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IDAPA 24 – DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES
24.28.01 – RULES OF THE BARBER AND COSMETOLOGY SERVICES LICENSING BOARD

DOCKET NO. 24-2801-2000F (FEE RULE)

NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF TEMPORARY RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rules being adopted through this omnibus rulemaking is 
the adjournment date of the second regular session of the 65th Idaho State Legislature - March 20, 2020.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given this agency has adopted a 
temporary rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Sections 54-5807, Idaho Code, and 54-5822.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons 
for adopting a temporary rule:

This temporary rulemaking adopts the following chapter under IDAPA 24.28.01:

IDAPA 24.28
• 24.28.01, Rules of the Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the 
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and 
confer a benefit on its citizens. These temporary rules implement the duly enacted laws of the state of Idaho, provide 
citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the orderly execution and 
enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and processes would undermine 
the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the benefit intended by these rules. 
These rules govern the qualifications and standards for licensees in the barber and cosmetology services industry, as 
well as the hygiene and sanitation standards of establishments which offer those services. Failing to reauthorize these 
rules would deprive the Board of the ability to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho.

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), the Governor has found that the fees or charges being imposed or 
increased are justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fees are described herein:

The fees or charges, authorized in Section 54-5822, Idaho Code, are part of the agency’s 2021 budget that relies 
upon the existence of these fees or charges to meet the state’s obligations and provide necessary state services. Failing 
to reauthorize these temporary rules would create immediate danger to the state budget, immediate danger to 
necessary state functions and services, and immediate danger of a violation of Idaho’s constitutional requirement that 
it balance its budget.

The following is a specific description of the fees or charges:

FEE TYPE AMOUNT
(Not to Exceed)

RENEWAL
(Not to Exceed)

Original License for Individual Licenses $25 $25

Instructor License $30 $30

Original License for Establishments $20 $20

Original License for Schools $300 $85

Original License or Registration for Facilities $20 $20

Registration for Apprentice $25

Certificate for Makeup Artist $25
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ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary 
rule, contact Rob McQuade at (208) 334-3233.

DATED this February 21, 2020.

Kelley Packer
Division Administrator
Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses 
700 W. State Street
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720
Phone: (208) 334-3233
Fax: (208) 334-3945

License by Endorsement $35

Reinstatement $35

Examination As set by the 
Administrator

FEE TYPE AMOUNT
(Not to Exceed)

RENEWAL
(Not to Exceed)
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24.28.01 – RULES OF THE BARBER AND COSMETOLOGY SERVICES LICENSING BOARD

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
These rules are hereby prescribed and established pursuant to the authority vested in the Barber and Cosmetology 
Services Licensing Board by the provisions of Section 54-5807, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. The rules are titled IDAPA 24.28.01, “Rules of the Barber and Cosmetology Services 
Licensing Board.” (3-20-20)T

02. Scope. These rules implement the purposes and intent of Chapter 58, Title 54, Idaho Code, to 
regulate the professions of barbering and cosmetology in the interest of the public health, safety, and welfare.

(3-20-20)T

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS.

01. Clean. Removal of visible or surface debris, washing with soap and water, detergent or chemical 
“cleaner.” Cleaning reduces the number and slows the growth of pathogens on both porous and non-porous surfaces. 
Cleaning prepares non-porous items for disinfection, but cleaning does not make multi-use items safe for use.

(3-20-20)T

02. Clinical Services or Clinical Work. Performing hands-on acts or techniques within the scope of 
practice of a profession regulated by the Board. (3-20-20)T

03. Disinfect. The process of making a non-porous item safe for use. Disinfecting requires the use of a 
chemical intended to kill or denature a bacteria, virus or fungus. Items to be disinfected must be cleaned prior to 
disinfection. Ultraviolet (UV) light is not acceptable for disinfection. (3-20-20)T

04. Disinfectant. Disinfectant registered by the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 
and is bactericidal, virucidal and fungicidal with effectiveness against staphylococcus aureus (including methicillin-
resistant staphylococcus aureus (MRSA)), human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) and hepatitis B (HEPB). This 
includes EPA registered Sodium Hypochlorite 5.25% or higher (household bleach) with instructions for disinfection, 
diluted as instructed on the label and observing the five (5) minute contact time listed on the manufacturer’s label. 
Bleach must be active (not expired) with a manufacture date of less than six (6) months prior to use. (3-20-20)T

05. Establishment. Establishment means a place licensed under Chapter 58, Title 54, Idaho Code, 
other than a licensed school or licensed facility, where barber-styling, cosmetology, or electrology is practiced.

(3-20-20)T

06. Facility. A retail cosmetics dealer, a retail thermal styling equipment dealer, or a makeover or 
glamour photography business. (3-20-20)T

07. First-Aid Kit. First-aid kit means a packaged and identifiable assortment of medical supplies, 
including adhesive bandages, skin antiseptic, disposable gloves, and gauze. (3-20-20)T

08. Makeup. Makeup means makeup, cosmetics, or any pigment product that is used to cover, 
camouflage, or decorate the skin. (3-20-20)T

09. Patron. Patron means any person who receives the services of anyone licensed, certificated or 
otherwise regulated by the provisions of Chapter 58, Title 54, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

10. Record of Instruction. The final documentation of total hours and operations completed by a 
student that is maintained by a school or, in the case of an apprentice, by the instructor. (3-20-20)T

11. Single-Use. Any non-electrical item that cannot be properly cleaned and disinfected is considered 
single-use. This includes, but is not limited to, pumice stones, buffing blocks, wooden cuticle pushers, cotton balls, 
pads or swabs, toe separators and flip flops, and all nail files or emery boards that are not made entirely of metal, 
glass, or crystal. (3-20-20)T

12. Sterilize. The eradication of all microbial life through the use of heat, steam or chemical sterilants. 
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Items to be sterilized must be cleaned prior to sterilization. (3-20-20)T

13. Sterilant. Autoclaves or dry heat sterilizers approved by the United States Food and Drug 
Administration and spore tested through an independent lab at least once every thirty (30) days. Sterilants must be 
used only as instructed by the manufacturer. Spore testing results and maintenance records for the most recent twelve 
(12) months must be kept onsite at the establishment. (3-20-20)T

011. UPDATE OF RECORDS.
Applicants, licensees, registrants, and certificants are responsible for keeping their records updated with the Division. 
All changes including name changes and change of address must be submitted in writing to the Division within thirty 
(30) days. The most recent mailing address on file with the Division will be used for purposes of all written 
communication with a licensee, registrant, or certificant including notification of renewal and notices related to 
disciplinary actions. (3-20-20)T

012. -- 099. (RESERVED)

100. ORGANIZATION AND OPERATIONS OF THE BOARD.

01. Meetings. The Board shall meet at least annually and at other such times and places as designated 
by the Chairman, upon the request of the governor, or upon the written request of a majority of the members of the 
Board. (3-20-20)T 

a. A minimum of four (4) Board members shall constitute a quorum and shall be required for the 
transaction of business, provided at least one (1) board member of the relevant profession is present when any board 
action is taken that affects the profession, its licensees, or its applicants. A majority vote of the quorum present at a 
meeting shall be considered the action of the Board as a whole. (3-20-20)T

b. The Chairman shall be a voting member.  (3-20-20)T 

02. Organization. At the first meeting of each fiscal year, the Board shall elect from its members a 
Chairman, who shall assume the duty of the office immediately upon such selection. (3-20-20)T

a. The Chairman shall preside at all meetings when present, appoint all committees with the consent 
of the Board, and otherwise perform all duties pertaining to the office of Chairman. (3-20-20)T

b. The Division shall act as an agent of the Board and shall be the official keeper of all records of the 
Board. The Division shall provide such services as may be authorized by Chapter 26, Title 67, Idaho Code, and as 
defined under contract between the Division and the Board. (3-20-20)T

101. -- 199. (RESERVED)

200. APPLICATION.

01. Filing an Application. Applicants for licensure, certification, or registration shall submit a 
complete application, verified under oath, to the Board at its official address. The application shall be on the forms 
approved by the Board and submitted together with the appropriate fee(s) and supporting documentation. (3-20-20)T

02. Supporting Documents. The applicant must provide or facilitate the provision of any supporting 
third party documents that may be required under the qualifications for the license, certificate, or registration being 
sought. (3-20-20)T

03. Applications Must Be Complete. Applications shall not be considered complete until all required 
information, documents, and fees are received by the Board. (3-20-20)T

04. Application Deadline Date. Applications received less than seven (7) days prior to a Board 
meeting may be held over to the next meeting. (3-20-20)T
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05. Lack of Activity. If an applicant fails to respond to a Board request or an application has lacked 
activity for twelve (12) consecutive months, the application on file with the Board will be deemed denied and will be 
terminated upon a thirty (30) day written notice, unless good cause is demonstrated to the Board. (3-20-20)T

201. -- 249. (RESERVED)

250. FEES.
All fees are non-refundable. (3-20-20)T

(3-20-20)T

251. -- 299. (RESERVED)

300. QUALIFICATIONS FOR ALL LICENSES OR CERTIFICATES FOR INDIVIDUALS.
In addition to other qualifications set forth in these rules, each applicant for licensure or certification must meet the 
following general qualifications: (3-20-20)T

01. Age. Be at least sixteen and one-half (16 ½) years of age. (3-20-20)T

02. Education. Successful completion of at least two (2) years of high school or have attained an 
equivalent education as determined by the Board as evidenced by: (3-20-20)T

a. High school transcripts, a copy of a high school diploma, or a letter written on high school 
stationery, signed by an officer of the high school, indicating that the applicant has satisfactorily completed the tenth 
grade and is eligible to commence the eleventh grade; or (3-20-20)T

b. Documents establishing admission to or graduation from an associates, bachelors, or graduate 
degree program from an accredited college or university; or (3-20-20)T

c. Successful passage of the General Educational Development (G.E.D.) Test; or (3-20-20)T

d. Any test approved by the Department of Education to establish education equivalency shall be 
approved by the Board when an applicant receives a score approved by the Department of Education as meeting the 
equivalency requirement; or (3-20-20)T

e. Other proof of satisfactory completion of the tenth grade with eligibility to commence the eleventh 
grade. (3-20-20)T

FEE TYPE AMOUNT
(Not to Exceed)

RENEWAL
(Not to Exceed)

Original License for Individual Licenses $25 $25
Instructor License $30 $30
Original License for Establishments $20 $20
Original License for Schools $300 $85
Original License or Registration for Facilities $20 $20
Registration for Apprentice $25
Certificate for Makeup Artist $25
License by Endorsement $35
Reinstatement $35

Examination As set by the 
Administrator
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03. Good Moral Character. (3-20-20)T

a. An applicant must certify that he/she has not been found guilty, been convicted, or received a 
withheld judgment or suspended sentence for a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude. If the applicant has been 
found guilty, been convicted, or received a withheld judgment or suspended sentence for such a crime, the applicant 
must submit a written statement of suitability for licensure or certification as set forth in Section 312 of these rules.

(3-20-20)T

b. An applicant must certify that he/she or his/her license has not been subject to any disciplinary 
action by a regulatory entity in another state, territory, or country including, but not limited to, having an application 
for licensure denied. If the applicant or his/her license has been subject to discipline, the applicant must submit a 
written statement of suitability for licensure or certification as set forth in Section 312 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

301. QUALIFICATIONS FOR ORIGINAL BARBER LICENSE.
The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure as a barber who completes an application as set forth in 
Section 200 of these rules, pays the required fee, and who meets the following general, education, experience, and 
examination qualifications: (3-20-20)T

01. General. Meet the requirements prescribed in Section 300 of these rules. (3-20-20)T 

02. Education. Successful completion and graduation from a program of barbering consisting of not 
less than nine hundred (900) hours of instruction in a licensed barber school, or the following equivalent instruction:

(3-20-20)T

a. For a currently licensed cosmetologist, a licensed barber school must credit eight hundred (800) 
hours toward the required nine hundred (900) hours for a barber course. The school must submit for the Board’s 
approval a written explanation of how the credited hours and the remaining hours of instruction will be allotted 
among the subjects in the barber course curriculum, provided that the remaining hours of instruction must at a 
minimum include the following: (3-20-20)T

i. Barber theory, including male haircuts; and (3-20-20)T 

ii. Shaving. (3-20-20)T 

b. For a currently licensed barber in another state, territory, possession or country, and who does not 
meet the qualifications for licensure by endorsement, fifty (50) hours of instruction may be credited for each three (3) 
months of practical experience in barbering. (3-20-20)T

03. Examination. Successful passage of a barber examination approved by the Board. (3-20-20)T

302. QUALIFICATIONS FOR ORIGINAL BARBER-STYLIST LICENSE.
The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure as a barber-stylist who completes an application as set 
forth in Section 200 of these rules, pays the required fee, and meets the following general, education, and examination 
qualifications: (3-20-20)T

01. General. Meet the requirements prescribed in Section 300 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

02. Education. Successful completion and graduation from a program of barber-styling consisting of 
not less than one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours of instruction in a licensed barber school, or the following 
equivalent instruction: (3-20-20)T

a. For a currently licensed cosmetologist, a licensed barber school must credit of one thousand four 
hundred (1,400) hours toward the required one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours for a barber-stylist course. The 
school must submit for the Board’s approval a written explanation of how the credited hours and the remaining hours 
of instruction will be allotted among the subjects in the barber-stylist course curriculum, provided that the remaining 
hours of instruction must at a minimum include the following: (3-20-20)T
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i. Barber theory, including male haircuts; and (3-20-20)T

ii. Shaving. (3-20-20)T

b. For a currently licensed barber-stylist in another state, territory, possession or country, fifty (50) 
hours of instruction may be credited for each three (3) months of practical experience in barber-styling. (3-20-20)T

03. Examination. Successful passage of a barber-stylist examination approved by the Board.
(3-20-20)T

303. QUALIFICATIONS FOR ORIGINAL COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE.
The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure as a cosmetologist who completes an application as set 
forth in Section 200 of these rules, pays the required fee, and meets the following general, education, and examination 
qualifications: (3-20-20)T

01. General. Meet the requirements prescribed in Section 300 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

02. Education. Successful completion and graduation from a program of cosmetology consisting of 
not less than one thousand six hundred (1,600) hours of instruction in a licensed cosmetology school or completed at 
least three thousand two hundred (3,200) hours in an apprenticeship that meets the requirements of Section 550 of 
these rules, or the following equivalent instruction: (3-20-20)T

a. For a currently licensed barber-stylist, a licensed cosmetology school must credit one thousand 
three hundred (1,300) hours toward the required one thousand six hundred (1,600) hours for a cosmetology course. 
The school must submit for the Board’s approval a written explanation of how the credited hours and the remaining 
hours of instruction will be allotted among the subjects in the cosmetology course curriculum, provided that the 
remaining hours of instruction must at a minimum include the following: (3-20-20)T

i. Nail technology; (3-20-20)T

ii. Esthetics; and (3-20-20)T

iii. Cosmetology theory, including female hairstyling. (3-20-20)T

b. For a currently licensed barber, a licensed cosmetology school must credit nine hundred (900) 
hours toward the required one thousand six hundred (1,600) hours for a cosmetology course. The school must submit 
for the Board’s approval a written explanation of how the credited hours and the remaining hours of instruction will 
be allotted among the subjects in the cosmetology course curriculum, provided that the remaining hours of instruction 
must at a minimum include the following: (3-20-20)T

i. Working on the hair with chemicals; (3-20-20)T 

ii. Nail technology; (3-20-20)T

iii. Esthetics; and (3-20-20)T

iv.  Cosmetology theory, including female hairstyling. (3-20-20)T

c. A currently licensed esthetician, haircutter, or nail technician must be given credit of two hundred 
(200) hours toward the required one thousand six hundred (1,600) hours for a cosmetology course or four hundred 
(400) hours toward the required three thousand two hundred (3,200) hours as a cosmetology apprentice. (3-20-20)T

d. For a currently certificated makeup artist in this state, a licensed cosmetology school may credit up 
to fifty (50) hours toward the required instructional hours for a cosmetology course, or a licensed instructor may 
credit up to one hundred (100) hours toward the required apprenticeship hours. (3-20-20)T

e. For an esthetician, haircutter, or nail technician student, a licensed cosmetology school may credit 
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eighty percent (80%) of accumulated hours, but no more than two hundred (200) hours, toward the required 
instructional hours for a cosmetology course. (3-20-20)T

f. For a currently licensed cosmetologist in another state, territory, possession or country, one hundred 
(100) hours of instruction or two hundred (200) hours as an apprentice may be credited for each six-month period of 
practical experience in cosmetology. (3-20-20)T

03. Examination. Successful passage of the cosmetology examination approved by the Board.
(3-20-20)T

304. QUALIFICATIONS FOR ORIGINAL ELECTROLOGIST LICENSE.
The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure as an electrologist who completes an application as set 
forth in Section 200 of these rules, pays the required fee, and meets the following general, education, and examination 
qualifications: (3-20-20)T

01. General. Meet the requirements prescribed in Section 300 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

02. Education. Successful completion and graduation from a program of electrology consisting of not 
less than six hundred (600) hours of instruction in a licensed cosmetology school approved to teach electrology or 
successful completion of at least one thousand two hundred (1,200) hours in an apprenticeship that meets the 
requirements of Section 550 of these rules. For a currently licensed electrologist in another state, territory, possession 
or country, forty (40) hours of instruction or eighty (80) hours as an apprentice may be credited for each six-month 
period of practical experience in electrology. (3-20-20)T

03. Examination. Successful passage of the electrologist examination conducted or approved by the 
Board. (3-20-20)T

305. QUALIFICATIONS FOR ORIGINAL ESTHETICIAN LICENSE.
The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure as an esthetician who completes an application as set forth 
in Section 200 of these rules, pays the required fee, and meets the following general, education, and examination 
qualifications: (3-20-20)T

01. General. Meet the requirements prescribed in Section 300 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

02. Education. Successful completion and graduation from a program of esthetics consisting of not 
less than six hundred (600) hours of instruction in a licensed cosmetology school or successful completion of at least 
one thousand two hundred (1,200) hours in an apprenticeship that meets the requirements of Section 550 of these 
rules, or the following equivalent instruction: (3-20-20)T

a. For a currently certificated makeup artist in this state, a licensed cosmetology school may credit up 
to fifty (50) hours toward the required instructional hours for an esthetics course or, a licensed instructor may credit 
up to one hundred (100) hours toward the required apprenticeship hours. (3-20-20)T

b. A licensed cosmetology school may credit one-seventh (1/7) of accumulated hours toward the 
required instructional hours for an esthetics course for a cosmetology student. (3-20-20)T

c. For a currently licensed esthetician in another state, territory, possession or country, sixty (60) 
hours of instruction or one hundred twenty (120) hours as an apprentice may be given for each six-month period of 
practical experience in esthetics. (3-20-20)T

03. Examination. Successful passage of the esthetician examination approved by the Board.
(3-20-20)T

306. QUALIFICATIONS FOR ORIGINAL HAIRCUTTER LICENSE.
The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure as a haircutter who completes an application as set forth 
in Section 200 of these rules, pays the required fee, and meets the following general, education, and examination 
qualifications: (3-20-20)T
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01. General. Meet the requirements prescribed in Section 300 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

02. Education. Successful completion of and graduation from a program of haircutting consisting of 
not less than nine hundred (900) hours of instruction in a licensed cosmetology school or the following equivalent 
instruction: (3-20-20)T

a. A licensed cosmetology school may credit one-seventh (1/7) of accumulated hours toward the 
required instructional hours for a haircutter course for a cosmetology student. (3-20-20)T

b. For a currently licensed haircutter in another state, territory, possession or country, ninety (90) 
hours of instruction or one hundred twenty (120) hours as an apprentice may be credited for each six-month period of 
practical experience in haircutting, hair design, or cosmetology. (3-20-20)T

307. QUALIFICATIONS FOR ORIGINAL NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE.
The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure as a nail technician who completes an application as set 
forth in Section 200 of these rules, pays the required fee, and meets the following general, education, and examination 
qualifications: (3-20-20)T

01. General. Meet the requirements prescribed in Section 300 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

02. Education. Successful completion and graduation from a program of nail technology consisting of 
not less than four hundred (400) hours of instruction in a cosmetology school approved by the Board or completed at 
least eight hundred (800) hours in an apprenticeship that meets the requirements of Section 550 of these rules, or the 
following equivalent instruction: (3-20-20)T

a. A licensed cosmetology school may credit one-seventh (1/7) of accumulated hours toward the 
required instructional hours for a nail technology course for a cosmetology student. (3-20-20)T

b. For a currently licensed nail technician in another state, territory, possession or country, forty (40) 
hours of instruction or eighty (80) hours as an apprentice may be credited for each six-month period of practical 
experience in nail technology. (3-20-20)T

03. Examination. Successful passage of the nail technician examination approved by the Board.
(3-20-20)T

308. QUALIFICATIONS FOR MAKEUP ARTIST CERTIFICATE.
The Board may grant a certificate to an applicant for certification as a makeup artist who completes an application as 
set forth in Section 200 of these rules, pays the required fee, and meets the following general and education/training 
requirements: (3-20-20)T

01. General. Meet the requirements prescribed in Section 300 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

02. Education/Training. Successful completion of instruction of not less than one hundred (100) 
hours in makeup artistry, which must include instruction and practical experience in safety and infection control. 
Hours may be classroom instruction, training, practical experience, or a combination. Instruction may be received 
from one or more of the following sources: (3-20-20)T

a. A cosmetology school licensed in this state or another state, territory, possession, or country;
(3-20-20)T

b. A cosmetology or esthetics instructor licensed in this state or another state, territory or possession;
(3-20-20)T

c. A retail cosmetics dealer licensed in this state or another state, territory or possession; or
(3-20-20)T
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d. Other source of instruction that includes: (3-20-20)T

i. Knowledgeable and experienced instructor with a record of safe practices; (3-20-20)T

ii. Instruction in client safety and safe product selection; and (3-20-20)T

iii. Hands-on practice and training in infection control. (3-20-20)T

e. Any combination of the sources listed in Subsections 308.02.a. through d. of these rules.
(3-20-20)T

03. Documentation of Education/Training. An applicant may present proof of education/training in 
makeup artistry in the following ways: (3-20-20)T

a. A current cosmetology or esthetician license from another state, territory, possession or country.
(3-20-20)T

b. Transcripts or records of instruction. (3-20-20)T

c. Documentation of work history and training as an employee for a retail cosmetics dealer licensed in 
this state or another state, territory or possession of the United States. (3-20-20)T

d. Membership in the International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees Make-Up Artists and Hair 
Stylists Guild or other similar organization whose membership requirements meet or exceed the requirements of 
these rules. (3-20-20)T

e. Documentation of other training/experience must include: (3-20-20)T

i. Identity and qualifications of the person delivering the instruction/training; (3-20-20)T

ii. Method of instruction/training and amount of hands-on training provided; and (3-20-20)T

iii. Subject matters covered, particularly pertaining to topics listed in Subsection 308.02.d. of these 
rules. (3-20-20)T

04. Additional Education/Training. The Board may require an applicant who does not have a 
documented record of sufficient training in safety and infection control to obtain additional training or other 
demonstration of competency in that area. (3-20-20)T

309. QUALIFICATIONS FOR ORIGINAL BARBER OR BARBER-STYLIST INSTRUCTOR 
LICENSE.
The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure as a barber instructor or barber-stylist instructor who 
completes an application as set forth in Section 200 of these rules, pays the required fee, and meets the following 
licensure, education, experience, and examination qualifications: (3-20-20)T

01. Licensure. Hold a current barber license for a barber instructor applicant or hold a current barber-
stylist or cosmetologist license for a barber-stylist instructor applicant. (3-20-20)T

02. Education and Experience. At least five (5) years of experience as a licensed barber for a barber 
instructor applicant or as a licensed barber-stylist for a barber-stylist instructor applicant or have satisfactorily 
completed: (3-20-20)T

a. A minimum six (6) month course of barber instructing for a barber instructor applicant or barber-
stylist instructing for a barber-stylist instructor applicant as a student in a licensed barber school, provided that the 
course consist of no less than nine hundred (900) hours; or (3-20-20)T

b. A minimum three (3) month course of barber instructing for a barber instructor applicant or barber-
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stylist instructing for a barber-stylist instructor applicant as a student in a licensed barber school, if the applicant has 
at least two (2) years of experience as a licensed barber for a barber instructor applicant or as a barber-stylist for a 
barber-stylist instructor applicant, provided that the course consist of no less than five hundred (500) hours; or

(3-20-20)T

c. Hold a cosmetology instructor license in this state. (3-20-20)T

03. Examination. Successful passage of the instructor examination approved by the Board.(3-20-20)T

04. Single License Required to Practice and Instruct. The holder of a license issued by the board 
who is subsequently issued an instructor license is permitted to maintain a single license to practice. An instructor 
license issued by the board permits the holder to both practice and instruct only within the scope of the license(s) held 
under Subsection 01 of this rule. The holder of a cosmetologist license who is subsequently issued a barber-stylist 
instructor license may not practice or instruct elements of barbering or barber-styling that are outside the definition of 
cosmetology unless the licensee also has been issued a license as a barber or barber-stylist by the board. (3-20-20)T

310. QUALIFICATIONS FOR ORIGINAL COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE.
The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure as an instructor of cosmetology, electrology, esthetics, or 
nail technology who completes an application as set forth in Section 200 of these rules, pays the required fee, and 
meets the following licensure, education, experience, and examination qualifications: (3-20-20)T

01. General. Meet the requirements prescribed in Section 300 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

02. Licensure. Hold a current license as a cosmetologist, electrologist, esthetician, or nail technician.
(3-20-20)T

03. Education or Equivalent. Earned twelve (12) college credit hours or the equivalent. Credit hours 
must be obtained from the Education Department, Speech Communications Department or from the Psychology/
Sociology Department and other credit at the discretion of the Board. Equivalency is determined as: (3-20-20)T

a. Completion of teaching seminars focusing on cosmetology, nail technology, esthetics, or 
electrology approved by the Board. Fourteen (14) clock hours is equivalent to one (1) semester college credit hour in 
an approved seminar. Verification of satisfactory completion must be submitted to the Board for its approval; or

(3-20-20)T

b. Verified satisfactory teaching as a qualified instructor from another state for one (1) of the previous 
three (3) years immediately prior to application; or (3-20-20)T

c. Successful passage of the instructor examination approved by the Board. (3-20-20)T

04. Experience. At least five (5) years of experience as a licensed cosmetologist, electrologist, 
esthetician, or nail technician, which must be immediately preceding the application, or have satisfactorily 
completed: (3-20-20)T

a. A minimum six (6) month course of cosmetology instructing as a student in a licensed cosmetology 
school, provided that the course consist of no less than nine hundred (900) hours; or (3-20-20)T

b. A minimum three (3) month course of cosmetology instructing as a student in a licensed 
cosmetology school, if the applicant has at least two (2) years of experience as a licensed cosmetologist, electrologist, 
esthetician, or nail technician, provided that the course consist of no less than five hundred (500) hours; or

(3-20-20)T

c. Hold a barber or barber-stylist instructor license in this state. (3-20-20)T

05. Single License Required to Practice and Instruct. The holder of a license issued by the Board 
who is subsequently issued an instructor license is permitted to maintain a single license to practice. An instructor 
license issued by the Board permits the holder to both practice and instruct only within the scope of the license(s) 
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held under Subsection 310.02 of this rule. (3-20-20)T

311. APPROVED EXAMINATION.
Approved examinations shall be the written and practical examination provided by the National Interstate Council of 
State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC) for the discipline for which licensure is sought. A passing score must be obtained 
on both the written and practical examination. A passing score will be determined by NIC. (3-20-20)T

312. WRITTEN STATEMENT OF SUITABILITY FOR LICENSURE OR CERTIFICATION.
An applicant who or whose license has a conviction, finding of guilt, withheld judgment, or suspended sentence for a 
felony or crime involving moral turpitude, or has been subject to discipline in another state, territory or country must 
submit with his/her application a written statement and any supplemental information establishing his/her current 
suitability for licensure or certification. (3-20-20)T

01. Consideration of Factors and Evidence. The Board shall consider the following factors or 
evidence: (3-20-20)T

a. The severity or nature of the crime or discipline; (3-20-20)T

b. The period of time that has passed since the crime or discipline under review; (3-20-20)T 

c. The number or pattern of crimes or discipline or other similar incidents; (3-20-20)T 

d. The circumstances surrounding the crime or discipline that would help determine the risk of 
repetition; (3-20-20)T

e. The relationship of the crime or discipline to the practice of barbering or cosmetology; (3-20-20)T 

f. The applicant's activities since the crime or discipline under review, such as employment, 
education, participation in treatment, payment of restitution, or any other factors which may be evidence of current 
rehabilitation; and (3-20-20)T

g. Any other information regarding rehabilitation or mitigating circumstances. (3-20-20)T

02. Interview. The board may, at its discretion, grant an interview of the applicant. (3-20-20)T

03. Applicant Bears the Burden. The applicant shall bear the burden of establishing his/her current 
suitability for licensure or certification. (3-20-20)T

313. REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT.
The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure by endorsement who completes an application as set forth 
in Section 200 of these rules and meets the following requirements: (3-20-20)T

01. General Requirements. The applicant must: (3-20-20)T

a. Be at least eighteen (18) years of age; (3-20-20)T

b. Meet the education requirements set forth in Subsection 300.02 of these rules; and (3-20-20)T

c. Meet the good moral character requirements set forth in Subsection 300.03 of these rules.
(3-20-20)T

02. Hold a Current License and Have Experience. The applicant must be the holder of a current 
active license or certificate of qualification in the profession and at the level for which a license is being sought, 
issued by the authorized regulatory entity in another state, territory, possession, or foreign country. The certification 
of licensure must be received by the Board from the issuing agency; and (3-20-20)T

a. Must show that the state, territory, possession, or foreign country has licensing requirements 
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substantially equivalent to or higher than those required for new applicants in Idaho; or (3-20-20)T

b. Document at least one (1) year of actual practice under certification or licensure in the three (3) 
years immediately prior to application in the profession for which a license is being sought. (3-20-20)T

314. -- 324. (RESERVED)

325. LICENSURE AND OPERATION OF PRIMARY AND CONTIGUOUS ESTABLISHMENTS.
Except as otherwise provided in statute and these rules, a licensed individual must practice within a licensed 
establishment. An establishment may be licensed as a primary establishment or a contiguous establishment that 
operates within a primary establishment. (3-20-20)T

01. Primary Establishment License. A primary establishment license may be issued and annually 
renewed only under the following conditions: (3-20-20)T

a. Application for establishment license shall be made on forms furnished by the Board and shall 
include plans and specifications complying with the Board’s safety and disinfection requirements. The fully 
completed application form, with the required fees, must be submitted to the Board and a license issued prior to the 
opening or operation of any barber or cosmetology primary establishment; and (3-20-20)T

b. There is a clearly defined and designated working floor space of adequate dimension to allow the 
safe and sanitary practice of any one (1) or combination of defined practices of cosmetology or barber-styling for all 
individual stations that may be in operation in addition to any restroom and access areas; and (3-20-20)T

c. There is an approved hot and cold running water source and drainage system that is available to any 
contiguous establishment or other establishment or facility that may exist; and must be within the perimeters of the 
licensed establishment and separate from the toilet facilities; and (3-20-20)T

d. There are restroom facilities conveniently located and accessible from within the building in which 
the primary establishment is located and which shall be accessible from the primary area and to all areas designated 
for the operation of contiguous establishments. Restroom facilities shall contain an approved hot and cold running 
water source and approved drainage system. The water source shall be in addition to the work area facilities; and

(3-20-20)T

e. Any areas designated by the primary establishment for the operation of contiguous establishments 
shall be clearly defined and fixed, and shall provide adequate dimension to allow the safe and sanitary practice of any 
one or a combination of the defined practices of cosmetology or barber-styling for all stations that may be operated in 
that area. (3-20-20)T

f. The holder of the primary establishment license is responsible for complying with the safety and 
disinfection requirements and all other applicable statutes and rules for the designated licensed area of the primary 
establishment, including areas that are cooperatively or jointly used as “common areas” such as shampoo bowls, 
restrooms, entrance or reception areas. (3-20-20)T

02. Contiguous Establishment License. A contiguous establishment license may be issued and 
annually renewed only under the following conditions: (3-20-20)T

a. Application for establishment license shall be made on forms furnished by the Board. The fully 
completed application form, with the required fees, must be submitted to the Board and a license issued prior to the 
opening or operation of any barber or cosmetology contiguous establishment; and (3-20-20)T

b. The contiguous establishment is associated with a currently licensed primary establishment and a 
holder of the primary establishment license provides proof that the primary shop is equipped to meet the safety and 
disinfection requirements and rules of the Board; and (3-20-20)T

c. The contiguous establishment shall only operate in the contiguous establishment designated areas 
within the associated primary establishment. (3-20-20)T



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 24.28.01 – Barber/Cosmetology 
Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses Services Licensing Board Rules

Section 326 Page 1780  

d. The holder of the contiguous establishment license will be responsible for complying with the 
safety and disinfection requirements and all other applicable statutes and rules for the contiguous designated area 
where it operates. (3-20-20)T

03. Businesses Other Than a Licensed Establishment or Facility. Businesses other than one 
licensed under Chapter 58, Title 54, Idaho Code, and living quarters shall be separate and apart. Home establishments 
must provide a separate outside entrance directly into the establishment and substantial partitions or walls shall 
extend from the floor to not less than seven (7) feet high, separating the establishment from adjoining rooms used for 
business or domestic purposes. All doors to an establishment from adjacent rooms shall be closed. (3-20-20)T

04. Conditions for Issuance. No primary establishment license may be issued which includes or 
overlaps all or any portion of an existing establishment license. (3-20-20)T

326. ESTABLISHMENT CHANGES IN OWNERSHIP OR LOCATION.
Whenever a change of ownership or fixed location of an establishment occurs, an original license fee must be paid 
and compliance with all rules concerning a new establishment must be met before a new license will be issued. 
Establishment licenses are not transferable. (3-20-20)T

01. Board Must Be Informed of All Changes. The Board must be informed in writing of any and all 
changes of ownership and location of establishments. (3-20-20)T

02. Deletion of an Owner. Deletion of an owner in a multiple ownership may be effected by filing a 
written statement with the Board signed by the person withdrawing and the remaining owner(s). (3-20-20)T

03. Transfer of Ownership. If the transfer involves change of corporate structure or deleting one (1) 
or more owners, a written notarized statement signed by all former owners as registered with the Board shall be 
accepted. (3-20-20)T

04. Addition of an Owner. Addition of an owner to a multiple ownership constitutes a change in 
ownership and the requirements for a new establishment apply. (3-20-20)T

05. Out of Business. Whenever any establishment ceases operation at the licensed location, the 
owner(s) or authorized agent of the establishment shall notify the Board by submitting: (3-20-20)T

a. A signed letter by the owner(s) or authorized agent advising that the establishment is out of 
business; or (3-20-20)T

b. The establishment license bearing the signature of the owner(s) or authorized agent and marked 
out-of-business; or (3-20-20)T

c. For a contiguous establishment license, a signed statement by the associated primary establishment 
advising that the contiguous establishment is out of business. (3-20-20)T

d. In the event that the Board has not been notified about the cessation of operations pursuant to this 
rule and documentation or evidence has been obtained that an establishment has ceased operation at the licensed 
location, the Board may cancel the establishment license upon a thirty (30) day written notice to the owner(s) or 
authorized agent of the establishment. (3-20-20)T

06. License Status. A new primary establishment license will not be issued for any location that is 
currently licensed as a primary establishment at the time of application. (3-20-20)T

327. RETAIL COSMETICS DEALER LICENSE.
The Board may grant a retail cosmetic dealer license to allow the application of cosmetic products to customers’ faces 
in connection with the sale of the products. An applicant for a retail cosmetic dealer license must complete an 
application as set forth in Section 200 of these rules, pay the required fee, and meet the following requirements:

(3-20-20)T
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01. Requirements. All retail cosmetic dealers shall provide an area within the business premises for 
disinfection and storage of equipment and supplies necessary to perform any cosmetic application services provided. 
The business premises must have: (3-20-20)T

a. Access to hot and cold running water; (3-20-20)T

b. Access to restroom facilities; (3-20-20)T

c. Disinfectants, as defined in these rules; (3-20-20)T

d. Single-use samples, wipes, spatulas or other dispensing techniques designed to prevent 
contamination of the cosmetic product; and (3-20-20)T

e. First-aid kit. (3-20-20)T 

02. Change in Ownership or Location. Licenses are not transferable. Whenever a change of 
ownership or location of a facility occurs, a new application for a facility license must be submitted together with the 
required fee to the Board, and all the facility requirements must be met. (3-20-20)T

03. Cessation of Operation. Whenever any facility ceases operation at the licensed location, the 
owner(s) shall notify the Board in writing that the facility is out of business and the facility license shall be submitted 
to the Division. In the event that the Board has not been notified about the cessation of operations pursuant to this rule 
and documentation or evidence has been obtained that the facility has ceased operation at the licensed location, the 
Board may cancel the facility license upon a thirty (30) day written notice to the owner(s) or authorized agent of the 
facility. (3-20-20)T

328. RETAIL THERMAL STYLING EQUIPMENT DEALER REGISTRATION.
The Board may grant a registration as a retail thermal styling equipment dealer to an applicant who completes an 
application as set forth in Section 200 of these rules, pay the required fee, and meet the following requirements:

(3-20-20)T

01. Training. The dealer is responsible to train all employees on the proper and safe use of the thermal 
styling equipment and all disinfection related to the demonstration of the equipment prior to permitting an 
employee’s use of the equipment on customers. (3-20-20)T
 

02. Requirements. All retail thermal styling equipment dealers shall provide the equipment and 
supplies necessary to perform any demonstration of the thermal styling equipment. The area where the demonstration 
is being performed must have: (3-20-20)T

a. Disinfectants, as defined in these rules; and (3-20-20)T

b. First-aid kit. (3-20-20)T 

03. Change in Ownership or Location. Registrations are not transferable. Whenever a change of 
ownership or location of a facility occurs, a new application for a registration must be submitted together with the 
required fee to the Board, and all the facility requirements must be met. (3-20-20)T

04. Cessation of Operation. Whenever any facility ceases operation at the licensed location, the 
owner(s) shall notify the Board in writing that the facility is out of business and the registration shall be submitted to 
the Division. In the event that the Board has not been notified about the cessation of operations pursuant to this rule 
and documentation or evidence has been obtained that the facility has ceased operation at the registered location, the 
Board may cancel the facility registration upon a thirty (30) day written notice to the owner(s) or authorized agent of 
the facility. (3-20-20)T

329. -- 399. (RESERVED)
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400. RENEWAL OR EXPIRATION OF LICENSE.
A licensee must renew his/her/its license annually as set forth in Section 67-2614, Idaho Code, and may reinstate his/
her/its license within five (5) years after expiration as provided in Section 67-2614, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

401. -- 499. (RESERVED)

500. BARBER AND COSMETOLOGY SCHOOL REQUIREMENTS.
The Board may grant a license to an applicant for licensure to operate a barber or cosmetology school who completes 
an application as set forth in Section 200 of these rules, pays the required fee, and who meets the following 
requirements: (3-20-20)T

01. Premises. The premises of a barber or cosmetology school must: (3-20-20)T

a. Possess sufficient apparatus and equipment for the proper and full teaching of all subjects or its 
curriculum. Each barber school must have at least one (1) barber chair that shall be of such construction that it may be 
readily cleaned and it shall be mechanically workable and in good working order. Space between barber chairs and 
the workstand or wall shall be adequate so that no student will be hampered in the performance of his/her work.

(3-20-20)T

b. Provide adequate space, ventilation, lighting, and facilities to safely accommodate all students, 
instructors, and customers. (3-20-20)T

c. Have classroom and training areas equipped with sufficient seating capacity and work stations for 
all enrolled students. (3-20-20)T

d. Provide a restroom with a sink with hot and cold running water and approved drainage system.
(3-20-20)T

02. Faculty or Instructors. A school must be under the direct, personal supervision at all times of a 
licensed cosmetology instructor if a cosmetology school or a licensed barber or barber-stylist instructor if a barber 
school and must employ and maintain a licensed instructor for every twenty (20) students or fraction thereof, with an 
instructor trainee counting as an instructor for the purposes of the student-instructor ratio. (3-20-20)T

a. An instructor shall teach only those subject areas for which the instructor has been issued a license 
by the Board to practice. (3-20-20)T

b. Instructors must devote their time during school or class hours to instructing students rather than 
engaging in occupational practice. (3-20-20)T

03. Operations. A barber or cosmetology school must: (3-20-20)T

a. Maintain regular class and instruction hours, establish grades and hold monthly examinations. This 
information will be transferred to the record of instruction; (3-20-20)T

b. Prescribe a school term for training in all aspects of the practice being taught; and (3-20-20)T

c. Offer school hours for the purpose of instruction on at least five (5) days per week. (3-20-20)T

04. Curriculum. A school must submit a curriculum and course catalog that covers the subjects, as set 
forth in Section 54-5815(1)(g), Idaho Code, relating to the profession for which the school is seeking approval to 
teach. Any proposed changes to a curriculum or catalog must be approved by the Board. The submission must 
identify what specific changes are being made to the curriculum. (3-20-20)T

05. Clinical Work. Each school shall advertise to the public that it is a school and that all work is done 
by students. The clinic area shall not have connecting entrances to establishments or businesses other than barber or 
cosmetology schools. (3-20-20)T
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a. Students shall not be permitted to render any clinical service to patrons until students have 
completed at least five percent (5%) of the required hours of instruction. (3-20-20)T

b. All clinical work shall be performed under the supervision of a licensed instructor. (3-20-20)T

c. Clinical work shall be recorded on the record of instruction for each month. (3-20-20)T

06. Outside School Activities. Schools may credit a student with a maximum of thirty (30) hours 
toward the required hours of instruction for a course of instruction for activities that take place outside the school. 
These hours must be approved by the instructor. (3-20-20)T

07. Student Records To be Maintained by the School. A school must maintain the following records 
for each enrolled student: (3-20-20)T

a. Proof of age showing student is no less than sixteen and one-half (16 ½) years of age; (3-20-20)T

b. Proof of showing student has satisfactorily completed two (2) years of high school (tenth grade) or 
having equivalent education as evidenced in a manner identified in Subsection 300.02 of these rules; (3-20-20)T

c. Daily attendance record for each student; (3-20-20)T

d. Record of instruction for each student showing the classroom hours, the clinical hours, and 
operations done for each month in which the student is enrolled; and (3-20-20)T

e. When a student’s course of instruction has been completed or terminated, the completed 
operations, and number of hours of instruction are to be recorded by the school on the record of instruction form. This 
form is to be provided to the student and maintained by the school for five (5) years from completion or termination.

(3-20-20)T

08. Change in Ownership or Location. (3-20-20)T

a. Licenses are not transferable. (3-20-20)T

b. A new application must be submitted to the Board and a license issued for a new or additional 
location or a change of ownership of an existing school. (3-20-20)T

09. Cessation of School. When a school ceases to operate as a school, the school must provide each 
enrolled student his/her records of instruction at or before the cessation of operations. (3-20-20)T

501. RULES FOR COSMETOLOGY SCHOOLS APPROVED TO TEACH ELECTROLOGY.
The Board may grant a license to an applicant to operate an electrology school to an applicant who completes an 
application as set forth in Section 200 of these rules, pays the required fee, and meets the following requirements:

(3-20-20)T

01. Premises. Schools provide a minimum of three hundred (300) square feet of designated floor space 
per six (6) students. (3-20-20)T

02. Required Equipment. Each school shall have the following equipment, which is considered the 
minimum equipment necessary for the proper instruction of students. This amount of equipment is based on six (6) 
students. (3-20-20)T

a. Work stations equal to seventy-five percent (75%) of total enrollment; (3-20-20)T

b. Two (2) brands of machines, one (1) of which has three (3) method capability: Galvanic, 
Thermolysis, and Blend; (3-20-20)T

c. Two (2) treatment tables and adjustable technician chairs; (3-20-20)T
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d. Two (2) swing arm lamps with magnifying lens; (3-20-20)T

e. Two (2) magnifying glasses; (3-20-20)T

f. Tweezers; (3-20-20)T

g. One (1) basin with approved water source; (3-20-20)T

h. Necessary sanitation equipment for implements; and (3-20-20)T

i. Closed storage cabinet. (3-20-20)T

03. Student Supplies. Each student is to be issued a basic kit containing two (2) tweezers, disposable 
probes, eye shields, disposable gloves, before treatment solution, after treatment lotion, hair pins or clips, and one (1) 
sharps container. (3-20-20)T

04. Faculty or Instructors. A school must be under the direct, personal supervision at all times of one 
(1) licensed electrologist instructor for every six (6) students or portion thereof being trained therein. (3-20-20)T

05. Curriculum. A school must submit a curriculum and course catalog that covers the subjects 
relating to electrology as set forth in Section 54-5815(1)(g)(iv), Idaho Code. Any changes to a curriculum or catalog 
must be approved by the Board prior to implementing the proposed changes. The submission must identify what 
specific changes are being made to the curriculum. (3-20-20)T

06. Clinical Work. A cosmetology school approved to teach electrology must meet the same 
requirements regarding clinical work as a school of cosmetology as set forth in Subsection 500.05 of these rules.

(3-20-20)T

07. Student Records To be Maintained by the School. Records required of cosmetology schools 
approved to teach electrology shall be maintained in accordance with the records required for schools of cosmetology 
as set forth in Subsection 500.06 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

08. Change in Ownership or Location. (3-20-20)T

a. Licenses are not transferable. (3-20-20)T

b. A new application must be submitted to the Board and a license issued for a new or additional 
location or a change of ownership of an existing school. (3-20-20)T

09. Cessation of School. When a school ceases to operate as a school, the school must provide each 
enrolled student his/her records of instruction at or before the cessation of operations. (3-20-20)T

502. EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM STANDARDS FOR COURSES OF INSTRUCTION.
A licensed school must maintain the following educational program standards for each course of instruction for 
which it is approved to teach. (3-20-20)T

01. Barber. Coursework must include courses in the following content areas: (3-20-20)T

a. Haircut; (3-20-20)T

b. Blow dry (does not include haircut); (3-20-20)T

c. Shampoo; (3-20-20)T

d. Shave and Beard Trim; (3-20-20)T
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e. Facial; (3-20-20)T

f. Hair and Scalp Treatment; (3-20-20)T

g. Curling Iron; and (3-20-20)T

h. Hygiene and disinfection shall be taught on a continuing basis and indicated on the record of 
instruction. (3-20-20)T

02. Barber-Stylist. Coursework must include courses in the following content areas: (3-20-20)T

a. Haircut; (3-20-20)T

b. Style/blow dry (does not include haircut); (3-20-20)T

c. Shampoo; (3-20-20)T

d. Permanent Wave; (3-20-20)T

e. Shave and Beard Trim; (3-20-20)T

f. Facial; (3-20-20)T

g. Color/Bleach/Rinse; (3-20-20)T

h. Hair and Scalp Treatment; (3-20-20)T

i. Curling Iron; and (3-20-20)T

j. Hygiene and disinfection shall be taught on a continuing basis and indicated on the record of 
instruction. (3-20-20)T

03. Cosmetology. A record of the operations completed by each student shall be maintained and 
include the following: (3-20-20)T

a. Creative hair styling which shall include hair styles, wet sets/styling, thermal styles, fingerwaving, 
braiding/free styling; (3-20-20)T

b. Scalp Treatments; (3-20-20)T

c. Permanent Waves (All Methods); (3-20-20)T

d. Haircutting/shaping which shall include scissor and razor/clipper; (3-20-20)T

e. Bleaching; (3-20-20)T

f. Tinting; (3-20-20)T

g. Semi Permanent/Temporary Color; (3-20-20)T

h. Frosting/Highlights; (3-20-20)T

i. Facials; (3-20-20)T

j. Makeup Application; (3-20-20)T

k. Waxing; (3-20-20)T
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l. Manicures which shall include plain and oil; (3-20-20)T

m. Pedicures (3-20-20)T

n. Artificial Nails; and (3-20-20)T

o. Hygiene and disinfection shall be taught on a continuing basis and indicated on the record of 
instruction. (3-20-20)T

04. Esthetics. The recorded operations completed by each student shall be maintained and include the 
following: (3-20-20)T

a. Massage and manipulation application of lotions, creams, tonics, solutions, skin care masks, and 
similar cosmetic preparations and their effects on the skin and body; (3-20-20)T

b. Cleansing, steaming, exfoliation, and extraction procedures; (3-20-20)T

c. Cosmetics and makeup application; (3-20-20)T

d. Machine Application: use of mechanical or electrical equipment; (3-20-20)T

e. Bacteriology, disinfection and sterilization, and safety precautions; (3-20-20)T

f. Human anatomy, physiology and histology of skin care; (3-20-20)T

g. Follicle growth cycle and hair removal procedures; (3-20-20)T

h. Skin analysis, conditions, disorders, and diseases; and (3-20-20)T

i. Hygiene and disinfection shall be taught on a continuing basis and indicated on the record of 
instruction. (3-20-20)T

05. Nail Technology. The recorded operations completed by each student shall be maintained and 
include the following: (3-20-20)T

a. Form nails; (3-20-20)T

b. Finished tips; (3-20-20)T

c. Wraps and mends; (3-20-20)T

d. Basic manicures and pedicures; and (3-20-20)T

e. Hygiene and disinfection shall be taught on a continuing basis and indicated on the record of 
instruction. (3-20-20)T

06. Haircutter. The recorded operations completed by each student shall be maintained and include 
the following: (3-20-20)T

a. Haircutting and Hair shaping; (3-20-20)T

b. Creative hair styling which shall include hair styles, wet sets/styling, thermal styles, fingerwaving, 
braiding/free styling; (3-20-20)T

c. Use of cutting implements; (3-20-20)T
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d. Basic shampooing and conditioning; and (3-20-20)T

e. Hygiene and disinfection shall be taught on a continuing basis and indicated on the record of 
instruction. (3-20-20)T

07. Electrology. The recorded operations completed by each student shall be maintained and include 
the following: (3-20-20)T

a. Bacteriology, disinfection and sterilization, safety precautions, anatomy, and physiology;
(3-20-20)T

b. Electricity which shall include the nature of electrical current, principles of operating electrical 
devices and the various safety precautions used when operating electrical equipment; (3-20-20)T

c. Electrolysis which shall include the use and study of galvanic current; (3-20-20)T

d. Thermolysis, including the use and study of high frequency current, automatic and manual;
(3-20-20)T

e. A combination of high frequency and galvanic currents; (3-20-20)T

f. The study and cause of hypertrichosis; and (3-20-20)T

g. Hygiene and disinfection shall be taught on a continuing basis and indicated on the record of 
instruction. (3-20-20)T

08. Instructor. The recorded operations completed by each student shall be maintained and include the 
following: (3-20-20)T

a. Lesson planning; (3-20-20)T

b. Audio-Visual aid preparation; (3-20-20)T

c. Theory class; (3-20-20)T

d. Practical demonstrations; (3-20-20)T

e. Testing and evaluation theory; (3-20-20)T

f. Testing and evaluation; and (3-20-20)T

g. Clinic floor supervision. (3-20-20)T

503. -- 549. (RESERVED)

550. APPRENTICE REGISTRATION AND APPRENTICESHIPS.
The Board may issue a registration as an apprentice to allow a person to engage in the practice of cosmetology, nail 
technology, esthetics, electrology, or makeup artistry while completing the required instructional hours for a license 
or certificate. An apprentice may only practice under direct supervision as provided below.  (3-20-20)T

01. Application and Qualifications. An applicant must submit a completed application on a form 
approved by the Board, pay the required fee, and meet the following qualifications: (3-20-20)T

a. Be at least sixteen and one-half (16 ½) years of age; (3-20-20)T

b. Have successfully completed at least two (2) years of high school or have attained an equivalent 
education as determined by the board as evidenced in a manner identified in Subsection 300.02 of these rules;
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 (3-20-20)T

c. Have certification from the establishment that the applicant is enrolled as an apprentice in the 
establishment; (3-20-20)T

d. Identify the names and license numbers of the licensed cosmetologists, electrologists, estheticians, 
and nail technicians employed in the establishment in which the applicant will serve as an apprentice; and(3-20-20)T

e. Identify the name(s) and license number(s) of the licensed cosmetology, electrology, esthetics, or 
nail technology instructor who will instruct the applicant during the apprenticeship. (3-20-20)T

02. Instruction. The instructor for any apprenticeship must submit to the Board a curriculum for the 
entire course of apprenticeship instruction. The Board must approve the curriculum prior to the beginning of 
instruction. The curriculum must cover the subjects relating to the profession for which the apprentice is pursuing 
licensure as set forth in Section 54-5815(1)(g), Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

03. Supervision. There must be at least one (1) licensed instructor and one (1) separate supervising 
licensee for each apprentice in the establishment at all times when an apprentice is being trained, except that an 
electrology apprentice may be supervised solely by the electrology instructor. (3-20-20)T

a. The instructor must be licensed to teach the profession for which the registrant is pursuing licensure 
and the supervising licensee must be licensed to practice the profession for which the apprentice is pursuing 
licensure. (3-20-20)T

b. An instructor may not train more than three (3) currently registered apprentices, except that an 
electrology instructor may not train more than one (1) currently registered electrology apprentice. (3-20-20)T

c. An establishment may not have more than six (6) currently registered apprentices, unless otherwise 
approved by the Board. (3-20-20)T

d. An establishment or an instructor under current discipline may not supervise an apprentice.
(3-20-20)T

e. An apprentice shall not be permitted to render any clinical service to patrons until the apprentice 
has completed at least five percent (5%) of the required hours of instruction. (3-20-20)T

04. Recordkeeping. Establishments employing an apprentice shall keep a daily work record of the 
attendance of the apprentice and a record of the types of instruction given and the work performed by the apprentice 
as set forth below. (3-20-20)T

a. An apprentice must be given monthly progress records, and the monthly record shall be signed and 
dated by the apprentice and the instructor. The establishment shall maintain the records for a period of five (5) years 
following completion or termination of the apprentice instruction. (3-20-20)T

b. When an apprentice’s course of instruction has been completed or terminated, the completed 
operations and number of hours of instruction are to be recorded by the establishment on the Record of Instruction 
Form. The instructor must submit the Record of Instruction to the Board within fourteen (14) days of the completion 
of the apprenticeship. The establishment must maintain a copy of the Record of Instruction for a period of five (5) 
years from completion or termination date. (3-20-20)T

c. Attendance, instruction, and work records must be kept in the establishment in which the 
apprentice is employed. (3-20-20)T

d. Apprenticeship records are subject to inspection by the Board at any time. (3-20-20)T

05. Termination of Registration. A registration as an apprentice is valid from the date of issuance 
until the apprentice is no longer enrolled as an apprentice in the establishment identified on the apprentice’s 
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application. (3-20-20)T

a. When an apprentice discontinues a course of study, the establishment must complete a Record of 
Instruction Form with the total number of hours worked and the types of instruction given to the apprentice. The 
Record of Instruction Form must be submitted to the Board within thirty (30) days of the discontinuance of the 
apprenticeship. If an apprentice discontinues a course of instruction and does not transfer to another salon within 
sixty (60) days, the apprentice registration is automatically canceled and is to be submitted to the Board along with 
the Record of Instruction. (3-20-20)T

b.  When an establishment where apprentices are being trained ceases operation as an establishment, 
the establishment must submit the records of instruction for each apprentice to the Board within thirty (30) days.

(3-20-20)T

c. An apprentice who has discontinued a course of study must apply for and be granted a new 
registration under Subsection 550.01 of these rules, prior to resuming instruction. (3-20-20)T

06. Out of State Apprenticeship. An applicant who has received instruction as an apprentice in 
another state must file with the Board a copy of the record of instruction from the out of state apprenticeship. For 
purposes of this section, the record of instruction will be a statement which gives detailed information regarding 
operations and hours of instruction, and which is to be verified by the licensing agency or instructor(s) in the state in 
which the instruction was obtained. (3-20-20)T

551. -- 699. (RESERVED)

700. SCOPE OF PRACTICE.
All licensees shall practice in a competent manner consistent with their level of education, training, and experience.

(3-20-20)T

701. -- 709. (RESERVED)

710. PRACTICE OUTSIDE OF A LICENSED ESTABLISHMENT. 
All licensees and certificants must practice in a place or establishment that is licensed for such practice, except as 
provided for in Section 54-5804, Idaho Code, or when the services provided by the licensee or certificant are limited 
to the following: (3-20-20)T

01. Hair Styling. Arranging, styling, dressing of the hair. Trimming of the hair may be performed 
when it is incidental to the arranging, styling, or dressing of the hair, including facial hair such as beards, mustaches, 
and eyebrows. (3-20-20)T

02. Coloring. Wash out topical color, tinted powder, spray or chalk to temporarily camouflage the hair.

03. Extensions. Application of extensions with non-permanent adhesive or thread, such as clip in hair, 
halos, wig and toupees. (3-20-20)T

04. Temporary Hair Removal. Tweezing of hairs on the face and neck. (3-20-20)T

05. Cleansing. Cleansing of the face for the limited purpose of removing makeup and debris and 
cosmetic preparations for the application of makeup. (3-20-20)T

06. Nail Services. Application of nail polish by painting without the use of a lamp or light, removal of 
polish that is incidental to the painting of the nail, and shaping of the nail with a single-use emery board. (3-20-20)T

07. Makeup Application. Application of makeup. (3-20-20)T

08. Safety and Disinfection. All licensees and certificants must comply with the safety and 
disinfection rules applicable to the services being performed, regardless of the location where the services are 
performed. (3-20-20)T



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 24.28.01 – Barber/Cosmetology 
Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses Services Licensing Board Rules

Section 800 Page 1790  

711. -- 799. (RESERVED)

800. UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT.
A licensee shall not engage in unprofessional conduct in the course of his/her practice. Unprofessional conduct is 
conduct which has endangered or is likely to endanger the health, welfare, or safety of the public and includes, but is 
not limited to, the following: (3-20-20)T

01. Use of MMA. Use of Methyl Methacrylate acid (MMA); (3-20-20)T

02. Use of Skin Cutting Instruments. Use of skin cutting instruments, including razor-type callus 
shavers, credo blades, microplane, or other rasps or graters designed to remove corns or calluses by cutting below the 
skin surface. The presence of such instruments creates a presumption of the instrument's use; (3-20-20)T

03. Use of UV Sterilizers. Use of ultraviolet (UV) sterilizers for disinfection. This does not prohibit 
the use of ultraviolet dryers or lamps used to dry or cure nail products; (3-20-20)T

04. Use of Roll-on Wax. Use of roll-on wax, except that single-use roll-on wax cartridges are 
acceptable when they are disposed of immediately after use; (3-20-20)T

05. Double-Dipping. Placing an item or instrument that has been used on a person into a wax pot or 
other container that holds wax, a compound, solution, or other cosmetic preparation that will be used for more than 
one (1) than patron. This prohibited practice is commonly referred to as double-dipping; (3-20-20)T

06. Reuse of Single-Use or Porous Items. Use of single-use or porous items on more than one (1) 
patron. The presence of used single-use or porous items, which have not been disposed of, creates a presumption of 
the item’s use or intended use on more than one patron. (3-20-20)T

07. Apprentices. Failure to adequately supervise, instruct, or train an apprentice; (3-20-20)T

08. Inspections and Investigations. Interference with an inspection or investigation conducted by or 
on behalf of the Board; (3-20-20)T

09. Disease Transmission Prevention. Performing a service on a patron who has an open sore or a 
known contagious disease of a nature that may be transmitted by performing the procedure, unless the licensee takes 
medically-approved measures to prevent transmission of the disease; or (3-20-20)T

10. Practice Outside Scope of Training. Performing services or using machines or devices outside the 
licensee’s area of training, expertise, competence, or scope of practice for the license held. (3-20-20)T

801. -- 849. (RESERVED)

850. INSPECTION OF ESTABLISHMENTS, SCHOOLS AND FACILITIES.
All establishments, schools, and facilities shall be subject to inspection by the Board or its agents during business 
hours without notice to ensure the safe operation of each establishment, school, or facility and to ensure continued 
compliance with Chapter 58, Title 54, Idaho Code, and these rules. (3-20-20)T

01. Form. The Board may adopt a form which identifies those general items that will be inspected and 
a level of compliance necessary for issuance or renewal of a license and for which a failure to meet that level is 
grounds for discipline. Violations of the Chapter 58, Title 54, Idaho Code, or these rules that are not listed on the 
form but that are found during inspection are also grounds for discipline. (3-20-20)T

02. Classification Card. Following an inspection, each establishment, school, and facility, except for 
retail thermal styling equipment dealers, will receive classification as follows: 100%–90% = “A”; 89%–80% = “B”; 
79% and below = “C.” The “C” classification denotes an unacceptable level of compliance and a reinspection is 
required. (3-20-20)T
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03. Reinspection. A facility, school, or establishment not found to be at an acceptable level of 
compliance must make improvements within thirty (30) days. The Board may allow an establishment, school, or 
facility to continue to operate during that period. The Board may take action prior to any reinspection when the 
circumstances represent an immediate danger to the public health, safety, or welfare. (3-20-20)T

851. SAFETY AND DISINFECTION FOR ESTABLISHMENTS AND SCHOOLS.
All establishments and schools must take every precaution to prevent the transfer of disease-causing pathogens 
between people and comply with Chapter 58, Title 54, Idaho Code. At a minimum the establishment or school must 
meet the following requirements: (3-20-20)T

01. Premises. Establishments and schools must be separated from living areas by substantial walls and/
or closable doors. All establishments and schools must be maintained in an orderly manner and shall be heated, 
lighted, and ventilated so as to be safe and comfortable to the operators and patrons. Floors, walls, ceilings, furniture, 
and all other fixtures shall be kept clean and in good repair at all times. (3-20-20)T 

02. Instrument Cleaning. All instruments and items used by operators shall be thoroughly cleaned 
after each use and prior to disinfection. (3-20-20)T 

03. Instrument Disinfection or Sterilization. All instruments and items used by operators shall be 
disinfected or sterilized after cleaning and prior to use on each patron, with a disinfectant or sterilant as defined in 
these rules. All disinfectant must be mixed and changed according to the manufacturers’ instructions. Disinfection 
methods such as immersion, sprays, and wipes may be used. Contact time listed on the disinfectant’s label must be 
adhered to in all circumstances. Items or surfaces must remain completely immersed in disinfectant, or visibly wet if 
using sprays or wipes, for the full amount of contact time. (3-20-20)T

04. Single-Use and Porous Instruments. Instruments and items that are intended for single use or that 
are porous shall be immediately disposed of in a waste container after each use on a patron or given to the patron to take 
home for personal use, provided that the instruments may not be brought back to the establishment for future use.

(3-20-20)T

05. Waxes and Waxing Services. Paraffins, waxes and all other solutions or compounds shall be 
covered and maintained free of any foreign contaminants. Only disinfected or unused, single-use items may be placed 
into a container that holds wax or paraffins. Waxes and paraffins must be dispensed for use on a patron in the 
following manner: (3-20-20)T

a. Wax may be removed from a multi-use wax pot for use on a patron by one of the following 
methods: (3-20-20)T

i. Single-use spatula disposed of after a single dip/application; (3-20-20)T

ii. Disinfected plastic spatulas with one disinfected spatula used for each dip into the wax pot; or
(3-20-20)T

iii. Placement of all wax needed for entire service in a single-use, disposable cup or a container that 
can be properly cleaned and disinfected, such as a stainless steel bowl. The cup, any remaining wax, and all single-
use applicators must be immediately disposed of at the conclusion of the service. This is the only instance in which a 
single applicator may be used for an entire service. (3-20-20)T

b. Paraffin wax must be portioned out for each patron in a bag or other container, or dispensed in a 
manner that prevents contamination of the unused supply. All portions used on a patron must be disposed of 
immediately following use. (3-20-20)T

06. Makeup Services. All makeup and makeup services must follow the requirements in Section 852 
of these rules. (3-20-20)T

07. Nail Services. A licensee must comply with the following disinfection procedures between every 
patron: (3-20-20)T
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a. All pedicure bowls, basins or tubs must be cleaned and disinfected prior to each use as follows:
(3-20-20)T

i. Empty pedicure bowl. (3-20-20)T

ii. Remove all removable parts, including screens, foot plates, impellers and fans. (3-20-20)T

iii. Clean removable parts with soap or detergent and water, rinse, and immerse parts in disinfectant 
following manufacturer's directions for proper contact time. (3-20-20)T

iv. Scrub bowl with soap or detergent and rinse with clean water. (3-20-20)T

v. Replace removable cleaned and disinfected parts. (3-20-20)T

vi. Fill bowl and add disinfectant to achieve proper concentration. (3-20-20)T

vii. Allow disinfectant solution to sit, or run through system for bowls with circulating water for the 
manufacturer’s recommended contact time. (3-20-20)T

viii. Drain the tub, rinse and air dry or wipe dry with clean paper towel. (3-20-20)T

b. Metal drill bits may be soaked in acetone to remove nail product. When removed from the acetone, 
they must be cleaned using soap, water, and a brush, and then rinsed prior to immersion in disinfectant. Drill bits must 
remain in disinfectant for the full contact time. (3-20-20)T

08. Water Supply and Hand Washing. Water supplies shall be from an approved source. Sufficient 
basins with hot and cold running water, approved drainage systems, soap and single-use towels shall be conveniently 
located within the work area. Operators and students shall wash their hands with running water and soap prior to 
providing service to any patron. When hand washing is not practicable, hand sanitizer of at least seventy percent 
(70%) alcohol may be used. (3-20-20)T

09. Restroom Facilities. Clean, adequate and convenient restroom facilities, located and accessible 
from within the building where the shop or school is located, shall be available for use by operators and patrons. A 
basin with hot and cold running water, approved drainage systems, soap and single-use towels shall be provided 
within said facilities. All operators and students must wash their hands with running water and soap and then dry their 
hands with a single-use towel after using the restroom. (3-20-20)T

10. Safety. Clearly identifiable first-aid kit must be readily accessible on the premises. No animals are 
allowed in shops or schools except service dogs trained to do work or perform tasks for persons with disabilities. The 
definition of service animals and disabilities shall be as set forth in U.S. Department of Justice Regulations at 28 C.F. 
R. Section 36.104 effective August 11, 2016. (3-20-20)T

11. Licenses and Classification Cards. All establishments and schools must be licensed prior to their 
operation and must be under the direct supervision of a licensed operator. A current establishment and/or school 
license, valid operator license(s), a copy of these safety and disinfection rules, and a valid classification card shall be 
conspicuously displayed in the work area of each establishment or school for the information of operators, Board 
agents, and the public. (3-20-20)T

852. SAFETY AND DISINFECTION FOR RETAIL COSMETICS DEALER FACILITIES AND 
MAKEOVER OR GLAMOUR PHOTOGRAPHY BUSINESSES.
All retail cosmetic dealers and makeover or glamour photography businesses must take every precaution to prevent 
the transfer of disease-causing pathogens between people and must comply with Chapter 58, Title 54, Idaho Code. At 
a minimum the dealer or business must meet the following requirements: (3-20-20)T

01. Cake, Loose, or Liquid Makeup. All makeup that comes in a cake, loose, or liquid form, must be 
transferred to a palette with a disinfected or single-use spatula for use with a single customer and in a manner to 
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prevent any contamination. Any excess make-up must be disposed of immediately following use on or by a customer.
(3-20-20)T

02. Makeup Pencils. Make-up pencils that require a sharpener must be sharpened prior to each use. 
Sharpeners must be cleaned and disinfected in accordance with Subsections 851.02 and 851.03 of these rules. 
Eyeliner that does not require a sharpener must have a portion transferred to a palette with a disinfected or single-use 
spatula for use on a single customer. (3-20-20)T

03. Mascara. Single-use applicators must be used in the application of mascara. (3-20-20)T

04. Brushes and Implements. All implements and applicators, including brushes, that are used on 
customers or made available to be used by customers must be stored, cleaned, and disinfected or disposed of in 
accordance with Section 851 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

05. Displays. All make-up should be covered when not in use. When make-up displays are accessible 
to the public, single-use applicators for all make-up must be readily available. (3-20-20)T

06. Water Supply and Restroom Facilities. The facility or business must meet the requirements in 
Subsection 851.11 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

07. First-aid Kit. The facility or business must have a clearly identifiable first-aid kit readily 
accessible on the premises. (3-20-20)T

08. Licenses and Classification Card. All retail cosmetics dealers and glamour or makeover 
photography businesses must be licensed prior to their operation. A current license, a copy of these safety and 
disinfection rules, and a valid classification card shall be conspicuously displayed in the work area of each facility for 
the information of employees, Board agents, and the public. (3-20-20)T

853. SAFETY AND DISINFECTION FOR RETAIL THERMAL STYLING DEALER FACILITIES.
All retail thermal styling equipment dealers must take every precaution to prevent the transfer of disease-causing 
pathogens between people and must comply with Chapter 58, Title 54, Idaho Code. At a minimum the dealer must 
meet the following requirements: (3-20-20)T

01. Cleaning, Disinfection, and Storage. All implements and electrical equipment used on a customer 
must be cleaned, disinfected, and stored in accordance with Subsections 851.02, 851.03, 851.04, and 851.06 of these 
rules. (3-20-20)T

02. First-aid Kit. The facility or business must have a clearly identifiable first-aid kit readily 
accessible on the premises. (3-20-20)T

03. Registration and Classification Card. All retail thermal styling equipment dealers must be 
registered prior to their operation. A current registration, a copy of these safety and disinfection rules, and a valid 
classification card shall be conspicuously displayed in the work area of each facility for the information of 
employees, Board agents, and the public. (3-20-20)T

854. -- 999. (RESERVED)


