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IDAPA 24 – DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES
24.12.01 – RULES OF THE IDAHO STATE BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGIST EXAMINERS

DOCKET NO. 24-1201-2000F (FEE RULE)

NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF TEMPORARY RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rules being adopted through this omnibus rulemaking is 
the adjournment date of the second regular session of the 65th Idaho State Legislature - March 20, 2020.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given this agency has adopted a 
temporary rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-2305, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons 
for adopting a temporary rule:

This temporary rulemaking adopts the following chapter under IDAPA 24.12.01:

IDAPA 24.12
• 24.12.01, Rules of the Idaho State Board of Psychologist Examiners.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the 
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and 
confer a benefit on its citizens. These temporary rules implement the duly enacted laws of the state of Idaho, provide 
citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the orderly execution and 
enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and processes would undermine 
the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the benefit intended by these rules. 
These rules govern the qualifications and ethical standards for psychologists in Idaho, as well as the necessary 
credentials and standards of practice for certified psychologists to exercise prescriptive authority. Allowing these 
rules to expire would deprive the Board of the ability to admit new psychologists to practice and renew current 
licenses, harming the public health, safety, and welfare.

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), the Governor has found that the fees or charges being imposed or 
increased are justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fees are described herein:

The fees or charges, authorized in Sections 54-2307, 54-2312, 54-2312A, 54-2315, and 54-2318, Idaho Code, are 
part of the agency’s 2021 budget that relies upon the existence of these fees or charges to meet the state’s obligations 
and provide necessary state services. Failing to reauthorize these temporary rules would create immediate danger to 
the state budget, immediate danger to necessary state functions and services, and immediate danger of a violation of 
Idaho’s constitutional requirement that it balance its budget.

The following is a specific description of the fees or charges: 

FEE TYPE AMOUNT
(Not to Exceed)

RENEWAL
(Not to Exceed)

Original Application for Licensure by Exam $150

Inactive License Renewal $125

Annual Renewal $250

Original Application for Licensure by 
Endorsement/Senior Psychologist $250

Original Application for Provisional 
Certification of Prescriptive Authority $250 $250
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ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary 
rule, contact Rob McQuade at (208) 334-3233.

DATED this February 21, 2020.

Kelley Packer
Division Administrator 
Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses
700 W. State Street
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720
Phone: (208) 334-3233
Fax: (208) 334-3945

Original Application for Certification of 
Prescriptive Authority $250 $250

Original Application for Certification of 
Prescriptive Authority by Endorsement $250

Application for Service Extender $100 $100

Examination and Reexamination
The amount charged by the national 
examining entity plus a processing 

fee of $25

Reinstatement As set forth in Section 67-2614, 
Idaho Code.

Temporary License $50

FEE TYPE AMOUNT
(Not to Exceed)

RENEWAL
(Not to Exceed)
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24.12.01 – RULES OF THE IDAHO STATE BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGIST EXAMINERS

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
These rules are hereby prescribed and established pursuant to the authority vested in the Idaho State Board of 
Psychologist Examiners by the provisions of Section 54-2305, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.
These rules are titled IDAPA 24.12.01, “Rules of the Idaho State Board of Psychologist Examiners.” (3-20-20)T

002. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
The document titled “Ethical Principles of Psychologists and Code of Conduct,” published by the American 
Psychological Association and dated June 1, 2003 with the 2010 amendments effective June 1, 2010, as referenced in 
Section 350, is herein incorporated by reference and is available from the Board’s office and on the Board web site.

(3-20-20)T

003. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS.

01. Certificate of Professional Qualification. A certificate of professional qualification means the 
certificate of professional qualification granted to a psychologist by the Association of State and Provincial 
Psychology Boards. (3-20-20)T

02. Collaboration or Collaborative Relationship. Collaboration or collaborative relationship means 
a cooperative working relationship between a prescribing psychologist and a licensed medical provider in the 
provision of patient care, including cooperation in the management and delivery of physical and mental health care, 
to ensure optimal patient care. (3-20-20)T

03. Geriatric Patient. A person sixty-five (65) years of age or older. (3-20-20)T

04. Licensed Medical Provider. A physician or physician assistant licensed pursuant to chapter 18, 
title 54, Idaho Code, or an advanced practice registered nurse licensed pursuant to chapter 14, title 54, Idaho Code.

(3-20-20)T

05. Mental, Nervous, Emotional, Behavioral, Substance Abuse, and Cognitive Disorders. 
Disorders, illnesses, or diseases listed in either the most recent edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of 
Mental Disorders published by the American Psychiatric Association or those listed in the International Classification 
of Diseases published by the World Health Organization. (3-20-20)T

06. Pediatric Patient. A person seventeen (17) years of age or younger. (3-20-20)T

07. Prescribing Psychologist. A person who holds a license to practice psychology issued by the 
Board and who holds a Certification or Provisional Certification of Prescriptive Authority issued by the Board under 
Sections 54-2317, 54-2318, 54-2319, Idaho Code, and these rules. (3-20-20)T

08. Supervising Physician. A board-certified psychiatrist, neurologist, or other physician with 
specialized training and experience in the management of psychotropic medication and who is licensed under chapter 
18, title 54, Idaho Code, or an equivalent licensing provision of the law of a state adjoining Idaho. (3-20-20)T

011. -- 099. (RESERVED)

100. APPLICATION.

01. Filing an Application. Applicants for licensure or certification or provisional certification of 
prescriptive authority must submit a complete application, verified under oath, to the Board at its official address. The 
application must be on the forms approved by the Board and submitted together with the appropriate fee(s) and 
supporting documentation. (3-20-20)T

02. Supporting Documents. The applicant must provide or facilitate the provision of any supporting 
third-party documents that may be required under the qualifications for the license being sought. (3-20-20)T

a. Any third-party documents, including letters of reference, must be received by the Board directly 
from the third party. (3-20-20)T
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b. One (1) of the two (2) years of supervised experience as required by Section 2307(2)(a), Idaho 
Code, for initial licensure may be pre-doctoral. The second year must be post-doctoral work under appropriate 
supervision and must be verified by the appropriate supervisor. (3-20-20)T

101. -- 149. (RESERVED)

150. FEES.
All fees are non-refundable. The examination or reexamination fee are in addition to the application fee and must 
accompany the application.

(3-20-20)T

151. -- 199. (RESERVED)

200. EXAMINATIONS.

01. Written Exam Required. The Board will require a written examination of applicants. The written 
examination will be the National Examination for Professional Practice In Psychology (EPPP). (3-20-20)T

02. Passing Score. The Board has determined that a passing score on the EPPP is a raw score of one 
hundred forty (140) or, for examinations after April 1, 2001, a scaled score of five hundred (500) for licensure.

(3-20-20)T

03. Time and Place of Exam. The examination will be conducted at a time and place specified by the 
administrator of the national examination for professional practice in psychology (EPPP). (3-20-20)T

04. Failure of Exam. The first time the examination is failed the applicant may take it again the next 

FEE TYPE AMOUNT
(Not to Exceed)

RENEWAL
(Not to Exceed)

Original Application for Licensure by Exam $150

Inactive License Renewal $125

Annual Renewal  $250

Original Application for Licensure by  
Endorsement/Senior Psychologist  $250

Original Application for Provisional Certification 
of Prescriptive Authority $250 $250

Original Application for Certification  
of Prescriptive Authority $250 $250

Original Application for Certification of  
Prescriptive Authority by Endorsement $250

Application for Service Extender $100 $100

Examination and Reexamination
The amount charged by the 

national examining entity plus a 
processing fee of $25

Reinstatement As set forth in Section 67-2614, 
Idaho Code. 

Temporary License $50
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time it is given upon application and payment of fees. If the examination has been failed twice, the individual must 
wait at least one (1) year and petition the Board for approval to take the examination the third time. The petition must 
include evidence satisfactory to the Board that the applicant has taken additional study in the field of Psychology 
before approval will be granted. (3-20-20)T

201. EXAMINATION FOR PROVISIONAL CERTIFICATION OF PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY.
The approved examination for provisional certification of prescriptive authority is the Psychopharmacology 
Examination for Psychologists (PEP). (3-20-20)T

01. Passing Score. A passing score will be determined by the Association of State and Provincial 
Psychology Boards (ASPPB). (3-20-20)T

02. Date of Exam. The passage of the exam may have occurred prior to the effective date of these 
rules. (3-20-20)T

202. -- 249. (RESERVED)

250. ENDORSEMENT.

01. Eligibility for Endorsement. An applicant who is in possession of a valid statutory license or 
statutory certificate from another state or Canada may apply for licensing under the endorsement section of this law.

(3-20-20)T

02. Requirements for Endorsement. An applicant under the endorsement section must have:
(3-20-20)T

a. A valid psychology license or certificate issued by the regulatory entity of another jurisdiction; and
(3-20-20)T

b. A history of no disciplinary action in any jurisdiction; and (3-20-20)T

c. Meet one of the following qualifications: (3-20-20)T

i. A current certificate of professional qualification in Psychology as defined in these rules; or
(3-20-20)T

ii. A registration with the National Register of Health Service Providers in Psychology; or (3-20-20)T

iii. A certification by American Board of Professional Psychology; or (3-20-20)T

iv. Graduated from an APA accredited program with a doctoral degree in psychology and two (2) years 
of supervised experience acceptable to the Board, one (1) year of which may include a pre-doctoral practicum or 
internship and one (1) year of which must be post-doctoral; (3-20-20)T

d. Or complete both of the following: (3-20-20)T

i. Graduated with a doctoral degree in psychology or a related field, provided experience and training 
are acceptable to the Board; and (3-20-20)T

ii. A record of practicing Psychology at the independent level for the five (5) years of the last seven 
(7) years immediately prior to application. (3-20-20)T

251. ENDORSEMENT FOR CERTIFICATION OF PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY.
The Board may grant a provisional certification or certification of prescriptive authority by endorsement to an 
applicant who completes an application as set forth in Section 100 of these rules, pays the required fee, and meets the 
following requirements: (3-20-20)T
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01. Holds a Current License. The applicant must be the holder of a current and unrestricted license to 
practice psychology in another state and in Idaho; (3-20-20)T

02. Holds a Current Certificate of Prescriptive Authority. (3-20-20)T

a. The applicant must be the holder of a current and unrestricted certification of prescriptive authority 
from another state that imposes substantially equivalent educational and training requirements as those contained in 
Sections 54-2317 and 54-2318, Idaho Code, and these rules; or (3-20-20)T

b. The applicant must have training from the United States department of defense demonstration 
project or other similar program developed and operated by any branch of the armed forces that imposes substantially 
equivalent educational and training requirements as those contained in Sections 54-2317 and 54-2318, Idaho Code, 
and these rules. (3-20-20)T

03. Credit Toward Requirements. In the event that an applicant has not met the requirements for 
certification of prescriptive authority, the Board may consider an applicant’s experience in prescribing in another 
state as meeting a portion of the requirements necessary to qualify for provisional certification or certification of 
prescriptive authority in this state. In that event, the Board may require additional education, supervision, or both to 
satisfy the requirements to obtain a provisional certification or certification of prescriptive authority in this state.

(3-20-20)T

04. Advisory Panel. The Advisory Panel, as established in Section 54-2320, Idaho Code, will review 
the education and training of an applicant seeking certification by endorsement and advise the Board as to its 
sufficiency to meet the requirements for provisional certification or certification of prescriptive authority under 
Chapter 23, Title 54, Idaho Code, and these rules. (3-20-20)T

252. -- 274. (RESERVED)

275. INACTIVE STATUS.

01. Request for Inactive Status. Persons requesting an inactive status during the renewal of their 
active license must submit a written request and pay the established fee. (3-20-20)T

02. Inactive License Status. (3-20-20)T

a. All continuing education requirements will be waived for any year or portion thereof that a licensee 
maintains an inactive license and is not actively practicing or supervising in Idaho. (3-20-20)T

b. When the licensees desire active status, they must show fulfillment of continuing education 
requirements within the previous twelve (12) months and submit a fee equivalent to the difference between the 
current inactive and active renewal fee. (3-20-20)T

276. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. TEMPORARY LICENSES.
Persons not licensed in this state who desire to practice psychology under the provisions of this chapter for a period 
not to exceed thirty (30) days within a calendar year may do so if they hold a license in another state or province have 
had no disciplinary action, and pay the required fee. Persons authorized to practice under this section must hold a 
certification of prescriptive authority issued by the Idaho Board of Psychologist Examiners to issue a prescription.

(3-20-20)T

301. -- 349. (RESERVED)

350. CODE OF ETHICS.
All licensees must have knowledge of the Ethical Principles of Psychologists and Code of Conduct, as published in 
the American Psychologist, as referenced in Section 004. (3-20-20)T
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351. -- 374. (RESERVED)

375. DISCIPLINE.
The Board may impose a civil fine not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) upon a licensed psychologist for each 
violation of Section 54-2309, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

376. -- 379. (RESERVED)

380. REHABILITATION COMPONENTS.
In the event of a violation of Board laws or rules, the Board, in its discretion, may implement a plan of rehabilitation. 
Completion of the plan may lead to consideration of submission of an application for re-licensure, the removal of 
suspension, or the removal of supervision requirements. In the event the licensee has not met the Board's criteria for 
rehabilitation, the plan may be revised, expanded, or continued depending upon the progress of the rehabilitation 
program. The rehabilitation components listed in this Section should be considered illustrative, but not exhaustive, of 
the potential options available to the Board. In each instance, rehabilitation parameters will be tailored to the 
individual needs of the licensee. (3-20-20)T

01. Options in Devising Rehabilitation Program. The Board may follow one (1) or more options in 
devising a rehabilitation program: (3-20-20)T

a. The individual may be supervised in all or selected areas of activities related to his practice as a 
licensee by a licensed psychologist approved by the Board for a specified length of time. (3-20-20)T

i. The Board may specify the focus of the supervision. (3-20-20)T

ii. The Board may specify the number of hours per week required in a face-to-face supervisory 
contract. (3-20-20)T

iii. The Board may require the supervisor to provide periodic and timely reports to the Board 
concerning the progress of the supervisee. (3-20-20)T

iv. Any fees for supervision time will be the responsibility of the supervisee. (3-20-20)T

02. Educational Programs. The individual may be expected to successfully complete a variety of 
appropriate educational programs. Appropriate educational formats may include, but are not limited to, workshops, 
seminars, courses in regionally accredited universities, or organized pre- or post-doctoral internship settings. 
Workshops or seminars that are not held in a setting of academic review (approved continuing education) need prior 
approval of the Board. Any course of study must be approved by the Board prior to enrollment if it is to meet the 
criteria of a rehabilitation plan. (3-20-20)T

03. Additional Requirements. The Board may require of the individual: (3-20-20)T

a. Psychodiagnostic evaluations by a psychologist approved by the Board; (3-20-20)T

b. A physical examination that may include an alcohol and drug screen by a physician approved by 
the Board; (3-20-20)T

c. Psychotherapy on a regular basis from a psychologist approved by the Board; (3-20-20)T

d. Take or retake and pass the appropriate professional examination; or (3-20-20)T

381. -- 399. (RESERVED)

400. RENEWAL OF LICENSE -- CONTINUING EDUCATION.
Licenses may be renewed or reinstated by payment of the required fees and by submitting certification of having 
satisfied the continuing education requirement. (3-20-20)T
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401. CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR RELICENSURE IN PSYCHOLOGY.

01. Number of Hours Required. All licensed psychologists, in order to renew their license, must have 
accumulated twenty (20) hours per year of continuing education credits. All prescribing psychologists, in order to 
renew their provisional certification or certification of prescriptive authority, must have accumulated twenty (20) 
hours per year of continuing education credits in psychopharmacology or psychopharmacotherapy offered in 
accordance with Subsection 402.01 of these rules. Continuing education credits for a prescribing psychologist are in 
addition to the continuing education credits required to renew their psychologist license. (3-20-20)T

a. At the time of renewal of the psychologists’ licenses and prescribing psychologists’ certifications, 
they will certify that they are aware of the requirements for continuing education and that they have met those 
requirements for the preceding year. (3-20-20)T

b. At the time of reinstatement of a psychologist’s license or a prescribing psychologist’s certification 
or provisional certification, the psychologist must provide proof of meeting the requirements for continuing 
education for the preceding year. (3-20-20)T

c. A minimum of four (4) hours credit in ethics, standards of care, and/or review of laws pertaining to 
the practice of psychology is required every three (3) years. Areas covered may include practice, consultation, 
research, teaching, and/or supervision. These units may be used as part of the continuing education credit required.

(3-20-20)T

02. Professional Level of Continuing Education -- Time Period Records Kept - Audit. This 
continuing education experience must be at an appropriate level for professional training in psychology. The 
licensees have responsibility for demonstrating the relevance and adequacy of the educational experience they select. 
The licensees are also responsible for keeping an accurate record of their own personal continuing education hours 
for a period of five (5) years. A random audit may be conducted to insure compliance. (3-20-20)T

03. Newly Licensed Individuals. Newly licensed individuals will be considered to have satisfied the 
continuing education requirements for the remainder of the year in which their license is granted. (3-20-20)T

04. Certificates of Satisfactory Attendance and Completion. Certificates of satisfactory attendance 
and completion, participant lists, transcripts from universities, letters of certification on instructor’s letterhead, and 
other reasonably convincing proof of the submitted activities may serve as documentation when persons audited are 
required to submit proof of continuing education. (3-20-20)T

05. Licensees Who Do Not Fulfill the Continuing Education Requirements. Licensees who do not 
fulfill the continuing education requirements may be subject to disciplinary action. (3-20-20)T

06. Carryover of Continuing Education Hours. Continuing education courses not claimed for CE 
credit in the current renewal year, may be credited for the next renewal year. A maximum of twenty (20) hours may 
be carried forward from the immediately preceding year for renewal of a psychologist license, and a maximum of 
twenty (20) hours may be carried forward from the immediately preceding year for renewal of a prescribing 
psychologist’s certificate. (3-20-20)T

07. Special Exemption. The Board may make exceptions for reasons of individual hardship including 
health, when certified by a medical doctor, or other good cause. The licensee must provide any information requested 
by the Board to assist in substantiating hardship cases. This exemption is granted at the sole discretion of the Board. 
Request for special exemption must be made prior to licensure renewal. (3-20-20)T

402. GUIDELINES FOR APPROVAL OF CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDITS.

01. Continuing Education Credit. Continuing education credit will be given to formally organized 
workshops or classes with an attendance roster and preassigned continuing education credit offered in association 
with or under the auspices of: (3-20-20)T

a. Regionally accredited institutions of higher education. (3-20-20)T
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b. The American Psychological Association. (3-20-20)T

c. A Regional Psychological Association. (3-20-20)T

d. A State Psychological Association. (3-20-20)T

e. For prescribing psychologists, in addition to the approved organizations above, workshops or 
classes may be classified as continuing medical education credit and offered in association with or under the auspices 
of: (3-20-20)T

i. The American Medical Association; (3-20-20)T

ii. A regional medical association; (3-20-20)T

iii. A state medical association; or (3-20-20)T

iv. Offered by sponsors accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education 
(ACCME). (3-20-20)T

f. Credit will be given for the number of credit hours preauthorized by the sponsoring agency with no 
upper limit on the number of hours. (3-20-20)T

02. Credit for International, National and Regional Meetings of Psychological Organizations. Six 
(6) hours of continuing education credit will be allowed for documented attendance at international, national and 
regional meetings of psychological organizations. (3-20-20)T

03. Credit for Other Relevant Workshops, Classes or Training Experiences. Other relevant 
workshops, classes or training experiences when not offered, approved, or provided by an entity in Subsection 
402.01, may receive up to six (6) hours of credit per experience provided they are conducted by a licensed or 
reputable psychologist or other mental health professional. Each documented hour of training experience counts as 
one (1) hour of continuing education experience. (3-20-20)T

04. Presentation of Papers. Presentation of papers at international, national, regional or state 
psychological or other professional associations may be counted as equivalent to six (6) hours per event. Only actual 
presentation time may be counted; preparation time does not qualify for credit. The licensee must provide the Board 
with a letter from a sponsor, host organization, or professional colleague, copy of the program, and a summary of the 
evaluations from the event. (3-20-20)T

05. Self-Study, Lectures or Public or Professional Publications and Presentations. The Board also 
recognizes the value of self-study, lectures or public or professional publications and presentations (including for 
example, in the case of the university faculty, preparation of a new course). Therefore, the Board will allow credit for 
six (6) hours of individual study per year. (3-20-20)T

a. Self-Study. The reading of a publication may qualify for credit with proper documentation 
verifying completion. A licensee seeking credit for reading a publication must submit results from a test on the 
information contained within the publication. If a test is not available, the licensee must seek pre-approval of the 
Board. (3-20-20)T

b. Professional publications. Publication activities are limited to articles in professional journals, a 
chapter in an edited book, or a published book. The licensee must provide the Board with a copy of the cover page of 
the article or book in which the licensee has been published. For chapters of an edited book, licensees must submit a 
copy of the table of contents. (3-20-20)T

06. Board Assessment of Continuing Education Activities. The Board of Psychologist Examiners 
may avail itself of help and consultation from the American Psychological Association or the Idaho Psychological 
Association in assessing the appropriateness of continuing education activities. (3-20-20)T
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07. Electronic Continuing Education Courses. (3-20-20)T

a. Non-interactive. A maximum of ten (10) on-line, non-interactive continuing education hours 
relevant to the practice of psychology may be counted during each reporting period. (3-20-20)T

i. Continuing education credit will be given to on-line education offered in association with or under 
the auspices of the organizations listed in Subsections 402.01.a. through 402.01.d. of these rules. (3-20-20)T

ii. The licensee must provide the Board with a copy of the certification, verified by the authorized 
signatures from the course instructors, providers, or sponsoring institution, substantiating any hours completed by the 
licensee. (3-20-20)T

b. Interactive. To qualify for credit, teleconferences must feature an interactive format. Interactive 
conferences are those that provide the opportunity for participants to communicate directly with the instructor or that 
have a facilitator present at the conference site. The licensee must provide the Board with a copy of the certificate, or 
a letter signed by course instructors, providers, or sponsoring institution, substantiating any hours attended by 
licensee. (3-20-20)T

i. When offered, approved, or provided by entities in Subsection 402.01, the number of hours that 
may be counted during each reporting period is not limited. (3-20-20)T

ii. When not offered, approved, or provided by an entity in Subsection 402.01, a maximum of six (6) 
hours may be counted during each reporting period. (3-20-20)T

403. -- 449. (RESERVED)

450. GUIDELINES FOR USE OF SERVICE EXTENDERS TO LICENSED PSYCHOLOGISTS.
The Board recognizes that licensed psychologists may choose to extend their services by using service extenders. The 
Board provides general rules to cover all service extenders as well as specific rules to cover service extenders with 
different levels of training and experience. (3-20-20)T

01. General Provisions for Licensed Psychologists Extending Their Services Through Others.
(3-20-20)T

a. The licensed psychologist will have administrative control for a service extender. (3-20-20)T

b. The licensed psychologist exercising professional direction for a service extender must: (3-20-20)T

i. Prior to employing the service extender, formulate and provide to the Board a written supervisory 
plan for each service extender and obtain approval for the plan. The plan must include provisions for supervisory 
sessions and chart review. If the psychologist requires recordings to be made of psychological services delivered by 
the service extender, then the plan must also specify review and destruction of these recordings. The plan must also 
specify the hours per calendar week that the licensed psychologist will be at the same physical location as the person 
extending the services of the licensed psychologist. The plan must be accompanied by a completed application form 
and appropriate application fee. (3-20-20)T

ii. Establish and maintain a level of supervisory contact sufficient to be readily accountable in the 
event that professional, ethical, or legal issues are raised. For service extenders in Categories I and II, there will be a 
minimum of one (1) hour of face-to-face supervisory contact by the licensed psychologist with the service extender 
for each one (1) to twenty (20) hours of services provided by the service extender during any calendar week. At least 
one half (1/2) of this face-to-face supervisory contact will be conducted individually, and up to one half (1/2) of this 
face-to-face supervisory contact may be provided using a group format. A written record of this supervisory contact, 
including the type of activities conducted by the service extender, must be maintained by the licensed psychologist. 
Except under unusual circumstances, the supervisory contact will occur either during the week the services are 
extended or during the week following. In no case will services be extended more than two (2) weeks without 
supervisory contact between the service extender and the licensed psychologist. For service extenders in Category III, 
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there will be a minimum of one (1) hour of face-to-face supervisory contact by the licensed psychologist with the 
service extender during each calendar month that services are provided by the service extender. A written record of 
this supervisory contact, including the type of activities conducted by the service extender, must be maintained by the 
licensed psychologist. The licensed psychologist will also be available for consultation either face-to-face, by phone, 
or by other means of contact on any day that services are provided by the service extender. (3-20-20)T

iii. Provide the service extender a copy of the current Ethical Standards of the American Psychological 
Association, and obtain a written agreement from the service extender of his intention to abide by them. (3-20-20)T

c. Supervision of service extenders through electronic communications, including video 
conferencing, cannot replace face-to-face supervision. Psychologists will ensure that the service that they provide 
through the use of service extenders is provided according to all applicable laws and rules. (3-20-20)T

02. Qualifications for Service Extenders. (3-20-20)T

a. Category I: A service extender will be placed in Category I if: (3-20-20)T

i. The licensed psychologist wishing to employ the service extender verifies in writing to the 
satisfaction of the Board that the service extender holds a license in counseling, social work, or a related mental 
health profession issued by the state of Idaho to practice a specific profession, and that the issuance of that license 
requires the licensee hold a master’s degree or its equivalent as determined by the Board; or (3-20-20)T

ii. The service extender meets the criteria for Category II specified below and the licensed 
psychologist wishing to employ the service extender verifies in writing to the satisfaction of the Board that the service 
extender has satisfactorily functioned as a service extender to one (1) or more licensed psychologist for at least 
twenty (20) hours per calendar week over a period totaling two hundred sixty (260) weeks. (3-20-20)T

b. Category II: A service extender will be placed in Category II if the licensed psychologist wishing to 
employ the service extender verifies in writing to the satisfaction of the Board that the service extender holds a 
master’s degree or equivalent from a program in psychology, counseling, or human development as determined by 
the Board. (3-20-20)T

c. Category III: A service extender will be placed in Category III if the licensed psychologist wishing 
to employ the service extender verifies in writing to the satisfaction of the Board that the service extender holds a 
master’s degree or equivalent from a program in psychology, counseling, or human development as determined by 
the Board, and the service extender will only provide psychometrician services. Such services are defined as 
administrating, scoring, and/or summarizing psychological or neuropsychological tests and test data that require 
specialized training. Interpretation of the testing data must be performed by the licensed psychologist. Service 
extenders in Category III will not be allowed to perform psychotherapy, intake assessments, or other services outside 
the scope of psychometric services defined above. The licensed psychologist wishing to employ the service extender 
must also verify in writing to the satisfaction of the Board that the service extender has been properly trained in all of 
the testing instruments that the service extender will administer at the start of employment and will continue to 
receive proper training in any new testing instruments utilized by the service extender over the course of 
employment. (3-20-20)T

03. Conditions for Use of Service Extenders. (3-20-20)T

a. All persons used to extend the services of a licensed psychologist must be under the direct and 
continuing administrative control and professional direction of a licensed psychologist. These service extenders may 
not use any title incorporating the word “psychologist” or any of its variants or derivatives, e.g. “psychological,” 
“psychotherapist.” (3-20-20)T

b. Work assignments must be commensurate with the skills of the service extender and procedures 
must be planned in consultation with the licensed psychologist under all circumstances. (3-20-20)T

c. Public announcement of fees and services, as well as contact with lay or professional public must 
be offered only in the name of the licensed psychologist whose services are being extended. However, persons 
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licensed to practice professions other than psychology may make note of their status in such announcements or 
contacts. (3-20-20)T

d. Setting and collecting of fees must remain the sole domain of the licensed psychologist; excepting 
that when a service extender is used to provide services of the licensed psychologist, third party payers must be 
informed of this occurrence in writing at the time of billing. Unless otherwise provided in these rules and regulations, 
licensed psychologists may neither claim nor imply to service recipients or to third party payers an ability to extend 
their services through any person who has not been approved as a service extender to that psychologist as specified in 
this section. (3-20-20)T

e. All service recipients must sign a written notice of the service extender’s status as a service 
extender for the licensed psychologist. A copy of the signed written notice will be maintained on file with the 
licensed psychologist. (3-20-20)T

f. Within the first three (3) contacts, the licensed psychologist must have face-to-face contact with 
each service recipient. (3-20-20)T

g. A licensed psychologist must be available to both the service extender and the service recipient for 
emergency consultation. (3-20-20)T

h. Service Extenders must be housed in the same service delivery site as the licensed psychologist 
whose services they extend. Whatever other activities they may be qualified to perform, service extenders must limit 
themselves to acting as service extenders of the licensed psychologist when providing direct services so long as they 
are physically located in the offices of the licensed psychologist. (3-20-20)T

i. A service extender in Category I may deliver as much as, but not more than fifty percent (50%) of 
their service while the licensed psychologist is not physically present at the service delivery site. A service extender 
in Category II may deliver as much as, but not more than twenty-five percent (25%) of their service while the 
licensed psychologist is not physically present at the service delivery site. Service extenders in the Category III may 
deliver as much as, but not more than seventy-five percent (75%) of their service while the licensed psychologist is 
not physically present at the service delivery site. Service Extenders providing as many as, but no more than, three (3) 
hours of service extension per calendar week must be exempted from the on-site provisions of Section 450 of this 
rule. Without notification to the Board, short term exemption from this rule for atypical circumstances, such as 
irregular travel by the licensed psychologist, may occur for periods as long as, but no longer than three (3) calendar 
weeks. Longer exemptions may be granted at the discretion of the Board on written request by the licensed 
psychologist to the Board. (3-20-20)T

j. The licensed psychologist must employ no more than three (3) service extenders. (3-20-20)T

k. When a licensed psychologist terminates employment of a service extender, the licensed 
psychologist will notify the Board in writing within thirty (30) days. (3-20-20)T

l. At the time of license renewal the licensed psychologist must submit for each service extender the 
appropriate fee together with certification to the Board that they possess: (3-20-20)T

i. A written record of supervisory contact for the previous twelve (12) months; and (3-20-20)T

ii. The percentage of time during the previous twelve (12) months that the service extender extended 
services while the licensed psychologist was at the service delivery site; and (3-20-20)T

iii. An updated plan for the supervision of each of his service extenders. (3-20-20)T

m. Documentation of supervisory notes, hours of supervision, number of hours on-site while the 
service extender provided services, and plan of supervision must be maintained by the supervisor for not less than 
three (3) years for each service extender and submitted to the Board upon request. (3-20-20)T

451. -- 499. (RESERVED)
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500. EDUCATIONAL AND CREDENTIALING REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE.
Applicants who receive a doctoral degree from a program accredited by the American Psychological Association are 
considered to have met all criteria outlined in Section 500. (3-20-20)T

01. Training in Professional Psychology. Training in professional psychology is doctoral training 
offered in an institution of higher education accredited by: (3-20-20)T

a. Middle States Commission on Higher Education. (3-20-20)T

b. The New England Association of Schools and Colleges. (3-20-20)T

c. Higher Learning Commission. (3-20-20)T

d. The Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities. (3-20-20)T

e. The Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. (3-20-20)T

f. The Western Association of Schools and Colleges. (3-20-20)T

02. Training Program. The training program must stand as a recognizable, coherent organizational 
entity within the institution. Programs that are accredited by the American Psychological Association or that meet the 
criteria for such accreditation are recognized as meeting the definition of a professional psychology program.

(3-20-20)T

03. Authority and Primary Responsibility. There must be a clear authority and primary 
responsibility for the core and specialty areas by a designated leader who is a doctoral psychologist and is a member 
of the core faculty. (3-20-20)T

04. Content of Program. The program must be an integrated, organized sequence of study.(3-20-20)T

05. There Must Be an Identifiable Training Faculty and a Psychologist Responsible for the 
Program. There must be an identifiable training faculty on site of sufficient size and breadth to carry out the training 
responsibilities. A faculty psychologist must be responsible for the program. (3-20-20)T

06. Program Must Have an Identifiable Body. The program must have an identifiable body of 
students who are matriculated in that program for a degree. (3-20-20)T

07. What the Program Must Include. The program must include supervised practicum and pre-
doctoral internship appropriate to the practice of psychology. Pre-doctoral internships must be completed at member 
sites of the Association of Psychology Postdoctoral and Internship Centers, or sites demonstrating an equivalent 
program. (3-20-20)T

08. Curriculum. The curriculum must encompass a minimum of three (3) academic years of full time 
graduate study at least one (1) year of which is spent in full-time physical residence at the degree granting educational 
institution. In addition to instruction in professional areas of competence, which include assessment and diagnosis, 
intervention, consultation, and supervision, the core program must require each student to demonstrate competence in 
specific substantive areas. Minimal competence is demonstrated by passing a three (3) credit semester graduate 
course (or a five (5) credit quarter graduate course) in each of the substantive areas listed below: (3-20-20)T

a. Biological Bases of Behavior: Physiological psychology, comparative psychology, 
neuropsychology, sensation and perception, psychopharmacology. (3-20-20)T

b. Cognitive-Affective Bases of Behavior: Learning, cognition, motivation, emotion. (3-20-20)T

c. Social Bases of Behavior: Social psychology, group processes, organizational and systems theory.
(3-20-20)T
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d. Individual Differences: Personality theory, human development, abnormal psychology. (3-20-20)T

e. Scientific and Professional Standards and Ethics. (3-20-20)T

f. Research Design and Methodology. (3-20-20)T

g. Techniques of Data Analysis: statistics, multivariate statistics, factor analysis, multiple regression, 
non-parametric statistics. (3-20-20)T

h. Psychological Measurement: psychometric principles, test theory, personality assessment, 
cognitive assessment. (3-20-20)T

i. History and Systems of Psychology. (3-20-20)T

j. Multiculturalism and Individual Diversity. (3-20-20)T

501. -- 549. (RESERVED)

550. REQUIREMENTS FOR SUPERVISED PRACTICE.

01. Duration and Setting of Supervised Practice. (3-20-20)T

a. A year of supervised experience is defined as a minimum of one thousand (1000) hours of 
supervised service provision acquired during not less than a twelve (12) month and no more than a thirty-six (36) 
calendar month period. The first year of supervised experience must be accredited only after acquiring the equivalent 
of one (1) year of full time graduate study. A second year must be obtained post-doctorally. (3-20-20)T

02. Qualifications of Supervisors. Supervising psychologists must be licensed and must have training 
in the specific area of practice in which they are offering supervision. (3-20-20)T

03. Amount of Supervisory Contact. One (1) hour per week of face-to-face individual contact per 
twenty (20) hours of applicable experience is a minimum. (3-20-20)T

04. Evaluation and Accreditation of Supervised Practice. The Board will require submission of 
information by the supervisor(s) that enable it to evaluate and credit the extent and quality of the candidate’s 
supervised practice, on a form approved by the Board (3-20-20)T

05. Unacceptable Supervision. Supervised practice time during which the supervisor deems 
supervisee’s performance to have been unacceptable will not be credited towards the required supervised practice 
hours. (3-20-20)T

551. -- 600. (RESERVED)

601. TELEPSYCHOLOGY.
This rule supplements Title 54, Chapter 57, Idaho Code, the Idaho Telehealth Access Act, the American 
Psychological Association Guidelines for the Practice of Telepsychology, and all other laws and rules applicable to 
the practice of telepsychology in this state. (3-20-20)T

01. Definitions. For purposes of telepychology services, the following terms are defined as follows:
(3-20-20)T

a. Emergency. Emergency means a situation in which there is an occurrence that poses an imminent 
threat of a life threatening condition or severe bodily harm. (3-20-20)T

b. Information Technology. Information technology means the production, storage, and 
communication of information using computers and microelectronics including but not limited to telephones, mobile 
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devices, interactive videoconferencing, email, chat, text, social media, and other Internet based services. (3-20-20)T

c. Telehealth Provider. Telehealth provider means a person who is licensed, required to be licensed, 
or, if located outside of Idaho, would be required to be licensed if located in Idaho by Title 54, Chapter 23, Idaho 
Code and who provides or offers to provide telepsychology services to persons who are located in or who reside in 
Idaho. (3-20-20)T

d. Telepsychology Services. Telepsychology services mean psychological services provided by a 
provider through the use of electronic communications, information technology, asynchronous store and forward 
transfer of information or synchronous interaction between the provider at a distant site and a service recipient at an 
originating site. Such services include, but are not limited to, assessing, testing, diagnosing, treating, educating, and 
consulting. (3-20-20)T

02. General. (3-20-20)T

a. When telepsychology services are contemplated, a telehealth provider will document 
individualized potential benefits and potential risks to the service recipient(s). (3-20-20)T

b. Before telepsychology services are provided, a telehealth provider will document an emergency 
plan in the service recipient’s record. The plan will specify the procedure for dealing with emergencies that will in an 
effective and timely way, provide for the service recipient’s welfare. (3-20-20)T

c. Except for psycho-educational purposes, the use of avatars for telepsychology services is 
prohibited. (3-20-20)T

03. Initial Contact. Telehealth providers will, upon initial contact with the service recipient except in 
an emergency, prior to providing telepsychology services, obtain the written, informed consent of the service 
recipient(s), consistent with accepted professional and legal requirements concerning: (3-20-20)T

a. The limitations and challenges of using information technology to provide telepsychology services;
(3-20-20)T

b. The potential for breaches in confidentiality of information while delivering telepsychology 
services; (3-20-20)T

c. The risks of sudden and unpredictable disruption of telepsychology services and the alternative 
means by which communication may be re-established. (3-20-20)T

04. Informed Consent.Telehealth providers will, upon initial and subsequent contact with the service 
recipient: (3-20-20)T

a. Make reasonable efforts to verify the identity of the service recipient; (3-20-20)T

b. Provide to the service recipient alternative means of contacting the telehealth provider should 
communications be disrupted during the provision of services. (3-20-20)T

c. Discuss who, in addition to the provider and the service recipient, may have access to the content of 
telecommunications between the provider and service recipient; (3-20-20)T

d. Inform the service recipient of when and how the provider will respond to electronic messages;
(3-20-20)T

e. Ensure that a written agreement has been executed with service recipient(s) concerning 
compensation, billing, and payment arrangements. (3-20-20)T

05. Security and Confidentiality. Telehealth providers must: (3-20-20)T
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a. Use secure communications when providing telepsychology services and document consent for the 
use of non-secure communication means when they are necessary; (3-20-20)T

b. Document how electronic communications are stored and maintain confidentiality of 
communications with service recipients; (3-20-20)T

c. Ensure that unauthorized persons cannot recover or access confidential electronically-stored 
information when retained by the provider and after the data or equipment in which the data is stored has been 
discarded. (3-20-20)T

d. Inform service recipients how electronic communications may be sent to the provider and how the 
provider will store these communications. (3-20-20)T

06. Assessment. (3-20-20)T

a. When conducting psychological assessments using telepsychology services, telehealth providers 
must only use test and assessment procedures that are empirically supported for the patient population being 
evaluated. (3-20-20)T

b. Telehealth providers using telepsychology for assessment must ensure that the identity of service 
recipients remains secure, that test security is maintained, that test-taking conditions are conducive to quiet and 
private test administration, and that the parameters of the test(s) are not compromised. (3-20-20)T

c. Telehealth providers will explain to service recipients the potential limitations of conclusions and 
recommendations drawn from the results on online assessments and will document these limitations in the findings or 
report. Treatment will not be based solely upon the results of online assessments. (3-20-20)T

07. Interjurisdictional Practice. (3-20-20)T

a. Before delivering telepsychology services to recipients across state, territorial, and international 
boundaries, telehealth providers should familiarize themselves and ensure that they comply with all applicable laws.

(3-20-20)T

b. Telehealth providers who are licensed to practice psychology pursuant to Title 54, Chapter 23, 
Idaho Code are under the jurisdiction of the Board when providing telepsychology services to Idaho residents located 
either within or outside of Idaho and to all recipients located within the state of Idaho. (3-20-20)T

c. Except when providing telepsychology services in response to an emergency, telehealth providers 
who are not licensed to practice psychology in this state, who do not hold a temporary license under Section 300, or 
who are not otherwise exempt by law, but who are nevertheless providing telepsychology services to recipients 
located in this state, are guilty of a misdemeanor crime under Chapter 23, Title 54, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

602. -- 699. (RESERVED)

700. QUALIFICATIONS FOR PROVISIONAL CERTIFICATION OF PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY.
The Board may grant a provisional certification of prescriptive authority to an applicant who holds a current license 
to practice psychology in Idaho, who completes an application as set forth in Section 100 of these rules, pays the 
required fee, and who meets the following educational and training qualifications. (3-20-20)T

01. Doctoral Degree. The applicant must have been awarded a doctoral degree in psychology from an 
institution of higher education that meets the requirements in Section 54-2317(2), Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

02. Master’s Degree. The applicant must have been awarded a master’s degree in clinical 
psychopharmacology from an accredited program that meets the requirements in Section 54-2317(3), Idaho Code.

(3-20-20)T

03. Clinical Experience. An applicant must have successfully completed clinical experience as part of 
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the master’s clinical psychopharmacology program that includes a diverse population of patients. (3-20-20)T

a. Clinical experience must include a minimum of four hundred (400) hours consisting of direct 
patient contact and collaboration with licensed medical providers involving a minimum of one hundred (100) 
separate patients. (3-20-20)T

b. A diverse population of patients includes diversity in: (3-20-20)T

i. Gender; (3-20-20)T

ii. Different ages throughout the life cycle, including adults, children/adolescents, and geriatrics, as 
possible and appropriate; (3-20-20)T

iii. Range of disorders listed in the most recent diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders 
published by the American psychiatric association and acute and chronic disorders; (3-20-20)T

iv. Ethnicity; (3-20-20)T

v. Socio-cultural background; and (3-20-20)T

vi. In-patient and out-patient settings, as possible and appropriate. (3-20-20)T

04. Examination. An applicant must successfully pass the national examination in 
psychopharmacology, as approved by the Board under Section 201 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

05. Supervision Agreement. An applicant must submit to the Board a supervision agreement that 
identifies the supervising physician(s) who will directly supervise the applicant’s prescribing under a provisional 
certification of prescriptive authority. The documentation submitted to the Board must also identify: (3-20-20)T

a. For each supervising physician, the supervisor’s name, address, license number, state in which 
granted, licensure status, length of licensure, and area of specialization; (3-20-20)T

b. For each supervising physician, documentation of the physician’s board-certification as a 
psychiatrist or neurologist or of specialized training and experience in the management of psychotropic medication;

(3-20-20)T

c. For an applicant seeking to prescribe for pediatric or geriatric patients, the supervising 
physician(s)’ specialized training and experience in treating the patient population for which the applicant seeks to 
prescribe; (3-20-20)T

d. Designate a primary supervising physician when more than one (1) supervising physician is 
identified. The primary supervising physician will be responsible for coordinating between the other supervising 
physician(s) to obtain written progress reports at least every six (6) months concerning how the provisional 
prescribing psychologist is performing in the domains for supervision. (3-20-20)T

e. The types of cases for which each supervisor will be responsible for supervising and in which the 
supervisor has specialized training and experience. (3-20-20)T

f. The number of provisional certification holders supervised by each supervising physician. A 
supervising physician may not concurrently supervise more than three (3) provisional certification holders unless 
otherwise approved by the Board; and (3-20-20)T

g. The name and nature of setting in which the applicant will practice; (3-20-20)T

h. Prior to a change in supervisors or a change in the supervision agreement, the supervisee must 
notify the Board and the change must be approved by the Board, or a designated member of the Board, prior to the 
commencement of supervision by a new supervisor or implementation of the change. (3-20-20)T
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701. SUPERVISED PRACTICE OF PROVISIONAL CERTIFICATION HOLDER.
A holder of a provisional certification of prescriptive authority may only prescribe under the supervision of 
physician(s) approved by the Board. Prior to application for a certification of prescriptive authority, a provisional 
certification holder must complete two (2) years of satisfactory prescribing, which includes: (3-20-20)T

01. Hours of Supervision. A minimum of two thousand (2,000) hours acquired in not less than 
twenty-four (24) months and not more than forty-eight (48) months. (3-20-20)T

a. The two thousand (2,000) hours may consist of direct patient contact, supervision, case 
consultations, and collaboration with licensed health care providers for the purpose of evaluation and treatment of 
patients with medication(s) within the formulary set forth in Section 730 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

b. Supervised practice time during which the supervisor(s) deem(s) a supervisee’s performance to 
have been unsatisfactory will not be credited towards the required supervised practice hours. A supervisor who 
believes the supervisee’s practice is unsatisfactory should notify the supervisee and the primary supervisor as soon as 
possible and identify the basis for such conclusion including, but not limited to, specific domains or issues needing 
remediation. (3-20-20)T

02. Number of Patients. A minimum of fifty (50) separate patients who are seen for the purpose of 
evaluation and treatment with those medications that are within the formulary established in Section 730 of these 
rules. (3-20-20)T

03. Amount of Supervisory Contact. Supervision must occur on a one-to-one basis at a minimum of 
one (1) hour for each six (6) hours of clinical contact time with patients being seen for the purpose of evaluation and 
treatment with those medications that are within the formulary established in Section 730 of these rules. One-to-one 
supervision must be provided either face-to-face, telephonically, or by live video communication. (3-20-20)T

04. Domains for Supervision. Supervision must include assessment of the provisional certification 
holder with regard to each of the following domains: (3-20-20)T

a. Basic science; (3-20-20)T

b. Neurosciences; (3-20-20)T

c. Physical assessments and laboratory exams; (3-20-20)T

d. Clinical medicine and pathophysiology; (3-20-20)T

e. Clinical and research pharmacology and psychopharmacology; (3-20-20)T

f. Clinical pharmacotherapeutics; (3-20-20)T

g. Research; and (3-20-20)T

h. Professional, ethical, and legal issues. (3-20-20)T

702. QUALIFICATIONS TO PRESCRIBE FOR PEDIATRIC OR GERIATRIC PATIENTS.
A prescribing psychologist may not prescribe for pediatric or geriatric patients unless approved by the Board. The 
Board may only grant prescriptive authority for pediatric patients or geriatric patients to an applicant for certification 
of prescriptive authority who has completed one (1) year of satisfactory prescribing, as attested to by the supervising 
physician, for the patient population for which the prescribing psychologist seeks to prescribe. (3-20-20)T

01. Credit Toward Certification. The one (1) year of satisfactory prescribing for a pediatric or 
geriatric population may be counted as one (1) year of the two (2) years of satisfactory prescribing required to qualify 
for a certification of prescriptive authority. (3-20-20)T
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02. Hours of Supervision. One (1) year of satisfactory prescribing includes a minimum of one 
thousand (1,000) hours acquired in not less than twelve (12) months and not more than twenty-four (24) months.

(3-20-20)T

a. The one thousand (1,000) hours may consist of direct patient contact, supervision, case 
consultations, and collaboration with licensed medical providers for the purpose of evaluation and treatment of 
patients with medication(s) within the formulary set forth in Section 730 of these rules. A minimum of eight 
hundred (800) hours of the one thousand (1,000) hours must be directly related to the population for which the 
prescribing psychologist seeks to prescribe. (3-20-20)T

b. Supervised practice time during which the supervisor(s) deem(s) a supervisee’s performance to 
have been unsatisfactory will not be credited towards the required supervised practice hours. A supervisor who 
believes the supervisee’s practice is unsatisfactory should notify the supervisee and the primary supervisor as soon as 
possible and identify the basis for such conclusion including, but not limited to, specific domains or issues needing 
remediation. (3-20-20)T

03. Number of Patients. One (1) year of satisfactory prescribing includes a minimum of twenty-five 
(25) separate patients in the population for which the prescribing psychologist seeks to prescribe and who are seen for 
the purpose of evaluation and treatment with those medications that are within the formulary established in Section 
730 of these rules. For a prescribing psychologist who seeks to prescribe for pediatric patients, a minimum of ten (10) 
separate patients must be twelve (12) years of age or younger and a minimum of ten (10) separate patients must be 
between thirteen (13) years of age and seventeen (17) years of age. (3-20-20)T

04. Amount of Supervisory Contact. Supervision must be obtained in accordance with Subsection 
701.03 of these rules, and under a supervision agreement approved by the Board in accordance with Subsection 
700.05 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

05. Domains for Supervision. Supervision must include assessment in each of the domains set forth in 
Subsection 701.04 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

703. -- 709. (RESERVED)

710. QUALIFICATIONS FOR CERTIFICATION OF PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY.
The Board may grant a certification of prescriptive authority to an applicant who completes an application as set forth 
in Section 100 of these rules and who meets the following educational and training qualifications. (3-20-20)T

01. Holds a License to Practice Psychology. The applicant must hold a current license to practice 
psychology issued by the Board. (3-20-20)T

02. Holds Provisional Certification. The applicant must hold a provisional certification of 
prescriptive authority issued by the Board. (3-20-20)T

03. Supervision. The applicant must have successfully completed at least two (2) years of satisfactory 
prescribing under supervision that meets the requirements of Section 701 of these rules, as attested to by the 
supervising physician(s). (3-20-20)T

711. -- 719. (RESERVED)

720. STANDARDS OF PRACTICE FOR PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY.
A prescribing psychologist who issues a prescription for medication to a patient must collaborate with the patient’s 
licensed medical provider and follow standards of practice as set forth in these rules. (3-20-20)T

01. Licensed Medical Provider. A prescribing psychologist may only prescribe medication to a 
patient who has a licensed medical provider. If a patient does not have a licensed medical provider, the prescribing 
psychologist must refer the patient to a licensed medical provider prior to prescribing medication. (3-20-20)T

a. In the event a patient terminates the relationship with the patient’s licensed medical provider, with 
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whom the prescribing psychologist has established a collaborative relationship, and the patient declines to secure a 
new licensed medical provider, the prescribing psychologist must advise the patient that the prescribing psychologist 
cannot continue to psychopharmacologically manage the patient. (3-20-20)T

b. The prescribing psychologist must document that the psychologist has made every reasonable 
effort to encourage the patient to maintain or establish a relationship with a licensed medical provider. (3-20-20)T

c. In those cases, in which an abrupt discontinuation of a psychopharmacologic medication could 
represent a health risk or result in adverse effects, the prescribing psychologist, with concurrence from the previously 
established licensed medical provider, may prescribe the medication in a manner that is customarily recognized as a 
discontinuation regimen until the medication has been completely discontinued. The prescribing psychologist must 
document the discontinuation regimen in the patient’s medical records. (3-20-20)T

02. Release of Information. A prescribing psychologist must obtain a release of information from the 
patient or the patient’s legal guardian authorizing the psychologist to contact the patient’s licensed medical provider. 
If the patient or the patient’s legal guardian refuses to sign a release of information for the patient’s licensed medical 
provider, the prescribing psychologist must inform the patient or the patient’s legal guardian that the psychologist 
cannot treat the patient pharmacologically without an ongoing collaborative relationship with the patient’s licensed 
medical provider. The psychologist must refer the patient to another mental health care provider who is not required 
to maintain an ongoing collaborative relationship with a licensed medical provider. (3-20-20)T

03. Initial Collaboration with Licensed Medical Provider. Prior to prescribing medication, a 
prescribing psychologist must contact the patient’s licensed medical provider as provided in these rules and receive 
the results of the licensed medical provider’s assessment. (3-20-20)T

a. The prescribing psychologist must inform the licensed medical provider of: (3-20-20)T

i. The medication(s) the prescribing psychologist intends to prescribe for mental, nervous, emotional, 
behavioral, substance abuse, cognitive disorders; and (3-20-20)T

ii. Any laboratory tests that the prescribing psychologist ordered or reviewed. (3-20-20)T

b. The prescribing psychologist must discuss with the licensed medical provider the relevant 
indications and contraindications to the patient of prescribing the medication(s) that the prescribing psychologist 
intends to prescribe. (3-20-20)T

c. The prescribing psychologist must document the date and time of contacts with the licensed 
medical provider, a summary of what was discussed, and the outcome of the discussions or decisions reached.

(3-20-20)T

04. Ongoing Collaboration with Licensed Medical Provider. After the initial collaborative 
relationship with the patient’s licensed medical provider is established, the prescribing psychologist must maintain 
and document the collaborative relationship to ensure that relevant information is exchanged accurately and in a 
timely manner. At a minimum the prescribing psychologist must: (3-20-20)T

a. Contact the licensed medical provider for any changes in medication not previously discussed with 
the licensed medical provider. (3-20-20)T

b. Contact the licensed medical provider if and when the patient experiences adverse effects from 
medications prescribed by the psychologist that may be related to the patient’s medical condition for which he or she 
is being treated by a health care practitioner. (3-20-20)T

c. Contact the licensed medical provider regarding results of laboratory tests related to the medical 
care of the patient that have been ordered by the psychologist in conjunction with psychopharmacological treatment.

(3-20-20)T

d. Inform the licensed medical provider as soon as possible of any change in the patient’s 
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psychological condition that may affect the medical treatment being provided by the licensed medical provider.
(3-20-20)T

e. Request that as part of the collaborative relationship, the licensed medical provider inform the 
prescribing psychologist of any new medical diagnosis or changes in the patient’s medical condition that may affect 
the treatment being provided by the prescribing psychologist. (3-20-20)T

f. Request that as part of the collaborative relationship, the licensed medical provider inform the 
prescribing psychologist of any psychotropic medications prescribed or discontinued by the licensed medical 
provider or other licensed medical provider, of which the licensed medical provider is aware, the dates of any 
subsequent changes in psychotropic medications prescribed by the licensed medical provider or other licensed 
medical provider, of which the licensed medical provider is aware, and the efforts to coordinate the mental health care 
of the patient as soon as possible. (3-20-20)T

05. Disagreement between Prescribing Psychologist and Licensed Medical Provider. If the 
licensed medical provider and the prescribing psychologist do not agree about a particular psychopharmacological 
treatment strategy, the prescribing psychologist must document the reasons for recommending the 
psychopharmacological treatment strategy that is in disagreement and must inform the licensed medical provider of 
that recommendation. If the licensed medical provider believes the medication is contraindicated because of a 
patient’s medical condition, the prescribing psychologist must defer to the judgment of the licensed medical provider 
and may not prescribe that psychopharmacological treatment strategy. (3-20-20)T

06. Prohibited Agreements with Licensed Medical Providers. A prescribing psychologist is 
prohibited from employing a licensed medical provider or entering into an independent contractor or similar 
contractual or financial relationship with a licensed medical provider with whom the prescribing psychologist 
collaborates, unless approved by the Board. The Board may grant an exception to this requirement on a case-by-case 
basis where the prescribing psychologist shows that such relationship is structured so as to prohibit interference with 
the licensed medical provider’s relationship with patients, the licensed medical provider’s exercise of independent 
medical judgment, and satisfaction of the obligations and responsibilities in Chapter 23, Title 57, Idaho Code, and 
these rules. (3-20-20)T

07. Prescriptions. All prescriptions issued by a prescribing psychologist must comply with all 
applicable federal and state laws, rules and regulations and these rules. (3-20-20)T

08. Emergencies. If a prescribing psychologist determines that an emergency exists that may 
jeopardize the health or well being of the patient, the prescribing psychologist may, without prior consultation with 
the patient’s licensed medical provider, prescribe psychotropic medications or modify an existing prescription for 
psychotropic medication previously written for that patient by that prescribing psychologist. The prescribing 
psychologist must consult with the licensed medical provider as soon as possible. The prescribing psychologist must 
document in the patient’s psychological evaluation/treatment records the nature and extent of the emergency and the 
attempt(s) made to contact the licensed medical provider prior to prescribing or other reason why contact could not be 
made. (3-20-20)T

09. Disaster Areas. If a prescribing psychologist is working in a declared emergency/disaster area, the 
on-site medical staff can serve as the evaluating licensed medical provider. (3-20-20)T

721. -- 729. (RESERVED)

730. FORMULARY.
A prescribing psychologist may prescribe medications and controlled substances that are recognized in or 
customarily used in the diagnosis, treatment and management of individuals with mental, nervous, emotional, 
behavioral, substance abuse and cognitive disorders and that are relevant to the practice of psychology or other 
procedures directly related thereto under the following limitations. (3-20-20)T

01. Prohibited Medications and Controlled Substances. A prescribing psychologist may not 
prescribe: (3-20-20)T
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a. Any medication or controlled substance designated or included as a Schedule I controlled 
substance; or (3-20-20)T

b.  Any opioid. (3-20-20)T

02. Disorders and Conditions. A prescribing psychologist may not prescribe medication to treat a 
primary endocrine, cardiovascular, orthopedic, neurologic, gynecologic, obstetric, metabolic, hematologic, 
respiratory, renal, gastrointestinal, hepatic, dermatologic, oncologic, infectious, ophthalmologic, or rheumatologic 
illness or disorder. The provisions of this rule do not prohibit a prescribing psychologist from prescribing to treat a 
mental, nervous, emotional, behavioral, substance abuse or cognitive disorder that arises secondary to a primary 
physical illness, provided that the primary illness is being treated by a licensed medical provider and the prescribing 
psychologist collaborates with the patient’s licensed medical provider, as provided in these rules. (3-20-20)T

731. -- 999. (RESERVED)


