual Violation. Physician-patient contact of a sexual nature, whether initiated by the physician or the 
patient.

C. A chiropractic physician shall wait at least one (1) year (“waiting period”) following the termination of a 
professional doctor-patient relationship, before beginning any type of sexual relationship with a former patient.

4. Prepaid Funds
A chiropractic physician shall promptly refund any unearned fees within thirty (30) days upon request and 

cancellation of the prepaid contract. A full accounting of the patient account shall be provided to the patient at the 
time of the refund or upon request.


