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IDAPA 24 – DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES
24.18.01 – RULES OF THE REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD

DOCKET NO. 24-1801-2000F (FEE RULE)

NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF TEMPORARY RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rules being adopted through this omnibus rulemaking is 
the adjournment date of the second regular session of the 65th Idaho State Legislature - March 20, 2020.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given this agency has adopted a 
temporary rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-4106, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons 
for adopting a temporary rule:

This temporary rulemaking adopts the following chapter under IDAPA 24.18.01:

IDAPA 24.18
24.18.01, Rules of the Real Estate Appraiser Board.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the 
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and 
confer a benefit on its citizens. These temporary rules implement the duly enacted laws of the state of Idaho, provide 
citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the orderly execution and 
enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and processes would undermine 
the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the benefit intended by these rules. 
These rules govern the initial and ongoing licensure requirements for real estate appraisers and appraisal management 
companies in Idaho. These rules are required under federal law in order for Idaho licensed appraisers to conduct 
appraisals for federally related transactions. Allowing these rules to expire would put Idaho out of compliance with 
the federal requirements, which would harm licensees and the public.

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), the Governor has found that the fees or charges being imposed or 
increased are justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fees are described herein:

The fees or charges, authorized in Sections 54-4113, 54-4124, and 54-4134, Idaho Code, are part of the agency’s 
2021 budget that relies upon the existence of these fees or charges to meet the state’s obligations and provide 
necessary state services. Failing to reauthorize these temporary rules would create immediate danger to the state 
budget, immediate danger to necessary state functions and services, and immediate danger of a violation of Idaho’s 
constitutional requirement that it balance its budget.

The following is a specific description of the fees or charges:

FEE TYPE AMOUNT
(Not to Exceed)

RENEWAL
(Not to Exceed)

Application $200

License $100* $275*

AMC Registration $1,000** $900**

Reinstatement As provided in Section 67-2614, 
Idaho Code

Application for Reciprocity $200
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ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary 
rule, contact Rob McQuade at (208) 334-3233.

DATED this February 21, 2020.

Kelley Packer
Division Administrator
Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses 
700 W. State Street
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720
Phone: (208) 334-3233
Fax: (208) 334-3945

Original license via Reciprocity $100*

Temporary Permit $75

Trainee Registration $50

Continuing Education Provider 
Application $100

Examination and Reexamination As charged by the provider

FEE TYPE AMOUNT
(Not to Exceed)

RENEWAL
(Not to Exceed)
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24.18.01 – RULES OF THE REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
These rules are hereby prescribed and established pursuant to the authority vested in the Real Estate Appraiser Board 
by the provisions of Section 54-4106, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.
These rules are titled IDAPA 24.18.01, “Rules of the Real Estate Appraiser Board.” (3-20-20)T

002. – 003. (RESERVED)

004. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE.
The document titled “Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP),” 2020-2021 Edition, excluding 
standards 7, 8, 9, and 10, published by the Appraisal Foundation and effective January 1, 2020, as referenced in 
Subsection 700, is herein incorporated by reference and is available for review at the Board’s office and may be 
purchased from the Appraisal Foundation, Distribution Center, P. O. Box 381, Annapolis Junction, MD 20701-0381.

(3-20-20)T

005. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS.
The definitions numbered one through fifteen (1-15), appearing at Section 54-4104, Idaho Code are incorporated 
herein by reference as if set forth in full. (3-20-20)T

01. Accredited. Accredited by the Commission on Colleges, a regional or national accreditation 
association, or by an accrediting agency that is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education. (3-20-20)T

02. Advisory Committee. A committee of state certified or licensed real estate appraisers appointed by 
the board to provide technical assistance relating to real estate appraisal standards and real estate appraiser 
experience, education and examination requirements that are appropriate for each classification of state certified or 
licensed real estate appraiser. (3-20-20)T

03. Appraiser Qualifications Board. Appraiser Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation 
establishes the qualifications criteria for licensing, certification and recertification of appraisers. (3-20-20)T

04. Appraisal Standards Board. The Appraisal Standards Board of the Appraisal Foundation 
develops, publishes, interprets and amends the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) on 
behalf of appraisers and users of appraisal services. (3-20-20)T

05. Classroom Hour. Fifty (50) minutes out of each sixty (60) minute hour in a setting which may 
include a classroom, conference/seminar, on-line or a virtual classroom. (3-20-20)T

06. Field Real Estate Appraisal Experience. Personal inspections of real property, assembly and 
analysis of relevant facts, and by the use of reason and the exercise of judgment, formation of objective opinions as to 
the market or other value of such properties or interests therein and preparation of written appraisal reports or other 
memoranda showing data, reasoning, and conclusion. Professional responsibility for the valuation function is 
essential. (3-20-20)T

07. FIRREA. Title XI, Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery and Enforcement Act of 1989, as 
amended, was designed to ensure that more reliable appraisals are rendered in connection with federally related 
transactions. (3-20-20)T

08. Real Estate. In addition to the previous definition in Section 54-4104(11), Idaho Code, will also 
mean an identified parcel or tract of land, including improvements, if any. (3-20-20)T

09. Real Property. In addition to the previous definition in Section 54-4104(11), Idaho Code, will also 
mean one or more defined interests, benefits, or rights inherent in the ownership of real estate. (3-20-20)T

10. Residential Unit. Real estate with a current highest and best use of a residential nature. A 
residential unit includes a kitchen and a bathroom. (3-20-20)T

11. Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice or USPAP. Those uniform standards 
adopted by the Appraisal Foundation’s Appraisal Standards Board. These standards may be altered, amended, 
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interpreted, supplemented, or repealed by the Appraisal Standards Board (ASB) from time to time. (3-20-20)T

12. USPAP Course. For the purposes of licensure and license renewal, any reference to the approved 
USPAP course means the National USPAP Course provided by Appraisal Qualifications Board Certified USPAP 
Instructors and Educational Providers. (3-20-20)T

13. Appraisal Management Company or AMC. Appraisal Management Company or AMC means a 
natural person or organization that meets the definition in Section 54-4122, Idaho Code, and is registered under the 
Idaho Appraisal Management Company Registration and Regulation Act. (3-20-20)T

011. -- 099. (RESERVED)

100. ORGANIZATION AND MEETINGS.

01. Organization of Board. At the first meeting of each year, the Board shall organize and elect from 
its members a Chairman and Vice Chairman who shall assume the duties of their respective offices immediately upon 
such selection. (3-20-20)T

02. Meetings. The Board meets at least four (4) times annually and at such other times as requested by 
the Board or its chairman. (3-20-20)T

03. Quorum. A quorum is three (3) board members. A majority vote of the quorum present is 
considered the action of the Board as a whole. (3-20-20)T

101. -- 149. (RESERVED)

150. FEES.
Fees are non-refundable and established in accordance with Sections 54-4113, 54-4124, and 54-4134, Idaho Code, as 
follows:

(3-20-20)T

01. Fees Followed by One Asterisk (*) Means. Proposed fees for these categories marked with an 
asterisk (*) include forty dollars ($40) to be submitted by the state to the federal government. Title XI, Section 1109 
of the FIRREA as amended requires each state to submit a roster listing of state licensed appraisers to the Appraisal 

FEE TYPE AMOUNT
(Not to Exceed)

RENEWAL
(Not to Exceed)

Application $200

License $100*  $275*

AMC Registration $1,000** $900**

Reinstatement As provided in Section 67-2614, 
Idaho Code

Application for Reciprocity $200

Original license via Reciprocity $100*

Temporary Permit $75

Trainee Registration $50

Continuing Education  
Provider Application $100

Examination and Reexamination As charged by the provider
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Subcommittee of the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council “no less than annually.” The state is also 
required to collect from such individuals who perform appraisals in federally related transactions an annual registry 
fee of “not more than eighty-five dollars ($85),” such fees to be transmitted by the state to the federal government on 
an annual basis. This fee is subject to change by the Appraisal Subcommittee. (3-20-20)T

02. Fees Followed by Two Asterisks (**) Means. The fees for the categories marked with two (2) 
asterisks (**) do not include additional fees assessed pursuant to Title XI, Section 1109 of the FIRREA, as amended, 
including, but not limited to, an AMC registry fee, such fees to be collected from AMCs by the state and transmitted 
to the federal government on an annual basis. (3-20-20)T

151. -- 199. (RESERVED)

200. APPLICATION.

01. Appraiser License Application. Any person desiring to apply for licensure must submit a 
completed application with required supporting documents and appropriate fees to the Division at its official address. 
After the qualifications have been reviewed, verified and approved by the Board, the applicant will receive the pre-
approved examination card and must submit the appropriate fees to the examining entity. (3-20-20)T

02. Eligibility for Examination. The qualified applicant will be sent notification on how to register for 
the examination subsequent to the determination of eligibility based on documentation that the applicant has met the 
required education and experience requirements. (3-20-20)T

03. Trainee Registration Application. Any person desiring registration as a trainee must submit a 
completed application with required supporting documents and appropriate fees to the Division at its official address.

(3-20-20)T

04. AMC Registration Application. Any person or organization desiring registration as an AMC must 
submit a completed application with required supporting documents and appropriate fees to the Division at its official 
address. (3-20-20)T

201. -- 249. (RESERVED)

250. REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE.
All applicants for licensure in any real estate appraiser classification must comply with the following education, 
experience and examination requirements in addition to meeting those requirements set forth in Sections 275, 300, 
350, and 400 below. (3-20-20)T

01. Education. Classroom hours will be credited only for courses with content that follows the 
Required Core Curriculum as outlined by the Appraisal Qualification Board. (3-20-20)T

a. Credit toward the classroom hour requirement may only be granted where the length of the 
educational offering is at least fifteen (15) hours, and the individual successfully completes a closed-book 
examination pertinent to the educational offering. In addition, distance education courses intended for use as 
qualifying education must include a written, closed-book final examination - proctored by an official approved by the 
college or university or by the sponsoring organization. The term “written” as used herein refers to an exam that 
might be written on paper or administered electronically on a computer workstation or other device. Oral exams are 
not acceptable. The testing must be in compliance with the examination requirements of this section. (3-20-20)T

b. Credit for the classroom hour requirement may be obtained from the following: (3-20-20)T

i. Colleges or Universities. (3-20-20)T

ii. Community or Junior Colleges. (3-20-20)T

iii. Courses approved by the Appraisal Qualifications Board. (3-20-20)T
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iv. State or Federal Agencies or Commissions. (3-20-20)T

v. Other providers approved by the Board. (3-20-20)T

c. Only those courses completed preceding the date of application will be accepted for meeting 
educational requirements. (3-20-20)T

d. Course credits that are obtained from the course provider by challenge examination without 
attending the course will not be accepted. (3-20-20)T

e. Credit toward education requirements may be obtained through completion of a degree in Real 
Estate from: (3-20-20)T

i. An accredited degree-granting college or university that has been approved by the Association to 
Advance Collegiate Schools of Business; or (3-20-20)T

ii. A regional or national accreditation agency that is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education 
and whose curriculum has been reviewed and approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board. (3-20-20)T

f. Applicants with a college degree from a foreign country may have their education evaluated for 
equivalency by one (1) of the following: (3-20-20)T

i. An accredited, degree-granting domestic college or university; (3-20-20)T

ii. The American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers (AACRAO);
(3-20-20)T

iii. A foreign degree credential evaluation services company that is a member of the National 
Association of Credential Evaluation Services (NACES); or (3-20-20)T

iv. A foreign degree credential evaluation service company that provides equivalency evaluation 
reports accepted by an accredited degree-granting domestic college or university or by a state licensing board that 
issues credentials in another discipline. (3-20-20)T

02. Experience. (3-20-20)T

a. The work product claimed for experience credit must be in conformity with USPAP. (3-20-20)T

b. All appraisal experience must be obtained as a registered trainee or as a licensed appraiser. At least 
five hundred (500) hours in no less than three (3) months must be obtained in Idaho pursuant to these rules. The 
Board will only consider experience from other jurisdictions with substantially equal requirements. (3-20-20)T

c. Only experience gained during the five (5) years immediately preceding application will be 
considered for evaluation. (3-20-20)T

d. Acceptable non field appraisal experience includes, but is not limited to the following: Fee and 
Staff appraisal analysis, ad valorem tax appraisal, condemnation appraisal, technical review appraisal, appraisal 
analysis, review appraisal, real estate counseling, highest and best use analysis, and feasibility analysis/study.

(3-20-20)T

e. Each applicant applying for licensure must verify completion of the required experience via 
affidavit, under oath subject to penalty of perjury, and notarized on a form provided by the Board. (3-20-20)T

i. The Board requires submission of a log that details hours claimed for experience credit. The log 
must include the following: (3-20-20)T

(1) Type of property; (3-20-20)T
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(2) Address of the property; (3-20-20)T

(3) Report date; (3-20-20)T

(4) Description of work performed; (3-20-20)T

(5) Number of work hours; (3-20-20)T

(6) Complexity; (3-20-20)T

(7) Approaches to value; (3-20-20)T

(8) Appraised value; (3-20-20)T

(9) Scope of supervising appraiser's review; and (3-20-20)T

(10) Signature and license number of the supervising appraiser. (3-20-20)T

ii. The Board reserves the right to contact an employer for confirmation of length and extent of 
experience claimed. This may require an employer to submit appraisal reports and/or an affidavit. (3-20-20)T

iii. The Board may request submission of written reports or file memoranda that substantiate an 
applicant’s claim for experience credit. (3-20-20)T

f. Ad valorem tax appraisers must demonstrate the use of techniques to value properties similar to 
those used by appraisers and effectively use the process as defined in Subsection 010.06, Field Real Estate Appraisal 
Experience in order to receive experience credit. (3-20-20)T

03. Examination. Successful completion of an examination appropriate to the license classification 
being applied for and approved by the Board pursuant to the guidelines of the Appraisal Qualifications Board.

(3-20-20)T

251. -- 274. (RESERVED)

275. REGISTERED TRAINEE REAL ESTATE APPRAISER.

01. Qualification. Each applicant for registration as an appraiser trainee must meet the following 
requirements: (3-20-20)T

a. Education. Within the five-year period preceding application, all applicants for registration as a 
trainee must document completion of at least seventy-five (75) classroom hours of courses in subjects related to real 
estate appraisal as follows: (3-20-20)T

i. Basic Appraisal Principles - not less than thirty (30) hours specifically including Real Property 
Concepts and Characteristics, Legal Considerations, Influences on Real Estate Values, Types of Value, Economic 
Principles, Overview of Real Estate Markets and Analysis, and Ethics and How They Apply in Appraisal Theory and 
Practice; and (3-20-20)T

ii. Basic Appraisal Procedures - not less than thirty (30) hours specifically including Overview of 
Approaches to Value, Valuation Procedures, Property Description, and Residential Applications; and (3-20-20)T

iii. National USPAP Course - not less than fifteen (15) hours. (3-20-20)T

b. Experience. All applicants for registration as a trainee must retain and identify at least one (1) 
qualified supervisor as required by law and rule. (3-20-20)T
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c. Examination. Each trainee applicant shall document successful passage of examinations in each of 
the prerequisite courses required for registration as a trainee. (3-20-20)T

d. Prior to registration as an appraiser trainee, each trainee applicant must complete a trainee appraiser 
course that complies with the content requirements established by the Appraisal Qualifications Board. This course is 
in addition to the education requirements set forth in Section 275. (3-20-20)T

02. Scope and Practice. An Appraiser Trainee shall not be involved in the appraisal of any property 
that exceeds the lawful scope of practice of the supervising appraiser. The appraiser trainee shall be subject to 
USPAP. (3-20-20)T

a. Each appraiser trainee is permitted to have more than one (1) supervising appraiser provided a 
supervising appraiser is not registered to more than three (3) trainees at any one (1) time. (3-20-20)T

b. An appraisal log shall be maintained for each supervising appraiser by the appraiser trainee and 
shall include no less than the requirements outlined in Subsection 250.02.e.i. for each appraisal. (3-20-20)T

c. An appraiser trainee shall be entitled to obtain copies of all appraisal reports prepared by the 
trainee. (3-20-20)T

03. Continuing Education. Prior to the second renewal and for each continuing education cycle 
thereafter as provided in Section 275 of this rule, an appraiser trainee shall be required to obtain: (3-20-20)T

a. The equivalent of thirty (30) classroom hours of instruction in approved courses or seminars during 
the twenty-four (24) month period preceding the renewal. Once every twenty-four (24) months, registered appraiser 
trainees will be required to attend an approved seven-hour USPAP update course or the equivalent. The course must 
cover the most recent USPAP edition. (3-20-20)T

b. All continuing education shall be in compliance with Subsections 401.01 through 401.05. If the 
licensee completes two (2) or more courses having substantially the same content during any one (1) continuing 
education cycle, the licensee only will receive continuing education credit for one (1) of the courses. (3-20-20)T

c. Continuing education credit may also be granted for participation, other than as a student, in 
appraisal educational processes and programs. Examples of activities for which credit may be granted are teaching, 
program development, authorship of textbooks, or similar activities that are determined to be equivalent to obtaining 
continuing education. Credit for educational processes and programs continuing education shall not exceed one-half 
(1/2) of the total continuing education credits required for a renewal period. (3-20-20)T

d. The purpose of continuing education is to ensure that the appraiser trainee participates in a program 
that maintains and increases skill, knowledge and competence in real estate appraising. (3-20-20)T

04. Renewal and Reinstatement. An appraiser trainee shall renew their registration annually as set 
forth in Section 67-2614, Idaho Code, and may reinstate after expiration as provided in Section 67-2614, Idaho Code. 
Beginning July 1, 2017, an individual may only be registered as an appraiser trainee for a maximum period of five (5) 
years, unless approved by the Board for good cause. (3-20-20)T

276. REGISTERED TRAINEE SUPERVISORS.

01. Registered Trainee Supervisor Requirements. (3-20-20)T

a. A supervising appraiser shall: (3-20-20)T

i. Hold a current Idaho license as a Certified Residential Appraiser or as a Certified General 
Appraiser when supervising a trainee registered in Idaho. (3-20-20)T

ii. Have held a current and unrestricted license as a Certified Residential Appraiser or a Certified 
General Appraiser for at least three (3) years prior to providing supervision; and; (3-20-20)T
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iii. Submit evidence of completion of an approved four-hour (4) continuing education course regarding 
the role of a supervising appraiser. (3-20-20)T

iv. Not have been disciplined by the Board or any other state or jurisdiction within the previous four 
(4) years; and (3-20-20)T

v. Not supervise more than three (3) appraiser trainees at one time; and (3-20-20)T

vi. Be responsible for the training and direct supervision of the appraiser trainee; and (3-20-20)T

vii. Accept responsibility for all appraiser trainee appraisal reports by signing and certifying that the 
report is in compliance with USPAP; and (3-20-20)T

viii. Review and sign all appraiser trainee appraisal report(s); and (3-20-20)T

ix. Personally inspect each appraised property with the appraiser trainee until the supervising appraiser 
determines the appraiser trainee is competent in accordance with the Competency Provision of USPAP for the 
property type. (3-20-20)T

b. An accurate, current and complete appraisal experience log shall be maintained jointly by the 
supervising appraiser and the appraiser trainee as outlined in Subsection 250.02.e.i. (3-20-20)T

c. A supervising appraiser may not continue to supervise if: (3-20-20)T

i. The appraiser ceases to meet supervisor requirements; or (3-20-20)T

ii. The appraiser is disciplined, unless the board grants a waiver and a waiver may be subject to 
conditions set by the board. (3-20-20)T

277. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. LICENSED RESIDENTIAL REAL ESTATE APPRAISER CLASSIFICATION APPRAISER 
QUALIFICATION CRITERIA.
The state licensed residential real estate appraiser classification applies to the appraisal of residential real property 
consisting of one (1) to four (4) non-complex residential units having a transaction value less than one million dollars 
($1,000,000) and complex one (1) to four (4) residential units having a transaction value less than two hundred fifty 
thousand dollars ($250,000). Applicants must meet the following education, experience and examination 
requirements in addition to complying with Section 250. Subsequent to being licensed, every licensee must annually 
meet the continuing education requirement. (3-20-20)T

01. Education. As a prerequisite to taking the examination for licensure as an Idaho Licensed 
Residential Real Estate Appraiser, each applicant shall: (3-20-20)T

a. Document registration as an Appraiser Trainee; and (3-20-20)T

b. Document the successful completion of not less than seventy-five (75) classroom hours of courses 
in subjects related to real estate appraisal as follows: (3-20-20)T

i. Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use – not less than fifteen (15) hours; and
(3-20-20)T

ii. Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – not less than fifteen (15) hours; and
(3-20-20)T

iii. Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches – not less than thirty (30) hours specifically 
including: Valuation Principles and Procedures – Sales Comparison Approach; Valuation Principles and Procedures 
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– Income Approach; Finance and Cash Equivalency; Financial Calculator Introduction; Identification, Derivation and 
Measurement of Adjustments; Gross Rent Multipliers; Partial Interests; Reconciliation; and Case Studies; and

(3-20-20)T

iv. Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – not less than fifteen (15) hours specifically 
including: Writing and Reasoning Skills; Common Writing Problems; Form Reports; Report Options and USPAP 
Compliance; Case Studies. (3-20-20)T

02. Experience. Prerequisite to sit for the examination: (3-20-20)T

a. Document one thousand (1,000) hours of supervised appraisal experience as a registered Appraiser 
Trainee in no less than six (6) months. Experience documentation in the form of reports or file memoranda should be 
available to support the claim for experience. (3-20-20)T

b. Of the required one thousand (1,000) hours, the applicant must accumulate a minimum of seven 
hundred-fifty (750) hours from field real estate appraisal experience. The balance of two hundred-fifty (250) hours 
may include non-field experience, refer to Subsection 250.02.d. (3-20-20)T

03. Examination. Successful completion of the Licensed Residential Appraiser examination approved 
by the Board pursuant to the guidelines of the Appraisal Qualifications Board. (3-20-20)T

301. -- 349. (RESERVED)

350. CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL REAL ESTATE APPRAISER CLASSIFICATION APPRAISER 
QUALIFICATION CRITERIA.
The State Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser classification applies to the appraisal of residential properties of 
four (4) or less units without regard to transaction value or complexity. Applicants must meet the following 
education, experience and examination requirements in addition to complying with Section 250. Subsequent to being 
certified every licensee must annually meet the continuing education requirement. (3-20-20)T

01. Education. As a prerequisite to taking the examination for licensure as an Idaho Certified 
Residential Real Estate Appraiser, each applicant shall: (3-20-20)T

a. Hold a Bachelor’s degree in any field of study from an accredited degree-granting college or 
university, or meet one of the following options: (3-20-20)T

i. Possession of an Associate’s degree in a field of study related to business administration, 
accounting, finance, economics or real estate; or (3-20-20)T

ii. Successful completion of thirty (30) semester hours of college-level courses that cover each of the 
following specific topic areas and hours: English composition (three (3) semester hours), microeconomics (three (3) 
semester hours), macroeconomics (three (3) semester hours), finance (three (3) semester hours), algebra, geometry or 
higher mathematics (three (3) semester hours), statistics (three (3) semester hours), computer science (three (3) 
semester hours), business or real estate law (three (3) semester hours), and two (2) elective courses in any of the 
topics listed above or in accounting, geography, agricultural economics, business management, or real estate (three 
(3) semester hours each); or (3-20-20)T

iii. Successful completion of at least thirty (30) semester hours of College Level Examination 
Program® (CLEP®) examinations from each of the following subject matter areas: college algebra (three (3) 
semester hours), college composition (six (6) semester hours), college composition modular (three (3) semester 
hours), college mathematics (six (6) semester hours), principles of macroeconomics (three (3) semester hours), 
principles of microeconomics (three (3) semester hours), introductory business law (three (3) semester hours), and 
information systems (three (3) semester hours), or (3-20-20)T

iv. Any combination of the above criteria (within Subsections 350.01.a.ii. and 350.01.a.iii. of these 
rules) that ensures coverage of all topics and hours identified in Subsection 350.01.a.ii. (3-20-20)T
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b. As an alternative to the requirements in Subsection 350.01.a., above, individuals who have held a 
Licensed Residential credential for a minimum of five (5) years may qualify as meeting the requirements of 
Subsection 350.01.a., if it is established that there is no record of any adverse, final, and non-appealable disciplinary 
action affecting the Licensed Residential appraiser’s legal eligibility to engage in appraisal practice within the five 
(5) years immediately preceding the date of application for a Certified Residential license. (3-20-20)T

c. Document registration as an Appraiser Trainee and completion of the education required for 
licensure as a Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser, or hold a current license as a Licensed Residential Real 
Estate Appraiser; and (3-20-20)T

d. Document the successful completion of not less than fifty (50) classroom hours of courses in 
subjects related to real estate appraisal as follows: (3-20-20)T

i. Statistics, Modeling and Finance: not less than fifteen (15) hours, specifically including Statistics; 
Valuation Models (AVM’s and Mass Appraisal); and Real Estate Finance; and (3-20-20)T

ii. Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies: not less than fifteen (15) hours, specifically 
including Complex Property, Ownership and Market Conditions; Deriving and Supporting Adjustments; Residential 
Market Analysis; and Advanced Case Studies; and (3-20-20)T

iii. Appraisal Subject Matter Electives: not less than twenty (20) hours, and may include hours over the 
minimum shown in Subsection 350.01.d. of these rules. (3-20-20)T

02. Experience. Experience is a prerequisite to sit for the licensure examination: (3-20-20)T

a. Document one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours of appraisal experience in no less than twelve 
(12) months (see Subsection 250.02). Experience documentation in the form of reports or file memoranda should be 
available to support the claim for experience. (3-20-20)T

b. One thousand two hundred (1,200) hours of the experience shall be from residential field appraisal 
experience. The balance of three hundred (300) hours may include non-field experience, refer to Subsection 250.02.d.

(3-20-20)T

c. Examination. Successful completion of the Certified Residential Appraiser examination approved 
by the Board pursuant to the guidelines of the Appraisal Qualifications Board. (3-20-20)T

351. -- 399. (RESERVED)

400. CERTIFIED GENERAL REAL ESTATE APPRAISER CLASSIFICATION APPRAISER 
QUALIFICATION CRITERIA.
The State Certified General Real Estate Appraiser classification applies to the appraisal of all types of real property. 
Applicants must meet the following examination, education, and experience requirements in addition to complying 
with Section 250. Subsequent to being certified, an individual must meet the continuing education requirement.

(3-20-20)T

01. Education. As a prerequisite to taking the examination for licensure as an Idaho Certified General 
Real Estate Appraiser, each applicant shall: (3-20-20)T

a. Hold a Bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited degree-granting college or university; and
(3-20-20)T

b. Document registration as an Appraiser Trainee and document the successful completion of not less 
than two hundred twenty-five (225) classroom hours of courses in subjects related to real estate appraisal as follows:

(3-20-20)T

i. Statistics, Modeling and Finance: not less than fifteen (15) hours, specifically including Statistics; 
Valuation Models (AVM’s and Mass Appraisal), and Real Estate Finance; (3-20-20)T
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ii. General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use: not less than thirty (30) hours;
(3-20-20)T

iii. General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach: not less than thirty (30) hours, specifically 
including Value Principles, Procedures, Identification and Measurement of Adjustments, Reconciliation, and Case 
Studies; (3-20-20)T

iv. General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach: not less than thirty (30) hours; (3-20-20)T

v. General Appraiser Income Approach: not less than sixty (60) hours, specifically including 
Overview, Compound Interest, Lease Analysis, Income Analysis, Vacancy and Collection Law, Estimating Operating 
Expenses and Reserves, Reconstructed Income and Expense Statement, Stabilized Net Operating Income Estimate, 
Direct Capitalization, Discounted Cash Flow, Yield Capitalization, Partial Interest, and Case Studies; (3-20-20)T

vi. General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies: not less than thirty (30) hours, specifically 
including Writing and Reasoning Skills, Common Writing Problems, Report Options and USPAP Compliance, and 
Case Studies; and (3-20-20)T

vii. Appraisal Subject Matter Electives: not less than thirty (30) hours, and may include hours over the 
minimum shown in Subsection 400.01.b. of these rules; or (3-20-20)T

c. Document licensure as a Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser and the successful completion 
of not less than one hundred fifty (150) classroom hours of courses in subjects related to real estate appraisal as 
follows: (3-20-20)T

i. Statistics, Modeling and Finance: not less than fifteen (15) hours, specifically including Statistics; 
Valuation Models (AVM’s and Mass Appraisal); and Real Estate Finance; and (3-20-20)T

ii. General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use: not less than fifteen (15) hours; and
(3-20-20)T

iii. General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach: not less than fifteen (15) hours, specifically 
including Value Principles, Procedures, Identification and Measurement of Adjustments, Reconciliation, and Case 
Studies; and (3-20-20)T

iv. General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach: not less than fifteen (15) hours; and
(3-20-20)T

v. General Appraiser Income Approach: not less than forty-five (45) hours, specifically including 
Overview, Compound Interest, Lease Analysis, Income Analysis, Vacancy and Collection Law, Estimating Operating 
Expenses and Reserves, Reconstructed Income and Expense Statement, Stabilized Net Operating Income Estimate, 
Direct Capitalization, Discounted Cash Flow, Yield Capitalization, Partial Interest, and Case Studies; and (3-20-20)T

vi. General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies: not less than fifteen (15) hours, specifically 
including Writing and Reasoning Skills, Common Writing Problems, Report Options and USPAP Compliance, and 
Case Studies; and (3-20-20)T

vii. Appraisal Subject Matter Electives: not less than thirty (30) hours. and may include hours over the 
minimum shown in Subsection 400.01.c.; or (3-20-20)T

d. Document licensure as a Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser and the successful completion 
of not less than one hundred five (105) classroom hours of courses in subjects related to real estate appraisal as 
follows: (3-20-20)T

i. General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use: not less than fifteen (15) hours; and
(3-20-20)T
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ii. General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach: not less than fifteen (15) hours, specifically 
including Value Principles, Procedures, Identification and Measurement of Adjustments, Reconciliation, and Case 
Studies; and (3-20-20)T

iii. General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach: not less than fifteen (15) hours; and
(3-20-20)T

iv. General Appraiser Income Approach: not less than forty-five (45) hours, specifically including 
Overview, Compound Interest, Lease Analysis, Income Analysis, Vacancy and Collection Law, Estimating Operating 
Expenses and Reserves, Reconstructed Income and Expense Statement, Stabilized Net Operating Income Estimate, 
Direct Capitalization, Discounted Cash Flow, Yield Capitalization, Partial Interest, and Case Studies; and (3-20-20)T

v. General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies: not less than fifteen (15) hours, specifically 
including Writing and Reasoning Skills, Common Writing Problems, Report Options and USPAP Compliance, and 
Case Studies. (3-20-20)T

02. Experience. Experience is a prerequisite to sit for the licensure examination: (3-20-20)T

a. Document three thousand (3,000) hours of appraisal experience in no less than eighteen (18) 
months (See Subsection 250.02). Experience documentation in the form of reports or file memoranda should be 
available to support the claim for experience. (3-20-20)T

b. One thousand five hundred (1,500) hours of the experience must be non-residential appraisal 
experience. The balance of one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours may be solely residential experience or can 
include up to five hundred (500) hours of non-field experience as outlined in Subsection 250.02.d. (3-20-20)T

c. Examination. Successful completion of the Certified General Appraiser examination approved by 
the Board pursuant to the guidelines of the Appraisal Qualifications Board. (3-20-20)T

401. CONTINUING EDUCATION.
All certified/licensed appraisers must comply with the following continuing education requirements: (3-20-20)T

01. Purpose of Continuing Education. The purpose of continuing education is to ensure that the 
appraiser participates in a program that maintains and increases his skill, knowledge and competency in real estate 
appraising. (3-20-20)T

02. Hours Required. The equivalent of thirty (30) classroom hours of instruction in courses or 
seminars during the twenty-four (24) months prior to renewal is required. If the licensee completes two (2) or more 
courses having substantially the same content during any one (1) continuing education cycle, the licensee only will 
receive continuing education credit for one (1) of the courses. (3-20-20)T

a. If the educational offering is taken on-line or in a virtual classroom, the course must include 
successful completion of prescribed course mechanisms required to demonstrate knowledge of the subject matter.

(3-20-20)T

b. Credit toward the classroom hour requirement may be granted only where the length of the 
educational offering is at least two (2) hours. (3-20-20)T

c. Credit for the classroom hour requirement may be obtained by accredited courses which have been 
approved by the Appraisal Qualifications Board and by courses approved by Real Estate Appraiser Boards of states 
with reciprocity with Idaho. All other courses must have approval of the Board, which shall require the continuing 
education provider to submit the educational course approval application and application fee as set forth in these rules 
along with the documentation including the instructors and their qualifications, course content, length of course, and 
its location. Courses shall be approved for a period of four (4) years. (3-20-20)T

d. Once every twenty-four (24) months, Idaho State Certified/Licensed Real Estate Appraisers and 
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registered trainees will be required to attend an approved seven (7) hour USPAP update course or the equivalent. The 
course must cover the most recent USPAP edition. (3-20-20)T

03. Credit for Appraisal Educational Processes and Programs. Continuing education credit may 
also be granted for participation, other than as a student, in appraisal educational processes and programs. Examples 
of activities for which credit may be granted are teaching, program development, authorship of textbooks, or similar 
activities which are determined to be equivalent to obtaining continuing education. Credit for educational processes 
and programs continuing education shall not exceed one-half (1/2) of the total continuing education credits required 
for a renewal period. (3-20-20)T

04. Credit for Attending the Licensure Board Meetings. Continuing education credit may be 
granted for a maximum of two (2) hours each continuing education cycle for time spent attending one (1) Board 
meeting. Members of the board shall not be entitled to continuing education credit for board service. (3-20-20)T

05. Requirement When a Certificate/License Is Canceled. For each year (less than five (5)) in which 
a license is lapsed, canceled, or otherwise non-renewed, fifteen (15) hours of continuing education must be 
documented, including a seven (7) hour USPAP update course, prior to reinstatement. The course must cover the 
most recent USPAP edition. (3-20-20)T

402. -- 449. (RESERVED)

450. RECIPROCITY.
Applicant must comply with Section 54-4115, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

01. Submit Statement Verifying Certification/Licensure. Submit current notarized statement 
verifying certification/licensure in good standing in another state. (3-20-20)T

451. -- 499. (RESERVED)

500. TEMPORARY PRACTICE.

01. Requirements for Issuance. A permit to temporarily practice may be issued to individuals coming 
to Idaho who are certified/licensed in another state and are either transferring to Idaho or have a temporary 
assignment in Idaho. (3-20-20)T

02. Proof of Current Certification or Licensure. The applicant must be listed on the National 
Registry, maintained by the Appraisal Subcommittee, as current and in good standing and comply with Section 54-
4115(3), Idaho Code, regarding irrevocable consent. (3-20-20)T

03. Assignments and Length of Time Permit Will Be Issued. Permit to temporarily practice will be 
issued on a per appraisal assignment basis for a period not to exceed six (6) months. A temporary permit may be 
extended one (1) time only. (3-20-20)T

501. -- 524. (RESERVED)

525. DISCIPLINE.

01. Civil Fine. The Board may impose a civil fine not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) upon a 
licensed or certified real estate appraiser for each violation of Section 54-4107(1), Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

02. Costs and Fees. The Board may order a licensed or certified real estate appraiser to pay the costs 
and fees incurred by the Board in the investigation or prosecution of the licensee for violation of Section 54-4107(1), 
Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

526. -- 539. (RESERVED)

540. APPRAISALS IN LITIGATION.
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Licensed or certified appraisers providing opinions of value in litigation shall comply with USPAP Standard 1 
including maintaining a work file in support of the opinion of value in litigation. (3-20-20)T

541. -- 699. (RESERVED)

700. UNIFORM STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL APPRAISAL PRACTICE/CODE OF ETHICS.
The Uniform Standards of Professional Practice, excluding standards 7, 8, 9, and 10, as published by the Appraisal 
Foundation and referenced in Section 004, are hereby adopted as the rules of conduct and code of ethics for all Real 
Estate Appraisers licensed under Title 54, Chapter 41, Idaho Code, and these rules. (3-20-20)T

701. -- 999. (RESERVED)


